You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Buttigieg and Sanders neck-and-neck in Iowa as Biden acknowledges 'gut punch'

Senator Elizabeth Warren and former vice president Joe Biden are in third and fourth place.

download (2) File photos of Pete Buttigieg and Bernie Sanders. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

DEMOCRATIC WHITE HOUSE candidate Pete Buttigieg holds a wafer-thin lead over rival Bernie Sanders as more delayed results arrived, after the US election season kicked off with caucuses in Iowa.

With 97% of precincts now reporting after Monday’s selection process in the midwestern state, the moderate 38-year-old Buttigieg, a former mayor of South Bend, Indiana, was leading with 26.2%.

Senator Sanders, who is 78 years old and is making his second charge for the nomination in four years, is snapping at his heels on 26.1%.

Fellow progressive Senator Elizabeth Warren stands at 18.2%, while former vice president Joe Biden, the national frontrunner, was fourth with 15.8%.

Technical glitches 

Iowa’s quirky, old-fashioned caucus process was marred by technical glitches that forced an embarrassing delay in reporting of results in the closely watched contest.

The 77-year-old Biden, like Buttigieg already campaigning in the next state to vote, New Hampshire, acknowledged that his poor showing in Iowa was a “gut punch”, but insisted he would stick it out.

The key figures released by the Iowa Democratic Party are percentages of the all-important delegates that the state sends to the national convention to vote for in the nomination process.

Buttigieg, a virtual unknown nationally one year ago, startled political observers by seizing the top spot over Sanders who had been leading in Iowa polls ahead of the caucuses.

Iowa’s pick has a recent historical track record of going on to become the national Democratic nominee.

© AFP 2020

View 20 comments
20 Comments
    Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson
    Feb 6th 2020, 8:00 AM

The lack of fight from Bernie is frustrating! The DNC shafted him in ’16 and instead of speaking out about it he worked his ass off for HRC. She later blamed him after she lost (as well as blaming everyone/everything else bar herself). Now HRC is attacking him again and the DNC are working against him again. He still refuses to fight back. Reminds me of Corbyn. If he can’t defend himself from those in his own party, how could he expect to fight against DT if he won the nomination?

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Feb 6th 2020, 8:36 AM

@JackSimpson: dead right. Very frustrating to watch. If he gets shafted this time, he has to run as an independent (I know he won’t).

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Feb 6th 2020, 10:04 AM

@JackSimpson: I love the revisionist history you have going on here :)

Bernie Saunders was never a Democrat, he was ALWAYS an Independent right up until 2015 when he joined so he could be on the ticket. (and left again in 2016, only to rejoin in 2019 to again run as a democratic Candidate)
    Unsurprisingly, the candidate that had spent nearly her entire political life as a member of the Democratic party was going to be viewed more favourably.

As to your claim that “instead of speaking out about it he worked his ass off for HRC” seems to forget that he took over a month to endorse Clinton. I don’t doubt his motives for the delay but you are deliberately mis-representing history with the claims.

And he’s not a Democrat. He just joined to get on the ticket and left when he didn’t get it. So it’s not “his own party”.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 6th 2020, 10:57 AM

@Tricia G: ah Tricia you should know by now that low IQ Jack Simpson is just a trumpet and is now moving his posts narrative to ‘Bernie Sanders’ as it is election year – he doesn’t actually mean ( or understand ) most of what he is spouting – just has to include Obama , Obama , Obama , Clinton Clinton Clinton and now Sanders Sanders etc – have you not spotted he mostly only posts (ad naseum ) on Trump articles with whatever the Republican / Trump talking points of the day are – watch and enjoy for the rest of 2020 – but don’t expect any great insights in his posts – and he moves on to personal insults as soon as you start to highlight his low IQ. Sad.

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Feb 6th 2020, 11:44 AM

@Dave Hammond: wow t d are realshills for dem establishmet bernie was cheateddnc riggedithrcrevisionists betnie woulda won

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 6th 2020, 12:13 PM

@Matthew O’Kane: eh…yes Matthew that’s exactly what I was thinking too.

Mute Sean Roche
    Favourite Sean Roche
    Feb 6th 2020, 12:49 PM

@Tricia G: Sanders did work tirelessly for Clinton . How long did Clinton take to endorse Obama? And do you remember her reason for the delay?

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Feb 6th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Sean Roche: June 3rd Obama was presumptive nominee, Hillary endorsed him Jun 7th.

But let’s be clear, I didn’t mention anything about what Bernie did after he endorsed her, I was referring to the delay in endorsing her and the claim that the Democratic Party is Bernie’s “own party”.

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson
    Feb 6th 2020, 1:36 PM

@Tricia G: 1) True, BS was an independent for the majority of his career BUT he has had, on/off, close links with the dems since the 80s.
    2) It’s irrelevant that he was an independent up to ’15. If the DNC didnt want to treat him fairly why did they allow him to contest the nomination? All nominees should be treated fairly and it is a fact that he wasn’t.
    3) After what happened+since he isnt a typical dem, HRC was lucky he endorsed her at all. It actually appears he worked harder for her in ’16 than she had in ’07/’08 for Obama.
    4) “its not his own party” – well if he wins the nomination + takes a leaf out of DTs book (fights back), he could take the party over as DT has done with the reps.

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson
    Feb 6th 2020, 1:38 PM

@Dave Hammond: Taking a break from shoving crayons up your nose I see! Btw you should be careful with that…I’d say brain cells are few and far between. You cant afford to lose anymore.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Feb 6th 2020, 9:35 AM

Honestly I think Bernie is the only one who has a hope of getting elected, I can see him taking a lot more voters from Trump than the others since he appeals to the working class more.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Feb 6th 2020, 9:56 AM

@Keith O’Reilly: In my opinion your right saying that he’s the only one who can beat Trump. If sanders wins the DNC vote he have his supporters and nearly all Democrats will vote for him. Where as if he doesn’t win his supporters will vote Trump as a two finger salute to the DNC.

Mute PMBinARG
    Favourite PMBinARG
    Feb 6th 2020, 8:59 AM

And they want to run the country?

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Feb 6th 2020, 7:39 AM

Do we feel the Bern or the Butt?

Mute Martin McFly
    Favourite Martin McFly
    Feb 6th 2020, 7:59 AM

@Sim0n: neither , #KAGA , 4 more years.

Mute B Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite B Ó Raghallaigh
    Feb 6th 2020, 9:19 AM

@Sim0n: Feeling the butt is Trump’s purview

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Feb 6th 2020, 2:27 PM

Have the DNC confirmed that all the Sanders votes that went to Deval Patrick have been put back to Sanders or why they dripped results out instead of waiting. I don’t like to jump to conspiracy theories but dripping the results over 3 days sounds like they are hoping that interest in story will fade. How many articles have spoken about the amount of Sanders votes went to Deval Patrick or Mayor Petes ties to the app runners. This is sickening and puts Sanders supports who care about the democratic process and complain into the tin foil hat section. It’s disgusting.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 6th 2020, 12:56 PM
    Mute Anna69
    Favourite Anna69
    Feb 6th 2020, 3:00 PM

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery
    Feb 6th 2020, 4:00 PM

@Anna69: Go away.