You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donald Trump namechecked Ireland's pharma sector last week. (File, 2020) Alamy Stock Photo

How worried is Ireland's pharma industry about Trump's tariffs?

Donald Trump’s ‘Liberation Day’ tariffs will be unveiled later today.

IRELAND’S PHARMACEUTICAL SECTOR is bracing itself as Donald Trump’s so-called ‘Liberation Day’ tariffs are unveiled later today, but the sector doesn’t expect “immediate” job losses from the looming trade war.

Instead, industry group the Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association (IPHA) believes the real impact in the dispute between the White House and the EU will be seen “four or five years from now”.

This is due mainly to the timescale for investment in the industry’s large scale manufacturing plants.

This timescale could create “significant commercial challenges” for US companies based here, which includes major names like Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson and MSD.

There are around 50,000 people employed across Ireland in the pharma sector, with an estimated 30,000 working for US companies with plants here.

Trump has launched a volley of tariffs impacting nations this year, promising that his ‘Liberation Day’ will free the US from a reliance on foreign goods.

Fears were heightened in Ireland last week when Trump name-checked pharmaceutical companies in Ireland while speaking in the White House.

If such sector-specific tariffs came to pass, Ireland would be particularly exposed given how reliant the pharmaceuticals sector here is to the US export market.

If so, the IPHA – which represents the creators of prescription medicines and vaccines – does not expect “immediate” job losses but warned of some pain ahead.

“Everybody’s just waiting to see what happens,” said Eimear O’Leary, communications and advocacy director for the IPHA.

While it’s “hard to say anything for definite” on how the tariffs will play out, O’Leary warned: “Tariffs will impact, and they will certainly create significant commercial challenges for companies based here.”

Despite this, O’Leary said that the IPHA is less concerned that pharmaceutical companies are “going to pick up and leave” due to the trade war.

part-of-pfizer-grange-castle-complex-in-west-dublin-ireland-it-is-one-of-the-largest-integrated-biotechnology-plants-in-the-world Part of Pfizer's Grangecastle complex in west Dublin. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

She pointed to the likes of Pfizer’s €1.2 billion Grangecastle facility in Dublin as an example of the “bricks and mortar” investment that will be hard to give up, further namechecking Sligo, Mayo, Kerry, Tipperary and Limerick as regions across the country which have significant pharma facilities.

“From a physical capacity, they’re not just going to let that investment go either. So this whole thing of tariffs being introduced tomorrow and jobs being lost, that is not immediately going to be the case,” O’Leary said.

This is because of “five decades of continuity of policy” within Ireland, forming a “stable environment” and a highly skilled workforce, O’Leary continued.

However, O’Leary said that what could “potentially happen is companies look forward to four or five years time” for where they will invest later.

That’s where the job creation might not happen.

This would be in line with projections revealed by Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe earlier this month when he said that the tariffs could result in the loss of up to 80,000 jobs in Ireland.

O’Leary said these were “worse case scenario” projections and the industry is hopeful it doesn’t reach that low point.

She added that the IPHA and its European partners are urging the EU to maintain “cool heads” and not to retaliate with tariffs on medicines and pharma in two weeks’ time.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin told the Dáil yesterday that the EU is waiting on today’s announcements to make a “fresh assessment” on how to respond, with the Fianna Fáil leader and Tánaiste Simon Harris holding discussions with senior European Commission figures this week to put forward Ireland’s stance.

Harris has been speaking with over a dozen countries with strong pharmaceutical industries so as to exchange views on how best to respond.

Finished or unfinished products?

Ireland’s pharma industry is also waiting to find out whether the US tariffs will affect finished or unfinished products, or both.

“More often than not it is not the finished product that we are exporting,” O’Leary explained.

“When you see figures like €44.4 billion worth of exports going to the US, that isn’t always of the finished medicine. It could be unfinished products – some of the active ingredients that make up the medicines that have been finished in America.”

The IPHA also said that it doesn’t believe US companies would be able to pass on the increased price to US customers.

Instead, US companies will be forced to absorb the costs for tariffs on medicines in the short-term instead.

While there has been a hope from some in the industry that it may pressure the Trump administration to ease its tariffs over months to come – given it could hurt US voters’ pockets – it may take some time for those agreements to unwind.

O’Leary said this was because current contracts with insurers and other US bodies are “hard to unpick”, but this “may differ from company to company” as times goes on.

With reporting by Muiris O’Cearbhaill

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

58 Comments
    Mute Housing Hunger Games
    Favourite Housing Hunger Games
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:13 AM

So much for Republicans supporting the ‘free market’. They just imposed high tariff taxes on themselves! They must love high taxes. The only prices falling are stock prices as the stock market tanks. They’re cutting public spending and redistributing taxpayers money to the oligarchs.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:22 AM

@Housing Hunger Games: I mean even if it does bring manufacturing back to USA over the next years, won’t everything still be more expensive as wages are higher there and imported goods will have tariffs too?

Mute Brian McCarthy
    Favourite Brian McCarthy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 8:34 AM

@Housing Hunger Games: they’re redistributing tax payers money to the military, policing and Israel

Mute Jack Dermody
    Favourite Jack Dermody
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:53 PM

@Housing Hunger Games:
    Manufacturing of the actual drug is less that 5% of the cost of making a drug…
    The R&D, clinical trials, regulation…. It is where most of the work is….
    That is not tarried and Moving all that is very expensive….
    I would wait and see on this one…

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:20 AM

Other news from outside Ireland are reporting pharma will not be hit as hard……yet. If they are right that’s great for now, but it is only for now, other areas will be hit. This country needs a plan, we won’t survive as a tax haven for companies to filter their profits earned elsewhere through. This govt seems brain dead to that, the next generation needs a future. Easy money from housing refugees in hotels with tax payers money, allowing cos filter profits thru our low tax regime that were earned elsewhere and taxing people to death for poor services will eventually bring us back to the 80s.we need a much higher standard of politician with real vision.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:32 AM

@Eddie Garvey: Getting old now, Eddie.I’d sooner go back to the 80s, tho.At least the kids had a chance. 2025, no hope, no chance.The greatest little country in the world is failing Irelands children. But who’s fault could it be??

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:43 AM

@Paul Gorry: Hello Paul. How are you this fine evening? All is good here!

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:47 AM

@Paul Gorry: as fornyour comment you are absolutely correct. I read yesterday that from 1970s into the 80s it took approx. 30 weeks of one salary to pay for a family of 4. Now it takes 65 week. Hence two parents are forced to work. As formwhose fault it is i personally would blame banks and hedge funds. Granted they are enabled by eejit politicians who are told what to approve, and the gleefully do it for their 30 pieces of silver, you, I and the rest of us be damned.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:48 AM

@Oh Mammy: Sorry to hear that troll. By the way, evening is long gone. Serious question: Are you ok?

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:51 AM

@Paul Gorry: I finished school in the 80s, so many of my classmates left, there was nothing, unless you knew someone who could give you a start somewhere, it was awful job wise. But I’ll agree with you on one thing about the 80s, people were nicer, humbler and if you could find a future it was a nicer place to live.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:54 AM

@Paul Gorry: a new leaf my friend, a new leaf.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:10 AM

@Eddie Garvey: Deffo was Eddie totally agree. Meeting people i know from back in the day these days, the majority own a home. As bad as it was, they had a ” slim ” chance. 2025, no chance..

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:26 AM

@Oh Mammy: Ah, Gwan, so. Make sure to stick up to it, ok.Pinky promise ?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:35 AM

@Paul Gorry: you can hold me in check. A new person I tell ya!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:40 AM

@Oh Mammy: cmere don’t want a new person. I hate you just the way you are.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:49 AM

@Paul Gorry: sorry. That person is gone my friend, flew the coop. Namaste.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Apr 2nd 2025, 3:10 AM

@Paul Gorry: What’s all this greatest little country in the world stuff? Who is actually saying that? The housing crisis here is shameful though it is the same kind of thing across the western world. Housing has become commoditised as vested interests have realised that a drip feed of supply can extract the maximum amount out of people across most of their lifetime. The government however is to blame for a lot of it. I think a lot of people now feel that immigration has probably gone too far which is probably right but if housing was plentiful and affordable you would not have half the backlash against it that we see now. In terms of the US the MAGA gang have gone full nuts. Most of this tariff stuff makes no economic sense and I think it’s becoming clear now with comments from the likes of Vance that this is more about the culture wars. They see Europe as a namby pamby, LGBT friendly, post religious, woke (throw in any buzzword you like) place that they want to spread their ideology to. Thats what this has all been about. They are just unshackled now.

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:08 AM

@Paul Gorry: Take off those rise tinted glasses. In the 80s if you could get a job you could buy a home. Many couldn’t though and had no choice but to emigrate, most never came back. Things were way worse back then on pretty much every metric.

People weren’t nicer back then too. Society was much more closed and judgmental largely driven by the church. It was much easier to abuse a position of power

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:15 AM

@Eddie Garvey: Don’t sweat it. It’s going to be tough yes, but The Bronzer will also go away again, just like anything else…

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:21 AM

@Paul Gorry: I won’t mind a life with less SUVs, less everything really.

Mute David Owens
    Favourite David Owens
    Apr 2nd 2025, 9:51 AM

@John Moore: they (US) are looking to curtail the globalisation of their manufacturing industry as they believe they are getting a raw deal, time will tell how it plays out. On the housing front of course immigration has had a huge impact on demand and rent pressures but you won’t here that from this government

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Apr 2nd 2025, 11:55 AM

@Paul Gorry: you must be joking: the 1980s were a disaster. Simply no comparision with the opportunities that people have now.

Mute Jack Dermody
    Favourite Jack Dermody
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:58 PM

@Eddie Garvey: So you are saying we stop what we are doing right now which is working and do something which may work in the future because we don’t really know what is going to happen in the future.
    How about monitoring and adapting? Our country was a third world country 50 years ago close bankruptcy… We are doing a lot better than that now…

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:07 PM

@smatrix mantra:
    The removal of Trump,and Putin would be a joy to millions,upon millions.of people.
    Sooner rather than later.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:15 PM

@Jack Dermody: I never said that, I said we are a tax haven, which is perfectly legal (morality of it is a different argument), maybe even understandable given our start as a country. What I said is that the present political class has no vision and no plan for when this unsustainable tax haul stops (like Norway for eg who have used their unsustainable oil to create an economy post oil). This country was bankrupt in the 50s, it went bankrupt in 2008 because there was no vision and no plan B. Other countries didn’t because other countries had a diverse economy and listened when economists said we were too dependent on one sector.

Mute Ailbhe MacThomais
    Favourite Ailbhe MacThomais
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:54 AM

The Lemass era all the Irish political establishment parties have allowed foreign people and entities to have sway over the Irish economy and abandoned future generations. Given away our fishing oil and gas to foreign people in 1973 EEC membership whilst Norway built up a Sovereign wealth fund over the same timeframe. Troika 2008 Financial crash with FF and FG gave more foreign people free reign on Irish land and homes with vulture funds with FG ministers in government & continued by the current government with ministers also fully paid up vulture funds members.Trump Tarrifs also expose the Irish political establishment parties have to choose Irish people or the EU and lobbyists and we know the Irish people will be sacrificed as they have in the past to suit their own political ends.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:30 AM

@Ailbhe MacThomais: so true my friend, unfortunately it did not pay to be nice and humble it was eat or be eaten.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:37 AM

@Phillip Smyth: and because of all that we are here now with a government elected by the people for the people, are not fulfilling the mandate the people gave them, and now this clown who is definitely of his rocker has come to the table.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:25 AM

@Ailbhe MacThomais: Let’s not forget that people’s utter disregard for what they can borrow lead to their bankruptcy. Blame the gov all day but people ARE da ft.

Mute Ailbhe MacThomais
    Favourite Ailbhe MacThomais
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:46 AM

@smatrix mantra: lead from the political class with making the Irish economy boom wasnt booming enough was stated by one of the TD’s at the time. Added to the fact that the money was mainly a product of German banks that lent money to France which gave money to Greece to buy French fighter jets and money to Italy, Ireland, and Spain for the purposes of buying property which crashed and in stepped the Troika.

Mute Dixie
    Favourite Dixie
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:28 AM

I think a recession is our only way of stopping this immigration racket that’s going on

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:44 AM

@Dixie: we let this immigration get out of hand and now it’s a non fixer, that’s rolling down the hill and gathering speed and recession, we have ourselves to blame we let it happen everyone knew.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Apr 2nd 2025, 10:22 AM

@Dixie: you must be a shellfish person who does not people who have different coloured skin to believe that there is an immigration racket

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:15 AM

It’s a huge problem for workers in Ireland.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:15 AM

Fortunately, our politicians aren’t worried. They have spent the past four months cat-fighting amongst themselves for the privilege of hearing their own voice echoing through an empty dail chamber.
    Nobody apart from Aontù comes out of this with any credibility whatsoever.
    They, and fine gael in particular, have ignored a housing crisis that’s been building for 10 years at this stage.
    They have sold out our own youth and foolishly spent burdening taxes with no thought for tomorrow.

Mute Paul Harte
    Favourite Paul Harte
    Apr 2nd 2025, 9:17 AM

@Thomas Sheridan: Aontu and credibility can never again be put in the same sentence. He abstained from voting against the Lowry pact yesterday, so he’s agreeing with the government

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 9:51 AM

@Paul Harte:
    Voting for something because it is right is the correct thing to do. Partisan voting is immature but now the norm for the power hungry left.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:11 AM

It’ll be grand. Seriously.

jn
    Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    Apr 2nd 2025, 4:21 AM

just what Irish housing crisis needed badly ,I am in favour of mega recession so house prices go down big time with rents,let’s keep our young Irish at home , walking around local towns now are swamped with non Irish because of fffg policies to suit rich for low wages high profit economy

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 10:48 AM

@jn: When house prices drop/dropped to below the cost of building them we arrived at a bad place. ?

Mute john o connor
    Favourite john o connor
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:29 AM

Hope we don’t have another bad recession around my area weel have nothing to show for all our bluster.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Apr 2nd 2025, 2:57 AM

“If there are idiots in power those who elected them are well represented “–Mahatma Ghandi.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:37 AM

###k Israel and Nethanyahu. I hope to wake up some morning to the news that the dog Nethanyahu has been eliminated.

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Rian O'Sullivan
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:19 AM

Happy Liberation Day one and all finally Irelands tax scam economy comes to an end. What a time to be alive. Absolutely glorious sight.

Mute Franno
    Favourite Franno
    Apr 2nd 2025, 8:16 AM

@Rian O’Sullivan: go away you sickening troll. The state of you, wishing for this on the population of Ireland.

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Apr 2nd 2025, 8:31 AM

@Franno: Silence Incel its the start of building a true economy for Ireland and getting rid of refugees taking money out of our economy. Its a fabulous day. Tax scam days are over.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Apr 2nd 2025, 8:47 AM

@Franno: Just mute the tool. I have and it’s soo much better here now

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Apr 2nd 2025, 9:04 AM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Silence troll

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:02 PM

If trump wants to take aim at Ireland with tariffs then the response is an easy one. No more access to Irish airspace for US military and no more refuelling in Shannon. Let them work out that tactical nightmare. Shannon is a key US refuelling spot. Just take it away.

Mute Del Ray
    Favourite Del Ray
    Wed 8:39 PM

@Eoin Jackson: i’m fairly sure it’s possible to fly between America and Europe without refuelling in Shannon.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Apr 2nd 2025, 7:29 AM

Not worried. The Bronzer will go away again. Be a bit patient and enjoy life.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:55 AM

We have to wait for Jaffa and what he is going to do maybe he might consider his actions a bad idea, with all the huge Irish votes that put him there

jn
    Mute jn
    Favourite jn
    Apr 2nd 2025, 4:28 AM

I presume addiction centers will be very popular as mobile phone will be no.1 family breakdown after alcohol and drugs

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:03 PM

I am as worried about the Pharma sector as They were worried about all us tradesmen whose wages were slashed and so many lost their jobs circa 2009-2011

Government here didn’t care neither ,only concerned at the time was the shirt & ties in the Banks

Mute Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Favourite Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Apr 2nd 2025, 8:59 AM

“We are all going to die”, said nobody, all excluded from the Big Pharma wealth in the first place. Cheap penthouse in Spencer Dock, anyone?

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 2nd 2025, 12:03 PM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: Spot on ,

Mute N Sweeney
    Favourite N Sweeney
    Apr 2nd 2025, 9:33 AM

“Take Your Medicine”, hah?

Mute Michael Giblin
    Favourite Michael Giblin
    Apr 2nd 2025, 1:03 PM

Pharma are unlikely to cease all manufacturing as they also supply the EU. Is it not more likely that they will split the production to avoid the bilateral tariffs?