You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

YouTuber PewDiePie. YouTube/PewDiePie

'I said the worst word I could possibly think of': YouTube star PewDiePie apologises

He said there was no excuse for using the word.

YOUTUBE’S MOST WATCHED blogger PewDiePie has apologised for using a racial slur while playing a livestreamed video game, saying there were “no excuses” for what he said.

In a video clip available online since Sunday, the 27-year-old Swede, whose real name is Felix Kjellberg, can be heard using the N-word in an expletive-laden tirade at his opponent.

In a new YouTube video posted Tuesday that was viewed more than 450,000 times within three hours, Kjellberg said he was “sorry”.

“It was something that I said in the heat of the moment. I said the worst word I could possibly think of and it just sort of slipped out,” he admitted.

“I’m not going to make any excuses as to why it did, because there are no excuses for it.”

PewDiePie is known for posting humorous clips and playing livestreamed video games for his more than 57 million followers on YouTube, making him the site’s most watched blogger.

It is not the first time Kjellberg has been at the centre of controversy. In February, he lost contracts with Youtube and Disney over anti-Semitic comments, and he was temporarily blocked from Twitter in September 2016 after joking he had joined the Islamic State group.

“I’m disappointed in myself because it seems like I’ve learned nothing from all these past controversies,” Kjellberg said.

“I’m just an idiot, but that doesn’t make what I said or how I said it okay. It was not okay,” he added.

“I’m really sorry if I offended, hurt or disappointed anyone with all of this.”

Following the tirade, one game developer said he was going to file a complaint to prevent the Swede from playing his games online.

“He’s worse than a closeted racist: he’s a propagator of despicable garbage that does real damage to the culture around this industry,” developer Sean Vanaman tweeted.

© – AFP 2017

Read: One year to go before the world’s Catholics descend on Dublin >

Read: Man in critical condition after being struck by van which failed to stop in Longford >

View 98 comments
98 Comments
    Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:08 PM

I’m off to cut a Mars Bar into 4… Feck the begrudgers

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:41 PM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: it’s even more fun when you glue four Kitkat Chunkies together and see the reaction from others.

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Jul 25th 2018, 5:47 PM

@Harry Whitehead: brilliant :)

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 26th 2018, 1:35 AM

@Harry Whitehead: All Kit Kat lovers will never forgive you for that scurrilous comment. Sacrilege of the highest order. Will not sit at table in canteen at work with the unbelievers who produce supermarket home brands of Kit Kat. Peasants who do not know the true meaning of four fingers.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:40 PM

Did they give two fingers to KitKat

Mute Dlow Brown
    Favourite Dlow Brown
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:15 PM

Ah here…… take a break lads

Mute Fat Face 99
    Favourite Fat Face 99
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:20 PM

Just as well they stamp their name on each bar or I wouldn’t have a clue what I was eating……..

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:19 PM

Can i have a Kit Kat chunky?
    Sorry, we only have the ordinary ones…
    That`s what i meant, you fa..

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jul 25th 2018, 8:35 PM

@Pixie McMullen: 10/10

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:16 PM

My whole life has been a lie

Mute Chipstix
    Favourite Chipstix
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:55 PM

I’m never satisfied by one kit-kat, I need about 3 of them they’re all finger and no chocolate if you ask me

Mute Andy
    Favourite Andy
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:11 PM

Tough Break..

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:39 PM

Two fingers to them so

Mute Irish Political GIF
    Favourite Irish Political GIF
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:52 PM

The fact that they even asked has put me off kitkats

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 25th 2018, 8:59 PM

Mind you, people were familiar with the real Toblerone shape before the other company took chunks out of it at their discretion. I didn’t hear that company arguing that people had come to expect the usual trademark shape. With all the usual triangles.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:39 PM

Two fingers to them so!!

Mute Maggie O'Sullivan
    Favourite Maggie O'Sullivan
    Jul 25th 2018, 9:00 PM

FFS REALLY!!!!

Mute Red Ruskie
    Favourite Red Ruskie
    Jul 25th 2018, 3:52 PM

Have a break have a quick crap…

Mute Your Ma
    Favourite Your Ma
    Jul 25th 2018, 6:10 PM

Have a break have a tandem!

Mute Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Favourite Brendan T. M. P. Bur
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:49 PM

Two fingers by two to Nestle! Nice to be mid silly season !!

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jul 25th 2018, 4:54 PM

Its the twox2 fingers for Nestle so.

Jul 25th 2018, 11:06 PM

Leo bars are much more wide spread in Belgium I’d say the average Belgian would think ok Leo if you showed them the Kitkat shape can’t nestle just be happy with their regional trademarks can’t have an Eu one if it’s not popular or even we’ll known in EU.

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Jul 26th 2018, 12:02 PM

I guess the court gave them the..eh…two fingers!!