You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Someone smashed into Philo's guitar, so he's being taken out of town for a while

The damage isn’t too bad this time around. He should be back by November.

20150930_123441 The Phil Lynott statue today. Daragh Brophy Daragh Brophy

THE STATUE OF Thin Lizzy frontman Phil Lynott is being taken away for repairs – but should be back in place outside Bruxelles, off Dublin’s Grafton Street, well before Christmas.

A spokesperson for Dublin City Council confirmed the landmark statue was being removed today, and would be gone for four to five weeks.

It’s not the first time Phil’s been taken from his spot just off the city’s main shopping thoroughfare: the statue was removed in May of 2013 after it was pushed over in the early hours of the morning.

It was gone for months on that occasion, and a large metal rod was placed in the pavement on Harry Street to make sure it couldn’t be knocked over again.

This time around the damage doesn’t appear that serious.

The bass guitar propped in the singer’s hands has been broken, and some of the ‘strings’ have come loose, but that’s about it…

phil2 Daragh Brophy Daragh Brophy

RTÉ is reporting that the damage was caused by a motorist, who later got in touch with authorities to let them know what happened. Philo’s mum, Philomena, is said to be aware that the motorist took responsibility.

Two men handed themselves in to gardaí at Pearse Street Station when it was knocked over two years ago, but were later released.

Philomena forgave the culprits almost immediately that time too. 

Read: Phil Lynott statue to return to Harry Street next week>

Read: Two arrested after Phil Lynott statue pushed over and seriously damaged>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute John O Neill
    Favourite John O Neill
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:18 PM

fair play to the motorist, not everyone would own up

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:31 PM

Fair play to him John, but there is cameras everywhere so it was a wise move on his part.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sep 30th 2015, 3:35 PM

Damn fender bender done good.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Sep 30th 2015, 3:47 PM

im sure the driver was in a cold sweat after it happened

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Sep 30th 2015, 4:29 PM

At least he didn’t have to go for a Jailbreak

Mute Trevor croft
    Favourite Trevor croft
    Oct 1st 2015, 5:48 AM

I wonder if it was the “Whiskey in the Jar”

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Oct 1st 2015, 7:23 AM

Few plecks missing

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:37 PM

This boy is cracking up…

Mute Eamonn Magrath
    Favourite Eamonn Magrath
    Sep 30th 2015, 3:01 PM

…. but The Boy Will be Back in Town ….

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Sep 30th 2015, 3:46 PM

is the driver waiting on an alibi?

Mute Sum Yung Guy
    Favourite Sum Yung Guy
    Sep 30th 2015, 5:03 PM

Dont belive a word

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:27 PM

This is why we can’t have nice things

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:42 PM

It was a motor accident.

Mute Noel Fitzgerald
    Favourite Noel Fitzgerald
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:20 PM

In a pedestrian area, Paul.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 30th 2015, 6:41 PM

Yes Noel.
    The person carrying the car was clearly at fault.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:33 PM

Thats twice now, It should be considered an act of sacrilege for anyone to desecrate in any shape are form the sacred statue of the late great Phil Lynott.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Sep 30th 2015, 8:01 PM

He’s a dead pop singer, not friggin’ Mahatma Ghandi.

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:18 PM

There’s a string on the loose again, a string on the loose…

Mute gary kelly
    Favourite gary kelly

Fair play.accidents happen
    I’m sure Philo would see the funny side of it

Sep 30th 2015, 3:37 PM

Bet Phhil would have told that motorist to Fu*ck off!

Mute Felim Borland
    Favourite Felim Borland
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:13 PM

The Council will have to Try a Little Harder so that it can’t be Brought Down. Fair play to the Renegade motorist for owning up but Honesty Is No Excuse – he was only Waiting For An Alibi.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:43 PM

Is anything going to be used to ‘Fill in its’ absence?

Mute Una Lally
    Favourite Una Lally
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:33 PM

I’ll get thumbed down I know. But I never really liked that statue much, I think someone more deserving than a one hit wonder who died of a drugs overdose should be given a place in Grafton Street instead.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:37 PM

One hit wonder? The key to trolling is subtlety, Una.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:38 PM

Una Lally 1 hit wonder my arse.

What age are you 12?

Know the facts before you comment.

You should get more than red thumbed.

Stupid comment

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:40 PM

Glad to be the first…
    While I agree in part with your drugs sentiment, Phil Lynnott was so much more than a one hit wonder.
    I suppose you have similar objections to the statue of Molly Malone owing to her alleged sexual history?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

Well done Una, you’re not afraid to display your idiocy for the world to see.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:41 PM

Yes Una … Put up a statue of Enda and Joan……Oh sorry a 40ft truck might hit them ( hopefully)

Mute Una Lally
    Favourite Una Lally

I stand by what I said, more people have probably heard of Samantha Mumba than Phil Lynott.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater

Una, get yourself a copy of Live and Dangerous, then get back to us.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:44 PM

“I stand by what I said, more people have probably heard of Samantha Mumba than Phil Lynott.”

Not content with making an idiot of yourself once, you just keep going. What a clown LOL.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:44 PM

What kind of drugs are you on Una?…..Seriously???

Mute Stephen Michael Mulligan
    Favourite Stephen Michael Mulligan
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:45 PM

Samantha who? Phil Lynott is more than deserving of his spot in the city.

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:47 PM

Yeah because Samantha Mumba songs are played regularly in Bruxelles.

Mute Libtard
    Favourite Libtard
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:53 PM

Una do not go against the powerful patriarchy when it comes to musical tastes.

Mute Noel Fitzgerald
    Favourite Noel Fitzgerald
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:23 PM

Yeah because Samantha Mumba is such a musical genius.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:24 PM

Una,Una,Una please for the love of jaysus stop digging the almighty hole you’ve already dug yourself into.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:30 PM

Oh dear…..someone hasn’t heard of Thin Lizzy.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:35 PM

“Una do not go against the powerful patriarchy when it comes to musical tastes.”

It’s got nothing to do with musical taste but musical knowledge.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:55 PM

Unless Una is deliberately trolling, I’ll  chalk this up to youthful naivety on her part, who knows nothing of the value of music from those days. I’m not even a fan of Thin Lizzy and Whiskey in the Jar, The Boys are Back in Town, Jailbreak and Old Town come to mind without even thinking about it. And what’s with the drugs reference? What’s that supposed to mean? Are we supposed to deride or ignore his music for that? In that case, I’ll chalk that up to youthful ignorance because then there’d be no fanbase for The Beatles with their acid, RHCP with their heroin, Kurt Cobain too, Amy Winehouse with her coke, Iggy Pop with every last toxicant you can think of etc etc etc, I could go on, but seriously, more people have heard of Samantha Mumba than Phil Lynott? I’m trying to be nice about this but I’m afraid that can only be chalked up to stupidity….

Mute Stephen Lawlor
    Favourite Stephen Lawlor
    Sep 30th 2015, 3:00 PM

You having a laugh.

Sep 30th 2015, 3:40 PM

Una Lally you are an ignorant little ejiit..Phil and Rory Gallagher put Irish rock on the map.

Sep 30th 2015, 3:41 PM

Una FFS stop showing your ignorance love, go and do your homework theres a good girl!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 30th 2015, 3:56 PM

“Phil and Rory Gallagher put Irish rock on the map.”

+1

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Sep 30th 2015, 4:33 PM

That has to be an attempt at trolling.. Samantha Mumba!…. Not fit to shine Philo’s shoes!

Mute Benton Oswald
    Favourite Benton Oswald
    Sep 30th 2015, 5:15 PM

Top notch trolling Una. I like the second post best. Draw ‘em in and then hit ‘em square in the balls.

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Favourite Brendan Oconnor
    Sep 30th 2015, 5:34 PM

I hit wonder? .. explain please

Mute Benton Oswald
    Favourite Benton Oswald
    Sep 30th 2015, 5:35 PM

Don’t. Feed. The. Troll.

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Sep 30th 2015, 6:03 PM

Who?

Mute Benton Oswald
    Favourite Benton Oswald
    Sep 30th 2015, 6:23 PM

Scroll up.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 30th 2015, 6:45 PM

Scroll up, Scroll up – with rubber bullets?

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:26 PM

Gone on tour.I expect the live album in time for Christmas.

Mute Les J Matt
    Favourite Les J Matt
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:07 PM

What was a motorist doing on that street? It’s a pedestrian zone.

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:26 PM

Walk down Grafton St early in the morning and you’ll see…

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:42 PM

Could be a delivery van/truck or at the flowers sellers there it could be one of their cars or vans bringing the flowers in or whatever.

Mute Stephen Michael Mulligan
    Favourite Stephen Michael Mulligan
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:31 PM

Is he headed Southbound for repair by any chance?

Mute Toirdhealbhach Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Toirdhealbhach Ó Ceallaigh

Must have been in a “Cold Sweat” after that.

Mute Sean Mathews
    Favourite Sean Mathews
    Sep 30th 2015, 6:56 PM

It wouldnt happen in Chinatown!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon

The council should consider erecting protective posts about a foot in front and behind the statue.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Sep 30th 2015, 8:57 PM

What’s to stop some idiot and careless driver hitting it again? Standing at least 6ft should have been seen. Driver had no choice to report it to gardai with the amount of cameras around.

Sep 30th 2015, 3:43 PM

Una you little troll!

Mute tomcolgan
    Favourite tomcolgan
    Sep 30th 2015, 2:42 PM

This wouldn’t happen if the statue was down the countryside

Mute paul farrell
    Favourite paul farrell
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:16 PM

Skummm with nothing else to do

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:19 PM

Take a note… Must read article before commenting in case I look silly.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:20 PM

it was an motor accident which the driver reported to the authorities

Mute paul farrell
    Favourite paul farrell
    Sep 30th 2015, 1:26 PM

Dope!!!!! Wrong article …