You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'The price of petrol will drop — but you're going to be disappointed'

Why are Irish motorists not yet feeling the benefit of declining global oil prices?

THE GLOBAL PANDEMIC is putting severe downward pressure on crude oil prices under but consumers are wondering if and when they’re going to feel the benefit.

For Conor Faughnan, director of consumer affairs for AA Ireland, “There is a price reduction for motorists in the post. It’s coming. But you’re going to be disappointed when it arrives”.

Demand for oil has collapsed because of what the International Monetary Fund is calling ‘The Great Lockdown’ and its effects on travel and transportation.

This, coupled with a global shortage of storage space for oil, has caused a massive sell-off on commodities markets this week.

Earlier this week, US oil prices slumped to below $0 a barrel for the first time while Brent Crude, the benchmark used to price two-thirds of global oil, hit a two-decade low.

In Ireland, those of us in the minority of people still driving their cars every day might be wondering why this crisis isn’t being reflected on garage forecourts.

In recent weeks, the Consumer Association of Ireland CAI) has even taken Ireland’s largest fuel retailers to task on this subject.

As reported by the Irish Independent last month, CAI chairman Michael Kilcoyne accused the industry of “price gouging” by not passing on savings to the consumer.

The somewhat good news for drivers is that according to AA Ireland’s most recent price survey, forecourt fuel prices have slid by around 20c a litre since January.

In March alone, the average price of a litre of unleaded fell by 15c from €1.42 in February to €1.27 while the price of diesel fell by 16c to €1.17 in the same period.

Why not a more notable drop in prices at the pump? Because Faughnan says, the price of crude oil accounts for only one-third of the price of a litre of petrol.

He says that when the last crash occurred, “oil was trading at around$148 a barrel”.

“Then when the crash occurred, it dropped down to about $30 per barrel.

“At that time in Ireland, the Irish government added emergency taxes to fuel in the 2008 emergency budget and subsequently, in 2009 and 2010, added more tax to fuel. Those emergency austerity era taxes are still there.”

According to the AA survey, the price a litre of petrol last month was 40c before taxes were added, while a litre of diesel cost 43c.

Faughnan believes that there will be a further decline in prices for motorists but it won’t quite reflect the dramatic headlines of recent days.

Tight margins

The major Irish-owned fuel retail groups have been very profitable operations in recent years. Last year, pre-tax profits at Applegreen climbed by 137% to nearly €71 million while Maxol booked pre-tax profits of over €15 million in 2018.

But Faughnan says, “If you go into a typical garage, the chances are it’s a franchise operation. It’s a small local business.

You go in and you buy €30 worth of diesel, a cup of coffee and the newspaper. It is literally true that the guy is making more money on the coffee, so tight are the margins for retailers.

His advice for consumers — who might be experiencing tight margins themselves thanks to the pandemic — is, “Buy fuel in units of litres rather than in units of currency.”

“So, if your habit is to buy 20 quid’s worth, don’t do that. Buy 15 litres. It will become immediately obvious if garage number one is charging you €21 and garage number two was charging your €19 (for the same quantity).

“The informed consumer has to do a bit more to look for good value. And the more you do that, the better value we’ll get in the market.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 42 comments
42 Comments
    Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:01 PM

It will become immediately obvious what each garage is charging by looking at the price on those big signs they have,I would have thought.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:16 PM

@Larry Betts: Faughnan has a habit of stating the bleedin’ obvious.

Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    Apr 22nd 2020, 4:51 PM

FFG are the simple answer why no benefit for Paddy.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:29 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: Yep they are in the pocket of big business, let them charge what they want with no oversight at all in every sector imaginable. How any votes for this is beyond me, we are a nation of nitwits we really are.

Mute Trev Gilmore
    Favourite Trev Gilmore
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:31 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: Sure everyone knows that sinn fein are the party of cheap deisel

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:03 PM

@Gary O CONNOR: Out of nowhere. The new SF propagandist. The Risible Risen moniker has been relieved and a new team of SF bots is born. And maybe the Larkin chappy too.
    All under one name commentary.
    Such obvious but sinister manipulation.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:04 PM

@Trev Gilmore: And fags

Mute Trev Gilmore
    Favourite Trev Gilmore
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:21 PM

@David Glynn: are the fags they sell as bad as the diesel?

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:47 PM

@Peter Hughes: I think you missed the point of the article, or you didn’t read it?

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:02 PM

And in meantime Irish Home Heating Energy costs are among the highest in Europe???

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Apr 22nd 2020, 4:54 PM

Should be at least €1 a litre on both even with government tax

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Apr 22nd 2020, 9:31 PM

@Gerrard: The government encourages profiteering. The richest man in the country owns Circle K and he tells the government and everybody else what he is charging and nobody dare not question him

Mute Gasher
    Favourite Gasher
    Apr 23rd 2020, 9:45 AM

@Whoswho: he sold it off years ago.

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 22nd 2020, 4:58 PM

Buy litres instead of currency……Jesus wept…this is financial advice gold…this guy must have worked for barrings,linemen’s and northern rock

Mute Tony Steedman
    Favourite Tony Steedman
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:03 PM

@David cotter: Barings. Lehman Brothers.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:05 PM

@David cotter: Next week’s advice. When you’re buying your coffee in the garage,buy a regular one in each,then compare which garage charged you more

Mute .Tk mc carthy
    Favourite .Tk mc carthy
    Apr 22nd 2020, 7:25 PM

@Larry Betts:
    Try pouring regular coffee u buy into
    Large cup
    Same amount but dearer

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:18 PM

@David cotter: A graduate of the KPMG school of incompetence I’d bet.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Apr 22nd 2020, 9:12 PM

@.Tk mc carthy: actually, you can normally buy a large coffee in a regular cup. It will be full to the brim (maybe a little spillage) but you get the full cup.

Mute Keith Synnott
    Favourite Keith Synnott
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:06 PM

How about the Journal look at the price of Kerosene around the country ? €189 for 500 litres today in Dublin yet all Cork vendors selling at €220-€230. Thats a massive difference and normally it’s more expensive to purchase anything in Dublin.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:14 PM

@Keith Synnott: More competition in the big smoke also.

Mute Seanie Bourke
    Favourite Seanie Bourke
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:59 PM

@Keith Synnott: 500 for 1000 litres here in Clare. No point ringing around either cause its a cosy cartel shocking robbers

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 22nd 2020, 9:09 PM

@Seanie Bourke: €430/1000ltr, 250/500ltr in Mayo. Some difference around the country alright.

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    Apr 22nd 2020, 9:57 PM

@Seanie Bourke: Seanie 1000 ltrs in Roscommon 340 euro.

Mute Arthur Knipe
    Favourite Arthur Knipe
    Apr 23rd 2020, 8:54 AM

@Keith Synnott: €285 for 500litres from Top Oil in Mayo. Big difference in price from Dublin and Roscommon to Mayo. I agree totally, there is a cartel with all oil companies as well as fuel garage’s.. Price for diesel and petrol the same @ €1.19 in Castlebar now for 2 weeks in a row.
    Total rip off.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:03 PM

Why would you go around filling by quantity instead of currency to determine if you can save. The prices are on the fuel pumps.

Mute Barry Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Barry Ó Braonáin
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:49 PM

As Faughnan from the AA said that the margins are so small for petrol/desiel they make more on the cup of coffee you buy, then reduce the price of petrol and desiel in thier garages and they’ll have more customers coming in buying that cup of coffee, oh wait they are already making over €100 million profit!! Monopoly at its best!

Mute Stephen Matthews
    Favourite Stephen Matthews

Sell yer car, on yer bike, can’t be taxed.
    Cycle far, all ye like, quite relaxed.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:22 PM

@Stephen Matthews: with kids and suitcases to boot

Mute Luan Willis
    Favourite Luan Willis
    Apr 22nd 2020, 11:20 PM

@Stephen Matthews: He’s a poet and he didn’t know it..

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Apr 22nd 2020, 4:54 PM

It’s needs the high tax’s to bring in much needed funds for the exchequer

Mute Gerry Malone
    Favourite Gerry Malone
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:38 PM

Diesel in Dundalk is selling at 99 cent.Petrol is one euro seven cent.Happy days

Mute James Lane
    Favourite James Lane
    Apr 23rd 2020, 12:49 AM

@Gerry Malone: but where is it coming from, is it shite that will destroy your engine or is it legal fuel…

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:51 PM

I was just thinking lately that They would come up with a ” Story” , yea a ” Story” , to prevent us from really gaining through the price drop

Mute Noname !
    Favourite Noname !

try Waze app.. to see fuel prices & update fuel prices

Mute Mary Fitzsimons
    Favourite Mary Fitzsimons
    Apr 22nd 2020, 9:06 PM

My local pack of petrol stations in Wicklow town seem to have a cartel agreement and keep the same high price at 1.32. Foolish of them as most people driving are essential workers who commute, past many stations and get to see what petrol costs in Harold’s crossor on the quays.

Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:52 PM

Hope the price of oil goes up again before the budget or the feckers will throw another load of tax onto it

Mute Trevor Branigan
    Favourite Trevor Branigan
    Apr 22nd 2020, 7:17 PM

@Quiet Goer: they’ll throw a load of tax on it regardless in the form of annual carbon taxes because they can; because while everyone complains, nobody objects!

Mute Gil Thelander
    Favourite Gil Thelander
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:21 PM

What’s the cheapest price you’ve seen for petrol and diesel so far??

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:02 PM

Hold my money there and ill screw you from the other side.

Mute .Tk mc carthy
    Favourite .Tk mc carthy
    Apr 22nd 2020, 7:23 PM

Diesel €2.10 in Bandon over 2 weeks
    Kilbrogan
    Service station

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Apr 22nd 2020, 10:44 PM

I just want to make sure I have this right – are they saying that fuel is a loss leader to sell coffee?
    How do they say shit with a straight face?