You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PHOTOS: Stunning shots of snow around the country

It’s a winter wonderland … in March.

Updated 3pm

MANY PARTS OF Ireland are covered in snow.

A status red snow-ice warning will remain in place for Munster, Leinster and Galway until 6pm. A status orange snow-ice warning will be in place for Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo until 6pm.

Readers have been capturing great shots of scenes from different parts of the country, with the east most affected by the snow. People have been advised to exercise caution if they need to go outdoors; please only take photos if it’s safe to do so.

You can send your images to pictures@thejournal.ie. Thanks to all the readers who have already done this.

Oona Tully captured these beautiful shots of deer in Phoenix Park, Dublin:

Deer_preview Deer in Phoenix Park, Dublin Oona Tully Oona Tully

Herd of Deer_preview Herd of deer in Phoenix Park, Dublin Oona Tully Oona Tully

Rob Michael caught some great shots in Sallins in Co Kildare and in the Wicklow Mountains:

Rob Michael Sallins, Co Kildare Rob Michael Rob Michael

Rob Michael 2 Wicklow Mountains Rob Michaels Rob Michaels

Here are some other photos readers have sent in of the snow:

original (2) A dog enjoying the snow in Blessington, Wicklow Brian McDermott Brian McDermott

Image (1) The frozen Royal Canal in Phibsborough, Dublin John Ward John Ward

wicklow Laragh, Glendalough, Co Wicklow Seamus Holden Seamus Holden

20180302_105707 St Finian's Bay in Co Kerry, with Skellig Michael and Puffin Island in the background Jack O'Connor Jack O'Connor

20180301_143131 The standing stones of Deargsam in the Glen of Imaal, Wicklow Fiachra Kavanagh Fiachra Kavanagh

tall Tallaght, Dublin Philip Griffin Philip Griffin

dub A man walking through the snow in Dublin city Ross Heffernan Ross Heffernan

MER A snow mermaid built by Abi Dillon at her house (called Mermaid Cottage) on the Slea Head Drive near Dingle, Co Kerry Abi Dillon Abi Dillon

lime Adog out for a stroll in Kilcornan, Co Limerick David Sheehy David Sheehy

The Funcheon River, Mill & Castle, Glanworth, Co. Cork The Funcheon River, Mill & Castle, Glanworth, Co. Cork Breandán Ó hUallacháin Breandán Ó hUallacháin

robin A robin in Athlone, Co Westmeath Simon Walsh Simon Walsh

adams Adamstown, Dublin Rafii Haji Rafii Haji

cel Celbridge, Co Kildare Fiona Morley Clarke Fiona Morley Clarke

Image uploaded from iOS An unusually quiet Temple Bar, Dublin city Peter Bodkin Peter Bodkin

olaf A very good Olaf effort (of Frozen fame) in Naas, Co Kildare Sarah Hayden Sarah Hayden

car1 The M50 at the Leopardstown flyover this morning, Dublin Kelvin Hughes Kelvin Hughes

original (1) Wexford town Lorna Burke Lorna Burke

igloo Kenneth Browne built himself an igloo in Clogherhead, Co Louth Jules Keeley Jules Keeley

IGLOO Another igloo, this time in Limerick Izabela Stolarczyk Izabela Stolarczyk

Read: Forecast, transport and closures: Here’s what you need to know today

Read: Woman had to place handbag on top of car so gardaí could rescue her

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:26 PM

Claims copied and pasted. Claims for procedures in hospitals not built yet. Claims for procedures described which could not be symphisiotomy. Aparently you’re not allowed question any of that without offending someone. The only surprise would be if there were no scammers.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:44 PM

There should be consequences for those who’ve tried to defraud the state.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:53 PM

Frank – sounds like you read the Breda O Brien article yesterday.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:54 PM

They did mention that people didn’t know what procedure was carried out on them and incorrectly thought they had it done to them. There wasn’t fraud, may seem odd but many people would never have been told or thought to ask.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Nov 28th 2016, 7:01 PM

Kal your post just about sums up the health care system in Ireland: doctors don’t tell and patients don’t ask.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Nov 28th 2016, 7:06 PM

Maybe wait and see what happens. There did seem to be a bit of a glossing over of the issue in the press this weekend claim that it was practised in many countries but didn’t name one. Also, even if the practise was safer than a cesarian, in my opinion that the Catholic Church “encouraged, if not insisted upon, symphysiotomies” is not to be ignored.

That doctors made decisions under influence of their religion rather than wholly on medical grounds is also something that should be recognised as something we don’t want to go back to.

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Nov 28th 2016, 8:33 PM

@Peter McGlynn: not sure it was glossed over in the papers over the weekend., Breda o’Briens article in the Times and Brenda Power’s in the Sunday Times were fairly forthright in their views. The Judge’s comments were pretty damning.

Mute Keith Mitchell
    Favourite Keith Mitchell
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:30 PM

We accept the parts of the report we like and reject whole heartedly the parts we don’t.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Nov 28th 2016, 6:59 PM

That’s life

Mute Jerry Slattery
    Favourite Jerry Slattery
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:31 PM

This has been another fabulous gravy train for the usual Legal firms who specialize in this type of litigation.
    The unfortunate thing about this is that as the system works on a no foal no fee system .one has has nothing to lose by chancing your arm and having a go on the lottery, all the solicitor firm involved will lose if not successful is a couple of hours work which he will have given over to a young trainee to do on little more than a minimum, wage .

The state i.e taxpayer’s are left holding a very expensive can again and again .

Mute Jeremy DeChad
    Favourite Jeremy DeChad
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:45 PM

@Jerry Slattery: As a tax payer I absolutely object to having to pay for this or any other similar compensation scheme. Some doctor made a decision to do an operation, it is up to the doctor to defend him or herself for any negligence resulting. Fed up being a sucker for every Tom Dick or Harriet who decides to play the system!

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:56 PM

Jeremy – and of course you (and all of your identities) do not enjoy any criticism linked to the church and may I suggest you read up on vicarious liability.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Nov 28th 2016, 7:04 PM

Jeremy you conveniently ignore the fact that you where the doctor’s employer as you’re a taxpayer

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Nov 28th 2016, 7:02 PM

So, why are there two groups, one which accepts the report and the other one objects to it? What is that all about?
    And why should the state pay compo when there is no proof the claimant had the operation?

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Nov 28th 2016, 5:27 PM

Ah lads, some comments on this have to be misinformed.
    Those with pelvic bones torn in two applied, those that couldn’t prove when and where it happened were rejected, it’s fairly self evident.
    Some compassion wouldn’t go astray.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Nov 28th 2016, 5:52 PM

No surprise really, government have being making victims of abuse jump through hoops for years. Not even a simple apology or even admit that these people are suffering today because of procedures that were outlawed in many countries over a hundred years ago. instead of taking responsible of state sponsored torture, they force these women through a maze of rules dreamed up to weed as many out as possible, if people die without justice its an extra bonus. That is the civil service’s attitude to victims. remember Louise O’Keeffe they drove her to the European courts looking for justice. while they played with taxpayer funds the victim had to put her family home on the line. loosing her case in Ireland highest court, they same state defence that was laughed out of the European court. while our country’s leader parades around Rome like a peacock, these victims march outside our empty parliament. its Monday ladies on Kildare st the privileged start their working week around 2PM on Tuesday.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Nov 28th 2016, 6:17 PM

When judges are not political appointments this injustice will stop

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:23 PM

Keep him alive to face trial. Coward.

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:29 PM

Oops. Wrong article. For Barry Bennell

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Nov 28th 2016, 4:55 PM

150K is an insult !

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Nov 28th 2016, 6:36 PM

How much? Is it just about money? Why is redress only solved financial means? The people in charge now were not the ppl in charge then.