You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This is the first-ever image of thunder

It was taken using acoustic imaging.

YOU’RE PROBABLY USED to seeing photographs of lightning by now – but bet you never realised you could capture an image of thunder too.

Science News brings us this video of thunder being captured on camera for the first time.

How did they do it?

Well, the scientists shot a copper wire into a lightning-prone cloud. The lightning then followed the wire to the ground, which meant the researchers could record the sound waves caused by the thunder.

Science News / YouTube

The green flashes in the video are caused by the copper wire, and here’s the picture (acoustic imaging) of the thunder (to the right):

ts_thunder-brief Science News Science News

Read: Violent storm blows train off elevated bridge>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:49 PM

Judge Greally said Loughlin was “perilously close” to going to jail………..going by other trends when it comes to being banged up,she has only another 117 offences to go..

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Jul 20th 2016, 6:45 PM

Probably would have if she hadn’t used the money to pay her motor tax, you know as long as you pay your way!

Mute Stephen Kilbane
    Favourite Stephen Kilbane
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:19 PM

She’ll be running for politics next

Mute Stephen Kilbane
    Favourite Stephen Kilbane
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:34 PM

There are people who care about the country were just stuck in a rut election wise

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:40 PM

Nice dress for the presentation though..

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Jul 19th 2016, 8:08 PM

Who paid for it though?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:21 PM

And then resigned via text message…..classy!!

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:10 PM

So we are basically allowed to steal 28k and nothing will happen to us.

Mute Howye Lads
    Favourite Howye Lads
    Jul 19th 2016, 11:00 PM

She’s blessed, her former employer appears to have saved her ass from jail reading between the lines!

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 19th 2016, 11:52 PM

Aimoo,
    It’s a little more sinister than that. When you see someone buying so much personal stuff through the company they work for it normally has VAT & Tax benefits for the purchaser. Wink wink nod nod.

Mute Cosaint
    Favourite Cosaint
    Jul 20th 2016, 9:01 AM

she wasn’t employed by a company

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:34 PM

She’s a lucky lady not to get jail.if it was an ordinary Joe…..

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:11 PM

Yes definitely.. If you were to break into somebody’s home and steal €28,000 from a safe you’d definitely do jail time. But hack into their bank account and steal 28 grand you’ll get a slap on the wrist..

Mute peter
    Favourite peter
    Jul 19th 2016, 8:20 PM

She is an ordinary Joe, a young girl working as a legal secretary who is engaged to an electrician. That’s about as ordinary as you get. She screwed up, paid it all back and in all likelihood never be in trouble again. By ordinary Joe i think you mean the class that like to be called working class bit don’t actually work. That’s the dole class, they don’t want to work, so they’d never been in a position to steal from the employers. When you finished reading this, brush the dandruff of your chip

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 19th 2016, 9:57 PM

There’s a lot of sense to what you say Peter. I’m appalled by what she did, but there’s nothing to be gained by sending her to jail and she’ll probably be a good contributor to society over the course of her life. It will be tough to overcome the shame of this, but hopefully she’ll just get on with things now. She deserves a second chance.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 19th 2016, 11:56 PM

Yes Peter I wouldn’t waste more taxpayers money on keeping her in jail for two years. She’s not a danger to society. Her employer should have kept an eye on her company affairs every month and this would have been nipped in the bud.

Mute Howye Lads
    Favourite Howye Lads
    Jul 20th 2016, 8:04 AM

Ye, shame on her employer for trusting her personal assistant!

It’s the employers fault this whole thing happened and got so far.

She should apologise and take her back on immediately!

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 20th 2016, 2:49 PM

Howya

that’s a dumb dumb comment to make. It’s not about trust at all. There are simple company procedures designed to prevent this situation. These should have been implemented as we all do. The least she could have done was check her accounts on a monthly basis. The employer gets no sympathy from me. I never said it was the employers fault.

Mute Howye Lads
    Favourite Howye Lads
    Jul 20th 2016, 3:05 PM

The employer is not looking for sympathy! In fact the employer had sympathy for the thief in this matter which is why she was not put to jail!

The employer would have been embarrassed I’m sure that she,specialised in employment law and here under nose was a thief doing to her what she probably deals with everyday in work!

It was disgraceful what this lady did to her employer! Company procedures you said,this was the barristers PA with her account not a huge companies account!

Mute Joey Baker
    Favourite Joey Baker
    Jul 20th 2016, 6:53 PM

Wow she is a THIEF PURE and simple

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:33 PM

There’s those words you hear all the time when a female is in front of the courts “suspended sentence”…

Mute Cosaint
    Favourite Cosaint
    Jul 20th 2016, 9:02 AM

dochas must be empty so

Mute Kieran Herron
    Favourite Kieran Herron
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:24 PM

The money was just resting in my account

Mute Dotrice Altrium Hollohatch
    Favourite Dotrice Altrium Hollohatch
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:50 PM

A classic con. Identity a friendly, busy, trusting professional – and use every trick in the book to rip her off. But some us take a different view of this obnoxious thief because he was a GAA player…

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:54 PM

In that case Dotrice – “He” should be Drug tested, as “He” is going around looking and acting like a “She”

Jul 19th 2016, 7:01 PM

The lady who was robbed, was female. You on the White Powder again?

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:19 PM

@ Dotrice – For someone that supposedly went to Harvard, you really are as thick as bottled Pig Shite, read the article again, Read the part where Her name is Dinah, and SHE was an inter county player, Read the caption just under the first photo, where she is collecting HER trophy….
    went to Harvard? – It must have been a day trip and you thought you were in Disney world or something – ya Plank

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:22 PM

@ Dotrice – For someone that supposedly went to Harvard, you really are as thick as bottled Pig Shite, read the article again, Read the part where Her name is Dinah, and SHE was an inter county player, Read the caption just under the first photo, where she is collecting HER trophy….
    went to Harvard? – It must have been a day trip and you thought you were in Disney world or something – ya Plank

Jul 19th 2016, 7:38 PM

calm down you buffoon. my post had a ‘he’ typo. a thief’s vile act has nothing to do with sport, even gaa…

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:41 PM

Me calm down? – you were the one that went down the “White powder” route, not me – if ye can`t take it, don`t give it, Buffoon…also you brought up Thief and Sport in the same sentence, ..
    Have a nice day now.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 19th 2016, 9:58 PM

No more drugs for either of you!

Mute rewop
    Favourite rewop
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:08 PM

Materialism obsession. Celtic tiger is coming back

Mute Shane Cusack
    Favourite Shane Cusack
    Jul 19th 2016, 11:15 PM

She’s only sorry because she was caught! No reason to think she would have stopped never mind pay the money back had she not been caught.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:20 PM

Sad to see this happen to a sporting hero. Hopefully she’ll be able to re-build and move on.

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:40 PM

Why are you sorry for the thief and not the victim?

Mute Jason O Shea
    Favourite Jason O Shea
    Jul 19th 2016, 7:23 PM

A hero is someone with fine qualities and someone to look up to and aspire to be. This woman is no hero.

Jul 19th 2016, 6:25 PM

Won a soaring star in 04 and again in 14. Fair play

Jul 19th 2016, 6:35 PM

So the thief could play a sport!! Like so many of vour politicians – even Enda is only there because his father could play football! Will we ever learn…

Jul 19th 2016, 6:45 PM

I was highlighting the poor editing!

Mute Jackson Bollovks
    Favourite Jackson Bollovks
    Jul 20th 2016, 2:21 AM

€28k for a wedding, are they hiring Crystal Swing?

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:56 PM

She got better looking with age.

Mute Kev Creed
    Favourite Kev Creed
    Jul 19th 2016, 10:42 PM

Clash of the ash is what she needs

Mute pete79
    Favourite pete79
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:21 PM

The gas were not paying her enough

Mute pete79
    Favourite pete79
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:22 PM

Sorry the gaa

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:26 PM

no, you’re grand, GAA or gas, both shįte comments either way but thanks for trying.

Jul 19th 2016, 6:33 PM

Niall, the gas doesn’t make payments to players – but the GAA does. Around my Midlands town, there’s a lot of good GAA players – with fine houses and cars. But in rather basic employment…

Mute Adrian Greaney
    Favourite Adrian Greaney
    Jul 19th 2016, 6:52 PM

Well maybe they don’t spend money going on the beer or smoking or foreign holidays … And also may be training 4/5 times a night with GAA teams so there food bill mightn’t be too high!!!!etc so they can spend the money on other nice things

Jul 19th 2016, 7:06 PM

Maybe – yes, they’re training 5 times a night…

Mute Packie O'Sullivan
    Favourite Packie O'Sullivan
    Jul 20th 2016, 1:48 AM

I’m sure she gets loads of perks from being an intercounty star! Oh wait.. She’s a woman!
    Funny how national media can pick up on this story yet wouldn’t bother their HOLE reporting on women’s GAA championships!

Mute et
    Favourite et
    Jul 19th 2016, 11:46 PM

I bet marguerite Bolger will keep a closer eye on her finances in future. €28,000??? in all fairness!!

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Jul 20th 2016, 9:00 AM

Do feel sorry for her. But if she declared her self as a charity or a friend of fg/ff/lab she would have got off Scot free

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite John O'Shaughnessy
    Jul 20th 2016, 10:07 PM

What were the ‘professional’ reasons forcing her boss to report the crime? Without these ‘professional’ reasons, nothing would have happened at all? Anything to do with the use of the credit cards? Maybe it was some sort of stuffy lawyer’s ethics?