You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Peter Casey Wanderley Massafelli

Peter Casey is on the presidential election ballot paper as he receives 4th council nomination

The businessman received the nod from Limerick City and County Council today.

LAST UPDATE | 18 Sep 2018

FORMER DRAGONS’ DEN star Peter Casey is now officially a candidate in the 2018 presidential election after receiving his fourth nomination from a council.

This afternoon, Limerick City and County Council and Tipperary COuncil gave their backing to the Donegal businessman. 

The 60-year-old had already received endorsements from Kerry and Clare County Councils. 

In Limerick, the ex-CEO of Claddagh Resources received 21 votes, while eight other Limerick councillors voted for journalist Gemma O’Doherty. There were eight abstentions. Casey was nominated by Deputy Mayor of Limerick, Michael Collins and seconded by Fine Gael.

Casey is now one of at least six names on the ballot paper on 26 October when the country votes in its next president. 

He’ll be joining the incumbent Michael D Higgins, Sinn Féin’s selected candidate Liadh Ní Riada, Senator Joan Freeman and Casey’s former television colleagues Seán Gallagher and Gavin Duffy. 

“I am absolutely delighted to have been nominated by Limerick County Council. We are well on our way to getting on the ballot paper and the campaign can begin,” he said after securing his third nomination.

We were very late getting into this race but we have built up a momentum amongst the people and I look forward to promoting my vision of using the Presidency in a more active way for the good of the country. A special thanks to all the councillors who have nominated me as their candidate, I am humbled and honoured by their support. I will work hard to make sure I justify the confidence that is entrusted in me.

The businessman, who recently stepped down as CEO of Claddagh Resources, is “proposing a more purposeful Presidency” according to his statement.

Under the campaign banner, Small Country; Big Nation, Casey plans to leverage the economic and social resource represented by Ireland’s extensive diaspora.

“As someone who grew up in Derry, walked as a young man on the Bloody Sunday March, I have been a tireless promoter of Ireland all around the globe,” he said.

“I was on the Good Friday delegation in Washington and, after a successful career in business, I have put forward a vision of an active Presidency that will channel the power of the 75 million Irish abroad to work with this country to progress our ideas. Engaging properly with Irish communities and galvanising the 75 million people worldwide who identify themselves as Irish would be my immediate priority. I am a man of action. I understand how to get things done, and, now more than ever, Ireland needs people who get things done, rather than talk endlessly.”

He said believes the role of President can bring about much-needed social and economic change, at a practical level, rather than being purely symbolic.

Nominations must be submitted by 26 September – Wednesday of next week – and the election will be held on 26 October. A number of councils are still yet to vote on who they will nominate (or if they will endorse anyone). 

Michael D Higgins

Speaking at the National Ploughing Championships earlier today, Higgins said he was “looking forward to” the campaign.

However, he refused to be drawn on whether he would take part in any debates with other potential candidates before polling day. 

“All of that has to be settled of course,” Higgins said when asked by TheJournal.ie.

“You know very very well, I have never ever pulled back from most things. But it is all to be negotiated. My campaign team will be discussing [it with] people.”

With additional reporting from Daragh Brophy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:23 PM

Rumours abound Caseys candidacy is more about keeping Gemma O’Doherty out of the running for Gallaghers sake, than any aspirations he has on the aras.

Nothing would surprise me given the sham so far.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:28 PM

@Larkin About: “rumours” ffs.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:32 PM

@Larkin About: Correct. Gallagher gets nominated, two other dragons step in to fill the remaining council selections. Gemma also had to deal with FF usual underhandedness

I recommend everyone watch her interview this morining…..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=urLWhjTeOYY

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:33 PM

@Larkin About: Well it would certainly explain why 3 personalities from the same bloody TV show are in the race

Mute Pádraig Debhál
    Favourite Pádraig Debhál
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:49 PM

@Larkin About: Why didn’t SF TD’s and Senators nominate Gemma instead of going for an insider. They had a golden opportunity to show they were different from FF/FG by putting the country first and nominating an anti corruption candidate. Instead they appoint one of their own. Vote SF, get Fianna Fail Lite

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:51 PM

@Pádraig Debhál: SF councillors nominated Gemma. She was the only candidate on the ballot in one constituency and FF blocked it. In another, she was the only candidate and FF added Casey at the last minute and voted for him.

FF are intentionally scuppering her.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:59 PM

@The Risen: In Kerry yesterday only 3 of the 6 SF councillors voted for Gemma. 9 of the 10 FG councillors abstained so if all SF / independents had voted for Gemma then she would have won it 15 votes to 9, instead she lost it 3 votes to 14.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:46 PM

@We Love Katamari: Thanks for that. shameful of FF/FG.

Mute Pádraig Debhál
    Favourite Pádraig Debhál
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:12 PM

@Shane Corry: Very insightful figures Shane. Everyone knew that FF or FG were not going to vote for Gemma so I can’t understand the hullabaloo about them. The elephant in the room is that SF, Independents, Solidarity/PBP. SD’s, or the GP won’t vote for her either.

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Sep 18th 2018, 11:04 PM

@Michael Allen: I think people dread Sinn Féin all right but for entirely different reasons.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:36 PM

From Gemma O’Dohertys Facebook page…..

“Believing I had strong support in Kilkenny, I travelled to their Chamber meeting this afternoon to attend the vote.
    I was the only candidate to be nominated, thanks to Independents and Sinn Fein. However, Fianna Fail saw fit to stop my nomination by voting against me. This means that Kilkenny Council will put nobody forward for the presidential election.”

Shes being intentionally blocked

Mute Unconvertible Rebel
    Favourite Unconvertible Rebel
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:42 PM

@The Risen: Sean Gallagher is Fianna Fails man in this race, make no mistake. They are manipulating it so that he is unchallenged, but can’t open their mouths due to the fact that associating with them ruined his chances last time out.

Mute Caped Crusader
    Favourite Caped Crusader

@The Risen: Could it be that these FF Councillors just didnt feel she was worthy of the nomination? No conspiracy from above, these individuals felt she didnt merit a nomination so voted with their conscience? Not a dig just asking if you prove their is an agenda against GOD or if she is potentially just not cut out for the role hence not receiving the nominations?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan

@The Risen: Asking for a nomination doesn’t mean you’ll get one. Nobody is obliged to vote for her. Not everyone believes that Gemma is presidential material. “Believing” she has strong support didn’t translate to fact.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:43 PM

Fianna fail are using the dirtiest politics possible against Gemma O’Doherty, the whole selection process needs reform. We are getting candidates that councillors want, not the public.

Mute Only here for the comments
    Favourite Only here for the comments
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:44 PM

@The Risen: Perhaps there’s no conspiracy. Perhaps, people simply think that’s she’s not a good candidate? I certainly commend Gemma for any work that is done to uncover corruption, but I don’t want her as my president.

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:45 PM

@Caped Crusader: fianna fail with a conscience?? You give FF way to much credit way to much

Sep 18th 2018, 3:46 PM

@Unconvertible Rebel: unchallenged?! Forgetting about Michael D are we?

Mute Caped Crusader
    Favourite Caped Crusader
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:47 PM

@We Love Katamari: Totally agree with you re: reform of process. Its difficult to say exactly how it should be ran though, what would your thoughts be on reforming, how would a person be nominated?

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:48 PM

@The Risen: In the Kerry council vote yesterday, Gemma lost 3 votes to 14 for Peter Casey. The makeup of that council was: 10 FG, 9 FF, 9 independent / non-party & 6 SF.

9 of the 10 FG councillors abstained so if she had of gotten all the SF / independents on side she would have gotten the nomination. Instead all of FF voted for Peter Casey, their own candidate and 4 independents did also, 4 councillors voted for another candidate (a protest against child abuse) and 3 SF councillors voted for Gemma.

So there’s no blocking in the majority of council votes, that one an example out of many, she just is not getting the votes, even from SF / independents.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:48 PM

@Only here for the comments: “Perhaps, people simply think that’s she’s not a good candidate?”

Then don’t vote for her. Voting to block her being the nominee is completely undemocratic.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@We Love Katamari: Exactly.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:52 PM

@The Risen:
    FG/FF are terrified at the thoughts of her making it a far as TV debates. She knows too much. That’s why all the panic blocking is going on now at this early level. Even though Michael D is a no brainer already.

Sep 18th 2018, 3:53 PM

@We Love Katamari: Bit late to start having issues with the nomination process now, isn’t it?

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:57 PM

@Only here for the comments:i’ve always had problems with the selection process, but its the only one in place

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Only here for the comments: It’s never too late to have a problem with a flawed process. O’Doherty is certainly shining light on the grubbiness of it all.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:11 PM

@Tweed Cap: They’re all running scared of her. Sure isn’t she backed by the 1%.

Oh wait, is that a different 1%?

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Unconvertible Rebel: This is politics at its best or worst. Nothing new here. All underhanded stuff. We the public will never know what really goes on behind the scenes.

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:57 PM

Love all the gemma supporters “shes being blocked” “were being denied democracy” while she polls at 1% in a poll where the margin of error is 3%

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 18th 2018, 10:32 PM

@Ian McNally: The fact that Mary Wilson on Drive time made allegations concerning the writings of Gemma O Dorothy , Yet refused her the right of reply. Funny all the people who threatened to sue Gemma O Dorothy over the years, have yet to sue ? Why.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:46 PM

There is one thing I know. That is if you’re a so called TV celebrity there is not a chance that you’ll will be getting any preference from me.
    I reguard the presidency as an honour that should only be bestowed on someone that has at the least dedicated a portion of their lives to the betterment of our little country and its people.
    Being a Z list RTE, virgin/TV3 host or show judge dose not cut it. No matter how rich you are.

Mute Carol Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Carol Fitzpatrick
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:26 PM

Michael D all the way.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:28 PM

While all these nominees strategise and plan, all Michael D does is laugh.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry

@Peter Cavey: Not the biggest fan of Michael D but he’s the best option of those nominated / contending by a long shot. Saves us another pension to pay too.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:42 PM

More dragons than an episode of Game of Thrones!

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:35 PM

‘Dragons Den’. The breeding ground for Presidential candidates with egos as big are your Áras.

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:27 PM

It’s turning into a circus , do any of these people have a public service record ?

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Favourite BarronVonVaderHam
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:58 PM

He’s a ringer for the mayor in Jaws, if he gets the job he’ll be like “those beaches will be open”

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Favourite BarronVonVaderHam
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:00 PM

@BarronVonVaderHam: https://goo.gl/images/e7NTrp

Mute Jim Kirby
    Favourite Jim Kirby
    Sep 18th 2018, 7:12 PM

Michael D is light years ahead of the other candidates plus his proven contribution to Irish life down the years

Mute Alonso
    Favourite Alonso
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:27 PM

Ah come on! A big dragons den conspiracy to keep the mighty Gemma O’Doherty down?!There are some plums on the Journal. The dragon boys just want to raise their business profiles and O’Doherty wants to spout her tinfoil hat theories from a louder platform. Let her rattle away on her blog about the gardai’s involvement in 9/11 etc. where she belongs and let the wee man continue to do a top notch job in a ceremonial position. Give it a rest.

Mute John McCole
    Favourite John McCole
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:31 PM

Whoever you vote for don’t choose the FF bagman.

Mute Jimbob Walton
    Favourite Jimbob Walton
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:42 PM

All the councils selecting rich business men. Definitely no corruption here.

Mute Ross Fehily
    Favourite Ross Fehily
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:43 PM

Another Dragon businessman. The role of President is a cultural and symbolic one. Not about how much a sheisty business person you are.

Sep 18th 2018, 3:32 PM

Good, we need more options. Mickey D gombeen politician. Duffy looks too much like Bertie. Gallagher’s FF connections. That leaves ni riada freeman, and hopefully casey as the only options.

Mute Joseph Murphy
    Favourite Joseph Murphy
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:21 PM

Any actual politicians up for this political role?

It’s like hiring for a plumbing job and all the potential candidates being carpenters by trade.

A circus.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:17 PM

A complete joke.

Mute The Exhibition Guy!
    Favourite The Exhibition Guy!
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:43 PM

Seriously, just listening to Peter Casey on drive time…the man is all over the shop. Absolutely won’t be voting for him. He hasn’t a hope

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:30 PM

Somebody is having a laugh. Councillors will pay the price at local elections

Mute Jennifer Kelly
    Favourite Jennifer Kelly
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:25 PM

Such waste of money and time.. its an ego race

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:11 PM

The Dragons have started their own “Me Too” movement!

Mute Alan Morrissey
    Favourite Alan Morrissey
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:49 PM

F.Y.I., lads; Gemma O’Doherty received three votes.

Mute Alan Morrissey
    Favourite Alan Morrissey
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:06 PM

@Alan Morrissey: I was at today’s presentations. She received a vote from the councillor who proposed her, the councillor who seconded her, and one other member. The press release sent out was incorrect.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:55 PM

Fair play to kilkenny county council

Mute Black Tears
    Favourite Black Tears
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:17 PM

Mickey D has the hearts of the young ones, and we know what way the young ones votes. The wee angels

Mute Alan O Cathasaigh
    Favourite Alan O Cathasaigh
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:31 PM

The circus continues…..

Mute Ciaran Daly
    Favourite Ciaran Daly
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:21 PM

Casey has had input into the country. He is a very likeable person. Not a bag man for anyone or a smug egotist like Duffy. Let’s here what he has to say.

Mute PolyglotPaul
    Favourite PolyglotPaul
    Sep 18th 2018, 7:32 PM
    Mute Brian O'Byrne
    Favourite Brian O'Byrne
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:47 PM

Well over 20% of the votes will go to the Sinn Féin candidate so it’s a fight between the others but it’s down to how much support O’Higgins will get and rumour has it that he has lost all the defence force votes so that’s another 8000 votes to Sinn Fein who are the only party which will drag all their supporters out to vote so will Sinn Fein finally get the big house ,it’s looking good for them as of now

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Sep 18th 2018, 10:58 PM

@Brian O’Byrne: I take it that’s a joke because if you really believe it your beyond help.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Sep 18th 2018, 7:28 PM

Another time waster…….

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:41 PM

GOODMAN PETER FAIR PLAY TO YOU………………people will you not let him enjoy this moment, look he is never going to win the race sure his shoelaces are open……..GOODMAN PETER YOUR FLYING ALONG.

Mute Anto Whelan
    Favourite Anto Whelan
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:50 PM

I just want to let ye know that i dont care..

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Sep 18th 2018, 3:55 PM

Fair play to kilkenny county council

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Sep 18th 2018, 7:31 PM

O Dear, just listened to this latest wannabe being interviewed on drive time, it was a shockingly bad, woeful and dreadful pitch. It seems he’s main interest is getting the disphoria to send their kids to the Gaeltacht, a week in Derry and a week in Dublin , all in the cause of learning about culture and Irish history. Mr Casey may misunderstand the reason for disphoria, they F@#Ked off for a better life. He had nothing else to offer, say, Dear god, when is this nonsense going end

Mute edelno5 .
    Favourite edelno5 .
    Sep 18th 2018, 11:22 PM

@Joseph Dempsey: Diaspora?

Mute Matt F
    Favourite Matt F
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:23 PM

P1$$ing contest by a load of egoists now

Mute edelno5 .
    Favourite edelno5 .
    Sep 18th 2018, 11:21 PM

He doesn’t even live in this country,ffs!!! GGGRRRRRRRR!!

Mute Patrick Lavery
    Favourite Patrick Lavery
    Sep 19th 2018, 7:51 AM

Is this mimicking Trump, seriously???

Mute Roisin Mc Tigue Giuliana
    Favourite Roisin Mc Tigue Giuliana
    Sep 19th 2018, 6:59 AM

If the dragon gets in, it will no longer b an Aras it will become a den with fire spewing