You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Seth Wenig/AP/Press Association Images

Four arrested in connection with Philip Seymour Hoffman drugs - report

Police say there was no fentanyl mixed with the heroin found in the actor’s apartment.

FOUR PEOPLE HAVE been arrested in connection with drugs found at the home of film star Philip Seymour Hoffman following his death of an apparent heroin overdose, the New York Daily News reports, citing unidentified police sources.

The arrests came during a raid on a building in the Chinatown district of Manhattan after police traced the heroin believed to have killed the Oscar-winning actor there, the newspaper reported.

New York City Police Department spokesman told Reuters that officers found narcotics at the building in Chinatown and four people were arrested. He declined to confirm that the arrests were related to Hoffman’s death.

A second police spokesman told Reuters on Tuesday evening that heroin found in Hoffman’s apartment following his death was not cut or mixed with fentanyl, a synthetic narcotic believed by health authorities to be responsible for scores of overdose deaths in recent months.

“There was no fentanyl found in the drugs,” the spokesman said.

The 46-year-old actor was found unresponsive on the bathroom floor of his Manhattan apartment on Sunday by emergency services responding to an emergency 911 call.

Police found Hoffman with a syringe in his arm and recovered plastic bags containing a substance believed to be heroin. Law enforcement sources have told Reuters that he died of an apparent drug overdose.

Preliminary results of an autopsy were expected to be released on Wednesday.

Hoffman, who is survived by his partner, Mimi O’Donnell, and their three children, had detailed his struggles with substance abuse in the past.

The actor, who earned an Academy Award for his portrayal of Truman Capote in the 2006 drama “Capote” and was considered one of the most gifted film stars of his generation, had sought treatment last year after more than 20 years of sobriety.

A representative for Hoffman said the actor, who also appeared in such blockbusters as Twister and The Hunger Games, would be buried in a private memorial service, with a memorial planned for later this month.

Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters/ Click for Restrictions.

Read: 900 kilos of cocaine, €70k and luxury watches found in floating backpacks in the sea

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 13 comments
13 Comments
    Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:19 AM

News reports last night were saying people were surprised to get a second ballad paper , did not know anything about the blasphemy law referendum, Well if people are that badly informed when casting a vote, not surprised Higgins has a huge lead.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:30 AM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: we should have a minimum IQ requirement to vote!!

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:40 AM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: the blasphemy referendum was just a ball of smoke…the coverage / information about it was practically non existent and all-in-all whether it’s changed doesn’t make one iota of difference. As regards the presidental election the field of runners was of such a low calibre that it’s no surprise the incumbent keeps the reigns/ what would be of concern to fg&ff is that this was the lowest EVER turnout for a Presidential election that cost €15million. Also the fact that Peter Casey in spite of Leo & co saying NOT to vote for him looks like attaining 20%+ of the votes….1 in 5 of the people who actually did bother to vote.Not a good election for the ‘ establishment’ no matter what Leo’s spin machine says

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:49 AM

@Frank Dubogovik:
    Sorry for pointing out the obvious flaw in your argument Frank, but ‘the establishment’ as you put it just won a landslide victory!

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:58 AM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: wasn’t an argument though, he was just highlighting some of the issues with this election.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:01 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: Non existent Frank? I saw ads about it on TV and heard the topic being debated on radio and TV news. Also received information to my house. Where have you had your head for the last few weeks?!

Mute Nigel Mcatamney
    Favourite Nigel Mcatamney
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:30 AM

@Reg: Frank doesn’t watch TV or read newspapers or possess a radio. He gets all his hear say from the journal…..

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:41 AM

@Frank Dubogovik: looks like Peter Casey rallied 4% of the people to his cause!!! That probably is the percentage of morons in Ireland.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Reg: , if there was a minimum IQ requirement to vote this current shower wouldn’t be allowed sweep the car park in Dail Eirann.
    Gift horse and all that !!!

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:14 AM

@Paddington C.:
    Where do you get your 4% figure?

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:33 AM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: SF distraction politics

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:35 AM

@mattoid: Paddington is just a dumb bear.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:04 AM

@Reg: that would have only increased Higgins win lol

Mute flabar oflabar
    Favourite flabar oflabar
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:29 AM

@Reg: Driving, voting and reproducing all things that the window lickers can do that affect everyone

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:02 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: higgins is no saint but casey supports his bank balance and isnt is a rebel for anything, hes just using hate as trump did to get ahead he’ll rob your taxes same as the establishment, casey lost put that trump wanna be back in his box if you are with casey you arent with humanity, maybe he can relaunch renua lol I didnt vote for casey but I did vote against him dont let anti democratic forces like casey or leo mislead you unless you are a divisive white/corporate supremacist then both should get your vote

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Rory: The squeezed middle think there is something to gain by attacking welfare recipients.

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:38 AM

Well done to Michael D.

But Casey’s surge in popularity has to resonate with the Irish political class.

We don’t want to be spoon fed waffle and empty promises, we want people to come out and give an honest account of reality, and then we can judge the credibility and application the politician is putting forward. Not lies.

Don’t see how Casey’s ideas about Travelers was going to help, but he said it like it was for many people. Leo and co need to come out next General Election and give it to the public straight about the Health service, homelessness, and the myriad of other problems that can at minimum can be alleviated to a degree with the right attitude.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:48 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: Not a chance of that happening unfortunately. Leo, Murphy and Harris are constantly on the airwaves stating that things are improving in their respective departments when clearly things are getting worse. To report such nonsense and keep a straight face is actually quite frightening when you think about it. They have no morals or integrity and to force feed such lies and nonsense down peoples necks is very shocking indeed.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:56 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: That’s it. Next election we’ll have candidates mumbling incoherently like Casey. They’ll get in after a few comments about a minority in society, and like Casey will support Irexit, or some other suicidal notion. Hopefully people will see through the Trump playbook.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:03 AM

@TheHeathen: it’ll be a sad day. Are people really that stupid to think people enter politics to help the ordinary joe soap.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:08 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: a lot of people are missing huge issues with Casey’s surge. these are not right wing lunatics to counter the leftist lunatics. it is fairer centrist politics to counter the right leaning conservatism of ff/ff/lab. people don’t see fairness in systems that can be abused by anyone, individual or group, and they need people to agree with them. Higgins won by votes from sleepwalking over 50s and blinkered millennials (my own kids voted him “because he’s squiggledey” or some vacous reason) not being engaged in politics, and that will change once we get a political version of Casey.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:27 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: ‘right leaning lab’, you might need to read their policies prior to making such comments rather than just following the PBP rhetoric, the other 2 are right of centre alright.

Oh, and I’m a professional in his 30s who voted Higgins, so not sure how I match your stereotype of a Higgins voter

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:28 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: The renua party got nowhere in elections at 0%. but i would say a far right party based on hatred to minorities would do well going on casey’s success.

Mute Joanne Martin
    Favourite Joanne Martin
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:01 AM

@Sean Conway: it’s not about hatred of minorities it’s about the truth ffs, wake up

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:19 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: Well glad to see you got that wrong. Casey voted for mainly by over 60s.

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:37 AM

@Gulliver Foyle: migeldy higeldy

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:47 AM

@Joanne Martin: Do you think that you would benefit if there was no welfare at all? it goes straight back in to the economy anyway. it wouldn’t go to the sqeezed middle. the wealthy just want to divide and rule

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:09 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: So I guess you would have no issue with folks in the UK saying we are all filthy washed up drunk Paddy’s?, its ok because its the truth right?….you type of people have no idea the dangers of people who single out the weak for their own gain…..I know someone in Germany who done similar but I can’t think of his name for some reason can you?

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:11 AM

@Hellenize Dublin: So I guess you would have no issue with folks in the UK saying we are all filthy washed up drunk Paddy’s?, its ok because its the truth right?….you type of people have no idea the dangers of people who single out the weak for their own gain…..I know someone in Germany who done similar but I can’t think of his name for some reason can you?

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:09 PM

@Peter Hughes: ignore the part where I said I don’t see how Casey’s comments would help, that’s fine

Stop putting words and deriving meanings in people’s statements that are not there

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:17 PM

@TheHeathen: and you just follow the hype and media like the sheep you are Higgins came across as pompous arrogant and self entitled and if the campaign went on longer more people would have seen that

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:50 PM

@Peter Hughes: why don’t travellers have to work for a living?
    People on the dole long term are sent through Tus or Seetec. Why are travellers exempt?

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:07 PM

@ Martin O Donnell: More irony, it’s everywhere today. The hype was Casey. The sheep were Casey’s followers. One comment about a minority, a political bogeyman, and away you went. ‘A man of the people’, ‘saying it like it is’. Such rubbish, such hype, such sheep. A member of the elite, a loon that supports leaving the EU, a mumbling populist, a man looking to get his deposit back. Since he wanted to bring up an inconsequential issue to the role, why didn’t he bring up a bigger issue in society? Health, housing, debt? Because that would shed some light in his golfing buddies and because he read the Trump playbook on how to fool sheeple, and he needed his deposit back. Probably has a tax bill in the US coming up.

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:11 PM

@Peter Hughes: what did he say that was so bad?

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:17 PM

@TheHeathen: are you for real Higgins acted arrogantly by not doing all the debates so u are quite happy to have someone who gets paid a huge salary but yet uses the 300k fund for his personal use u my friend are one of the 55 percent so a sheep by definition follow him just like ur masters told you

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:23 PM

@Hellenize Dublin: Hatefacts. The truth is hateful to those who hate the truth.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:55 PM

@Hellenize Dublin: Not sure why folks are even talking about Casey, he got approx 20 percent, its nowhere taxi for him and his merry band of racist followers period.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Martin O Donnell: I hope you have evidence that he uses the 300k for personal use. No body has ever accused him of that. I hope he sues you for slander.

Mute Rob Doyle
    Favourite Rob Doyle
    Oct 27th 2018, 4:24 PM

@Hellenize Dublin: The second stupidest comment on the Journal. Making a comparison between singling out a group to the Nazi’s party..

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Oct 27th 2018, 7:44 PM

@Peter Hughes: racist how?

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:39 AM

Miggledy was always gonna be a sure thing. But we’ll done to Peter Casey. For a few minutes a politician told the truth. THATS what the people want. Honesty.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Kath Noonan: Peter Casey is not a politician.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:16 PM

@Kath Noonan: Peter Casey may as well have said “If I get elected I’ll give everyone in Ireland €10,000″ unreal that there is less than 5% of the population who fall for such simplistic sound-bites, we have a pretty good educational system by OECD standards, some people just aren’t suited to it though it seems.

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:08 PM

@PaulineSmith: we’re not all lick arses ……looking for something we’ll never get off a politician

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:50 PM

@Mr Mystery: Yeah, licking windows more like.

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Oct 27th 2018, 2:15 PM

@Kath Noonan: ” for a few minutes”.. and that made him a ” hero” with some, and suitable Presidential material??? Oh, dear the mind boggles..

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 4:41 PM

@PaulineSmith: what’s worse is that 55 percent bought into the spin about Higgins unreal he never answered about dipping into the 300k for personal use even though he on a huge salary crazy that people go with the flow rather than look deeper into things

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Favourite The Bull McCabe
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:29 AM

He’ll need to bring a load of Pavees to the Aras to prove he likes them so much

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:43 AM

@The Bull McCabe: Paveee point Administrative expenses a few years back were 1,631,698 thats tax payers money, they are very comfortable without the Aras

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:46 AM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: a great maybe there new wedding venue with all that space and all..

Mute jacquoranda
    Favourite jacquoranda
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:11 PM

@The Bull McCabe: Taxpayers money given to people who won’t pay tax on their earnings. One for the irony fans.

Mute Pl O'neill
    Favourite Pl O'neill
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:01 AM

It is clear evidence that it is time for a Rural Political Party based on Law and Order . FFG /Sinn Fein play lip service to dealing with Rural Crime and the concerns of Rural People .

A Rural Political Party is the only solution to this . The other Political parties have had more than enough time to get their finger out but they have done nada and are going to do nada .

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:12 AM

@Pl O’neill: Identity Ireland and Renua suggest not

Mute Simon Peters
    Favourite Simon Peters
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Pl O’neill: Yes, have your rural Party but recognise most of the money you get is from City PAYE workers paying your subsidies (without which you wouldn’t add survive).

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:35 PM

@Simon Peters: city PAYE made up of people from the country! PS I’m a Dub living in the country..

Oct 27th 2018, 8:36 AM

No doubt the FF, FG and labour shower will spin this as an overwhelming endorsement of themselves but the fact is, if the turnout was around 50%, and higgins got say 58% of that, it means less than 30% of the electorate bothered to come out to vote for higgins, hardly as popular as they’d like to fool you into thinking.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:39 AM

@Adrian: of my seven cats, not one voted for Higgins,. He is clearly nowhere near as popular as people make out.

Oct 27th 2018, 8:45 AM

@Adrian: reminds me of some time last year when pascal was on the radio trying to sell the results of a survey on the what public sector workers though of politicians, 56% bothered to reply, and about half said they trusted and valued the work of the politicians. So it was around 25% but to pascal, he was spinning the 56% as an overwhelming majority, discounting the crowd that didn’t reply!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:08 AM

@Adrian: it’s perfectly reasonable not to count the people who didn’t bother to vote. If they want to be counted they know what they have to do.

Oct 27th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: and that also applies to michael d. To emphasize a point, say if only 100k people voted, and 90k of them voted for michael d, does that mean that michael d is overwhelmingly popular, as popular as the establishment want you to believe, no!

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:29 AM

@Adrian: and less than 10% of people voted for Casey. No matter what way you look at it, Michael D is 3 times more popular than the next candidate

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:42 AM

Miggledy was always gonna be a sure thing. But look at what a moment of truth did for Peter Casey. THATS what the people want. Honesty in the politics.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:41 AM

@Kath Noonan: Yeah just like hitler he was honest too all the same.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:46 AM

@Kath Noonan: Thats what people of the same opinion as you want

Mute Conor Thorne
    Favourite Conor Thorne
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:23 PM

@Kath Noonan: too l

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:57 AM

Unbelievable how set in yer ways ye are, afraid of change? And then you all say the president has no say at all, doesn’t matter who it is up there, but vote for this buck who already had his turn he should be relaxing with his feet up in his own house enjoy retirement as anyone else does at 70 but no at 77 greed set in… I want more, and the Irish followers bowed down to him,
    Good luck to ye.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:38 AM

@Rosemarie F Martin: and yet you didn’t see how arrogant Higgins came across tunnel vision I think

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:25 PM

@Mr Mystery: Set in our ways? I didn’t vote for Michael D. but I certainly wasn’t going to vote for a candidate whose rhetoric was more suited to 1930′s Europe, it’s Casey supporters who want to drag us back to the Dark Ages, thankfully there’s feck all of them.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:26 PM

@Mr Mystery: if he’s all about greed and milking the system, explain to me why he’s handed back to the state every year for the past seven years (and will presumably continue to hand back), pensions worth around 100 grand a year? Pensions he would be perfectly entitled to claim.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 27th 2018, 6:22 PM

@Dermot Lane: Mr Mystery has disappeared!

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Oct 27th 2018, 7:22 PM

@Mr Mystery: You being a grandmother, you probably remember those times?

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:25 AM

Sense looks to have prevailed.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:17 AM

Great result

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:20 AM

@Tweety McTweeter: disastrous result for the country 45 percent of the people actually showing some sense unfortunately still a majority are like sheep and believe the media hype and can’t think for themselves

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:23 AM

@Martin O Donnell: Dry your eyes Martin :)

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:38 AM

@Tweety McTweeter: The only other possibility, which of course is completely ludicrous, so that other people are right and you’re wrong.

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:53 AM

@Martin O Donnell: @Dáithí O Raghailaigh: so Michael D with 55% of vote, then the bigots of this country voted for Peter C (because he says ‘what we’re all thinking’- heard that from 2 taxi drivers yesterday as well as every Trump supporter I’ve ever met) then the other 25% is split over 4 candidates most likely just their Geographical area of where they came from or those that they have known over the years- so basically your some of the country have sense comment is null and void. The country disagrees with you basically… resoundingly.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:12 AM

@Tweety McTweeter: I’m pretty sure dublin taxi drivers don’t vote, or do anything with a paper trail.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:29 AM

@Martin O Donnell: I think you need to read up on how democracy works

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:47 AM

@Martin O Donnell: the one plus with Miggledy winning is it’s not yet ANOTHER massive pension WE have to pay.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:43 AM

@Glenn O’hAilpín: not really the spin and the media got Higgins in Casey jumped from 1 percent …If this had being a much longer campaign the majority of people would have seen the spin for what it is Higgins came across as arrogant and entitled just not enough time for everyone to see that

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:29 AM

@Martin O Donnell: or the people who see that Higgins is the best representative for the country got him in. Peter Casey jumped because he decided to spout shite that he knows people would buy and he would get some of his money back.

Mute Only here for the comments
    Favourite Only here for the comments
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:34 PM

@Martin O Donnell: today I learned that anybody who holds an opinion that’s different from Tweety is a sheep and unable to this k for themselves. Some logic there

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:21 PM

@Sam Harms: If Higgins is that good why didn’t he attend all the debates why did he lie about using the 300k for personal use get a grip man he is laughing all the way to the bank knowing that he has enough sheep to believe the spin

Mute Darren Caffrey
    Favourite Darren Caffrey
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:26 AM

It’s one small step for Michael D, one giant leap for his bank balance!!

Mute Eamonn Duggan
    Favourite Eamonn Duggan
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:16 AM

He knocked them out of the Park.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:42 PM

If MDH had been fair and announced his running in a timely manner there would have been more time to have better candidates. Once he did he was basically handed the Presidency by FF/FG/labour and the media and it was going to be an uphill battle for anyone without that Political Support. Delighted Casey got so many votes, not because of Travellers but because Leo said not too and hopefully its Trend and Leo is not elected again

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:33 PM

@Mr E: the parties or anyone interested had 7 years to prepare

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:35 AM

Casey has been a poor candidate who transparently used negative tactics throughout his campaign. Yes, there are genuine concerns about elements of the Traveller community, but likewise settled citizens can be violent, criminal, dysfunctional, entitled, drug-addicted, bullying, abusive, irresponsible, offensive, etc. I’ve suffered directly from many members of a settled community in which I’ve lived in Dublin. It’s an issue that runs across all parts of this society.

Mute Accounting Pro
    Favourite Accounting Pro
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:29 AM

It will be interesting are the exit polls accurate saying Casey is 21%. When the votes are counted will it actually be quite a bit higher than that? I am not sure these polls are in any way accurate.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:47 AM

@Accounting Pro: So you’re saying the people counting the votes can’t count? Think you’re getting mixed up with Casey voters there, the ones who all spent their money at the bookies backing him for a Number 1. Fools and their money!

Mute Ger Hanley
    Favourite Ger Hanley
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:02 PM

@Accounting Pro: Pauline, the “fools” as you call them are €1,250 better of if they had €10 e/w at 500/1. I wish I was that fool this morning

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:33 AM

For the first time in history every pavee in Ireland voted. If there vote was taken off the 56%, what percentage would Michael D get?

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:45 AM

@John O Brien: There’s 40,000 of them? We have bigger issues, like the near million on waiting lists, 200billion debt, schools falling down, corruption, squeezed middle and hard working lower class unable to buy houses, homelessness, useless political class in the pockets of the elites… even the fines coming from Europe on our inaction about climate change should be higher on the agenda than some tiny minority.

Mute June Rose-Sommer
    Favourite June Rose-Sommer
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:22 AM

Congratulations Mr Higgins!! You certainly got my vote!!

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:29 AM

Surprised the Liadh and all the shinners done so bad… guess they don’t have the support they they have

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:24 PM

@Mark Murphy: I guess they don`t have the support they have??
    Best thing you can do is to stick to your American politics along with all your tweets about your heroine killery Clinton.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Oct 27th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Pixie McMullen: they thought they had. For what’s it’s worth I actually gave her my number 1 vote. I thought she was a very good candidate. My point was I was very surprised so didn’t poll higher given I Pressumed they had much more support out there. Anyhow you clearly got upset about my comment so maybe go have a walk in the fresh air and clear your head for a while , you sound stressed.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Oct 27th 2018, 12:14 PM

Mary Lou imploding in RTÉ Radio 1. Stammering, pausing, confused, all over the place

Mute John Marshall
    Favourite John Marshall
    Oct 27th 2018, 6:13 PM

Very clear that Peter Casey, whatever you think of his comments, struck a chord with the rural communities in this country. Wonder will any of the politicians take note?

Mute Andy Butler
    Favourite Andy Butler
    Oct 27th 2018, 6:24 PM

@John Marshall: not at all!! They have to stomach to listen to backlash from the liberal majority who are unneffected by the issue he raised.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Oct 27th 2018, 10:31 AM

SF getting a flogging in Donegal. Also in Cork. Did their TD’s even canvass? Question to be answered by May Lou McD

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Oct 27th 2018, 2:11 PM

SF candidate 3rd place in own constituency. Mary Lou and SF lead a disastrous campaign

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:36 AM

Any exit poll for the referendum?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:52 AM

@Leadóg:
    Yes, overwhelmingly carried.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Oct 27th 2018, 8:56 AM

@Leadóg:
    They are saying 70-72% yes

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:02 AM

@Patrick Nolan: aren’t they great

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:55 PM

Wonder how many votes Gemma O’Doherty got.

Mute paul jones
    Favourite paul jones
    Oct 27th 2018, 7:31 PM

Multiple puff pieces about travelers on boards today and no comments allowed on all of them ! Pravda would be proud.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Oct 27th 2018, 4:37 PM

Depressing day on one hand for Ireland but bit more optimism around as anti establishment rhetoric starting to ring true now only if we could have a GE and get the sock monster out

Mute Ross McCann
    Favourite Ross McCann
    Oct 27th 2018, 5:31 PM

Looks like it’ll be full steam ahead with the Gravy Train for another seven years. As a nation we get the leadership we deserve. It’s not like the UK where they’ve no say in who their head of state is.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Oct 27th 2018, 2:38 PM

How is Atheist Ireland a thing?
    It’s like having a club for people who don’t like football!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 27th 2018, 3:12 PM

@Niall Power: The GAA? Sorry, I’ll get my coat.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:27 AM

How did the blasphemy vote go?

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Oct 27th 2018, 2:25 PM

@Paraic:

people voted to get rid of it

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Oct 27th 2018, 4:30 PM

Who is voting for Sean Gallagher? And why?

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Oct 27th 2018, 2:36 PM

How slow can they go in counting? This should not take too long as MDH will win on first count easily.

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Oct 27th 2018, 6:10 PM

This presidential election has been a shocking waster of the Northern Bank money by Mary Lou

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Oct 27th 2018, 5:35 PM

Disaster for SF. Abandoned by their own “supporters”.

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Oct 27th 2018, 4:58 PM

Poor Liadh and SF had a disaster. Understandable when she showed that the SF clatter about the average industrial wage is nonsense. She also had a very poor understanding of the constitution. A very limited candidate overall.

SF supporters were quick to abandon her – but then they always do less than the polls indicate in elections.

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Oct 27th 2018, 5:01 PM

Poor Liadh and SF had a disaster – understandable when she showed that the SF clatter about the average industrial wage is nonsense. She also had a very poor understanding of the constitution. A very limited candidate overall.

SF supporters were quick to abandon her – but then they always do less than the polls indicate in elections.

Mute Braonain Proinseas
    Favourite Braonain Proinseas
    Oct 27th 2018, 9:52 PM

The People have spoken once more. O well have to except the democratic vote. ….fock it.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Oct 27th 2018, 11:27 PM

Pathetic Moran