You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Nick Potts via PA

Easyjet executive apologises after motivational video to staff heavily plagiarised Leo's Patrick's Day address

Bellew said he “borrowed” a few phrases.

EASYJET EXECUTIVE PETER Bellew has apologised to his pilots and staff after a video message he delivered to airline employees turned out to be a heavily plagiarised version of Leo Varadkar’s address to the nation on St Patrick’s Day.

A video of both speeches appeared online yesterday, showing Bellew using the exact same turns of phrase Varadkar had said only days previously. 

In an apology to staff, shared widely on social media, Bellew said he “put his hands up” and said he had borrowed a few phrases from the Taoiseach. 

Bellew wrote: “Some of you have spotted similarities between the message I did last week and a recent speech by the Irish Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar. I can only hold my hands up and apologise.

“I thought the Taoiseach struck exactly the right note and it really resonated in my mind with what we are going through, so I borrowed some of his phrases in my recent message to cabin crew and pilots, which I realise now I should not have done.

“I would like to say sorry to the Taoiseach and to all of you. I will write all of my own speeches in future.”

On Friday, the airline said it would ground the majority of its planes from 24 March, mirroring moves by other carriers worldwide because of the coronavirus pandemic.

“Following the country lockdowns, travel restrictions and changes to travel advice across its network, easyJet has taken the decision to ground the majority of its fleet of aircraft from Tuesday 24 March,” a statement said.

EasyJet said flights to repatriate customers were expected to mostly be completed by tomorrow.

It said it would continue to “operate a minimal schedule of essential services on some routes. 

“This will be a maximum of 10% of our usual capacity during this time of year and mainly routes to, from and within the UK,” a statement read.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Paul Madigan
    Favourite Paul Madigan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:44 PM

Must have been desperate

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:48 PM

@Paul Madigan: pie in the face moment.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:55 PM

@Optimus Prime: I know, copying Leo, who copied Churchill

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:03 PM

@alphasully: Churchill prolly copied someone else.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:07 PM

@Optimus Prime: more than likely, politicians are good at that.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:13 PM

@Optimus Prime: and that people is how creativity works.
    The secret to originality is concealing your source ;-)

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:19 PM

@john doe: there’s always a source. Dig deep enough, you’ll find it.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:46 PM

Good Auld Leo the Lion.
    Read he will talk to all parties to form Unity Government with the exception of SF! He’s a blood disgrace.
    Everyone should be involved everyone! It’s a disgraceful statement to make.

Mute Mike Daly
    Favourite Mike Daly
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:52 PM

@Pád: whats a blood disgrace?

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:54 PM

@Mike Daly: It’s a disgrace that he still will not talk to with SF to form a unity government.
    We are in unprecedented times everyone should be involved.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle

@Mike Daly: A black pudding found mainly south west Kerry

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:58 PM

@Pád: Agreed ! His ego has been inflated (it must be at bursting point) by the script he read on telly during the week. If a man cannot let go of a resentment in the interests of the nation he’s not worth believing in

Mute john gavin
    Favourite john gavin
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:02 PM

@Pád: well done Leo, we all (with the exception of a few) want you to keep out the Sinners.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:12 PM

@john gavin: with exception of over 500,000 ya clown! That’s not a few.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:14 PM

@Pád: you’re a tad blinkered eh?

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:18 PM

@Paul Furey: If he is blinkered you’re blind.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:18 PM

@Paul Furey: Oh do elaborate on your comment please!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:23 PM

@Pád: Correct. FG spent the month after the election telling us how they lost. Now they’re pushing for Leo to be top of the queue in a rotating Taoiseach role. Now we can see why that unneccesary prepared speech was rammed down the nations throat on Paddys night.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:30 PM

@The Risen: The speech was terrible. The man inspires no one. There’s no charisma about him at all.
    He’s an absolute disgrace every party should be involved during this crisis.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:30 PM

@The Risen: rammed down the nations throats? A message to promote calm (however effective we think it may have been is irrelevant) when people were going mad, announced in advance, on two channels most people avoid anyway. PS most political speeches are prepared in advance. Personally I didn’t vote for fg anywhere on the ballot but there is a part of me that glad this didn’t happen with an entirely new cabinet still settling in.

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:31 PM

@The Risen: as a matter of intrest, who doesn’t prepare a speech? It’s hardly a damning criticism of someone yet you’ve used this at least 3 times now as something to insult Varadkar with. You think your Political Heroes just speak off the cuff?

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:33 PM

@Pád: TBF most commenters on here thought it was a decent speech.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:35 PM

@Pád: having people who basically disagree on almost every thing all in government together will basically get nothing done. At least FF and FG are basically the same

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:35 PM

@The Risen: I took nothing from his speech to be honest. It was well presented but had no substance. It smelled of a man pushing FG into people’s faces during a crisis. Trying to sell the nonsense that they are steering the country through that same crisis won’t work in time though. FG like all other political parties are only bystanders like us while the medical people manage the current disaster. It’s as simple as that.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:39 PM

@Cian Nolan: Trust Me Cian, this is not me insulting Varadkar.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:40 PM

@Chris Mc: Thats probably true. But with the this crisis ongoing it’s time to talk to everyone.
    He’s talking about a unity government. Which would be formed until the crisis is over.
    Completely childish in not talking to SF. Reminds me of a kid that would take is football and go home!

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:53 PM

@Mike Daly: An attempt at a smart remark just makes you look silly.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:10 PM

@Pád: great idea. Look at the mess of school closures in the north. They changed position totally within 24 hours. Indecisive left wing parasites

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:21 PM

@Pád: Pearse Doherty is working his ass off & doing a great job. He would make a brilliant minister for finance!

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:18 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: i would much rather he was closing everything except pharmacies and shops and putting a curfew in place and had army and police out patrolling to protect t people from their own stupidity. This is action not some bullshit words on the TV.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:21 PM

@Pád: A Unity Government that excludes the joint largest political party in the country is NOT a Unity Government, putting politics first!His speech which I praised now sounds hollow!

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:31 PM

@DeWitt: How narrow mind and naive are you?
    Don’t forget DUP are in power up the north too!
    Think that’s why they call it “Power Sharing” that might be a little difficult for someone like yourself who is intellectually challenged to understand.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:54 PM

@john gavin: ah no john, in the eyes of god they are all sinners

Mute George Sheils
    Favourite George Sheils
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:57 PM

@Pád: In fairness the idea of a Unity Government is ridiculous. Too many cooks will spoil the broth. Just look at the mess in Stormont recently where we had DUP, Ulster Unionists and the bloody Alliance Party siding with the Herd Immunity idea while Sinn Fein and SDLP wanted to take the route we took in the Republic.

FG is not my party of choice but I think Varadkar has been consistent from the start that he wants nothing to do with Sinn Fein for whatever reason. While he has a tendency to showboat, he has gone up in my estimation for sticking to his principles. It would be ridiculous for him to have said so adamantly that he won’t ever go into government with Sinn Fein and then turn around a few weeks later and go in with a Unity Government.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:22 PM

@George Sheils: The Unity Government that’s he’s talking about is only until the this pandemic has been beaten.

FG is most certainly not my party of choice either but if he had talked with SF I think his popularity would of shot up.

Putting the people first. Something FG/FF know nothing about.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 5:28 PM

@Gerard Smith: here’s the problem, we need a certain number of people to get it before we can go to a lockdown scenario otherwise it’ll just get us all again next time around

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Mar 22nd 2020, 5:55 PM

@George Sheils: he also rejected flat out the notion of a coalition with FF when Micheal Martin first suggested it. Also insisted for some weeks after the election that FG were preparing to go into opposition.
    The forked-tongue principles of LV and FG generally.
    Micheal Martin is no better; has made a show of himself with his desperation..

Mute Larry Whelan
    Favourite Larry Whelan
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:32 AM

@Pád: where are the shinners now,
    gone very quite.

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:48 PM

So what?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:50 PM

@Alan McDonald: well shows lack of sincerity for starters.

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:23 PM

@EillieEs: Leo paraphrased throughout his speech.

Mute Clyde
    Favourite Clyde
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:52 PM

“Good artists borrow. Great artists steal” – Pablo Picasso

Mute New Remedy Europe
    Favourite New Remedy Europe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:56 PM

@Clyde: what an incredible artistic genius Varadkar is …

Mute Craig Clancy
    Favourite Craig Clancy
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:28 PM

@New Remedy Europe: con man

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:51 PM

That speech was chronic.

The Winston Churchill paraphrase nearly made me vomit.

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy

@Vladimir Macro: Absolutely disagree with you. Im not a fan of Leo at all but at the moment hes doing a superb job. The use of quotes from others speeches is nothing new and as much as we despise Churchill it has to be accepted that during ww2 he was an exceptional leader for Britain. Any idea where Mary lou is these times??

Mar 22nd 2020, 1:04 PM

@Tom Leddy:

She’s doing her normal constituency work, supporting emergency legislation from a party she opposes, and generally being mature about things. Are you upset that they’re not playing politics during a pandemic?

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:15 PM

Actually that’s a fair point and the last sentence of my comment was uncalled for. I heard some of her interview on Dermot and Dave on today fm and yes it has to be said that now is not the time for party politics. However I still believe that Leo’s speech was appropriate for what we are facing.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:16 PM

@Tom Leddy: absolutely disagree with you. Other than a cringey speech (high on emotion and low on details), what has Leo done?

Mute Phonsie Travers
    Favourite Phonsie Travers
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:52 PM

@john doe: Could you do his job.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:55 PM

@Tom Leddy: There were many exceptional leaders in the past but FG decided on Churchill. Leo’s leadership in a time of crises has been nothing short of abysmal. 203 quid Covid unemployment payment and 3 month mortgage holiday the banks wouldn’t even stand over.
    He must be having a laugh. An embargo on Nurses prior to outbreak is also bloody scandalous. How people are fooled by this actor is beyond me.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:12 PM

@Tom Leddy: keeping her head down in case she might actually have to do something?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:18 PM

@Tom Leddy: Funny but yo you failed to mention Michael Martin in the same context or Eoin Murphy, now in self isolation like he and Simon Harris were during the election. Vareadka along with ministers who lost their seats are a care taker government. Like any government they are open to criticism and praise. Unlike Martin whose one aim is to be Taoiseacht, Mary Lou has refrained from making the crisis a political football

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:24 PM

@Tom Leddy: Mary Lou,SFs health spokesperson, all the other party leaders and their health spokespersons ,Government & their medical expert advisors and other experts have been meeting regularly every week!

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:40 PM

@Tom Leddy: Why do we despise Churchill??

Mute Larry Whelan
    Favourite Larry Whelan
    Mar 23rd 2020, 12:33 AM

@Tom Leddy: like all the Shinners ,in hiding.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:16 PM

Just to add to.the story Bellow wants the Easyjet staff to take 3 months unpaid leave while he himself will take a 20% paycut.
    He also wants to slash other T&C the staff have up to 2021, I also believe he was the main man in Ryanair 9 years ago who but an embargo on hiring Irish pilots as at the time the Irish based staff were looking for union recognition.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:17 PM

It’s reported in the SBP that Fine Gael are to ‘push for first go at Taoiseach’.

And there’s me thinking there was no point to Leos speech.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:36 PM

@The Risen: In fairness, he has been exactly the leader (Taoiseach) the country needs right now. Events sometimes find the leader and this event has not found Leo or his senior team wanting. That may grate with your own particular views and persuasions but many (including this exec) feel he is doing a great job.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:37 PM

@The Risen: if Leo created a vaccine in his bed room and gave it free to the whole world you’d be on here saying he’s useless as he didn’t cure cancer

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:58 PM

@Chris Mc: Actually, no. I judge politicians by their actions not their words, so no amount of well delivered speeches will make up for his partys decimation of our public healthcare system, especially when we’ve never needed it more.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:08 PM

@The Risen: Here here!

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:08 PM

@The Risen: Here here! Well said!

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:24 PM

@Pád: The phrase is ‘hear, hear’. Shortened from ‘hear him, hear him’ I believe.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:21 PM

@The Risen: what laughable, uninformed nonsense. If you judge politicians by their actions you would not be using words like ‘decimate’ in regards to the funding of our health system. It shows how uninformed you are just to try make a political point. In FACT the health budget has risen by 33% since 2013. From €13.1 BILLION to €17.4 BILLION. Health expenditure per population in Ireland is far above the European average too. Both of those are FACTS, easily established and verified. They obviously dont suit your agenda though so you choose to throw out populist nonsense that Leo has decimated the health service.

Mute Stiofán Mac Stáin
    Favourite Stiofán Mac Stáin
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:40 PM

@lambda sensor: Bravo! Nailed his uninformed propaganda!

The left will always use % of GDP figures to make it seem as if the government is underfunding across the board, anyone who understands statistics knows this is rubbish. Well done on using the per head figures.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:47 PM

@lambda sensor: If it’s increased by all those billions why is it still in the crapper??
    Can you answer that?
    Also you can take 2billion away from that for the white elephant they are. Holding in the absolutely wrong location.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:26 PM

@Will: That’s correct! Well done!

Mute FrontSeatDriver
    Favourite FrontSeatDriver
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:51 PM

@lambda sensor: this risen lad is old news.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:43 PM

@FrontSeatDriver: Agreed. Seems to have nothing better to do than pour forth with his pro-SF agenda on every topic. I normally let him off because I believe most people can see through him but his spoofing on this topic needed a correction (in my view).

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:47 PM

@Pád: I see you are engaging in a common argumentative approach when the first case is lost… change the question! Not today. The original case was that Leo has somehow decimated the health service. I debunked that using facts.

Mute Rob Duggan
    Favourite Rob Duggan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:51 PM

Who cares… How about some real stories

Mute George Sheils
    Favourite George Sheils
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:37 PM

Bellew is a man with few manners. But, I guess he learnt from the best.

Mute Nakedcleanersireland.com
    Favourite Nakedcleanersireland.com
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:34 PM

Is it me, but has anyone else noticed that since the airports has stopped or reduced the planes, the weather has improved, the water taste better and the air even feels cleaner?

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:36 PM

AND SOCK MAN WHERE DID HE GET IT FROM??????????

Mute Helen Barrington
    Favourite Helen Barrington
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:40 PM

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:33 PM

Thank god all the usual idiots on here have Notting to do with running the country at the moment

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:09 PM

@Pat Ryan: I would assume your are including yourself in that comment?

Mute Des Groome
    Favourite Des Groome
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:47 PM

This is a non story…
    The guy is not a politician…
    If he copied someone else’s speech then big deal.
    He shouldn’t have bothered apologising…
    Leo didnt apologize for copying old Winston Churchill did he?

Mute Marg FitzGerald
    Favourite Marg FitzGerald
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:33 PM

How much of Varadkar’s address was original?

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:52 PM

https://youtu.be/5y5aC88LldU
    This is the video

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:10 PM

@Dave Byrne: it’s been removed! Lol

Mute Lochlainn Marcus
    Favourite Lochlainn Marcus
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:56 PM

@Dave Byrne: damn it’s removed

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:49 PM

@Pád: Wonder why

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:45 PM

How the jay zeus is this news?

Mute Mary Garry
    Favourite Mary Garry
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:26 PM

Did he mention Cromwell

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:44 PM

How the jaysus is this news?

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:34 PM

@Sean Byrne: an executive of an English company uses large portions of the speech of our Taoiseach because he says he got the tone just right… damn right that is news and I absolutely want to know that. I dont see how this is hard for you to work the above out though.

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne

Are u serious. This is news.

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne

Hhhj

Mute bigjoe77
    Favourite bigjoe77
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:06 PM

Ground breaking news….. Who cares…..

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 23rd 2020, 6:51 AM

I don’t know what’s worse, the speech that idiot gave initially or the idiot that partially used text from it as a motivational tool!

Mute Simon McGrath
    Favourite Simon McGrath
    Mar 22nd 2020, 5:06 PM