You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

stevendepolo via Flickr/Creative Commons

New insolvency regime may not help troubled mortgage holders - Troika

The Troika has raised concerns about the effectiveness of the new personal insolvency law that is aimed at helping the country’s many distressed mortgage holders.

THE TROIKA HAS raised concerns that the new personal insolvency legislation may not be sufficient to address the problems of the average Irish mortgage holder in distress.

The long-awaited changes to the personal insolvency regime are expected to come into operation from the beginning of next month and have been billed as fundamentally reforming how personal debts are handled in Ireland.

Among the key changes are that it reduces the period of bankruptcy from 12 to three years and allows for a person with debts of between €20,000 and €3 million to a enter a personal insolvency arrangement if they become insolvent.

However a leaked European Commission document obtained by TheJournal.ie raises concerns about how this will help average mortgage holders who are struggling with debt.

The document says that the €3 million cap may be “unduly high” and could encourage banks, lawyers and insolvency practitioners to focus on “big-ticket cases” rather than deal with “smaller but much more numerous cases of average debtors, who are likely to be facing greater distress”.

Jeopardised

The document notes that the average mortgage debt in Ireland is around €300,000 currently.

The Troika raises fears that the new insolvency service, due to be established within the first quarter of this year, could be overloaded with big cases at the expense of smaller but more numerous cases, many involving struggling homeowners.

The document warns: ”The efficiency of the system could also be jeopardised if the Insolvency service is overloaded with large complex cases, which could involve a multitude of interconnected debts concerning not only a debtor’s principal private residence, but also those associated with investment properties or sole-trader businesses.”

The new personal insolvency regime has been criticised in some quarters because any debt resolution process requires the agreement of the majority of a person’s creditors, meaning the bank retains an effective veto over whether to relieve someone from their mortgage debt.

Despite the concerns raised, the Troika does acknowledge that the new regime “should help facilitate a step-change in the resolution of unsustainable debts”.

- additional reporting from Gavan Reilly

Euroleaks: Troika wants less pay, more hours for public sector workers

More: Troika recommends cuts to specialist doctors’ salaries

Read all of TheJournal.ie’s ‘Euroleaks’ coverage >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Jennifer Hislop
    Favourite Jennifer Hislop
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:32 AM

Honestly, leaving my pet stag behind was definitely the hardest part of emigrating.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:06 AM

I’m doing ok without you..

Mute Liz (10) (^_^)
    Favourite Liz (10) (^_^)
    Mar 15th 2013, 3:05 AM

Jennifer and Little Jim, LOL XD

Mute Roisin Peddle
    Favourite Roisin Peddle
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:37 AM

Celtic mysticism is all well and good but it won’t get you off the dole!

Mute Justin Healy
    Favourite Justin Healy
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:28 AM

Mweh. Wanted to like it more than I did.

Mute Alan Walsh
    Favourite Alan Walsh
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:45 AM

Lesson learned: Dont take drugs before boarding a flight.

Other than that, enjoyable animation.

Mute numbersix
    Favourite numbersix
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:44 AM

He should buy a map of Dublin or a GPS as he was running all over the shop to get where he was going.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Mar 14th 2013, 12:32 PM

Why brought him up Talbot St. Temple Bar and Kildare St when his apartment is situated around North Strand

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:08 AM

jaysus…how did he afford that apartment on the dole?

Mute Paul Corrigan
    Favourite Paul Corrigan
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:24 AM

Looks like he was doing a runner on his mortgage, he still had the keys to get back in

Mute Shane O' Connor
    Favourite Shane O' Connor
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:44 AM

I emigrated and I do not feel remotely moved! Great animation for sure but I’m left scratching my head.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Mar 14th 2013, 2:51 PM

As someone trying to get to grips with 3d software im really impressed, hope their skills are put to better use

Mute Patrick Dunphy
    Favourite Patrick Dunphy
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:32 AM

he never paid the taxi man…tut tut

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:55 AM

Loved that Chris DeBurgh song

Mute Michael Kelleher
    Favourite Michael Kelleher
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:08 AM

And his apartment is about to be repossessed!

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Mar 14th 2013, 2:53 PM

How did he get back into the apartment. The guy is about to emmigrate, surely he had to hand his keys back.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:17 AM

What you dont hear from oz is that alot of irish are struggling there aswell the cost of living there is through the roof.

Mute My EL531W
    Favourite My EL531W
    Mar 14th 2013, 2:17 PM

The cost of living is high to be sure but I still only spend half my pay check a week and still have everything I want/need. I save the rest and sent a good portion of it home. Also, cause of the high pay here due to the high cost of living, the money I save for myself is quite substantial (more than I was making on the dole). If you live here like people are living in Ireland now (really being careful with you’re money) you can do well.

Mute Graham
    Favourite Graham
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:06 AM

Is there a part two. Does he get with the stag or what?

Mute Paul Corrigan
    Favourite Paul Corrigan
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:22 AM

He gets fined for littering

Mute My EL531W
    Favourite My EL531W
    Mar 14th 2013, 2:23 PM

People taking the piss in the comment section make me miss home more than the video does…

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:20 AM

This video is an unoffical party political broadcast on behalf of the Fine Gael and Labour party.
    Be sure to swallow their PR spin and propaganda every time!

70,000 left Ireland last year and the same the year before – land thats the OFFICIAL government figures.

This video is going to change very little except give it makers massive money in production costs, we can’t really afford to give away on pointless projects.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:46 AM

Why would it be a party political broadcast for FG / Lab!?! I’m assuming the lad is emigrating for employment and job reasons & quite likely has none in Ireland or is limited in his options at the very least! Emigrating does the Government a favour as it lessens the burden on the welfare system where if your collecting same you’re not contributing to the tax take!! Not everything’s a conspiracy you know!!

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:48 AM

Political spin and propaganda! I expect planes to drop leaflets next.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:50 AM

MANNNNN HOOCH IS CRAZY

Mute Brian Ewan O'Brien
    Favourite Brian Ewan O'Brien
    Mar 14th 2013, 12:45 PM

Despite the fact that this was made on a relative shoestring and it’s makers made zero, projects like this actually give Irish filmakers / animators / editors etc a real chance to develop their skills and add to their cv. I cut this short a couple of years ago while unemployed and it helped me win a full time position working on an international animated series.

Mute Mike Mcinerney
    Favourite Mike Mcinerney
    Mar 14th 2013, 2:18 PM

Biggins, your a negative gimp! Ireland isn’t a place for u.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:15 AM

Feeling bad for leaving Dublin’s “spirit” behind is all very well, but I left because I couldn’t find a decent job.

Mute Toora loora lies
    Favourite Toora loora lies
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:50 AM

Did Ross O’Carroll Kelly shed a few pounds?

Mute alan mahon
    Favourite alan mahon
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:39 AM

What absolute diddle-di drivel. Honestly, all that’s missing are leprechauns.

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:34 AM

If the State sell off of Coillte harvesting rights is realised, the poor fellah won’t even have his dreams to turn to!

Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:07 AM

I thought it was good. Where does it claim to solve an emmigrant’s problems? All it’s saying is that there is a particular spirit in the country that he was going to leave behind and he decided not to. But the usual west-brit brigade will be along any minute to pour their scorn on it.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Mar 14th 2013, 3:30 PM

The Journal said: “This short film may make you reconsider emigrating” – so maybe they shouldn’t have paraphrased the story as they did.
    …usual West Brit Brigade?? – what the hell is that about?

Mute Scott Hazel
    Favourite Scott Hazel
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:12 AM

Sorry but it wouldn’t make me reconsider..

Mute Chris Noonan
    Favourite Chris Noonan
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:38 AM

lovely animation, but I’m sure it will make a sad situation worse for a lot of people

Mute marcoop
    Favourite marcoop
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:20 AM

Great animation and artwork, its also great to watch an animated short and to be able to relate to it by the cars,buses, shops and pubs etc. I dont follow this industry but its good to see we have talent in this field of work. To be fair,the journal kind of overhyped it and encouraged the onslaught of begrudgery and scepticism from the less apreciative.

Mute Alicia Doyle
    Favourite Alicia Doyle
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:59 AM

I just love how clean the city looks. So sick of the litter in Dublin!

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:05 PM

Dublin is alot cleaner than London.

Mute Dáithí Mac Gualraic
    Favourite Dáithí Mac Gualraic
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:19 PM

In fairness I’d say they are equally clean. Not everything needs to be a competition.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:20 PM

The guy ditched his suitcase on the footpath and threw his plane ticket out the window of his apartment so he doesn’t have much of a problem with littering himself.
    Didn’t pay the taxi driver and left the taxi door open. Playing chicken with a Luas tram.
    The story was a bit watery but very good animation though.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:46 PM

Your missing my point. All big cities have litter problems.

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:53 AM

EI235 to Sydney, what’s the inflight movie

Mute Alan Gorry
    Favourite Alan Gorry
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:38 AM

Celtic tiger cub desperately attempts to flee Ireland to escape the gargantuan pressure of unemployment fused with perpetual mortgage debt but such plans meet their demise in a frenzied act of immense stupidity…..

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:22 AM

I love the Sponsored Link “Spouse Visa Application” underneath this article.

Mute Daniel Holian
    Favourite Daniel Holian
    Mar 14th 2013, 2:48 PM

This short film has no message whatsoever other than have all your documents with you and arrive at least an hour before your flight. Good advertisement for airlines- “Don’t forget to print your boarding pass and your passport, or this could be you…. *play fim*” Really cool graphics though.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Mar 14th 2013, 3:05 PM

you missed don’t take LSD. (staring at his hands was a big give away) ;-)

Mute Johnny SDA
    Favourite Johnny SDA
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:14 PM

Excellent. All my unemployment problems solved at last. Now I know what to tell my Local Employment Service Office: I’m looking for vacancies in deer hunting.

Mute Mick Madden
    Favourite Mick Madden
    Mar 15th 2013, 12:00 AM

Can I have his ticket !

Mute Diarmuid Brennan
    Favourite Diarmuid Brennan
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:05 PM

Actually very good show!! There is a lot of irish abroad missing home! Family, friends, the craic, few social drinks, croke park, lansdowne road, christmas easter, patricks day! People in ireland don’t know how lucky they have it! Ask anybody who has travelled and they’ll say the same thing. You can’t beat home!

Mute Michael Milner
    Favourite Michael Milner
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:34 PM

I can’t believe they shot Darren!

Mute Carly Bailey
    Favourite Carly Bailey
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:04 AM

Did he turn into Christy from Aslan with some serious guns when he became the Celtic Warrior?

Mute Dáithí Mac Gualraic
    Favourite Dáithí Mac Gualraic
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:20 PM

I don’t get it what did he discover that changed his situation? Unless of course he was just emigrating as a lifestyle choice then I’d understand.

Mute Aisling Meehan
    Favourite Aisling Meehan
    Mar 14th 2013, 5:45 PM

I don’t get it

Mute Patw
    Favourite Patw
    Mar 18th 2013, 12:39 PM

Where’s all the blue lads.? ……..

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 15th 2013, 12:27 AM

Well that was unconvincing.
    Nice detail though.

Mute David Greene
    Favourite David Greene
    Mar 18th 2013, 11:31 AM

Propagandist nonsense

Mute Andy Scott
    Favourite Andy Scott
    Mar 14th 2013, 12:46 PM

Use the HD version lads – http://vimeo.com/61789415

Mute Laura McEnroe
    Favourite Laura McEnroe
    Mar 14th 2013, 10:09 PM

It needs more lasers and shit

Mute Michael Ryan
    Favourite Michael Ryan
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:02 PM

Completely unbelievable – no-one would wear a tie to the airport, i’m fine with everything else though!!

Mute Deirdre Culleton Canavan
    Favourite Deirdre Culleton Canavan
    Mar 14th 2013, 6:22 PM

What a load of crap! “Nominated” please tell merit didn’t get any further??

Mute Mike Nolan
    Favourite Mike Nolan
    Mar 18th 2013, 12:35 PM

How is it really relevant, nice video but that Ireland has long been replaced by dishonesty and corruption .
    My wife eldest daughter and myself all work but I have yet to see anything from politicians that things will change people should strive to live not exist and sadly that’s all that lies ahead here

Mute Liz (10) (^_^)
    Favourite Liz (10) (^_^)
    Mar 15th 2013, 3:10 AM

That’s grand, but now I want to see the follow up sequel that’s set at Dublin Airport to the song ‘What’s Love got to do with it’.

Mute Deirdre Culleton Canavan
    Favourite Deirdre Culleton Canavan
    Mar 14th 2013, 6:23 PM

Me it^

Mute Smiley Ryan
    Favourite Smiley Ryan
    Mar 14th 2013, 7:01 PM

Qwertyd

Mute Paul Tighe
    Favourite Paul Tighe
    Mar 14th 2013, 9:19 PM

f….. sake poor bastard is still on the scratcher .