You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Piers Morgan has had a rough 24 hours of it...

The controversial pundit has been fighting with JK Rowling and many more over Donald Trump.

PIERS MORGAN ISN’T exactly having the best time of it lately.

apiers Youtube Youtube

The British TV presenter is an avid supporter of Donald Trump, and lets us know about it at every opportunity.

Ewan McGregor recently cancelled an appearance on Good Morning Britain after he discovered Piers would be hosting the show, and it all kicked off.

Piers faced some backlash again when he appeared on Real Time With Bill Maher with Australian comedian Jim Jefferies yesterday, and things got a little heated.

When talk of Trump’s ‘Muslim ban’ came up, Jim promptly told Piers to “f**k off” when he attempted to suggest it wasn’t a ban at all

There is no Muslim ban. This is the hysteria I’m talking about. 85% of the world’s Muslims are allowed in the country.

Jefferies wasn’t having any of it

ajeffo

Oh f**k off. This is what you do, Piers. You say he hasn’t done this, he hasn’t done that, he’s not going to do all these things. Give him a f*cking chance mate. Hitler didn’t kill all the Jews on the first day, he worked up to it.

Watch the whole thing unfold here, with very bad language within obviously.

Real Time with Bill Maher / YouTube

Piers then spent the night defending himself on Twitter

PastedImage-364

He even took on JK Rowling herself

Rowling clapped back, of course. Repeatedly. In a way only she could

Piers, put the phone down. These zingers will hurt for a few days to come.

Still, at least he’s taking it well.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/02/img2-thejournal-584.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3235353" class="alignnone" /end]

Read: Ewan McGregor refused to appear on Good Morning Britain after realising Piers Morgan hosts it

Read: Emily Ratajkowski had the perfect snarky reply after Piers Morgan dissed her photoshoot

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:51 PM

Good. He’s an obnoxious person.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:55 PM

Him and Trump……well suited

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:07 PM

Trumplethinskin’s fluffer in chief. Such a brownnoser!

Feb 11th 2017, 7:30 PM

He actually wrote an article saying he didn’t agree with the Muslim ban!!! Now he’s saying there’s no Muslim ban? How easy his principles can slip. Not even surprised.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:40 PM

@Daisy Chai NSaw: You are being humourous and scathing with “fluffier in chief” but you are actually also pointing to a literal factual truth about Trump.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:41 PM

just remember a lot of people like him that’s why he is on TV ?

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:12 PM

@David Cullen: Are you talking about Moron or Trump?

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 11th 2017, 10:34 PM

He didn’t ban muslim countries where he has business interested, dummy.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 11th 2017, 10:34 PM

*interests

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 11th 2017, 10:37 PM

@Irish Actors: I think most are well aware that the list is made up of those Muslim countries where Trump has no business interests are are well aware that the nastiest one of all is not on the list! Those countries that have caused zero deaths to Americans make up the 7.

The one that has caused most deaths to US citizens is not on the list. Why do you think he won’t put the Saudi’s on the list?

Mute Emma O'Neill
    Favourite Emma O'Neill
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:54 AM

Therefore it’s not a Muslim ban ! Just a ban on bat crap crazy countries!

Mute Anthony Marston
    Favourite Anthony Marston
    Feb 12th 2017, 9:07 AM

Totally agree. But PM’s argument is purely semantics… the reason people from this country are banned is because they are Muslim.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:02 PM

They’re all acting like a bunch of children

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:06 PM

Piers is a complete tit….he just can’t help himself

Mute Michael J
    Favourite Michael J
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:25 PM

Morgan loves all this. He knows he’s just an irrelevance and this is the only way he can get publicity.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:02 PM
    Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:52 PM

Shouting “f/ck off” in front of a partisan audience isn’t really much of an argument

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:54 PM

A similar tactic works for Trump.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:55 PM

It’s Jim just being Jim.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:56 PM

@Emeralds: And of course the teenagers that wrote this article were always going to come down on the side of a female kids book writer too. I wouldn;t mind of they knew of Harry Potter as their own kids liked it, but no, it’s the authors themselves that think Harry Potter s good! And they laugh at Morgan? FFs. I’ve no idea who the other clown is.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 11th 2017, 10:44 PM

He didn’t only shout that, dumbell. He destroyed Piers’s argument. Watch the clip again and have someone explain it to you.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:29 PM

It’s good versus evil. Simple as that.

Mute Stu Bear
    Favourite Stu Bear
    Feb 12th 2017, 10:41 AM

@Emeralds:

Harry Potter is demonstrably a moral fable though. As the author why wouldn’t you admit to your own self belief in the work?

“My stuff is crap” is generally a bad way to go about getting published. She can ape it for the rest of her days for all I care. She’s created a monolith of imagination that’s made an awful lot of people happy. Trying to compare it to anything Trump does is about as abstract and meandering as it gets.

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:53 PM

Attention seeking Pr!ck

Mute Conor Jugh
    Favourite Conor Jugh
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:56 PM

This whole affair is proving his point. When he points out the fact that Trump’s illl concieved ban is not simply a ‘Muslim ban’, those who hate trump and the social media ‘hero’s’ become hysterical, piss blood and tell those they disagree with to “f@ck off”. I’m no fan of Piers but he’s spot on in all of this.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:09 PM

U mean the ban he now won’t go to the Supreme Court over ?

Mute Conor Jugh
    Favourite Conor Jugh
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:18 PM

@bmul: Yes, that ban. The one that affects 6 countries that are war zones and/or failed states as well as Iran, yet doesn’t affect the many more muslim majority countries of the world.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:14 PM

Read what giuliani said it’s a Muslim ban
    Only on the Muslim countries that trump has no business interests in I give you that part

Mute Tbones
    Favourite Tbones
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:08 PM

@ Philip Snot for brains, last time i heard that i was 8. Bedtime for you clownboy, get mammy to tuck you in, you sound like you need some love.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 4:16 PM

The last time you heard that you were 8, huh? Now that you’re 9, what kind of insult would you prefer?

Mute Fox in the Box
    Favourite Fox in the Box
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:26 PM

JK Rowling loves attention doesn’t she?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:40 PM

@Fox in the Box: Peirs Morgan needs publicity; Rowling does not.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:09 PM

@Fox in the Box: I don’t think JK Rowling needs much of anything anymore ;)

Mute Gerry Purcell
    Favourite Gerry Purcell
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:17 PM

I agree with Piers. People needs to get over the fact that crooked Hilary lost and let Donald ‘leader of the free world’ Trump get on with the job. He’s had a great start. Would have been even better if it wasn’t for all the barriers he keeps coming up against.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:28 PM

And the Trump fan boys need to realise that many that oppose Trump don’t hold much regard Hilary either. Anyone who says Trump has had a great start needs some lessons in objectivity!

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:13 PM

That works both ways. Many of us who couldn’t stand Hillary and think it’s hilarious watching lefties lose their sh!t, are also wary of Trump.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:28 PM

@Reg:
    Ffs… you mention objectivity? I presume you are talking to the Liberal Left, the ABTs, the ones that are anti Free Speech! That shower could not be objective about anything that comes out of the current US administration. In fact if they manged to find a cure for cancer, stop all the ongoing wars & feed the starving masses those same hysterical liberals would still not acknowledge be happy!

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:29 PM

@Warthog:
    …would still not be happy!

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:31 PM

We all knew Morgan is a bit of a gobshoite. We didn’t know Rowling was a bit of an eejit.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 11th 2017, 6:58 PM

Piers Morgan is a pure stooge.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:25 PM

He’s generally right on the money about most celebs but they can’t handle it – his diary books are excellent

Mute Tbones
    Favourite Tbones
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:37 PM

How dare he like someone the liberal elite dont. Hang him.

Mute Tbones
    Favourite Tbones
    Feb 12th 2017, 9:14 AM

Original open borders, did you come up with line yourself? Oh, no I did. Not to bright are you?

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 4:13 PM

Half wits are the reason he won. Gullible, uneducated, racist white trash are his base.

Mute Philip Hannan
    Favourite Philip Hannan
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:06 PM

Vile man

Mute Showbiz Babyyy
    Favourite Showbiz Babyyy
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:23 PM

He’s pro-Trump, anti-Brexit and pro- gun control. He’s an absolute hack

Feb 11th 2017, 7:34 PM

Laughably for was for the remain side before the referendum. He just switches sides and has zero integrity.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:51 PM

@Showbiz Babyyy: Speaking of ‘hacks’ ..

Mute Max Johnson Powers
    Favourite Max Johnson Powers
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:27 PM

He was anti Brexit before the referendum. This was obvious when he hosted Good Morning Britain. Lies from you Deborah.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:49 PM

@Showbiz Babyyy: You do know you can have varying opinions, you can be pro Trump and be anti gun whats the problem, should everyone be lumped into a designated corner left or right?

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:08 PM

Unfollowed him on twitter earlier he was entertaining till he stuck his nose up trumps a…

Mute Paddy Moretti
    Favourite Paddy Moretti
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:27 PM

Piers will surely be reeling as a consequence your recent disengagement.
    Does it not disturb you that he orchestrated a spy network casually destroying well-known people and their families just to sell newspapers? If you were well-known then he would have done the same to you!

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:15 PM

My not following him will not bother him but if thousands stopped it would hurt his rather larger ego

Mute Paddy Moretti
    Favourite Paddy Moretti
    Feb 12th 2017, 12:32 AM

I agree with that notion but the man’s ego is on a par with Trumps! Here is a man who broke the law on a massive scale while running a national newspaper. He scarpered to the US for fear of UK prosecution, only came back for the Leveson enquiry to give spurious evidence and now he’s gotten away with it so much that he is presenting daytime tv like some national treasure! Anyway, Jim Jefferies is a legend, always has been, and it’s great to see him getting airtime on US tv. More Jims and less Piers’ would make the world a better place.

Mute ger
    Favourite ger
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:55 PM

Ok I’ll pit it out there. Here’s piers referencing Potter in an article. How could he compare Armstrong to a Potter character without having read the book?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3120373/PIERS-MORGAN-Yes-Lance-Armstrong-Lord-Voldemort-lying-ruthless-scheming-self-obsessed-monster-deserves-unmentionable-eternity.html

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:25 PM

You do realise that there were a few HP films…

Mute Fearghal
    Favourite Fearghal
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:22 PM

He loves the attention like that other t.r.a.m.p Katie Hopkins, two Gobsh**es

Mute John Henry
    Favourite John Henry
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:28 PM

Agree with Moran 100%. It’s not a Muslim ban.

Mute Paddy Moretti
    Favourite Paddy Moretti
    Feb 11th 2017, 7:19 PM

Piers Morgan’s keen support of Trump almost makes me dislike Trump a little bit.

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:48 PM

There is no bigger twitter tool than Morgan. Such a knob jockey

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Feb 11th 2017, 9:32 PM

A Pr*ck with ears if there ever was one

Mute clad
    Favourite clad
    Feb 11th 2017, 8:28 PM

Jim Jeffries special on Netflix is well worth a watch.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:09 PM

Let’s see, We would be in a war with Putin by now if Hillary got in but with Putin there will be a civil war and a war with China later.
    All we can do is count our own blessings?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:10 PM

Not Putin I mean Trump… lol.

Mute SomeRandomIrishGuy
    Favourite SomeRandomIrishGuy
    Feb 12th 2017, 12:17 PM

So basically The media will turn against any popular figure who has a more open view of Donald trump.

Noting about piers Morgan’s was in the news lately until he makes his comments about trump. Then we start to see all this dodgy journalism & writing about him.

It’s So one sided it’s unreal.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 11th 2017, 11:05 PM

JK Rowling says, I know where I’m putting this lol.

Mute Emma O'Neill
    Favourite Emma O'Neill
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:56 AM

Another important report from the Journal about what is going on on Twitter

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Feb 12th 2017, 10:24 AM

He never really finds an audience. Just bounces around following the offers then is dumped.

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:16 AM

What does Morgan do?

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Feb 11th 2017, 10:24 PM

Mars expedition one way…he’s a tool

Mute Tony O Reilly
    Favourite Tony O Reilly
    Feb 12th 2017, 9:33 AM

Piers mongo