You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"Pink Star" diamond sells for world record €61 million

The winning bidder, a bearded man apparently in his sixties was pitted in a one-on-race against a telephone competitor.

A PLUM-SIZED diamond known as the “Pink Star” was auctioned in Geneva Wednesday for €61 million, a world record for a gemstone.

David Bennett, chairman of Sotheby’s jewellery division in Europe and the Middle East, brought down the hammer in a Geneva hotel after an intense, five-minute bidding race.

Set on a ring, the 59.60-carat pink internally flawless diamond is measures 2.69 by 2.06 centimetres and weighs 11.92 grammes.

Pic: Sean Dempsey/PA Wire

The winning bidder, a bearded man apparently in his sixties sporting a Jewish skullcap, was pitted in a one-on-race against a telephone competitor.

The bidding in Geneva was conducted in Swiss francs, starting at 48 million and working its way upwards million-by-million.

There was a long silence as the price reached 67 million Swiss francs, before the in-room bidder came back with the winning 68 million.

Commission included, the final price was 76 million francs — the equivalent of €61 million euros.

There were up to 150 people in the auction room who erupted into applause as the theme tune from the “Pink Panther” was played as a tongue-in-cheek gesture.

The winning bidder declined to identify himself to AFP but confirmed that he had been representing another individual, whose name and location he refused to reveal.

The diamond had been estimated at €40 million.

© – AFP

Read: Sold! Francis Bacon painting sells for $142 million – the most expensive ever >

Read: Getting engaged? This pink diamond ring is being auctioned at over €40m >

View 30 comments
30 Comments
    Mute Seamus Warren
    Favourite Seamus Warren
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:49 PM

No idea who most of these people are. But do recognise Katherine Thomas and what an awful dress

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:46 PM

I like it. Bit more high fashion than the TV3 bling brigade and not as desperate for attention as the likes of Jennifer McGuirel.

Actually, Charlie Murphy had the most beautiful, simple black ballet length dress. The Journal should have put up a picture of her.

Mute Ciara O'Halloran
    Favourite Ciara O'Halloran
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:55 PM

I liked Glendas dress.. Not there either.

Mute Jon Coll
    Favourite Jon Coll
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:43 PM

Noticed Colin fartel and colm meany. Rest of them don’t have a clue

Mute Jacintha O'Reilly-mooney
    Favourite Jacintha O'Reilly-mooney
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:53 PM

Some captions wouldn’t go amiss…don’t recognise a quarter of them.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:35 PM

The night of the z list celebrity. Someone tell Darren Kennedy his suits about 4 sizes too small

Mute Niall Griffin
    Favourite Niall Griffin
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:48 PM

Yer wan wearing the tux.Making a bold statement or ridiculous attention seeker?

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:52 PM

I’d like to say the former but…

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:02 PM

She looks great craic.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:47 PM

Oh my God! Kathryn Thomas has murdered Olive the Ostrich! And seriously, how fantastic does Clelia Murphy look?

Mute JOSE
    Favourite JOSE
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:30 PM

I have never heard of the majority of them.

Mute David McDonald
    Favourite David McDonald
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:10 PM

Watched it briefly there, complete ignorance by the crowd talking over people on stage there, if those present don’t respect it how should we, such nonsense funded by our tv licence

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:18 PM

I’ve just voiced my disgust on FB about this. There is zero respect from the crowd for those onstage. Plus the sound is terrible.

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:39 PM

Maria I totally agree with you- at one stage the noise level was ridiculous.
    Also some bitchy comments!!

Mute eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Favourite eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Apr 6th 2014, 1:00 AM

I was saying same whole way through, the odd time u could hear people saying ‘shush’, very disrespectful I thought

Mute eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Favourite eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Apr 6th 2014, 1:00 AM

Totally agree

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:07 PM

The IFTA’s? Bah hahahahahaha Morto for the saps who are celeb watching outside the Burlo!

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:16 PM

Look, there’s Niamh from Fair City!!!

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:59 PM

Here comes the rain,so the celeb watchers will have to re group in burger king.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:48 PM

Somethin on your lip there Colin

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:05 PM

Colin Farrell in that pic= a young Tom Selleck

Mute Déago D O'Rua
    Favourite Déago D O'Rua
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:45 PM

Rte sound engineers should be shot balls of pooh!

Mute Déago D O'Rua
    Favourite Déago D O'Rua
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:46 PM

Their OWN pooh!

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Apr 5th 2014, 9:22 PM

Its amazing what a narrow-minded bunch of begrudgers we are……

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Apr 5th 2014, 9:41 PM

I’m not narrow minded or a begrudger, I just know what I like.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Apr 5th 2014, 9:52 PM

Everyone has a laugh at celebrities, especially when they’re at risible events like the IFTAs. I don’t buy the begrudger argument

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 5th 2014, 9:56 PM

Let’s be honest… Out of the 300 odd people at the Burlo about 15 of them could be classed as proper celebs.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:05 PM

You’re being quite generous

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:10 PM

I know … It’s probably closer to 10

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:13 PM

It’s on tv live now, believe it or not. I’m watching muse on sky arts 1 though.

Mute David McDonald
    Favourite David McDonald
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:47 PM

Ah lads, I’m flicking over to rte in curiosity to keep a track of this sh!t€ and it beggars belief, one minute I’m in the comfort of my home watching a film, then all of a sudden I flick to the iftas and feel like I’m watchin a show in the local pub

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:10 PM

What a waste of a red carpet……

Mute Dub157
    Favourite Dub157
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:35 PM

Laura Whitmore is a babe, Fact.

Mute dave mike dolan
    Favourite dave mike dolan
    Apr 6th 2014, 1:30 AM

Specksavers

Mute Carol De Faoite
    Favourite Carol De Faoite
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:07 PM

Where are the pics of the moone boy crew?

Mute dave mike dolan
    Favourite dave mike dolan
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:18 PM

Z listers Mecca!! If you at the IFTAs you know your a nobody

Mute Philip McKeon
    Favourite Philip McKeon
    Apr 6th 2014, 10:01 AM

And if you are sitting on your fat ass at home watching TV, what are ya?

Mute ptriley
    Favourite ptriley
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:19 PM

Colm Meany has 4 chins

Mute Elsafstokes
    Favourite Elsafstokes
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:44 PM

Where is the F’bender?

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Apr 5th 2014, 9:43 PM

I didn’t mean you specifically Alan I just meant Irish society in general – we don’t really like to see anyone do well for themselves

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:01 PM

By that token you could be offended at someone slating Angela Kerins for ‘doing well for herself’. As long as someone is genuinely talented and makes a genuine contribution no one has an objection to their success.

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:17 PM

Mel I totally agree with you. It’s only when I left this country I realised that success is admired and it’s a totally Irish thing to begrudge someone else or their business when it/they become successful.

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:15 PM

Doing well for themselves? Hardly. Perhaps us Irish just have proper standards. Whilst the typical Irish man or woman can talk lots of bull we have a good eye for a fellow bullsh***er

Mute Mark O Flaherty
    Favourite Mark O Flaherty
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:01 PM

How is this funded?

Mute Regina Maclean
    Favourite Regina Maclean
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:15 PM

Who is the guy In the cool grey checked suit. I love that suit.

Mute Sean Beep
    Favourite Sean Beep
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:08 PM

Foooooooooools, most of them anyway.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Apr 5th 2014, 10:20 PM

Nidge looks very harmless in that.

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:45 PM

Like O M G!!!!!!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 6th 2014, 12:32 AM

I recognized four. Must get out mote – or stay in more?

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    Favourite Bernard Cantillon
    Apr 6th 2014, 11:56 AM

Would it possible to label each picture with the names of who is in them?

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Apr 5th 2014, 9:53 PM

I’m not selling it Stephen I’m staying fact

Mute conventional
    Favourite conventional
    Apr 6th 2014, 9:40 AM

Are the Love/Hate guys still in character? Looks like they got their suits from Unique, Ilac Centre. Way to dress up guys!

Mute Ian O'Donovan
    Favourite Ian O'Donovan
    Apr 6th 2014, 8:29 AM

Meh..