You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Aer Lingus plane sent to pick up €20m worth of PPE from China has landed in Beijing

Aer Lingus flight EI9018 left Dublin Airport at 10.53 am this morning.

LAST UPDATE | 28 Mar 2020

THE AER LINGUS plane sent to China to collect €20 million worth of personal protective equipment (PPE) for Irish healthcare workers has landed in Beijing this evening. 

The plane, called St Ronan, landed just after 8.15pm (Irish time). 

The Airbus A330-302 cargo plane will be loaded with PPE including masks, gowns and goggles before it makes the over 8,000 km flight back to Ireland. 

Speaking to reporters today, Health Minister Simon Harris said the Aer Lingus flight is the “first of many flights” that will be travelling abroad to collect equipment. 

He said the equipment picked up in China will be distributed to Irish healthcare workers tomorrow evening. 

As the plane departed Dublin this morning, air traffic controllers from the Irish Aviation Authority radioed a good luck message to the crew of the plane:;

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Air traffic control: Roger, that’s great, thanks, I have a message for you as well if you’re ready to copy.

EI9018: Yeah go ahead.

Air traffic control: We’d like to wish you and all the crew a safe and successful flight and also to say a big thank you for all your efforts to fight the Covid-19 pandemic from everyone here at the Irish Aviation Authority. Bíodh turas sábháilte agat [Have a safe journey].

EI9018: Go raibh maith agat, I’ll pass it on to the rest of the crew, and we’re quite happy to be able to do it. Thank you.

PastedImage-78156 Some of the PPE awaiting collection in China AnneOConnorHSE AnneOConnorHSE

“We usually buy about €15 million worth of what we call personal protective equipment, face mask, gowns, goggles, shields, etc. in the year. This year, we’re going to spend €225 million,” Harris told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

The question every healthcare worker wants to know is when is it going to arrive, the first plane is your back from China tomorrow, about €20 million worth. And then I think there are 10 flights due between then and the first of April. So from tomorrow, we will have flights arriving on a daily basis, bringing millions and millions of pieces of personal protective equipment. 

PastedImage-28658 Flight EI9018's location at 2.45 pm on Saturday. flightradar24.com flightradar24.com

A shortage of PPE for healthcare workers was raised in the Dáil during the week and a number of campaigns are underway calling for donations of equipment to Irish hospitals.

Tweet by @Irish Foreign Ministry Irish Foreign Ministry / Twitter Irish Foreign Ministry / Twitter / Twitter

Doctor’s working in St James’s Hospital in Dublin made an appeal this week to various industries for donations of PPE

PastedImage-17656 A worker at Chinese end of the supply chain. AnneOConnorHSE AnneOConnorHSE

Speaking on Thursday, Chief Clinical Officer at the HSE Dr Colm Henry said that stock of certain items is low but that the HSE is confident that stocks will last until the new supply arrives.

“We’re in discussions with our hospitals community to make sure to reinforce the message as to how they should be used appropriately by those people who most need them,” he said. 

“The first plane will be leaving Sunday, it will be landing, I don’t have exact details but as soon as it comes from China on Monday and distribution will begin immediately. As I said, to the sites that are most the depleted and the sites with the greatest need in terms of concentration of Covid-19 patients.”

- With reporting by Nicky Ryan

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

137 Comments
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:58 PM

Good work everyone involved

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:15 PM

@bmul: it’s extremely important shipment for the island of ireland into saving lives of our health worker’s who in return are saving our lives!

Mute GinandJetfuel
    Favourite GinandJetfuel
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Michal Stawowy: So a mutation that created a zoonotic viral outbreak is the fault of China?

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:25 PM

@Michal Stawowy: as clueless as the Don!

Mute Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Favourite Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:41 PM

@Bobby wilson:

This equipment is being shipped to the HSE. The NHS personnel in Northern Ireland will still be relying on whatever the UK government source for them.

If you are genuinely concerned for the safety of NHS frontline staff, you need to be contacting your MP, or at the very least your MLA

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh: both health authorities on the island of ireland have come together to purchase PPE…Conor Murphy has announced today that will protect all health worker’s on the island and turn will save lives of thousands Irish people!

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:31 PM

@Michal Stawowy: There’s a difference between the Chinese government and the Chinese people. And my Chinese food which is about to be delivered.

Mute Michal Stawowy
    Favourite Michal Stawowy
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:33 PM

@GinandJetfuel: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=91vS-r8d8-k
    Why most of dieses came from places like that didn’t see them in Dublin

Mute Mícheál Seán Mac Conmhaic
    Favourite Mícheál Seán Mac Conmhaic
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:41 PM

@GinandJetfuel: yes they created the conditions for the virus to jump species by allowing wet markets to operate.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:17 PM

@Michal Stawowy: it’s not g nna kill as many as the American flu.

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:34 PM

@Bobby wilson: unfortunately when it came to the restrictions DUP witch Arlene Foster gave full backing to Boris instead of standing up to UK The first case in NI travelled through Dublin via Dublin Airport then taxi and train, even when we closed school’s they continued to listen to that moron talking about herd immunity and shaking hands with infected patients he gambles with other peoples life’s to prove a point and now they pay the price so unfortunately as NI is no longer part of EU they must wait until UK supplies them it would be lovely to help but we must look after or own staff first and for most sad as it is please god we can all get through this both North and South

Mute Imagine !
    Favourite Imagine !
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:34 PM

@Kem Trayle: The virus can live for 24 hours on cardboard fyi

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:46 PM

@Imagine !: No different to a Tesco delivery. This delivery guy arrives with mask and gloves on, drops it at the door, knocks and walks away. Very dystopian.

Mute Rosemary Murphy
    Favourite Rosemary Murphy
    Mar 29th 2020, 12:35 PM

@Michal Stawowy: close them down a breeding ground for more viruses to mutate

Mute Shane Meegan
    Favourite Shane Meegan
    Mar 29th 2020, 12:52 PM

@Michal Stawowy: thanks for sharing Michal. I’m stunned by the images. A healt inspectors worst nightmare.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:01 PM

Thank you is not even close to the gratitude felt. I salute you. Come home safe and well and thank you

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:35 PM

@Jen Gordon: so many companies remaining open that are not necessities and they all have mountains of PPE that could be donated.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Mar 29th 2020, 10:16 AM

@Tommy C: Such as?

Mute Molly1952
    Favourite Molly1952
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:25 PM

I’ll probably be told where to go…. but as a “senior”… I’m so glad I live in a country where this is being well handled. And that it didn’t happen 10 years ago when we were in dire straits. I honestly don’t know how Tony Holohan and Simon and Leo stay going, the physical and mental strain must be tremendous. Health workers and essential staff working all hours with little sleep and difficult conditions. Rounds of applause come nowhere near what they deserve. And all I have to do is stay indoors, enjoying my garden, listening to music, watching TV and obey the rules.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:58 PM

@Molly1952: well said

Mute John C
    Favourite John C
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:31 PM

@Molly1952: no….you won’t be told were to go .. .. I think as a nation we are all doing well. It’s at a time of crisis that the Irish sprit shines through. …. We are not the wealthiest nation in the world but we are one of the richest.

Mute PlasticPaddy
    Favourite PlasticPaddy
    Mar 29th 2020, 12:16 AM

@John C: It might not suit the narrative but we are actually one of the wealthiest.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Mar 29th 2020, 2:01 AM

@Molly1952: very very well said.

Mute Niamh McDonald
    Favourite Niamh McDonald
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:03 PM

That made me all emotional … now foot to the pedal lads get back quick safe journey !

Mute Michelle Mc Namara
    Favourite Michelle Mc Namara
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:47 PM

@Niamh McDonald: I’m the same, my son is tracking the flight!

Mute Molly1952
    Favourite Molly1952
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Michelle Mc Namara: Me too! On https://www.flightradar24.com/ Those pilots will look back on this flight as being on of the highlights of their careers I’d say.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:45 PM

@Niamh McDonald: Aer Lingus are the best

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:19 PM

@Liam Armstrong: I would they are on the way from galway

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 29th 2020, 12:59 AM

@Liam Armstrong: and noodles are out of stock in Spar. Curry flavour please. Well n done to the crew.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:08 PM

Thank you each and everyone for your efforts on my and all our behalf.

Mute Glammymammy
    Favourite Glammymammy
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:41 PM

My husband works for EI and is doing three trips in the next few weeks to start with. Such hard work has gone in behind the scenes to make this possible. Going to be very hard and gruelling work for them but they’re so happy to do it. 28 hours from check in to being back in Dublin without getting off the aircraft- all going to plan. Very proud of him and all of those involved.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 29th 2020, 2:01 AM

@Glammymammy: these are the heroes of the crisis. Ordinary hardworking people like your husband and those working on tills and restocking shelves in our food stores.

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:11 PM

Safe journey everyone and thank you for your efforts and time .

Mute FacelessJuniorDoctor
    Favourite FacelessJuniorDoctor
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:23 PM

Absolute Heroes. Thank you

Mute kehe
    Favourite kehe
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:21 PM

Seriously Journal it’s not an A380. Hint: A380s have an upstairs so they look like flying double decker buses. EI is flying an A330 to China. Good work Aer Lingus.

Mute bigjoe77
    Favourite bigjoe77
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:25 PM

@kehe: who cares what sort of plane it is? SAD…..

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:27 PM

@kehe: Does it really matter what it is? They could be flying a broomstick and they are still doing more then the moaners and smart arses on here. Something positive and people still giving it the billy big bol**x

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Olivia Smith: Of course it matters! You can’t get much PPE onto a broomstick.

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:50 PM

I just want to tell you both good luck. We’re all counting on you

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:00 PM

@Jake Kelly: Roger, Roger

Mute Kyle Mac Creddin
    Favourite Kyle Mac Creddin
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:00 PM

@Jake Kelly: Surely

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:25 PM

@Kyle Mac Creddin: don’t call me surely. We have clearance Clarence.

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:34 PM

Go raibh mile maith agaibh.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:08 PM

What a lovely gesture . Heart warming .

Mute MaryLou Silvester-Carr
    Favourite MaryLou Silvester-Carr
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:31 PM

Very well done to the pilots and crews in Aer Lingus and to all involved who have made these vital flights possible! Proud to see how the Irish people are rallying round.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:35 PM

Hope they don’t bring back a load of test kits which were found by Spanish to be defective (70%).

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:17 PM

@Peter McGlynn: the company that manufactured the kits, Shenzhen Bioeasy Biotechnology, are being investigated by a Chinese government regulatory body and it’s been announced that they weren’t licensed by government to make them. They were supposed to give results in 15 minutes and were also imported by the Spanish supplier into the Czech Republic where the inaccuracy rate was even higher at 80%.

Mute Ciarán Seosamh
    Favourite Ciarán Seosamh
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:23 PM

@Peter McGlynn: don’t speak sense man, let’s just applaud.

Mute Rosa Lopez
    Favourite Rosa Lopez
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:22 PM

Thank you, very emotionl. And thank to chinese workers and chinese goverment for what you are doing for the world. As much as I know you are not getting advantage of the huge demands and rising prices, leaving the whole world with huge debts to you. So thank you.

Mute Aodhan Tinney
    Favourite Aodhan Tinney
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:25 PM

@Rosa Lopez: For real? Thanking China?

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Aodhan Tinney: Yes! They are supplying PPE. They suffered from the virus as well. It started there – they didn’t invent it.

Mute Aodhan Tinney
    Favourite Aodhan Tinney
    Mar 29th 2020, 9:05 AM

@For Goodness Sake: What do you mean they didn’t invent it? They created it… you think is spontaneously formed in a random location? Add to that the fact that they concealed it and most likely killed anyone that tried to leak information about it…. yea, I won’t be thanking them anytime soon.

Mute Christine Klein
    Favourite Christine Klein
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:33 PM

Good luck and safe flight! Fabolous work!

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:47 PM

@Christine Klein: fabulous even

Mute Vlad Eire
    Favourite Vlad Eire
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:01 PM

It’s not an a380

Mute bigjoe77
    Favourite bigjoe77
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:23 PM

@Vlad Eire: who cares

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:25 PM

@bigjoe77: you would if it fell on you

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:52 PM

@Vlad Eire: oh shut up, who cares the cargo is the most important bit ffs!

Mute Vlad Eire
    Favourite Vlad Eire
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:59 PM

@Jun Stone: the person who wrote the article cares as they corrected the error. If I wrote an error I’d want to be corrected.

Mute WCS
    Favourite WCS
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:01 PM

@Niall Mulligan: what ? If a plane fell on you, you’d be concerned about the specific model ? Again, what ?

Mute joan kelly
    Favourite joan kelly
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:03 PM

@WCS: immaterial comments . Some people

Mute Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Favourite Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:27 PM

@WCS: I suppose you’d want your headstone to be correct anyway.

Mute bigjoe77
    Favourite bigjoe77
    Mar 29th 2020, 2:38 AM

@Niall Mulligan:

Mute Luther Cooper
    Favourite Luther Cooper
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:02 PM

Is this in addition to the PPE coming from Belgium????

Mute Declan Sweeney
    Favourite Declan Sweeney
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:09 PM

@Luther Cooper:

Yes, did a plain load of PPE’s donated by a Chinese buisnessman donate land in Dublin yesterday

Mute Mike McGann
    Favourite Mike McGann
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:31 PM

No chance of a PPE factory in Naas? No, we’re only into finance, tech and tourists.

Mute Caoimhín
    Favourite Caoimhín
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:41 PM

@Mike McGann: Yes, Naas is known for it ability to manufacture 200 million euros worth of PPE in a short period. I wonder how the government have not thought of Naas. Countries all over the world know that Naas the at the forefront of medical supplies.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:22 PM

China raking it in

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:22 PM

Looking like the Chinese plan to conquer the world is working out well for them via the virus

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Mar 29th 2020, 10:46 AM

@Tom o brien: should be free. the chinese started this crisis.

Mute Anthony Sweeney
    Favourite Anthony Sweeney
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:45 PM

One of the most important jobs them pilots will do in there lifetime, safe journey home

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:28 PM

Error by journal. It’s EI- 9018 not E19018.

Mute GinandJetfuel
    Favourite GinandJetfuel
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:22 PM

@Ben Dunne: easy typo, not a big deal

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:35 PM

@GinandJetfuel: He’s right, you can’t track a flight online without the exact flight number.

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:29 PM

FOURFIVESIX
    is that all you have in your live ? Complain about the plane ? Ya sad weirdo . Support the HEROS or shut your trap . When you need the supplies they return with your attitude better change .

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:50 PM

All well and good but why are aer lingus still flying near empty planes, putting cabin crew at risk. Nothing to do with not wanting to pay cancellation fees?

Mute GinandJetfuel
    Favourite GinandJetfuel
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:23 PM

@DJ François: maybe direct that question to the airline themselves?

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:54 PM

@GinandJetfuel: I have and answer there came none

Mute Geraldine Healy
    Favourite Geraldine Healy
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:25 PM

@DJ François: Because they are flying with their holds full of cargo. That the passenger count is low is immaterial compared to the fact that Aer Lingus are playing an important role in keeping “Ireland Ltd” open for business, enabling the import and export of goods.
    Stay safe.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Geraldine Healy: Cargo doesn’t require cabin crew does it?

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:40 PM

@DJ François: bringing people home maybe

Mute John O Donoghue
    Favourite John O Donoghue
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:31 PM

Well done Aer Lingus and all who was involved fair play to ye all well done

Mute Dennis Farrelly
    Favourite Dennis Farrelly
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:19 PM

Well done folks Fly Safe

Mute DMcG
    Favourite DMcG
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:32 PM

Communist China should be paying for this and fully compensate. Boycott Chinese products, other than the PPE of course.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:22 PM

@DMcG: Do you think they “invented” the virus?

Mute Mícheál Seán Mac Conmhaic
    Favourite Mícheál Seán Mac Conmhaic
    Mar 29th 2020, 2:41 AM

@For Goodness Sake: they created the conditions for the virus to jump species due to wet markets. this outbreak was predicted years ago and China did nothing. We got lucky this time this could have been alot worse.

Mute Charlie Kavanagh
    Favourite Charlie Kavanagh
    Mar 29th 2020, 3:00 AM

@DMcG: moron

Mute Kerry Evans
    Favourite Kerry Evans
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:15 PM

Maìth sìbh…

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:29 PM

Really hope the boxes are full of quality products, so much fraud and messing with products coming out of china – faulty equipment and tests, switched materials etc. I really hope these are checked before the money is paid for them.

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:56 PM

@Spbeak: Don’t be getting carried away by the spin created by this. How about a complete itemized / cost of this 20 million euro spend

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Mar 29th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: I’m not. Also few more ventilators wouldn’t go a miss, it will be scandalous of Mr Murphy working in the west making ventilators ends up having his father or grandfather die due to lack of a ventilator.

Mute Leo Sharkey
    Favourite Leo Sharkey
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:24 PM

Gan eiri a tadh leat!

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:34 PM

Safe journey back to Ireland

Mute Johannes Baader
    Favourite Johannes Baader
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:16 PM
    Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:43 PM

@Johannes Baader: Spain ordered the wrong test, they ordered a 10-15 minute rapid immunoassay test.

They are for detecting if someone had a COVID-19 infection in the past and are now immune. They test for antibodies, the immune systems response to the virus, not the virus.

These quick 10-15 minute tests cannot be used to discover new cases. That requires a different test, RT-PCR, which looks for the presence of the virus itself.

These tests will soon be in pharmacies in the UK and Ireland, people will be able to find out if they had COVID-19 already. This is important as 50% to 75% of infections are asymptomatic or very mild. I’d like to know myself, I could visit my parents without worrying I’d infect them.

http://en.bioeasy.com.tr/2019-novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov-ab-gica-rapid-test-kit/

Mute Wolfgang Hanratty
    Favourite Wolfgang Hanratty
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:28 PM

May gods speed be upon your wings on the voyage home.

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:29 PM

Fourfivesix is that all you have in your live ? Complain about the effin plane ? Ya sad weirdo . Support the HEROS or shut your trap . When you need the supplies they return with your effin attitude better change .

Mute Mickomacko
    Favourite Mickomacko
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:21 PM

What do they say in NASA! Gods Speed

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:30 PM

is that all you have in your live ? Complain about the plane ? Ya sad weirdo . Support the HEROS or shut your trap . When you need the supplies they return with your attitude better change .

Mute Barry O Sullivan
    Favourite Barry O Sullivan
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:38 PM

Wonder if this is the same PPE the Chinese businessmen rounded up in Australia and sent to China!!!

Mute Mickomacko
    Favourite Mickomacko

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:53 PM

Why can’t we make this equipment ourselves, here in Ireland?
    Like, aren’t O’Neills making PPE now? Can other companies not follow?

Don’t get me wrong 100% grateful to be getting it, just wondering.

Mute WanderlyWagon
    Favourite WanderlyWagon
    Mar 29th 2020, 8:36 AM

Eh. China should be footing the bill. They stand to make huge profits out of the catastrophe they created.

Mute Gerard Martin
    Favourite Gerard Martin
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:49 PM

Please don’t be from Wish, please don’t be from Wish

Mute Mickomacko
    Favourite Mickomacko

Mute Stephen Rogan
    Favourite Stephen Rogan
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:06 PM

@Bramley Hawthorne: HIV came from Africa, from the Congo or thereabouts, sometime before WW2. But let’s not allow some inconvenient and tiresome facts get in the way.

Mute Alan Lynch
    Favourite Alan Lynch
    Mar 29th 2020, 10:10 AM

China should be giving this stuff out for free. They are the reason we’re in this mess

Mute NotaWarder
    Favourite NotaWarder
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:42 PM

Hope this ppe isn’t faulty.

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Mar 29th 2020, 10:23 AM

Has anyone vetted the quality of these supplies? Spain, Holland and Belgium have returned over 50% of theory medical supplies to China due to not working as stated.

Mute Gerard Martin
    Favourite Gerard Martin
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:49 PM

Please don’t be from Wish, please don’t be from Wish

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Mar 29th 2020, 10:23 AM

Has anyone vetted the quality of these supplies? Spain, Holland and Belgium have returned over 50% due to not working.
    Seems like China it’s offloading their poor leftovers & taking advantage of desperate countries.

Mute Sean O'Fiannachta
    Favourite Sean O'Fiannachta
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:58 PM

only should have happened at least a month ago

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:20 PM

@Sean O’Fiannachta: Do you actually think that the items that are being purchased were purchased today? They have to be manufactured and many other countries are also looking for stock.

Mute Sean O'Fiannachta
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:29 PM

@For Goodness Sake: not the point – ball was dropped

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:55 PM

@Sean O’Fiannachta:The Irish Government & HSE ordered this personal protection equipment (PPE) in the 2nd week of February … they ordered €225M worth of PPE .. the HSE normally use about €15-€20M in a normal year … so ordered 15 Times the amount the Irish Health system uses….

They ordered the PPE , 2 weeks before even the first official case was recorded in ROI ..

You also have to remember China was on shutdown itself at end of Jan.

Ireland moved faster than almost EU another country to secure this massive PPE order , the entire order is going to take 6weeks to deliver and will require 300 flights …

I think everyone deserves enormous credit for their planning & foresight..

So you should work off facts …most other countries would kill to have this PPE too !!

Eireann Abu !

Mute Sean O'Fiannachta
    Mar 29th 2020, 12:38 AM

@XvSv: evidence request and rebuttal from anonymous with insider knowledge?- super-heroes & courage =mckonkey & regan – warning Lancet 31/1/2020- italian rugby fans – no match -cheltenham – not enough PPE for healthcare workers heroes – congrats to Irish people self-isolating long before PH expert advice – transparency? targeting hotspot? no blame it is what it is & experts are in ID listened to eventually- responsibility? timely testing? timely reaction? timely provision of protective equipment?

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Mar 29th 2020, 2:36 AM

@Sean O’Fiannachta: I have nothing to with government; but my wife works in the HSE and I know one of pilots that’s going to be flying those Aer Lingus flights from China , but what I stated is all in the public domain, the PPE contract details which detailed via a public press conference by HSE CEO 2 weeks ago .

My neighbour and one of my extended family work in Medtronic Galway and that are now working round the clock to produce Ventilators not just for Ireland but for the entire world .. they gone from 8×5 shift 3 weeks ago to 24×7 and are trying to treble the workforce and manufacturing space in Galway.

Thousands of people in Public & Private sectors are working round the clock to try to protect us!

Yes we have a 2400 cases tonight but thus far we have a very low mortality rate !

Mute Geoff Dolan
    Favourite Geoff Dolan
    Mar 29th 2020, 11:42 AM

Lads

Half this order is going to be counterfeit drek.

The Philippines, The Netherlands, Spain and the Czech Rep. have all already had to send back their orders.

Much of China’s economy runs on counterfeit goods. I lived there 4 years and saw that there was no limit to the scale of trickery some morons over there will pull to make a quick buck

Mute Celtic Kid
    Favourite Celtic Kid
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:51 PM

What’s the betting customs will sit on it for a few weeks when it arrives back? That was always there usual form anyway. Are they brave enough now?

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Mar 29th 2020, 2:39 AM

@Celtic Kid: not going to happen , this flight and freight contents have the very highest priority ….. as will of planned 299 flights over the next 6 weeks ..