Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fine Gael Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Hogan accused of "spin" over Household Charge figures

Deputy Brian Stanley of Sinn Féin has said that some of the people who the Minister said have paid were entitled to exemptions.

SINN FÉIN SPOKESPERSON on the environment, community and local government, Brian Stanley TD, has accused Minister Phil Hogan of “spinning into the New Year” on the issue of the Household Charge.

Deputy Brian Stanley was responding to Minister Hogan’s statement today that 70 per cent of eligible households have paid the Household Charge. The Minister said that over 1.1 million people have now paid the charge, with €113.5 million having been collected and reallocated to local authorities.

Deputy Stanley told RTÉ’s Drivetime today that included in the numbers who Minister Hogan says have complied with the charge are some people entitled to exemptions and waivers.

Stanley described the household charge as “a disaster for this government”.

The Minister continues to spin his way from this year into the next. A significant 30 per cent of households have not paid this unjust charge posing a serious challenge for the government as it attempts to impose their new Fianna Fail-style family home tax.

He said Sinn Féin remain opposed to the household charge and the party will redouble its efforts to overturn the family home tax which follows in the new year.

The Revenue Commissioners will begin to collect funds for the charge from July. From the beginning of 2013, the charge will rise to €130, rising to €145 in June, and €200 in July.

Deputy Stanley also said that out of those who have paid, “many are extremely angry at this charge”. He also denied that Sinn Féin had told people no to pay the charge, saying they are “not telling people whether to pay or not to pay – that is an adult choice to make”.

Read: Over 1.1 million have now paid the Household Charge – Hogan>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute stephen cullen
    Favourite stephen cullen
    Dec 27th 2012, 5:53 PM

Spin is not the word…. Shite is the word…

Mute Colum Quinn
    Favourite Colum Quinn
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:03 PM

Why has he not been sacked or resigned yet ?

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:05 PM

…Because previously he kept Enda Kenny in the FG top seat during inner party fighting.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:32 PM

Pension doesn’t kick in til February…

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:04 PM

Spin from a despicable government that lay previous spin on with a shovel daily?
    No surprise there.

It just depressing that sad people actually believe these traitorous, lying, u-turn artists!

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:53 PM

Careful now! Strong language like that will get you arrested by alan shatters social media Stasi.
    No insults to TDs will be tolerated!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:04 PM

@ Ciaran.
    It’s actually gas watching them jumping up & down like little jack russell terriers and accusing everybody with an opinion of being a “bully”.
    Comical script coming from people that support a government that do nothing but bully people.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:06 PM

Hell, they even bullied Labour over the budget!
    (Whats worse – Labour let them away with it. Those life pensions in two months must be worth it!)

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:14 PM

The entire cabinet will retire at the next election, that sickens me more than any austerity measures.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 27th 2012, 5:59 PM

He wouldn’t know the truth if it bit him on his ample bottom.
    He and his colleauges do more spinning than a Black& Decker drill.
    They have no credibility at all in the eyes of their countrymen outside their own rose tinted (tainted) glasses.

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:42 PM

Incorrect. There is support for the government, anger over some issues granted but not to the extent that they’d be massacred in an election tomorrow. You and a few like minded mates do not the electorate make.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:54 PM

Time will tell Alan,time will tell.

Mute David Stephan
    Favourite David Stephan
    Dec 28th 2012, 2:55 AM

They will be wiped out make no mistake…

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Dec 28th 2012, 4:21 PM

And who’ll come in? United left alliance?

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Dec 29th 2012, 4:03 PM

Perhaps a gov that tells the truth to the people, one made up of genuine citizens who will help their country men and women and put them first, not the banks and the wealthy.

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy
    Dec 27th 2012, 5:56 PM

What next? 70% of folks love the govt. They are brill. Leading from the front and feeling the cuts themselves. Fair play lads.

Mute Paul Walsh
    Favourite Paul Walsh
    Dec 27th 2012, 5:57 PM

And speaking of Shite we’re now paying 12,000 euro a day due to Hogan’s incompetence in producing legislation for the septic tank issue in a timely manner and his delay in providing financial assistance for the remediation of septic tanks.

Mute eoghan
    Favourite eoghan
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:13 PM

Well done to everyone that voted Fine Gael they k ow the Irish people don’t have balls between enda,noonan,and this b. l. X their getting too smart for their own good.noonan saying if you can pay for sky you can afford to pay household charge,anyone think that atleast if you pay for sky you get a good service pay the household and you will still have the potholes outside you door and still poor water supply so why pay it

Mute Disildoforus
    Favourite Disildoforus
    Dec 27th 2012, 5:49 PM

Those spinning classes came in handy.

Mute Chris Tobin
    Favourite Chris Tobin
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:57 PM

Call it lying not spinning
    .Hogan is lying again

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:58 PM

You’re right Chris. Call a spade a spade. In any other walk of life it would be called lying. Politics should be no different. It’s lies, like all their pre-elections lies.

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:31 PM

My bank owns my house as they hold the deeds of it. It will not be mine for another 15 years. So let them pay for the house hold charge till it becomes mine. Legally it’s theirs so the charge should reside with them. I won’t be paying it.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:38 PM

Wrong. Your name is on the deeds but the bank holds the deeds as security against the loan. It suprises me that people so financilly illiterate are issued motgages at all!

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:45 PM

Reg, if you’re going to call people financially illiterate, at least try to spell it correctly, lest you be crushed under the weight of your own irony.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:50 PM

Leave Reg alone – he’s being crushed already by his “motgages”

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:54 PM

If that the case Reg they should be all handed over to us as we bailed them out.
    Or is that incorrect

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:06 PM

I’m having finger problems with these small touch screens. Will try harder next time! Don’t have any mortgages at the moment by the way. Sold up when the writing was on the wall ;-)

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Dec 27th 2012, 10:22 PM

I’ve never seen any real proof of deeds or ownership , have you? Lol the money you borrowed for your mortgage never existed , a digital debt was generated when you signed your ” agreement ” to repay. Where does that leave us all ?

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:10 PM

Sinn Fein will launch their campaign against the charge but aren’t telling people not to pay the charge.
    Typical double speak waffle from this shower of wasters. If they can’t get a tax clearance cert next year, they can’t be in the Dail. Watch them que up to pay…

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:13 PM

Bertie Ahern had not got one for over a decade – lack of one didn’t see him kicked out!
    …But wait, now it must all of a sudden again be one rule for one lot and not for others – how convenient!

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:29 PM

FG/Labour’s last failed attempt at a fiscal correction (1980′s) perished on failed attempt at taxing childrens shoes.
    The current shower of incompetents have opted to tax the roofs over their heads instead.
    Still haven’t learnt- You cannot tax an economy out of recession.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:24 PM

It is SF ‘s way of sitting on the Fence.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:10 PM

@ Eileen Gabbett

Sitting on the fence?

O’… you mean like Fine Gael, Labour and Fianna Fail have done over the abortion issue for 20 years?
    I guess Sinn Fein have some catching up to do then? They are way behind the three main parties when it comes to sitting around on fences doing nothing!

What’s that saying about thee who has not sinned, cast the first stone?

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:19 PM

Well put it this way . Why did SF not support the CAHWT from word one ?
    That is all I am saying .
    I do not know what your problem is . I do not support this dictatorship .

Mute Tony Rogers
    Favourite Tony Rogers
    Dec 28th 2012, 12:49 PM

Sean it was fianna failure who agreed to have a property tax when they went to the IMF/ ECB to get money to bail out the banks for money when agreeing to pay back the rich people’s unsecured gambling debts. However the current bunch of FG/Labour are like a bunch of headless chickens running about not knowing what to do and trying to tax us out of recession that is true, if it wasn’t all so painful it would be funny. It’s just bad that we are all paying for the past and present government incompetence that is no longer fit for purpose. IMO the bankers & politicians need to be jailed for treason and putting the country into debt slavery :)

Mute Eddie Walsh
    Favourite Eddie Walsh
    Dec 27th 2012, 5:47 PM

Shock horror

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:15 PM

Was talking to a guy from Kilkenny last week. He told me that each time Power Trip Hogan comes back to Kilkenny for a few days, that he has 2 minders with him in public!
    At the homecoming of the Kilkenny hurling team, Hogan was booed and jeered by the majority of the crowd as he took to the platform!
    The same guy told me that they are generally ashamed/embarassed of him in Kk

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:35 PM

Nigel, I always liked Kilkenny.

Mute Reginald's Tower
    Favourite Reginald's Tower
    Dec 27th 2012, 11:22 PM

Those mumptys will still re-elect him. Guaranteed! Never liked Kilkenny people, smug & humourless.

Mute James Callanan
    Favourite James Callanan
    Dec 28th 2012, 12:20 AM

No need to generalise an entire county based on the muppet we elected to government, we all chose the big FG to rule over us with an iron fist. I hate the bigotry some Waterford people have against Kilkenny people, grow up please!

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:14 PM

“Sinn Féin is on record as saying the household charge is unjust and unworkable. Our words have proven to be correct,” – Sinn Fein, 2012.

Unjust and Unworkable in the Republic, but just and workable in the North? Its the Shinners that are spinning into the New Year!

Mute Freya Johnson
    Favourite Freya Johnson
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:39 PM

The property tax in Northern Ireland is used to provide a long list of services available to everyone. Their bins are collected without charge, plenty of libraries, public swimming pools etc.
    I’m sure most people in the republic wouldn’t mind paying the household tax if they actually got something out of it, facilities reinstated in our local hospitals, better roads and bin collections just to name a few…

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:47 PM

We are getting the reverse, they are privatising services and charging more for local government. I think, we should join N.I., instead of the reverse and we are stuck in reverse!

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute howsaboutya
    Favourite howsaboutya
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:48 PM

It’s essentially a different country so different services.

Not exactly Apple’s for Apple’s….

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:52 PM

@ howsaboutya

So howsaboutya – whats different services are South residents on household estates getting that ones up North or in England, are getting?

Mind explaining how very many services are Southern’s getting that North ones don’t?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:54 PM

So that means, we should pay more taxes and get less services? Is that what you’re saying?

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:37 PM

Kevin, kevin, kevin. Have you and the rest of the little young fine gael shills not realised yet that your spin has worn out. Up north the household charge covers bin collections, water, school books and meals etc. whereas down here it is being imposed to attempt to plug the gap left by your party robbing the public coffers to cover rich folks gambling losses.

Change the record, you’re no politician.

Mute Michael J Collins
    Favourite Michael J Collins
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:32 PM

Freya
    The equivalent of the Property Tax in Northern Ireland is six to eight times what is proposed for the Republic. Let’s at least be honest when we make comparisons.

Mute howsaboutya
    Favourite howsaboutya
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:49 PM

@ biggins.

Werejamming has answered that question adequately.

So re read my original comment please as it is not a straight forward as you may think.

What you are saying is the same deflective answer this government rolls out everytime an opposing argument is put out.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:12 PM

@ howsaboutya

Well we all must be learning about deflective answers – we all have learned from the best at it in government long enough!

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:17 PM

Yea yea yea. Fine Gael = no children’s allowance cuts. Labour = no increase in 3rd level fees.
    Enda kenny, you are a liar.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:20 PM

Freya / Stephen; The idea of the property tax is to help fund local councils. As it stands, Ireland has no such direct tax to fund local councils. Local Councils are struggling and are looking at the state for a handout, as that is how our taxation system works. With the introduction of a property tax, which will be considerably lower than the North, local councils will get more money. The local councils will then decide themselves by way of a vote each year what to spend it on. That will include roads, footpaths, tourism, hedge cutting, libraries, and other such public services. I’m sure those who still have a bin service will see the funds helping lowering those costs.

You can’t throw out this “Oh well Sinn Fein support it in the North because it provides so much more” when the price of the property tax in the Republic will be considerably lower while still doing just that – providing local services to local people. Just probably not on the scale that Sinn Fein require people to pay.

Now, in all fairness, I don’t even see Sinn Fein hitting back and saying that its flawed because it wont be able to fund local services. Instead, they say the people wont be able to afford it and people are struggling enough. Austerity isn’t working, according to Sinn Fein. Unless you are in the North, where Austerity appears to be the only option as they implement it on the people of the North including a much higher property tax – it appears the people in the North wont be spared from austerity, but in the Republic, they will spare us.

werejammin; Should I take someone seriously who signs up a Twitter account to join TheJournal discussions and never reveal his identity?! Not a member of Young Fine Gael. In life, people will have different views to you. When it comes to politics, if its different to you than don’t automatically assume its someone with a hidden agenda or part of a group which is in favour of such. People do have different views to each other in life, otherwise, it would be an awful boring place.

The large majority of the Irish people seem to have different views than you.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:28 PM

Ciaran Morgan; Fine Gael had stated that there would be changes to the money paid out for Child Benefit. Remember Labour ran adverts pointing this out?

Mute Freya Johnson
    Favourite Freya Johnson
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:52 PM

@Michael COLLINS…
    Everybody knows that the household charge will be increased more and more each year. The difference with the North and the republic is that their tax actually goes straight back into local services – while ours is used to bail out anonymous bondholders and pay the wages of county sheriff’s who are removing families from their homes.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:58 PM

Kevin, I would hope people would ‘take me seriously’ based on what I post, which in the case of the reply I made to your canned fine gael spin, was entirely accurate.

Are you NOT a member of young fine gael? Apologies if I got you mixed up with the lackeys that post around here. Can you clarify please?

Mute Michael J Collins
    Dec 27th 2012, 10:29 PM

Freya
    I don’t want this to be a game of ping pong but you’re original Post was WRONG. Whatever happens to the tax rate over the next few years I would prefer to have honesty in arguments rather than the usual Sinn Fein spin.

Mute Freya Johnson
    Favourite Freya Johnson
    Dec 27th 2012, 10:39 PM

@Michael Collins
    My original post was correct. I (unlike you) am not affiliated to any political party.

Mute Michael J Collins
    Dec 27th 2012, 11:11 PM

Freya
    What do you know about me unless you are either a hacker or a Sinn Fein hacker?

Mute Freya Johnson
    Favourite Freya Johnson
    Dec 27th 2012, 11:47 PM

Haha.. a Sinn Fein hacker?! According to you, anyone that disagrees with the household charge and bailing out bondholders is immediately associated with Sinn Fein. It’s quite obvious where your affiliations lie.. doesn’t take a genius or hacker to work that one out!

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Dec 28th 2012, 1:38 AM

werejammin; I am not and while others from Young Fine Gael post here, there are plenty of others who support Fine Gael and the governments policies to some degree that are neither a member of YFG or the FG party. Hence, my point on different views to yours doesn’t automatically mean they are a member of the youth party because of their age (I think I might be over the age limit at this stage) or the senior party if they don’t look young.

I do have an interest in politics and I have done for about 5 years or so. I never agreed with the household tax, but I just thought the spin by Sinn Fein was hypocritical and deserved to be mentioned for the 1% of people on here who are not Sinn Fein supporters.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:12 PM

The government fairly played down his compramising pictures with his press secetary while the distraction of the budget was going on.
    Very selective releases hogan.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:31 PM

Now lads care required here that photo and un published one very touchy subject for H R H the prince of pilltown
    There’s a lot more going on !!!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 27th 2012, 8:21 PM

THe government IGNORED those pics. The press were told not to query them. = Dictatorship.

Mute bobby heade
    Favourite bobby heade
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:04 PM

Typical of the man!!

Dec 27th 2012, 8:05 PM

Just as Hogan has been taken to court for his unjust household charge he is saying that 70% have paid. Is this an attempt to swing the courts decision. Well, You are going to have a big surprise because If the case is lost in the courts it will then be taken to the European Court of Human Rights, and you might not be around to see the results.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:46 PM

Heard rumblings of this and I look forward to seeing the outcome.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Dec 27th 2012, 9:17 PM

Met Hogan in the toilets in Langtons one day. He took a schwazz and then walked out… Didn’t even wash his hands. When I saw him afterwards he was shaking an old man’s hand.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:25 PM

Im reading a lot of stuff in papers & net regarding abuse of our elected TDs & the matter of people been driven to suicide, well it was the leader of the country & ff who told us that if we dont agree with him we should kill ourselfs, that man ? bertie ahern did the fg & labour muppets get on their high horses then? or did it only apply to us.

Mute john fox
    Favourite john fox
    Dec 27th 2012, 7:42 PM

How can we not abuse. Them when thy come out wit crap like this. . We stop when thy treat us. Wit some respect . And stop talking down to us. .thy are not in there fu@@ class room. Now

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 27th 2012, 6:44 PM

It takes a spin Doctor, to know another!

Mute Nos O'Toole
    Favourite Nos O'Toole
    Dec 30th 2012, 2:21 PM

I signed this Home Tax Petition at:- http://www.hometaxpetition.net

Unjust Enrichment :
    We do not accept paying Tax-Rent on our Homes to be used for:-
    - paying off the debt of private companies i.e. Banks.
    - pay increases (increments) to Government employees in a time of austerity.

…..75,000 signatures required to trigger the necessary action ….. else no more moanin please!

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Dec 27th 2012, 10:45 PM

This guy should open a launderette.