You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Peter O'Toole in London in 1980. AP Photo/Staff/Caulkin

Legendary film star Peter O’Toole dies aged 81

President Michael D Higgins has paid tribute to the man he described as a friend and “one of the giants of film and theatre”.

Updated 7.59pm

PETER O’TOOLE, ONE of the most gifted actors of his generation, has died in a London hospital at the age of 81.

The actor found fame as the lead role in Lawrence of Arabia in 1962 and was critically acclaimed during his career spanning five decades on stage and screen.

His agent said tonight that he had died on Saturday at the Wellington hospital in London following a long illness.

President Michael D Higgins has paid tribute to his friend and said the world has lost “one of the giants of film and theatre”.

O’Toole was nominated for eight Academy Awards during his career but never won, making him the ignominious record holder for the most nods without a win. He did however receive an honorary Academy Award in 2003.

His most recent nomination was for the 2006 British film Venus, also gaining nominations for Goodbye Mr Chips (1969), The Lion in Winter (1968) and Lawrence of Arabia (1962).

He worked up until last year when he announced he was retiring from acting as he no longer had the heart for it, saying: “I bid the profession a dry-eyed and profoundly grateful farewell”.

O’Toole was at times claimed as an Irish actor but uncertainty exists over his actual place of birth. In his autobiography, he notes he was either born in Connemara or else in Leeds.

President Higgins said he had known O’Toole since 1969 and had spent time with him in Galway a decade later.

“Sabina and I and our children will miss him, as will all those who saw him on screen or stage or had the privilege, as I had, of enjoying his friendship and humour,” he said.

“He was unsurpassed for the grace he brought to every performance on and off the stage”.

(Video: MoviesHistory/YouTube)

Originally published 6.20pm

Read: Peter O’Toole retires at 79, says he no longer has the heart for it >

Read: Irish actor Peter O’Toole leaves his mark on Hollywood, literally >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute HearMeNow33
    Favourite HearMeNow33
    May 14th 2020, 10:37 AM

Not this time but I did on the previous 18 coronavirus’…

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    May 14th 2020, 10:39 AM

@HearMeNow33: Ahh 15, that was a good one. I remember stealing through the bushes past the cops with a gimp mask for my husband and a bouncy castle for the little one….fun times!!

Mute Eoin O'Neill
    Favourite Eoin O'Neill
    May 14th 2020, 1:08 PM

@Green Lentils: now there is a mental image…

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 14th 2020, 10:39 AM

After reading the article I think the poll should have been, did you judge anyone for breaking the lockdown rules?

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    May 14th 2020, 10:44 AM

@Logan Shepherd: ah yes…all those..”while i was in the park today..there were SO many people in the park..its a disgrace” comments

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 14th 2020, 10:53 AM

@Trish O’Leary-Dunne: Thems the ones :-)

Mute Yolita Ferue
    Favourite Yolita Ferue
    May 14th 2020, 10:55 AM

@Trish O’Leary-Dunne: Reminds me of the audience on Gay Byrne’s The late late show who would complain about Ireland becoming sexually depraved.

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    May 14th 2020, 2:01 PM

@Yolita Ferue: what park are you going to

Mute Minamino
    Favourite Minamino
    May 14th 2020, 10:59 AM

Drove from kilkenny to cavan to get the ride

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    May 14th 2020, 11:25 AM

@Minamino: definitely wouldn’t be the other way around unless it was free petrol

Mute Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    Favourite Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin

@Minamino: was it good?!!

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    May 14th 2020, 11:49 AM

@John Jones: lol

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    May 14th 2020, 12:25 PM

@Minamino: That’s nothing compared to what Meehole is doing to become the most hated Merry go Round Taoiseach Ireland ever had

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    May 14th 2020, 1:23 PM

@Minamino: did you get a ride back?

Mute Lisa Rowe
    Favourite Lisa Rowe
    May 14th 2020, 3:15 PM

@Caoimhín O’Cheallacháin: thinking of making the trip yourself Caoimhín?

Mute Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    Favourite Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    May 14th 2020, 3:29 PM

@Lisa Rowe: haha no I’m good Lisa thanks…. Smells too much like effort!!!

Mute Lotus
    Favourite Lotus
    May 15th 2020, 9:01 AM

@Minamino:
    Did you Social Distance and sanitise during the ride ?

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    May 14th 2020, 10:38 AM

What’s a non essential item to you may be essential to me. How do you decide. Who decides?

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    May 14th 2020, 11:07 AM

@Green Lentils: I queued up for nearly an hour to get into The Range and when you got in 80% of the shop was tapped off. Half an aisle would have stickers on the products saying “This is not for sale, as it’s an non essential item” Board games, jigsaws and the like were not for sale which I thought was ridiculous. I could see someone snapping like Michael Douglas in Falling Down Before all this is over

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    May 14th 2020, 11:09 AM

@David Garland: I was in Tesco and they had the make up section closed but you could still buy false nails?!

Mute Kendra Jackson
    Favourite Kendra Jackson
    May 14th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Trish O’Leary-Dunne: Tesco had the stationery aisle and the books blocked off last time I was in.
    I mean surely books would be an essential item for anybody stuck at home.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 14th 2020, 11:14 AM

@Trish O’Leary-Dunne: Yes, but even the worst DIY enthusiast knows they are no good.

Mute Gordon Lambe
    Favourite Gordon Lambe
    May 14th 2020, 11:22 AM

@Green Lentils: chuck norris decides

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    May 14th 2020, 11:27 AM

@Kendra Jackson: I thought the reason for this was to stop people picking up/touching everything..

Mute Gwen Murphy
    Favourite Gwen Murphy
    May 14th 2020, 12:24 PM

@David Garland: I hear you , was fuming

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    May 14th 2020, 12:37 PM

@David Garland: in New York if you sell food, then you can sell everything that you normally sell along with it. It’s been convenient but then it’s caused some people to just go to these places for a browse.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    May 14th 2020, 12:45 PM

I sure did. I took my son for a short drive to calm him down. After 10 weeks of being cooped up at home it was essential. I have done 1 or 2 more since and I was dying for the guards to stop me. I’d roll down the window and the screams out. Or I’d open the door and let my son out and drive off :D Some people might understand what I mean, more might if i say, he’s not a toddler. He’s 20.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    May 14th 2020, 1:13 PM

@Marie Broomfield: 10 weeks? Fair play to you.. was there a prize? Lol

Mute Marie Broomfield
    May 14th 2020, 1:52 PM

@Ian Breathnach: yep 10. we self isolated before the lockdown too. Priize? Olanzapine.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    May 14th 2020, 11:03 AM

I went to a store outside the 5km from my home for an essential item which the store deemed not essential. I then travelled further from my home where I got the essential item no problem.

I won’t be returning to the first store again.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    May 14th 2020, 1:12 PM

@Vladimir Macro: you do understand that would not be breaking the rules. Why do people confuse the distance for exercise up so much?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 14th 2020, 1:19 PM

@Vladimir Macro: A store that was open wouldn’t sell you something because they deemed it non-essential ? What kind of muppet is running that store ?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    May 14th 2020, 1:26 PM

@Tommy Roche: Just reading other comments and it seems it was common. Haven’t seen it myself. 2 hardware stores where I live. 1 never closed, other opened about a month ago. No restrictions on what could be bought.

Mute Yolita Ferue
    Favourite Yolita Ferue
    May 14th 2020, 10:51 AM

Imagine if we were all back living in the 1950s where Magdalene laundries existed and pregnant, unmarried women were pretty much shunned and ostracised from Irish society and the headline was targeted towards them with the words “Have you broken any chastity vows?”

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    May 14th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Yolita Ferue: The same mind set prevails, that of judging others, you would imagine we had learnt something from our dark past but evidently not, we carry on.

Mute Yolita Ferue
    Favourite Yolita Ferue
    May 14th 2020, 11:14 AM

@Honeybee: I know I’ll probably get slammed for writing this but it just goes to show you what judgmental pr**** Irish people can be.

Mute Divad Nayr
    Favourite Divad Nayr
    May 14th 2020, 10:52 AM

Is there any cat tax refund since Cars are idle during lockdown.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    May 14th 2020, 11:06 AM

@Divad Nayr: Yes. If you take your car off the road, and notify the motor tax department, you won’t have to pay tax on it. Same as always.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    May 14th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Derek Walsh: agreed Derek but I can see what he means in if it was already taxed you cant be reimbursed retrospectively. But sure look. It is what it is. Global pandemics dont happen that often. We cant moan about everything ha. Not that the original poster was moaning.

Mute Harry N
    Favourite Harry N
    May 14th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Divad Nayr: no, hubby works in MTO, you can take your car off the road but think it has to be for 3 months and there’s a form or something, I don’t really be listening, but the answer to your question is no!

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    May 14th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Divad Nayr: I didn’t know cats were taxed?

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    May 14th 2020, 1:52 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: vat on pussy

Mute Damian Faulkner
    Favourite Damian Faulkner
    May 14th 2020, 2:47 PM

@Divad Nayr: i took mine off the road as tax was up end of April,filled out an online form. The minimum time is for three months, rang and asked before hand to find out if that’s the minimum time and was told yes but you can re tax it at any time you want.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    May 14th 2020, 11:15 AM

Let’s try another one: how many countries did not have a lockdown and are in the same (or better) shape as Ireland today?

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo

@Stan Papusa: none I would say.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    May 14th 2020, 11:38 AM

@mr magoo: Incorrect

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    May 14th 2020, 11:38 AM

@Stan Papusa: None. Those showing exceptionally low rates of infection have an exceptionally low rate of testing, like some in the Third World. Or in situations where the country’s government gives wrong or no information on infection / testing numbers.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    May 14th 2020, 12:51 PM

@Stan Papusa: Or how about countries that did a more severe lock-down to us and fared much better – e.g. New Zealand that closed everything including airports – 21 total deaths – that’s total not per day!

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    May 14th 2020, 2:54 PM

@Anthony Clark: A very strict, but short and early lockdown is not what Ireland is enduring at the moment.

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    May 14th 2020, 10:44 AM

You gotta break the rules yourself to see others break them……

Mute Peter Clancy
    Favourite Peter Clancy
    May 14th 2020, 10:57 AM

@Coco86: Not necessarily true. You could be exercising alone respecting social distancing within your 5km zone and see a group of people gathering outside of their zone showing no regard to guidelines.

Then there are the Gemma O’Doherty mob who showed no respect to the guidelines.

Mute Shelley Keary
    Favourite Shelley Keary
    May 14th 2020, 1:59 PM

Large garden centres could have stayed open once strict social distancing kept and gloves supplied. Gardening, even just to grow seeds in window boxes, along with the good weather, was one of the very few pleasures left.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    May 14th 2020, 11:47 AM

I always assumed that they were advisories not rules

Mute Gabriel Holmes
    Favourite Gabriel Holmes

Went 4 km instead of 2km for a cycle .

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    May 14th 2020, 11:55 AM

@Gabriel Holmes: Say 3 our fathers, 3 hail mary’s and a glory be to the father, clean the candle wax that dripped from the penny candles on your way out,…. oh, and I’m still telling your mother Gabriel Homes, a bicycle ….a bicycle…..

Mute Ig Clarke
    Favourite Ig Clarke
    May 15th 2020, 8:14 AM

@Gabriel Holmes: So that would be 8 kms ?

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    May 14th 2020, 1:13 PM

Marie, these are really difficult and stressful times we are living in, you have to do what is right for your boy and I would do the same, this lock down is causing a huge and hidden toll on our mental health, keep well and reassure your son, so many families are suffering silently . We have all broken rules, sometimes it is not a choice.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    May 14th 2020, 1:58 PM

@Honeybee: Thanks for understanding. My husband say’s it’s not breaking the rules because we are doing it as part of our caring for someone role. but that Dr would say that we just “more readily find excuses for our own bad behaviour than we do for others”.

Mute John Hoare
    Favourite John Hoare
    May 14th 2020, 4:07 PM

Mortality rate amongst under 50s is less then 1% – this lockdown is a joke

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 14th 2020, 4:20 PM

@John Hoare: continue in your research Dr. Hoare and I think you may find that this virus is a pretty scary thing. If you’re still skeptical at this point I would say you simply struggle to understand most things, if you’re just being obstinate however at that point i’d call you selfish and borderline sociopathic. It’s never to late to re – educate ourselves

Mute John Hoare
    Favourite John Hoare
    May 14th 2020, 4:40 PM

@Wayne Connor: “scary” the fastest way to dumb down a population is to scare them”

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 14th 2020, 4:50 PM

@John Hoare: you can’t be helped. I wish you and your family well

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    May 14th 2020, 11:49 AM

During Covid 12, 15 and 17 I did……got better during 18 and am really sticking to rules during Covid 19.

Mute Ig Clarke
    Favourite Ig Clarke
    May 15th 2020, 8:21 AM

@Michael Patrick Newell: I’m betting that comment is a joke. At least I hope it is.

Mute Del Bear
    Favourite Del Bear
    May 14th 2020, 6:20 PM

I met a friend for a socially distant walk..was very down in the dumps and isolating alone, needed a chat with someone that wasn’t over zoom, we were 2m away from each other and it did me the world of good! Dont regret it and dont see how it increased anyones risk..I can be 2 metres away from a stranger in a park but not a friend?

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    May 14th 2020, 10:59 AM

Broke one going to buy bottle of Dettol

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    May 14th 2020, 11:05 AM

@pat seery: Did you feel saucy

Mute Billy
    Favourite Billy
    May 14th 2020, 2:01 PM

I once went to the local small shop twice in one day. The first time was for food and the second was immediately afterwards to buy as many bottles of soft drink as I could carry which I guess is non-essential. You can piss off if you want to tell me that I can’t have the simple pleasure of a glass of Coke when hundreds of people are travelling here to pick strawberries.

I’ve barely left the house other than to buy food until the other day when I started going for very short walks to an area with plenty of room to avoid people. I was enjoying yesterdays walk when some baseball-capped buffoon cycled right up to me and said “sorry” (not as in an apology, as in “I want to ask you something”). I turned and walked in the other direction as fast as I could.

I don’t judge people for breaking the rules. I judge people for being idiots. Once when I was in the shop buying food I saw someone picking up some ice pops. That’s non-essential but I don’t begrudge him a nice Brunch or Loop The Loop. What I judge him for is how he almost ran into the shop and walked right past me down a narrow aisle before I had a chance to move.

If someone wants to drive twenty miles I couldn’t care less as long as they’re careful. Honestly I think the two kilometer rule is ridiculous because it means if you live somewhere with not many nice places to go everyone will end up going to the one park for a walk.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    May 14th 2020, 12:30 PM

If others coming within 2 metres of me counts then yes.

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    May 14th 2020, 4:58 PM

I live by the Phoenix Park so during the 2km exercise restriction, my cycle around the Phoenix park each day involved a period of time where as the crow flies, I was a little further than 2km, it was probably 3km or so.
    Makes no difference since I was never anywhere near anyone for more than a fleeting moment as I cycled past and always well beyond 2m distance.

Mute Robert Nugent
    Favourite Robert Nugent
    May 14th 2020, 3:36 PM

Not following them and neither is anyone I know. Listen to this expert.
    https://youtu.be/Avc6_ftzk3w

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 14th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Robert Nugent: that’s a misinformation video from the far right extre Dolores Cahill. She clearly has an agenda, look her up. She’s anti vax, anti abortion etc. ask yourself would you rather listen to Travis Bickle or Tony Fauci

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 14th 2020, 6:25 PM

@Robert Nugent: that “opinion” has been debunked repeatedly but you keep posting it. Why is she claiming lifetime immunity for anyone that catches it? There’s no scientific basis for that. There’s also no basis for her theory that social distancing is totally unnecessary. And her theory that Bill Gates is deliberately infecting meat processing plants in the US is just insane. You were complaining about them being tough to stick to the other day so when you say you’re not following them you’re full of sh!t

Mute tuco
    Favourite tuco
    May 14th 2020, 1:25 PM

I had sex with my wife for the first time in months.does that count

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    May 14th 2020, 1:53 PM

@tuco: was she in Cavan by any chance

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 14th 2020, 1:55 PM

@tuco: depends how far away the other woman/women you’ve been having sex with are and how far they travel after reading this.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    May 14th 2020, 1:54 PM

Breaking the rules… take the poll next week after the golf clubs open. Time sheet filled with lots if people breaking the 5km rule.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    May 14th 2020, 5:53 PM

Two junctions on my 40k cycle route are 5.5k away from my house,.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    May 14th 2020, 6:35 PM

I went to the local Co-Op to buy Chloras to power-wash my house…and to the local machine rental shop to rent the power washer. Is that essential? Doubt it…considering the house has been unclean for a few years now LOL