You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Phimsri

The creator of the ham and pineapple pizza dies aged 83

Sam Panopoulos earned a place in history by putting canned pineapple and ham on a pizza.

THE GREEK IMMIGRANT who created one of the world’s most popular and controversial pizzas – Hawaiian pizza – in his restaurant in Canada more than 50 years ago, has died.

Sam Panopoulos – who earned a place in history by putting canned pineapple and ham on a pizza at his Satellite Restaurant in Chatham, Ontario in 1962 – was 83 and had just celebrated his 50th wedding anniversary with his wife Christina.

He died suddenly in the hospital on Thursday, according to his obituary.

Panopoulos had operated a string of successful restaurants with his brothers Elias and Nikitas when he came up with his famous invention.

Created just for fun, the so-called Hawaiian soon spread around the world.

Last February, the dish became the target of ridicule by Iceland’s president, Guoni Johannesson.

Saying he was fundamentally opposed to pineapple on pizza, Johannesson declared that it should be banned.

After a public uproar, he clarified that he gladly does not have “the power to make laws which forbid people to put pineapple on their pizza”.

Defending his creation, Panopoulos told the public broadcaster CBC that “those days when I first came up with it, there was nothing to it… It was just another piece of bread cooking in the oven”.

“Nobody liked it at first,” he said.

But after that, they went crazy about it, because (in) those days nobody was mixing sweet and sour and all that. It was plain, plain food.

Others soon began experimenting, Panopoulos said, going beyond the traditional pepperoni, bacon and mushroom toppings to include salmon, green peppers, onions or “whatever you wanted”.

Read: Apple’s latest innovation is a round pizza box and we’re not sure how to feel about it

Read: If ever there was a photo to sum up bank holiday fear, it’s this photo of a sleeping girl and her pizza

View 34 comments
34 Comments
    Mute Angelic Lestat
    Favourite Angelic Lestat
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:59 PM

My favourite pizza.

And nobody can downthumb me now mwahahahahaha!

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:08 PM

@Angelic Lestat:

You evil genius

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Angelic Lestat: agreed.. seems so wrong but tastes so good.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jun 10th 2017, 6:41 PM

@Angelic Lestat: If Muslims run your source for pizza, chances are you are being sneaked dyed formed turkey to look like ham with your pineapple. They won’t serve pork etc because it is against their religion but have no respect for your religious beliefs. Sorry to break so many hearts but it is common practice across non muslim countries. I think everyone should know about the con that is being forced on us.

Mute SteveW
    Favourite SteveW
    Jun 10th 2017, 8:09 PM

Um 19 so far Angelic…

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    Jun 10th 2017, 8:18 PM

@Steve; I just made it 21 muhaha

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:59 PM

He was a Goodfella

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:54 PM

I always wondered who first thought that pineapple would be good on a pizza.
    What a weirdo

Mute Paulie Martin
    Favourite Paulie Martin
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:21 PM

He topped himself

Mute Matty Killucan
    Favourite Matty Killucan
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:03 PM

A Greek guy modifies an Italian food, in Canada… and it’s called a hawaiian.. makes sense

Mute Matty Killucan
    Favourite Matty Killucan
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:05 PM

@Matty Killucan: Actually I think pizza is originally Greek… my bad

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Jun 10th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Matty Killucan: actually both pizza and pasta were first invented in China. Marco Polo brought it back to Italy from his travels. In a way he was the world’s first pizza delivery guy

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:06 PM

Ah, the ignorance of those who criticise someone for putting pineapple on a pizza…yet never quite grasped that the tomato was also a fruit which never appeared in traditional Italian cuisine until someone brought it over from the Americas…

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Harry Whitehead: but it’s no about the fact that it’s a fruit…It’s about how bad it tastes and it’s just wrong. Tomato sauce tastes great on pizza and it fits, that’s just why you don’t hear people complaining

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:48 PM

@Negan: philistine!

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:00 PM

@Negan: I don’t like tomato purée, yet I love tomatoes. I request no purée on my pizzas!

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:49 PM

@Lily: I’d say you’re great craic at parties

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Jun 10th 2017, 11:20 PM

@Bingobango: How well you know me! I’m a happy introvert who doesn’t like parties or crowds :)

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:18 PM

And may he rest in peace knowing he created tasty heaven!

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:09 PM

Ham pineapplous!! What a name!!

Mute Mo Nishi
    Favourite Mo Nishi
    Jun 10th 2017, 11:28 PM

@Andy Byrne: Very clever :)

Mute WJH
    Favourite WJH
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:57 PM

May he rest in pizz-a.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:00 PM

A vile combination
    The margarita is the only true pizza according to the Italian gurus

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:15 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: as a fussy shite I agree

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Jun 10th 2017, 9:30 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: sure what would the Italians know about pizza toppings

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jun 10th 2017, 9:51 PM

@Jamie: they named a leaning tower after it they must know something

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Jun 10th 2017, 10:04 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: that’s the leaning tower of Pisa not pizza

Mute Michael O Connell
    Favourite Michael O Connell
    Jun 10th 2017, 3:57 PM

Probably in hell now for his crime against humanity

Mute Davin Ryan
    Favourite Davin Ryan
    Jun 10th 2017, 4:36 PM

@Michael O Connell: Manning the pizza oven which produces nothing but ham and pineapple pizza to torment the damned for all eternity. Dantes seldom mentioned but much feared 10th circle of hell… for Dominos and 4 Star Pizza franchisees…..

Mute Keith Nolan
    Favourite Keith Nolan
    Jun 10th 2017, 6:25 PM

Where was he based?

Mute Swanny Dwan
    Favourite Swanny Dwan
    Jun 10th 2017, 5:40 PM

More details are emerging about his death, when police searched his home they found his body on the kitchen floor, it was covered in what they believe was a mixture of tomato sauce and grated cheese, first impressions are that he topped himself

Mute Mo Nishi
    Favourite Mo Nishi
    Jun 10th 2017, 7:39 PM

A lot of death in the first few articles. Think I’ll watch a comedy :)

Mute Alan Clancy
    Favourite Alan Clancy
    Jun 10th 2017, 11:05 PM

Hope he didn’t top himself!!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 10th 2017, 7:30 PM

Leo will be devastated, his first job as leader is to attend the funeral and pay his respects.