You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

NBCLA

Police filmed kicking and punching suspect in 'disturbing' video

Francis Jared Pusok was hit dozens of times.

AN INVESTIGATION HAS been launched after a video emerged of police in California beating up a suspect who had been tasered.

Aerial footage, recorded by a news helicopter, showed the man falling off a horse, and then being stunned with a taser by a sheriff’s deputy.

Two deputies immediately began punching him in the head and kneeing him in the groin. At one point, 11 deputies surrounded him.

He appears to have been kicked 17 times, punched 37 times and struck with batons four times. Thirteen blows appeared to be to the head.

NBC Los Angeles reports that the series of events started when deputies went to a house to serve a search warrant in an identity theft investigation.

The suspect took off in a vehicle and police followed, starting a pursuit in Apple Valley – an area more than 80 miles northeast of downtown Los Angeles.

Francis Jared Pusok (30) allegedly abandoned the vehicle, before stealing a horse.

In the footage, he did not appear to move from his position lying on the ground for more than 45 minutes. He did not appear to receive medical attention while deputies stood around him during that time.

The full video can be watched here.

Convictions

Pusok has convictions for resisting arrest, animal cruelty, disturbing the peace, attempted robbery and failure to provide evidence of financial responsibility.

San Bernardino County Sheriff John McMahon told NBC the Taser was ineffective due to Pusok’s loose clothing.

“I can certainly understand the concerns in the community based on what they saw on the video,” McMahon said.

I’m disturbed by what I see in the video. But I don’t need to jump to conclusions at this point, until we do a complete and thorough investigation. If our deputy sheriff’s did something wrong, they’ll be put off work and they’ll be dealt with appropriately, all in accordance with the law as well as our department policy.

Read: Dashcam video shows Walter Scott and policeman moments before shooting

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Seamus Grant
    Favourite Seamus Grant
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:18 PM

Cops in America beating someone I don’t believe it !! He can count himself very lucky he wasn’t shot that seems to be first line of defence in American policing

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:37 PM

Must be a day that ends in Y.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:23 PM

Yeah lucky he was not shot dead

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:33 PM

It would never happen here, # sarcasm.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:56 PM

Whatever faults you can find with the Gardai, and there are many, you will not find a group of them who think that this sort of carry on is acceptable.

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:07 PM
    Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:16 PM

He’s a career criminal by the looks of his record. A fairly low human being. I don’t really care if he got the pizz beat out of him tbh.

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:28 PM

All non-violent offences it seems. Violence should only be used by the police as a final option when all other options have been exhausted, not as an initial reaction to any and all situations.

Mute ProudIrishRepublican
    Favourite ProudIrishRepublican
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:31 PM

Cops shouldn’t lower themselves to the same level. They are there to uphold the law, not break it themselves. They should at least be sacked for gross misconduct.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:46 PM

Egg – I’d agree if that’s the case, but this guy has been done for animal cruelty (from what I’ve seen only charged in mid to extreme cases), disturbing the peace (likely being a drunken lout but I’m open to correction) and I think the last one was armed robbery.
    He’s filth, I don’t think what the cops did was right, but I don’t feel sorry for the guy either.

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:22 PM

Scarr, I’d have no great sympathy for this lad either, but he doesn’t really matter in the greater scheme of things, behaviour like this from police is simply unacceptable. If he is filth as you say, and I don’t disagree, it is the role of the police to arrest him, and the role of the courts to punish him. The police taking on responsibility for punishment too is all a bit judge dredd for my liking.

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Favourite David Fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:47 PM

A perfect example of how some cops act when there are no cameras and (seemingly) even when there are cameras around.
    I hope all of these guys do hard time.
    I hope they all find nice boyfriends inside.

“Serve and Protect”

Mute Seafra O'Cathain
    Favourite Seafra O'Cathain
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:21 PM

What on earth is ‘failure to provide evidence of financial responsibility’?

Mute Top Cat
    Favourite Top Cat
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:29 PM

Not looking after his kids, fairly common in that section of the US population.

Mute Seafra O'Cathain
    Favourite Seafra O'Cathain
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:35 PM

Would that not be failure to comply with child support order? Just seems oddly worded.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:30 PM

“that section”? Why not just say “I’m not racist, but…..”

Bit of a gross generalistion of an entire group of people there dontcha think?

Mute Top Cat
    Favourite Top Cat
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:59 PM

No I don’t think so Tricia. 70% of black kids are born without a father in the picture, it’s a massive problem probably the biggest problem facing that community and stating so isn’t racist.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:03 PM

53.7% of statistics are made up on the spot

Mute Jamie Brogan
    Favourite Jamie Brogan
    Apr 10th 2015, 3:26 PM

Ah would you come off it, I’ve known of PLENTY of Irishmen who knocked up a woman and then fecked off to England, never to be heard from again.

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Apr 10th 2015, 4:24 PM

As much as you’d like him to be black Top Cat, he wasn’t. From you’re various comments on different articles over the last few days it’s clear to see you’re a racist, specifically against black American’s.

Mute Aaron D
    Favourite Aaron D
    Apr 10th 2015, 6:47 PM

You’re right, but your incorrect use of the apostrophe there is almost as offensive.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:20 PM

American society is badly broken. Its gone back to the wild west. These police forces are no longer policing.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:46 PM

After 13 years of wars, the police force in the US has been replenished with returning soldiers and supplied with surplus military grade weapons.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 10th 2015, 4:24 PM

Well there will be eleven more vacancies shortly, and possibly s sherif, unless he was watching a different video, where the suspect Was resisting .

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:21 PM

Police forces are usually the only institution legally permitted to engage in violence. The law only maintains authority by public consent, without that consent only tyranny can be used by the authorities to maintain control. If the police abuse their privileges to adopt violence their authority will ultimately lose public consent. A lot of cops in the US seem to think themselves untouchable, if it ends up as the police vs the public, I’ll put my money on the public, and a lot of these cops will find out how small they really are when the badge they hide behind loses its influence.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:11 PM

Unfortunately they seem to be untouchable. Can’t remember the last conviction of a police officer for beating/killing someone.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:24 PM

That guy in South Carolina should definitely go down. The video footage of him shooting an unarmed man was about as damning to any kind of defense or reasoning that he could offer.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:00 PM

Except that if a passerby hadn’t filmed it, the original police lie that there was a scuffle and Scott took his taser would have stood.

Mute Top Cat
    Favourite Top Cat
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:17 PM

What’s with thejournals obsession with small American local news stories? Can’t see how this is newsworthy here.

Mute Gerry with a J
    Favourite Gerry with a J
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:28 PM

But yet you had to click on it and leave a comment? You didn’t have to read the article. The journal gives international news, not just minute by minute account of what Joan Burton is thinking..

Mute Top Cat
    Favourite Top Cat
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:30 PM

They only seem interested in white on black crime coming from the States. I don’t think I’ve ever read a report on here of the black on black slaughter that happens every week in places like Chicago.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:57 PM
    Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:02 PM

You don’t think it’s newsworthy that the country which styles itself the leader of the free world, is turning into a police state?

Mute Andrew Brennan
    Favourite Andrew Brennan
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:57 PM

Seems to me that the barrel is full of rotten apples! How many cops (all armed with nightsticks, tasers, and guns) does it take to subdue a person suspected of identity theft?

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Apr 10th 2015, 3:46 PM

Apparently 11.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Apr 10th 2015, 12:37 PM

Alls I knows there are 1.1million law “cops” in the US you are bound to get some bad apples even 1% of people is a sizable number also you are sometimes dealing with very dangerous armed people!

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:36 PM

Gulf War vets coming home and becoming cops. Thus the madness..

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Apr 10th 2015, 1:04 PM

Was the horse ok??

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 10th 2015, 4:17 PM

You don’t steal a mans horse in California.

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan
    Apr 10th 2015, 4:52 PM

Very disturbing watching this on tv ,,
    Our gardai would never ever resort to this type of animal behaviour

Mute David Craddock
    Favourite David Craddock
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:05 PM

He was white so no big deal

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Apr 10th 2015, 2:22 PM

Why is this even news, he’s not black, move on nothing to see here. I need my fix of race baiting!

Mute RR85
    Favourite RR85
    Apr 10th 2015, 6:30 PM

If this was happening to a police officer he or his colleagues would be authorised to use deadly force yet this man would be charged with assault if he had of defended himself!!!

So what does he do? lie there and take it? or try defend himself and risk being shot dead and then be labeled as criminal who attacked the police. These cowards should be locked up and any officer who stood by and didn’t intervene should be sacked

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Apr 10th 2015, 6:44 PM

Uneducated, violent, primitive savages with no ability for empathy

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Apr 11th 2015, 10:19 AM

The sheriff didn’t even bother watching the whole video, and then said “what happened afterwards, I don’t know!!” Wtf?

Mute Good Staff
    Favourite Good Staff
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:49 PM

F^ck that..he deserves a bating if he’s a tramp.Look at his previous convictions,no angel.Lads like him need a good hammering.