You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A broke PJ Mara needed U2's manager to co-sign a car loan after he left government

A new documentary looks at the legacy of the late advisor.

WELL KNOWN SPIN-doctor PJ Mara had to get someone to co-sign on a loan for a used car as he left government – as he didn’t have the money to afford it himself.

That’s according to former U2 manager Paul McGuinness, who said that he co-signed with Mara on a “fairly inexpensive” second-hand car as he was leaving government.

Mara was press secretary for Fianna Fáil between 1983 and 1987. He was appointed as government press secretary in 1987 and served until 1992.

Mara (who died in January of this year) was very close with then-Taoiseach Charles Haughey – and was known as his right-hand man.

The revelations about his financial situation are made in a new documentary – PJ Mara: A Legacy – that will air on RTÉ One tomorrow night.

RTÉ - IRELAND’S NATIONAL PUBLIC SERVICE MEDIA / YouTube

McGuinness told the documentary that he had to co-sign on the loan for the car as the former press secretary didn’t have the cash himself.

“During those years, I know he had no money,” McGuinness told the programme.

“He had a government press secretary’s salary.

When PJ was leaving government, I had to co-sign a car loan for a fairly inexpensive second-hand car. So he didn’t have the cash or, indeed, the credit to buy a second hand car.

McGuinness also said that he was always “puzzled” by the relationship between Mara and Haughey – stating that the former Taoiseach treated his advisor with “disdain”.

“I was puzzled by the relationship between them because I thought they were buddies,” he said.

But in a formal situation Haughey was really quite disdainful of PJ and treated him, I thought, with disdain and I didn’t like that.

Legacy

Following his years as press secretary, Mara went on the serve as the director of elections for Fianna Fáil for 1997, 2002, and 2007 – steering them to victory in all occasions.

Maaaara Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

Despite being known as Haughey’s right-hand man throughout the 80s, one person interviewed in the documentary said that he wasn’t even the Fianna Fáil’s leader first choice for press secretary.

“He called me up and asked me to be his press secretary,” said former broadcaster Seán Duignan.

You may not believe this but Charlie, when I turned it down said, ‘who will I get’ and I said ‘PJ, of course’.

Mara was a witness at both tribunals set up after it was revealed in 1996 that supermarket magnate Ben Dunne had given Haughey £1 million.

While he himself faced allegations that he had had looked for money in return for broadcast licences, no substantive findings were made against him.

PJ Mara: A Legacy airs on Monday, May 16th at 9.35pm on RTÉ One

Read: Uno duce, una voce: The story behind THAT infamous PJ Mara remark

Read: ‘One Veronica Guerin, her murder, her sacrifice, should be enough’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Mar 22nd 2025, 8:50 PM

As a Leinster fan, it really makes my blood boil that we keep sending down a C team to play the South African teams away. We could have easily won that match if we just brought a few Ireland players from the Six Nations squad. Bringing on an amateur prop that plays in the AIL against a Springbok international with 20 caps was frankly an insult to the Bulls and having 7 academy players in the 23 didn’t help either. Where’s the pride in keeping the unbeaten streak alive? Not in Leinster it seems. We’re the only team that does this nonsense, every other URC team sends down their full squad. The definition of insanity is repeating the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. I wish Leo Cullen would recognise this and would show some respect to the opposition.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Mar 22nd 2025, 8:53 PM

@William Jennings: man you are so boring. Jeez

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:10 PM

@offside again: Do you have nothing better to do than incessantly troll people? I’ve just given my honest opinion after watching the match. It’s not my problem if you’re offended by that.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:16 PM

@William Jennings: That was far from a C team. There were quite a few front liners in there. But it’s the same old story for Irish teams. The scrum is a critical Achilles heel. How they couldn’t just get the ball out the back and boot it away was kind of jaw dropping and the worst thing id you could see it coming. An unbeaten regular season doesn’t matter one bit in the URC only performing in the knockout stages and the omens are again looking bad for Leinster in that regard. Some players that have had a fair few chances a re not really up to it and should be moved on.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:27 PM

@William Jennings: Very harsh when considering the standings of the players in question, Bulls very very lucky to win.

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:30 PM

@John Moore: It was though. We only had 2 starters in the 23. The rest of the team were made up of third-string players, 7 academy players and an AIL prop. You’re right that the scrum was shocking but what do you expect when an amateur and Thomas Clarkson (one of the weakest scrummagers that I’ve ever seen) against two Springbok props? The reason I bring up the unbeaten streak is because all about having the proper winning mindset. It’s this feckless “I don’t care about these matches because it’s just the regular season” attitude from Leinster that really pisses me off. You’re only as good as your last performance. Last year Leinster got beaten down in Pretoria in the URC semi-final precisely because the starting players were not adjusted to the altitude because they were never there!

Mute William Jennings
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:40 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: I don’t fault the players, they did the best they could. My problem lies with the Leinster coaching ticket, who have continually disrespected the South African teams by refusing to send down any of the first-string players. It’s not like Ireland won the Grand Slam or even the Six Nations. Look at France, the vast majority of their players are straight back into the action for their clubs in the Top 14 bar those who picked up knocks against Scotland in the final match. We should be at least sending down people like Cian Healy, Gus McCarthy, Ryan Baird, Jamie Osbourne, Jack Conan and maybe even Joe McCarthy considering their minutes were much less than the other Leinster players in the Ireland squad.

Mute Donal Hickey
    Favourite Donal Hickey
    Mar 22nd 2025, 10:03 PM

@William Jennings:the irish 6 nations team need a break anyway I think leinster have only one trophy in mind and it ain’t the urc

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Mar 23rd 2025, 7:19 AM

@Donal Hickey: be another trophy less season so.

Mute sean o'farrell
    Favourite sean o'farrell
    Mar 23rd 2025, 10:44 AM

@William Jennings: I personally blame the urc fixture layout they should have put this tour earlier on in the season.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Mar 22nd 2025, 8:45 PM

Yawn. Good effort by the girls today.
    Put it up more to the French than the lads did.
    Don’t appreciate womens football but the rugbywomen really get stuck in, and it’s very entertaining.

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:52 PM

@offside again: yeah, let’s see how they get on against the English, they are the benchmark here, like the French are currently for the men.

Mute daragh harmon
    Favourite daragh harmon
    Mar 23rd 2025, 3:26 AM

You can blame the scrum but it was frawley dropping the ball with no one near him that lead to their try and yellow card

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Mar 22nd 2025, 11:33 PM

The choke is incoming again for the Ladyboys. Top.the league lose in the knockout stages. Hillarous to see every year without fail.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Mar 23rd 2025, 2:27 AM

@FoxyBoiiYT: The Munster man is back. Supporting Ireland while slagging the hole off the Leinster team. Hypocrite.

Mute Mick Joe
    Favourite Mick Joe
    Mar 23rd 2025, 6:02 AM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Could trade insults about Munsters trophy cabinet over the last 15 years but we’ll leave the childish, immature and ignorant comments to you Foxy. You are no man and you have no backbone. A poor role model for your children.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Mar 23rd 2025, 7:00 AM

@Mick Joe: You mean the team who last won a trophy? Great fan you are, you don’t even know which Irish province last won anything. To much heino with the gois last night?

Mute Dermot M.
    Favourite Dermot M.
    Mar 23rd 2025, 8:14 AM

@James T.Kirk: He / she / does not speak for me or many other real Munster followers.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Mar 23rd 2025, 1:10 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: the last trophy ye won was against a third string Leinster team! Leo Cullen was told by the IRFU to put out a 5h1te team and to let munster win, for the sake of munster rugby, with their dwindling fan base and them not being able to suaf!!

Mute Richard Reynolds
    Favourite Richard Reynolds
    Mar 22nd 2025, 11:46 PM

Once again, lack of physicality proves Leinster’s undoing. How many scrum penalties did they cough up? Repeating the big issue that is currently confounding the national side

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Mar 22nd 2025, 9:12 PM

Scott Wilson, I’ve seen darts players with more athleticism

Mute drogon iptv
    Favourite drogon iptv
    Mar 22nd 2025, 11:55 PM

@Argus Romsworth: one of the is a ex scrum half well spotted. Now back to your comic books like a good wee laf

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Mar 23rd 2025, 6:16 AM

@drogon iptv: triggered over questioning a professional sportsman athleticism. Odd

Mute Kevin Keogh
    Favourite Kevin Keogh
    Mar 23rd 2025, 1:12 PM

Two minutes to go and Leinster decide to kick the ball away! Ridiculous decision that cost us the game.Could have easily gone through a few phases with the boys from the pack to tick the clock down.