You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Philo, decorated with a white rose on 4 January last Photocall Ireland

Phil Lynott statue to return to Harry Street next week

The landmark statue was damaged back in May after it was pushed over.

WORK IS UNDERWAY on a new reinforced plinth for the statue of Phil Lynott, three months after it was removed for repairs after being vandalised.

It’s planned the landmark piece will be reinstalled the weekend after next, ahead of an unveiling ceremony the following Tuesday, on the 64th anniversary of the Thin Lizzy frontman’s birth.

Two men turned themselves into gardaí at Pearse Street Station the day after the incident, which happened in the early hours of the morning on 10 May last, and officers said they weren’t seeking anyone else in connection the case.

The monument was seriously damaged after it was pushed over, with its bronze coat suffering a tear in the fall, and repairs are now nearing completion.

Phil’s mother Philomena forgave the culprits almost immediately, telling Hot Press magazine at the time:

It seems now that it was just a bunch of high spirited boys, who meant no harm. So I am not annoyed with them. I’m only hoping that none of the lads got hurt.

Council workers are planning to drill-down deep into the pavement outside Bruxelles Bar to insert a large medal rod, making it impossible for anyone to push the statue over in future.

The scene at Harry Street today (Bruxelles Bar, via Twitter)

Read: Two arrested after Phil Lynott statue pushed over and seriously damaged >

Read: Meet the hackers’ group tackling the Ha’penny Bridge’s ‘love’ problem >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Daniel Doran
    Favourite Daniel Doran
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:36 PM

Looks like the financial faith in Ireland has been more than restored thanks to the efforts of this government and the patience of it’s people. This is excellent news. I look forward to an improved credit rating in the near future.

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:38 PM

Your right, great news. Another step forward to recovery. Slow steady progress is all anybody can hope for.

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 14th 2013, 12:47 AM

It’s more debt that will force inflation! ………… How much more debt do we need ?

Mute youdontknowme
    Favourite youdontknowme
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:28 PM

Why not buy them ??? Sure its such a safe bet. In any other investment there is chance of losing money.

But not with irish bonds nooooooo. We will pay out even if it means raping our own people

Mute colm o`leary
    Favourite colm o`leary
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:19 PM

Why if the bond was 4 times over subscribed would you not lower the interest rate? I don’t get it

Mute Boris
    Favourite Boris
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:44 PM

Good question … I also would like to understand that.

Maybe the rate is fixed before the auction, and they went for a high enough one to be sure it attracts enough people and doesn’t look like a failure?

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:55 PM

That’s a brilliant question. Brian can you help us out again.

Mute Brendan Williamson
    Favourite Brendan Williamson
    Mar 13th 2013, 9:10 PM

Presuming this is a zero coupon bond (no annual payments), it’s essentially a note saying “we will pay you €1000 in 10 years time”. The price the market is willing to pay for this dictates the interest rate, if I’m only willing to pay €800 for the deal then it’s a 25% interest rate over 10 years, which is 2.2% annually. Presumably selling more would have made them worth less, increasing the interest rate (also confidence might go down if we sold too many).

Mute Boris
    Favourite Boris
    Mar 13th 2013, 10:42 PM

Thanks Brendan.

There is one thing I still don’t get. You explained that the price of the bonds (and thus interest rate) depends on the demand, and therefore if Ireland had sold more of them the interest rate would have been higher, right?

If I get that right, I don’t understand how it makes sense to say that there was an demand for 12 billions … As the 12 billions on offer would have been for something different than what was sold (bond with higher interest rate). And if lets say 12 billions were on the table for potential 5% bonds, and maybe by offering 5.5% we could have raised 20 billions?

You know what I a getting at? If you change the quantity sold you change the interest rate, so how can you say that for a given quantity that was sold with a given interest rate, the demand was actually higher?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:18 AM

Boris
    Ireland (NTMA) was hoping to borrow €3bn. Various different investing institutions made offers of how much they were prepared to lend and at what interest rates. All offers totalled €12bn so in theory NTMA could have borrowed that much if it had wanted to. Instead it chose to borrow to the tune of €5bn at the best interest rates on offer.

I’m not really sure why they chose to borrow an extra €2bn above what was hoped for – my view is that if we had waited until that money was needed we might have got it at a better interest rate.

That’s my understanding of the situation anyway – maybe someone more knowledgeable than me can correct me if I’m wrong…

Mute Boris
    Favourite Boris
    Mar 14th 2013, 7:38 AM

Ok, makes sense!

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:33 PM

What exactly is going on here? What are these bonds and who wants to buy them? Does it mean that we get rid of the debt and just pay the interest instead? Can someone explain? Also I’m looking for facts, not opinion with no actual information.

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:44 PM

This should explain everything, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trifecta
    Regards,
    Adeabyo

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:49 PM

Thanks Adebayo, but i’m none the wiser. We’re probably talking about “donkeys” here in the financial markets, not races horses.

Anyone else? People seem to know what they are talking about here. Could someone explain?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:56 PM

In all seriousness. I would love a little refresher in all this bonds business myself as a lot of people just read the misinformed comments and regurgitate.

Mute Brian Stokes
    Favourite Brian Stokes
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:02 PM

They are Sovereign Bonds issued at 10 years. This means that we have as most country’s normally do and we did up to September 2010 went to the market saying that we are looking to borrow money for 10 years. Every year we will pay a coupon or better known as the interest only back to the lender and at the end of the 10 years repay the full €5 billion we originally borrowed. What normally happens is we borrow another €5 billion to roll over the debt. Anytime we borrow this way we add to our national debt. This does not affect out existing amount of debt, it’s still there and growing :(

The reason the lending Is such big news is that we are borrowing money from the markets (Private investors, pension funds, banks and other such institution) instead of a direct loan from the EU or IMF where they instruct us on how the money is spent. When we borrow privately they for have any direct oversight in how we spend the money.

Hope that provides some clarity :-)

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:11 PM

Kev – We’re spending about a billion euro a month more than we’re raising in taxes. We have to make up the gap by borrowing.

Before the bailout, the cost of borrowing got crazy, which effectively meant we had no choice but to go to the IMF, EU and ECB. They loaned us the money which kept public services running.

NTMA has now been able to borrow in the markets, which (probably) means that we won’t need a second bailout. We still have to pay it back eventually, but not for 10 years, at which point we will probably issue new bonds.

What we do have to pay every year is the interest. That looks to be somewhere less than €215 million a year. The bailout interest rate is 5.8%, so borrowing the same amount from the Troika would theoretically cost us €290 million a year.

The rest is opinion :)

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:22 PM

It does Brian (and Emily), thank you very much (judging by my red thumbs this site is becoming less and less about actual information, nor do people want to seek it).

I’m assuming that inflation will mean that we would have to pay less in ten years time? But we would have returned to the markets, so we would actually have an economy at that stage hopefully? In saying that, and please correct me if i’m wrong but isn’t this whole “selling debts to lenders at interest” thing creating the bubble in the markets that is currently screwing us over?

Also Emily are you saying we’d have the option to push the bonds furter down the line in ten years by doing something similar? I think i remember hearing that the UK are still paying off WW1 and WW2 debts today, is this the same story?

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:42 PM

Great work Stoksey

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:42 PM

We’ll have to pay back €5bn, but you’re right, inflation may have eroded that. If we have inflation of 2.5% a year, that will only be worth about €3.9bn in today’s money. (Only!)

And yes, debt is regularly refinanced – in fact it has to be unless you can run budget surpluses. So we will borrow the same €5bn in 2023, or slightly earlier. If the economy’s prospects are better, then it should be at a better (i.e. lower) interest rate.

Lenders don’t actually want their capital back, except where they can get a better return for their perceived risk elsewhere.

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:50 PM

Thanks very much Emily you have made all this much clearer to me.

Mute Brian Stokes
    Favourite Brian Stokes
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:56 PM

Thanks Adebayo and likewise to Emily for a fantastic explanation.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:57 PM
    Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:11 PM

But look Ignoreland!!! People reading these comments who would have an opinion without actually reading any information themselves, might actually learn something today thanks to Emily and Brians explanations.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:49 PM

For the benefit of readers who may not have seen it before…

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:50 PM

Cheers Gavan

Mute tisgrandsure
    Favourite tisgrandsure
    Mar 13th 2013, 8:30 PM

I did! thanks guys!

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Mar 13th 2013, 8:43 PM

Bank of Japan, the US Fed and British Central Bank are lending at record low levels. ‘Investors’ borrow from them to lend to high yielding government bonds like Irish ones. A no-brainer, except it all it does is create another bubble and ultimately someone (typically your average tax payer) will pay!

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:33 PM

Piling debt on debt. Sure why not. Those lavish salaries and pensions need a good servicing.

Mute youdontknowme
    Favourite youdontknowme
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:36 PM

Well to be fair every state sells bonds as part of economic system. But like any investment it is a risk unlike here where your 100% assured of a profit

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:52 PM

Do you know even the most basic concept of economic management? Practically every country in the world borrows money to run their economies and the debt that they take on is rolled forward over time. Debt is then reduced by inflation over a period of time and also by growth.

And by the way, as well as the lavish salaries and pensions you talk about, the money we borrow also goes to pay the average wages that pay for nurses, teachers, guards and many more essential services as well. As a country we can’t afford not to borrow at the moment. And its better than we borrow independently from the markets as opposed to a bailout and the restrictions that come with that.

Mute Brian Stokes
    Favourite Brian Stokes
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:55 PM

No worries Kev.

You’ve nailed the issue of growth and borrowing on the head. The only way any society can pay down debt which has interest is by hoping to inflate away the real cost of it in the future. Being aboe to get money lent to us on the financial markets doesn’t guarantee that our economy will improve but some would take the confidence shown by other to lend tony as a sign that they believe we are a good bet to grow.

There is a important place for opinion in the comments section as long as its backed by facts but most important is that when people ask for some
    clarity they get it.

Have a great day Kev

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Favourite Nikolas Koehler
    Mar 13th 2013, 9:30 PM

@ The Irish Bull – Bond selling essentially provides cashflow. If we don’t sell bonds in the international markets, the only income the state is the tax take, and a large chunk of the tax take comes in at one point in the financial year. I honest don’t any Irish government, composed of any party, would be able to keep the country running if it told it’s employees and service providers that they would get paid once a year, a year in arrears. If you have an alternative solution that does not involve selling bonds or regularly borrowing from an outside source, there’s a well-paid job and possibly a NObel prize waiting for you.

Mute jenny rosen
    Favourite jenny rosen
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:49 PM

I see alot from party HQ are here today.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:47 PM

Yawn. Such lazy commentary. Why is that anybody who thinks that some of the government’s action are good is automatically labelled by people like you? You could be accused of the same for a different party!

Ultimately the fact the Ireland can borrow again in the market and not have to avail of a second bailout and the restrictions that come with that is good. No matter who was in government this was eventually what they were aiming for.

Mute jenny rosen
    Favourite jenny rosen
    Mar 13th 2013, 4:10 PM

No Jim merely commenting on the red thumbs recieved by the first post.As for getting back into the markets why wouldn’t we?our government has proved beyond doubt no matter whether legitimate or otherwise all debts will be repaid.

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Mar 13th 2013, 9:23 PM

@ Jenny – give it a rest, if you’ve nothing to say except blow raspberries..

Mute The Brass Rat
    Favourite The Brass Rat
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:31 PM

Q a 2nd wave of property madness and sky high prices soon.

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:13 PM

Somebody in the Sunday Independent just got a stiffy

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:45 PM

Not really. If it’s a major success that the country can borrow at 4.3%, then there’s sod all chance of banks being able to make any money giving out mortgages at 4.5%. They really need to be able to lend at 6%, and that means about another quarter coming off property prices.

And that’s partly why they don’t want to write new mortgages. It undermines the capital values of the ones they have.

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Favourite Al S Macthomais
    Mar 13th 2013, 5:32 PM

Ponzi fiscal scam and were still paying the price for this rip off. Biggest robbery of a nations coffers by the present political and business establishment ran up a €64 billion and counting.Euro being internal devalued in Ireland. since some group cleaned out one of the northern banks of £26 million was a halfpenny place in comparison.

Mute Peter Daly
    Favourite Peter Daly
    Mar 13th 2013, 7:13 PM

Al
    Face it . You’re economically and fiscally illiterate and can only resort to silliness when good news like this comes along!

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Mar 13th 2013, 9:25 PM

@ Al – exactly what I wrote to Jenny above – If you’ve nothing to add except slurs and unfounded and uninformed rumours, then please give it a rest.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:22 AM

Not just economically and fiscally illiterate, but gramatically illiterate too…

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Mar 14th 2013, 3:58 AM

Nicholas,
    These bonds are being bought by the ECB to try and give the perception that the Irish economy is returning to a fiscal normality. If you can’t see that we’ll your loss.

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Mar 14th 2013, 3:59 AM

Peter,
    Only person who can’t see a Ponzi derived ECB bond buying scam and the illiterate fiscal falsehood of such an action is yourself.

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Mar 14th 2013, 3:15 PM

@ Al – oh dear…

1. Where exactly are you sourcing your information? Have you a NWO cigarette-smoking man hidden int eh shadows. Could the rest of us just not handle the truth?

2. Why do the identities of buyers of these bonds make a difference to the yield that we’ve received on the bonds? No whatsoever.

A little less conspiracy theorising and a little more understanding of the subject at hand would do wonders for your credibility.

Mute Nikolas Koehler
    Mar 14th 2013, 3:21 PM

STOP PRESS: The DCC is cleaning the streets of Dublin to give residents the false perception that the streets are being cleaned. Don’t be a gullible fool and fall for their illusions. Just because the streets have been cleaned doesn’t mean that the streets are cleaner than before they were cleaned. Um…..?

Can you see the flaw in my argument here, Al?

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:53 PM
    Mute Jay Thompson
    Favourite Jay Thompson
    Mar 14th 2013, 9:33 AM

Wonder

ryan o ,Frank and were jammin they must strangly not be available for comment on this ha !

Mute Evan Healy
    Favourite Evan Healy
    Mar 14th 2013, 11:33 AM

The names Bond….. James Bond

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 14th 2013, 1:01 AM

As a farmer I would like to ask is inflation guaranteed ? I am only asking because in my particular occupation my wages from 2000 to 2003 were copperfastened with no indexlinking and now the sector as a whole is being “given” 10% less than what was set in 2000 which means for the next whatever years the sector as a whole is operating on an income that is 10% less than it was in 2000 to 2003. Although the details are sketchy it also seems that there may be a reduction (modulation) into the future !
    The only way I can keep step with inflation is to increase the cost of my produce ………. that means I will have to get an increase of between 10 and 20 % in the price of my food to compensate ….. this can’t happen in a country with children already fainting in the classroom from hunger ! .
    I’m not greedy but how am I going to survive without deflation? and this is not a “poor me rant” I don’t really care about money …I hate the bloody stuff actually but I would like to think that I could keep my children warm !