You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Alamy Stock Photo

US-bound jet diverts to Dublin Airport after crew report a cracked windshield

Egypt Air flight 987 took off from Cairo at around 2.15am Irish time destined for Newark.

A US-BOUND jet made an emergency landing at Dublin Airport this morning after the crew reported they had suffered a cracked windshield over the North Atlantic.

Egypt Air flight 987 took off from Cairo at around 2.15am Irish time destined for Newark in the US state of New Jersey. There were 287 passengers and crew on board.

About five hours after departure, the Boeing 787-900 Dreamliner jet flew over Ireland and commenced its oceanic crossing.

Later, when the jet was about 1,000 kilometres northwest of Mayo, the flight crew declared an emergency reporting that a cockpit wind had sustained damaged. It’s understood that a crack appeared in one of the aircraft’s windshields.

The flight was cleared to turn around and descend from 36,000 to 15,000 feet and divert initially to Shannon Airport.

At one point, air traffic controllers in Ireland could not make radio contact with the Egyptair flight and asked two aircraft in the area to relay communications. It’s understood the Egyptair aircraft was outside radio coverage for Ireland at the time.

Communication was later established with the emergency aircraft and the crew confirmed they were declaring a Mayday and wished to divert to Dublin Airport.

An emergency plan have been implemented at Shannon which involved notifying the Munster Regional Communications Centre (Fire), the HSE, National Ambulance Service and An Garda Síochána.

Units of Clare County Fire and Rescue Service from Shannon and Ennis stations; ambulance paramedics and Gardaí were also mobilised to Shannon Airport to support the airport’s own fire and rescue service.

Soon afterwards however, the emergency at Shannon was stood down when it was confirmed that the flight crew would be diverting to Dublin Airport instead.

The flight landed safely in Dublin at 11.10am and was met by airport fire and rescue crews. The jet was accompanied by fire crews to its parking stand where engineers were standing by to inspect the cockpit window.

The emergency aircraft is expected to remain grounded in Dublin until repairs can be completed. It’s understood the airline will send a replacement aircraft to Dublin later to take the passengers onto their destination.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 56 comments
56 Comments
    Mute Ron Burgundy
    Favourite Ron Burgundy
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:10 PM

Do they not put their thumb up against the windscreen when they meet another plane and the road is only after been freshly tarred and chipped??

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:46 PM

@Ron Burgundy: I think only Irish pilots do that.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 20th 2024, 9:12 PM

@Ron Burgundy: or just turn on the wipers.

Mute MonkeyTarmac
    Favourite MonkeyTarmac
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:37 PM

Was on a Delta flight to Atlanta years ago. A critical instrument failed about an hour in so had to return to Dublin. We were the last flight out so when we returned we were not allowed disembark as the US boarder control area was closed. After 3 or 4 hours we had to sign a waiver to get off to stretch legs. Eventually, a replacement instrument arrived from Holland and we were allowed board. As the cabin crew were preparing for take off two lads got up and started taking luggage from the overhead thinking they had arrived in Atlanta. They had taken sleeping tablets and slept through the whole ordeal. Their faces for the next 10 hours was priceless.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:45 PM

@MonkeyTarmac: Waiting to take off from Rome to Dublin,we’re told light missing from one of the wings. 11pm,can stay on plane and get refreshments,or go to now closed terminal. Engineers will arrive at 6am to fix problem. Stayed on plane. 6am,maintenance truck arrives. Guy takes out a large step ladder,climbs up and replaces bulb. Gives thumbs up,and after passengers brought back from terminal,we take off. I coulda done that!

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:09 PM

@MonkeyTarmac: last flight out???? The delta flight departs mid morning to KATL. Tell me you you’re making this up as you go.

Mute MonkeyTarmac
    Favourite MonkeyTarmac
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:43 PM

@alan scott: LOL, are you for real? You need to get out son.

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jan 20th 2024, 9:11 PM

@MonkeyTarmac: exactly

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:36 PM

I recently took an airline to court for misplacing my luggage. I lost my case

Mute Ann neylan
    Favourite Ann neylan
    Jan 21st 2024, 9:00 AM

@Frank T Murphy: @LarryBetts was a joke! Ha ha ha ha!!!

Mute Alan OConnor
    Favourite Alan OConnor
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:06 PM

Another Boeing. And only four years old.

That company is a mess.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:35 PM

@Alan OConnor: I agree completely but surely a cracked window is also a maintenance issue so I don’t think Boeing can solely be blamed. But in the last few years Boeing has certainly put profits and share price ahead of safety.

Mute ronan mcdermott
    Favourite ronan mcdermott
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:02 PM

@Martin Mongan: how does one do maintenance on a windshield ?

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:22 PM

@ronan mcdermott: how is any maintenance done? Do you think they just build a plane and the airlines wait for something to fall off? Everything should be inspected regularly for signs of stress of fatigue

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:14 PM

@Alan OConnor: could be anything that would have cracked the windshield. Most probably nothing to do with the aircraft manufacturer.
    But I’m waiting to see the explanation on the Aviation Herald avherald(dot)com, then we’ll know

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:55 PM

@ronan mcdermott: replace it after 5 years maintenance done

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jan 20th 2024, 10:11 PM

@james rowan: They should have had windscreen cover

Mute Alan Casey
    Favourite Alan Casey
    Jan 21st 2024, 1:56 AM

@ronan mcdermott: With “sillycone” i’d say.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:54 PM

To the god awful journalist who write this piece yet can’t be bothered to google Egyptair 787-9 picture instead of a 737 800

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:08 PM

@alan scott: sad little man

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:13 PM

@Keith: how does that make him sad ?

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:21 PM

@sleepy joe: it could have been a major disaster killing a few hundred people and he’s giving out about the pane being the wrong picture (sad life)

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:34 PM

@Keith: Do you mean the pane in the plane? Just be thankful that the rain on the plane falls mainly over Spain.

Mute David S
    Favourite David S
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:35 PM

@Keith: He was only looking for a picture of the plane. Not the pane of glass that cracked.

Mute Mike Cul
    Favourite Mike Cul
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:35 PM

@Keith: actually he was giving out about the plane that the pane was in

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:08 PM

@Keith: What you wrote has zero got to do with my comment. A missing pane won’t bring down an airliner that’s in your imagination. Let’s have a civil debate but then again this is the Journal, previous commenter asked you a simple question of why im a sad little person and went of on a completely different subject, this tells me you don’t have a clue as to why said I’m a sad little person and trolling just to cause arguments.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:09 PM

@sleepy joe: ignore him just a troll

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:25 PM

@alan scott: I meant plane

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:11 PM

@Keith: major disaster lol

The daily mail is looking for people so they can scaremonger like they usually do

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jan 20th 2024, 9:14 PM

@alan scott: if they were over the Atlantic and the windscreen smashed what would you call that ?

Mute James Moylan
    Favourite James Moylan
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:09 PM

How many claimed asylum without passports when they got off the plane

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Jan 20th 2024, 6:49 PM

Munster joinery are on their way with a replacement window.

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:05 PM

Smashing. Just smashing.
    Thankfully nobody was hurt.

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:58 PM

Very common on all aircrafts. There are five sheets of glass on the windscreens, the outer layer of glass cracks, but still safe… It wasn’t an emergency, so less of the dramatic journalism… They just divert to the nearest airport to have a new one fitted…..

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jan 21st 2024, 12:57 AM

@Blue Moon: Fair enough. Good to know. They certainly wouldn’t find a spare in the Atlantic Ocean, and if they did, sure where would they park to swap screens?

I think many of us were hoping for a video clip of that 787 landing. Back to Google so; I’ll post a link if I see it.

Mute Ciaran Otoole
    Favourite Ciaran Otoole
    Jan 21st 2024, 8:41 AM

@Blue Moon: if it wasn’t an emergency why did the crew call may day, scrapping plans to land in Shannon in favour of Dublin landing?

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:16 PM

Boeing is at it again, what a mess. The plane can’t hold the pressurisation cycles and it’s only 4 years old

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:55 PM

@J Ven: A qualified technician from the journal.ie investigation team. I must inform the authorities at once that you found the fault lies with Boeing. Just give me a copy of your masters degree in structural engineering to me and I will forward to Egyptair and Boeing.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:42 PM

Must be the same suppliers as the Cyber truck windows

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Jan 20th 2024, 4:47 PM

Ain’t that a good one?

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jan 20th 2024, 5:35 PM

The silver lining – at least it wasn’t the windshield reporting a cracked crew!

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:01 PM

If they were fully comp, the lad in the van would have met them on the runway. Maybe he wasn’t available at Shannon, had to go to Dublin.

Mute Karl Paul
    Favourite Karl Paul
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:18 PM

@If you’re: That must be Gavin from Autoglass you’re talking about. He once had quick look at my wife’s crack.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 20th 2024, 9:27 PM

@Karl Paul: In and out in five minutes or less. That’d be gash dash Gav.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 20th 2024, 7:51 PM

This happened twice in one month on Chinese owned airbus aircraft not to long ago.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Jan 20th 2024, 8:57 PM

I don’t know what a cracker mortgage is

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 20th 2024, 9:28 PM

Aircraft windscreens are 3 layer laminates. If one cracks, while it is clearly visible, it is still perfectly safe. Especially if it gets clearance to descend slightly. It happened about 2 months ago on a Japan Airlines plane. It descended and kept going.

Mute David Lynch
    Favourite David Lynch
    Jan 21st 2024, 10:32 AM

‘’A cockpit wind had sustained damage’. Words is good sometimes.

Mute GEORGE STAGG
    Favourite GEORGE STAGG
    Jan 21st 2024, 11:34 AM

There has been a series of those incidents reported by National Geographic where the windshield cracks due to overheating of the windshields heating mechanism on 747s. In several cases the windshields blew out entirely and in one case a pilot was sucked out of the plane resulting in the plane nosediving to earth with the loss of all on board.
    The problem is that in the USA the Federal Aviation Regulator is dominated and funded mainly by Boeing and is therefore almost powerless to enforce its findings and rules.

Mute Johannes Baader
    Favourite Johannes Baader
    Jan 21st 2024, 2:22 PM

Ahhhh…. Boeing