You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Peter Casey announces intention to stand for election in Taoiseach's constituency

The 62-year-old says he is standing in Dublin West to give people there a ‘protest vote’.

FORMER PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE Peter Casey has announced his intention to stand as a general election candidate in Taoiseach Leo Varadkar’s constituency.

Casey, who has already filed papers to stand in Donegal, nominated himself to stand in Dublin West this morning.

The businessman finished second behind Michael D Higgins in the 2018 presidential race, when he drew controversy over his remarks about the Travelling Community.

He also unsuccessfully stood for European Parliament in the Midlands-North West constituency last year.

Announcing his candidacy, Casey said he was standing in the constituency to give people an opportunity to register “an obvious protest vote” against Varadkar.

“The Taoiseach’s string of failures is recorded for all to see,” he said.

“There’s the swing-gate and fobgate scandals, the National Children’s Hospital disgrace, the broadband spending debacle, the unprecedented crises in health and housing – list goes on and people have had enough… 

“People are right to be angry and that’s why I’m giving them the opportunity to voice their anger directly by voting for me in Dublin West.”

Speaking at the registration office this morning, the 62-year-old said he believed Varadkar was not fit to be Taoiseach, but said he would not canvas there, adding that his primary goal would be to represent the people of Donegal.

Candidates for this year’s election have until midday to submit their paperwork to be nominated. They are permitted to stand in more than one constituency under election rules, but can only take one Dáil seat.

The Taoiseach is also expected to file his papers to stand in the Dublin West constituency this morning.

Varadkar and Casey will face competition for the constituency’s four seats from outgoing TDs Joan Burton of Labour, Fianna Fáil’s Jack Chambers, and Solidarity-People Before Profit’s Ruth Coppinger.

Others standing in the constituency include Fine Gael’s Emer Currie, Sinn Féin’s Paul Donnelly, the Green Party’s Roderic O’Gorman, Social Democrats’ Aengus Ó Maoláin, Aontú’s Edward Mac Manus and independent candidates Stephen O’Loughlin and Sean O’Leary.

With reporting from Press Association.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

86 Comments
    Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:14 AM

Shut the door on the way out Lieo ..

Mute Rúraíocht
    Favourite Rúraíocht
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:48 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: Leo gets my vote. Especially now.

Mute The Quare Fella
    Favourite The Quare Fella
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:57 PM

@Willy Mc Entire:
    Beat Leo?
    A pair of plain socks should do it

Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Jan 22nd 2020, 5:54 PM

@Rúraíocht: The country is in bits and you want to vote for Leo …clueless .

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Jan 22nd 2020, 8:53 PM

@Rúraíocht: For no other reason than Casey running in his area? People like you keep Ireland where it is.

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:33 AM

Go for it peter bye bye Leo

Mute eoin carroll
    Favourite eoin carroll
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:18 AM

I thought Leo was running in Carlow kilkenny he has so many posters up around the place

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:19 AM

@eoin carroll: Same in midlands…Leo is EVERYWHERE!!!

Mute Sean Davies
    Favourite Sean Davies
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:28 AM

@eoin carroll: nah, pretty sure he is running in Dundalk. He’s everywhere down here!

Mute Bunny Johnson
    Favourite Bunny Johnson
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:03 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: Same in Mayo. Near knock there were 14 Leo’s and only 2 for the local TD. He loves himself.

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Jan 22nd 2020, 3:47 PM

@eoin carroll: I’m guessing that tacric was decided when Leo was 51% in the popularity stakes, not that he’s in the low 30′s, Im sure there are some very red faces… Couldn’t have happened to a more scurrilous lot…. FG & FF are all self interest, no public interest. Derail the gravy train….

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:13 AM

I hope he get’s absolutely HAMMERED!

I hope everyone voting gives EVERYONE ELSE a vote except him so he doesn’t even get 4th, 5th or 6th preference votes.

His disgusting populist spiel should be sent packing!

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:26 AM

@Tricia G: He is gross alright. That being said I loath Varadkar and would love to see him lose his seat.

Mute Andrew Dillon
    Favourite Andrew Dillon
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:40 AM

@Tricia G: any one who would vote for Casey would never have voted for Veradker anyway. Pointless really. More populist grandstanding.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:03 AM

@Tricia G: Its not nice to says those things about Leo

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:15 AM

@Tricia G: what’s your biggest problem with him

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:17 AM

@Tricia G: However,he is a very clever guy. He definitely has a constituency in that constituency. Add to that the anti Leo vote, and he is very likely to get in. That’s his retirement sorted.

Mute Brian Carroll
    Favourite Brian Carroll
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:31 AM

@Andrew Dillon: If anything it will probably take away from the Sinn Féin vote

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:42 AM

@aidan mccormack: He says whatever “controversial” thing he believes will get him attention.

His stance will target some minority group. He’ll seek to stir up hatred about refugees and immigrants.

Sure it worked for him in the Presidential election, why would he abandoned the one thing he knows will get him attention.

Stir up animosity with people that think they’re suffering because of refugees and not people like Peter Casey who hasn’t paid Income Tax in Ireland for years (I assume that’ changed but I can’t find any confirmation).

He’s an attention seeking populist who uses dog whistles to stir up fear in the hope it will get him votes.

He’s a populist hack!

Mute Tadhg O'shaughnessy
    Favourite Tadhg O'shaughnessy
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:56 AM

@Tricia G: eat youre porridge .at least he speaks the truth.

Mute Andrew Dillon
    Favourite Andrew Dillon
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:19 PM

@Brian Carroll: your right. All it’ll do is split the opposition vote.

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:27 PM

@Tricia G: when did he ever say anything about refugees and immigrants?

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:38 PM
    Mute Carpentoza
    Favourite Carpentoza
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:45 PM

@Andrew Dillon: more likely to split the Sinn Fein working class vote than anything

Mute James Gannon
    Favourite James Gannon
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:49 PM

@Tadhg O’shaughnessy: you can’t handle the truth

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:54 PM

@Tadhg O’shaughnessy: well that’s exactly the thing about populism isn’t it… people like you will have nothing actually constructive to say except one line retorts like ‘at least he speaks the truth’. As said by a fictional character but rings so true … ‘some people just want to see the world burn’.

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:23 PM

@Tricia G: he got alot of votes because people agreed with him

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Jan 22nd 2020, 5:23 PM

@Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh:

“clever” lol, it’s one of the easiest ways to get attention by spouting hateful rhetoric. Nothing clever about it. It’s pretty common in young teenagers.

Mute S.Inging
    Favourite S.Inging
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:23 AM

Great news, bye bye Lieo

Mute Gerard Flood
    Favourite Gerard Flood
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:54 AM

He won’t get my vote especially after he kept the beaches open on Amity Island when he knew there was a shark in the water

Mute MaeVic
    Favourite MaeVic
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:59 AM

@Gerard Flood: Thank you! That has been bugging me since the Presidential election. “where did i see him before?”

Mute Gary Sheahan
    Favourite Gary Sheahan
    Jan 22nd 2020, 3:03 PM

@Gerard Flood: Brilliant!

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:03 AM

Top man Peter
    Pity you’re not in my constituency
    Get my vote in a heartbeat
    Just to F up the others

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire

Go for it Peter

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:15 AM

In the words of Fr Jack, “that gobs***e again”.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:18 AM

@Lurfic: Actually looking at the article photo I thought it was a Fr. Ted article :-)…that picture reminded me of someone :-)

Mute BillyCroft
    Favourite BillyCroft
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:25 AM

My 8 year-old niece can come up with a more comprehensive political and economic strategy than Peter Casey, at least he’ll give us a laugh though.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:27 AM

@BillyCroft: you could make that claim about Varadkar too.

Mute tom pepper
    Favourite tom pepper
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:51 AM

All of the previous governments have failed. Would SF do any better?
    No.

More than likely they would do worse.

Vote Casey 1.
    The only real alternative to more of the same.

Mute mot leave
    Favourite mot leave
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:34 AM

@tom pepper: you’re obviously a man who slept since the turn of the millennium. In fact you must have been in a coma for the past four years. But then again if not all I can say is keep on dreaming

Mute tom pepper
    Favourite tom pepper
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:05 PM

@mot leave: I’m not dreaming,
    but you sir are on cloud cookoo land if you think voting SF in to power will make any difference to this country. It would be more of the same. Just different sheep to follow.
    In reality there there is no viable alternative with credible solutions to the running of this state.

Mute Bandit 600
    Favourite Bandit 600
    Jan 22nd 2020, 3:44 PM

@tom pepper: Sinn Fein have never been in power in the south how can you say they will be more of the same, just look at what Pearse Doherty has been able to achiev, I would love to seem have more power and see what good he can do.

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Jan 22nd 2020, 5:20 PM

@tom pepper: only a bigot with an underdeveloped brain would vote for him.

What political experience does Peter casey have? What are his values? What does he stand for?
    Nothing but division and hate. Anyone who thinks our country would benefit in any way by attacking groups of people and stirring up controversy is, at best, ignorantly deluded, although I would be seriously questioning their motives, wondering if they’re just in it for social unrest and upheaval for the sake of it.

Mute SkepticalHippoEyes
    Favourite SkepticalHippoEyes
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:17 AM

Prepare for mass triggering event

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:16 AM

I think people should vote based on policy…if I was in that constituency Leo would be far down the pecking order long before Casey entered the race

Mute Stef123
    Favourite Stef123
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:31 AM

We have a situation where the Irish are continually put last by their own government and sacrificed on the altar of political correctness. Open borders policies drive up demand in the housing market and make accomodation more expensive for everyone involved. It only benefits wealthy landlords and politicians, but most people are afraid to say it because they know they’ll be smeared and attacked by the elitist media if they do.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:44 PM

@Stef123: yet another knuckledragger.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Jan 22nd 2020, 4:10 PM

@Fergus Lynch: you just made his point

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Jan 22nd 2020, 5:30 PM

@Stef123: stop trying to justify your bigotry, you’re only fooling yourself.
    The vast majority of irish people are not xenophobic, despite what you see in this comment section.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:26 AM

O no, not this self-publcity egotist again. Does he not have a friend who could tell him.

Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:29 PM

@Bramley Hawthorne: you’re right, Leo is a real egotist.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:05 AM

Fair play Peter, pity you are not in my constituency .. hope you get enough votes to topple the arrogant little man that is Leo.

Mute S.Inging
    Favourite S.Inging
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:27 AM

The country could do with successful business people serving its people, not unqualified, unexperienced, family-line recruits.

Mute Irish Snowden
    Favourite Irish Snowden
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:51 PM

Everyone else but Leo.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:23 AM

I wonder is he standing for the Personal vanity project independent coalition, Irexit freedom UK boot lickers or Monster raving loony party. I hope he wastes a lot of his money on this so it will sting all the more.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:54 AM

1.8 million euro on spin

Mute Ger O'Reilly
    Favourite Ger O'Reilly

FF & FG two sides of the same coin
    Don’t be fooled by vague promises. A vote For FF or FG is a vote to increase your pension to 68. Don’t let them get away with it

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:32 AM

All this does is split the anti government vote even more. At least we’ll get to see how strong the anti traveller and racist vote is in Leo’s back garden

Mute JustJack
    Favourite JustJack
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:20 AM

Expect the shrill of the dog whistle as he attempts to emulate the demagoguery of the US and UK.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett

Vote number 1 of your choice only. Stop the carry over of preferences.

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:39 PM

Wish I was in this constituency to vote for the disruptor in chief Casey

Mute Niamh McGaley
    Favourite Niamh McGaley
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:18 PM

“The Taoiseach is also expected to file his papers to stand in the Dublin West constituency this morning.”
    He hasn’t done this already ???? His mugshot is on every lamp post in the country and he hasn’t even filed papers to stand in the election??!!

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:53 AM

I predict a wipe out of fg and maybe ff to..

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:07 PM

My vote is too precious to be wasted on this guy’s vanity project… No policies, no ideas, just nasty populism appealing to the lowest of the low.

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:11 AM

All he’s going to do is take votes away from people who are standing against Varadkar
    He must be looking for a gov contract

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick

Dem election posters boil my P
    All just want to keep their greedy heads in the Kildare St trough

Mute The Equalizer
    Favourite The Equalizer
    Jan 22nd 2020, 4:01 PM

Casey will put Leo out. To enjoy his pensions. Good news for D15. Many migrants and house breaks ins

Mute Lee 'McGeek' Kelly
    Favourite Lee 'McGeek' Kelly
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:06 AM

Send in the clowns…
    ….They’re already here!

Mute Gerard Lord
    Favourite Gerard Lord
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:38 AM

By voting casey you probably do Varadkar a favour in numbers

Mute Ahjaysis
    Favourite Ahjaysis
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:29 AM
    Mute The Blue Dot Observer
    Favourite The Blue Dot Observer
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:52 AM

@Ahjaysis: and Leo isn’t?

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Jan 22nd 2020, 10:56 AM

@The Blue Dot Observer: Can they not both be clowns??

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 22nd 2020, 5:23 PM

COME ON CASEY, sock it to him, time for the Ordinary Man to have his say.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jan 22nd 2020, 8:35 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: run yourself if you think the mythical ordinary man is not represented.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 22nd 2020, 9:12 PM

@DJ François: No need, Casey will do me fine, he talks our language, talks straight Countryman’s language, a Man that knows what it takes.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 22nd 2020, 9:15 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: Casey says He will not even canvass in Dublin West, but watch how many votes he will receive . You will all be surprised.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:53 PM

A foul individual whose only policy platform is hatred and dissent. Hopefully he wont find too many like-minded people in that constituency.

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:38 PM

Just remembered the lies P C stated in the Press about The Stardust families http://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2018/1028/1007202-politics/

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Jan 22nd 2020, 2:33 PM

Another gobsh++e enters race…

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 22nd 2020, 1:50 PM

Pity he didn’t stand in mayo. Saoirse McHugh would put manners on him.

Mute Pádraíg O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraíg O'hEidhin
    Jan 22nd 2020, 12:54 PM

Peter really wants that pension.

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Jan 22nd 2020, 11:37 AM

Stunt, FG voters wont vote for Casey

Mute Princess J.
    Favourite Princess J.
    Jan 22nd 2020, 2:45 PM

Looser.. but that’s what hes looking for, to distort the electorate, bring out hate and division, then swan off feeling great. Somethings wrong!!

Mute Eddiewaldorf
    Favourite Eddiewaldorf
    Jan 22nd 2020, 3:02 PM

This fooking headbanger again!!!!

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey
    Jan 22nd 2020, 4:11 PM

All Leo’s mistakes and its all because of immigrants and travellers. Casey is a plank.

Mute Rei
    Favourite Rei
    Jan 22nd 2020, 5:24 PM

This gobsh*te again… Can’t wait to not vote for him.