You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Communist Party of Ireland was unable to get its accounts publicly audited due to limited resources. Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Nearly half of Ireland's political parties failed to submit accounts to watchdog

Six parties failed to submit any accounts at all.

NINE OF IRELAND’S 20 political parties failed to comply with legislation that says they must submit audited statements of accounts to the Standards in Public Office Commission (SIPO).

Under the electoral act political parties must disclose their accounts to the commission which is tasked with overseeing the ethics of those who hold public office.

In its 2016 report on political parties’ statements of accounts SIPO revealed that there was a total of 20 political parties on the Register of Political Parties for the year.

Three parties were found to be non-compliant while another six had not furnished any accounts at all.

The Communist Party of Ireland, Direct Democracy Ireland and the Workers & Unemployed Action Group, which is chaired by Tipperary South TD Séamus Healy, all submitted some statement of accounts to SIPO but they were found not to be compliant because the accounts were not audited.

The commission has the power to appoint a public auditor to examine the parties’ books however it decided against doing so in these cases because none of the parties received any funding from the exchequer.

Of the six parties who did not submit any paperwork at all one no longer exists, one made no financial transactions in the year and two (Fís Nua and Identity Ireland) do not have bank accounts.

Table 1_ SIPO SIPO

In the report SIPO expressed the view that smaller parties, particularly those that receive no funding from the exchequer, should be exempt from furnishing audited statements.

The Standards Commission agrees that the requirement to furnish statements should remain, but that it is unnecessary in these circumstances for the statements to be audited.

SIPO made the same recommendation in its 2015 report.

The commission published its annual report in July. That report revealed that SIPO sent 66 files to the gardaí concerning possible offences relating to the general election in 2016.

READ: Watchdog sent 90 files to gardaí over possible election offences>

READ: Varadkar tells Dáil that cost of garda overtime will be covered by next year’s budget>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:34 PM

- 7 confirmed cases in ICU
    - 0 admissions/discharges to/from in the last 24hrs
    - 48 confirmed cases in hospital
    - 1 discharge from hospital in the last 24hrs
    - 4 admissions to hospital in the last 24hrs
    - positivity rate for the last 7 days 1.3%, 64942 tests carried out .
    Covid data hub stats

Mute Kevin McDonnell
    Favourite Kevin McDonnell
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:46 PM

@Anna Anna: Fair play, these are now the really important pieces of information

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin

@Anna Anna: Cheers Anna! And cue the bitter bullies in 3, 2, 1…

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:48 PM

@Kevin McDonnell: They are very important for sure. And while hospital cases are rising slowly but steadily , certainly not unmanageable levels. But 54 community transmission cases is important too…….

Mute Kevin McDonnell
    Favourite Kevin McDonnell
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:51 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: Good point, but where they is just as important, e.g. if they are all in Dublin, then huge chunks in the rest of the country are doing very well

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan

@Anna Anna: Hospital admissions:

23 Tuesday, Aug 25
    28 Wednesday, Aug 26
    30 Thursday, Aug 27
    31 Friday, Aug 28
    31 Saturday, Aug 29
    33 Sunday, Aug 30
    35 Monday, Aug 31
    40 Tuesday, Sept 1
    39 Wednesday, Sept 2
    41 Thursday, Sept 3
    47 Friday, Sept 4
    48 Saturday, Sept 5

Saturday’s hospital admission figures will be updated again at 8pm.

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/coronavirus-daily-operations-updates.html

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Football in the Groin: perhaps the negative comments anna anna received nightly after she lists the numbers has something to do with the covid related comments she puts up on other stories advocating against masks, stating the numbers are being tweaked by government for some agenda, and hence putting the numbers she puts up nightly in a dubious context

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:58 PM

@D Mems: nothing dubious, just the facts. That must kill the neurotics. Also mask wearing doesn’t work look it up. Covid, the new religion of curtain twitchers.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna

@David Jordan: and any change at 8pm tonight will be reflected in the numbers reported on the Covid data hub tomorrow. There currently have been 4 covid admissions in the last 24hrs. You know this David

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:02 PM

@D Mems: I have never said the numbers are being tweaked for some hidden agenda. Neither have I advocated against masks. People can wear masks if they like. But you’re free also to say anything on here

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:05 PM

@David Jordan:
    Will they be giving an update on the number of active cases in the country as well David?
    It would be a statistics that would be handy to have so that we can see that people are recovering as well.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:08 PM

@Declan: Are you sure it’s the neurotics? Maybe it’s the hysterics…

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:09 PM

@D Mems: None of the negative comments ever mention those details so no. It’s always along the lines of “you have no life” or “these stats are on the Covid-19 app” but a bit nastier than that.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:19 PM

@David Jordan: These are the hospital figures that count. however note that these are “new cases” whereas the app and hub only give “new admissions” that had tested positive before admissions, new admissions tested positive at and after admission are not included as they are not new admissions when the test results come back but are “new cases” among those treated as “suspected” cases awaiting results.

This issue cases problems when tracking the hub admissions and discharges reports from day to day as the numbers do not add up – this is not a criticism of posting the hub figures but rather an issue that really they should reporting “new cases” and not “new admissions” already tested positive – hence your figures are important – also, for what it is worth the hub shows yesterdays 8pm figures I believe and is not updated during the day.

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:20 PM

@Bountyop: both!!

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:22 PM

@D Mems: why would the gov tweak the nos for heavens sake!

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:25 PM

@David Jordan: as far as I’m aware these numbers aren’t admissions, but the number of people with covid in hospital. Many, if not most, were admitted for something else and received a positive test for covid

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:27 PM

@Mary Oliver: it’s all a conspiracy Mary. Keep up with the programme here. RTE are the virus, NPHET run the country and masks don’t work.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:29 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: the hub is updated daily Niall. When you view the hospital stats it always has the current date on it.
    There is no problem with the admissions figures either. The daily admissions are those who were positive on admission. Anyone who was admitted with symptoms without a test and later tests positive will be included in the ‘confirmed cases in hospital’. This is currently 48. They can only deal with confirmed admissions on the hub as there are many suspected cases that present to hospital who test negative. The confirmed cases in hospital is the important figure.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:33 PM

@Declan: Stealing some one elses line Declan? A mobe wprthy of Leo. As for masks not working: ask SB the points I made to him during the week!

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Declan: why don’t you cite credible sources for your claim that masks don’t work or is it because you don’t have any except the usual quackery unless you want us to believe that Jim Corr is a credible source?

Mute Forkan Orla
    Favourite Forkan Orla
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Declan: masks most definitely work you look it up only your you tube idiots think they don’t. Aside from protecting others it also reduces viral load so if infected it will be less severe

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:44 PM

@David Jordan: Thanks, as always, for your important input. I see that hospitalisation numbers are increasing. The virus is contagious, so unless it is eliminated or almost eliminated, hospitals will probably be afraid to open up fully.

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:45 PM

@Anna Anna: in that case there was someone on another journal article using your name to make those statements, and has been for a few days.
    I have no issue with the daily numbers you put up, you provide a source, my observation is that you maybe getting attacked on these nightly reports based upon comments attributed to you from other articles

Mute Eoin Hennigan
    Favourite Eoin Hennigan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:57 PM

@D Mems: nice one.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: this is very possibly the case. Everyone being admitted to hospital, for whatever reason, is tested for covid. Since 80% of people are asymptomatic it stands to reason that a lot of people being caught in hospital had no covid symptoms either.

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Kevin McDonnell: exactly…even the senior docs are coming out now saying its pointless and self deprocating to continue this daily trumpeting of these high level numbers

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:44 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: so we dont have a deadly virus in our midst where people have passed away sadly

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Garry Coll: look at Covid hub over 4000 active cases

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:31 PM

@Mary Oliver: that seems to be the logic from the crazies alright.

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:46 PM

@Declan: Was that the Daily Planet or Daily Star studies you got that from?

Mute Monster Munch
    Favourite Monster Munch
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:48 PM
    Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:25 AM

@Monster Munch: Thanks for the link, very interesting. The way things are I would still prefer if someone was to cough around me that they had a mask on.

Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Sep 6th 2020, 8:38 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Your the crazy with a disproportionate fear of the virus. The real virus is the fear peddled by the media.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:16 AM

@Declan: Mask work to a certain degree, like seatbelts and airbags in cars. Not perfect especially as some people do not know how to wear them. They are part of a system.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:23 AM

@David Jordan: we need total lockdown

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:30 PM

OPEN PUBS.!.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil

@Tom: middle of September, not long now

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:52 PM

@Tom: back in your box Tom, at least for 2 weeks.

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Tom Bombdadil: ya, the clocks will be going back soon.

Mute Ross O'Donnell
    Favourite Ross O'Donnell
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:17 PM

@Tom: yes Tom. Open the pubs. There’s a good lad. I have a vision of you sitting rocking gently in a corner muttering “open the pubs, open the pubs” to yourself. Some day soon Tom. Some day soon.

Mute Lorna Murphy
    Favourite Lorna Murphy

@Tom:

Mute Michael Fleming
    Favourite Michael Fleming

@Conor Noonan: will the pubs open before the clocks go back? Let’s watch this race mee hole Martin forest want to open pubs he has never liked pub culture. Remember smoking ban he did that. Which by the way I agreed with even though I was a smoker at that time.if he has his way we will have no bars only cafes and restaurants that also serve alcohol. He will destroy ireland quicker than trump has destroyed the US and it will take 20 years to rebuild the economy

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Michael Fleming: pubs are open. I’m in one now. Great pints.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:56 PM

@Michael Fleming: the pubs that “don’t” serve food will be open from the middle of September, out on your best jocks, chances of the shift will be high

Mute Eoin Hennigan
    Favourite Eoin Hennigan
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Tom Bombdadil: meet you at the Prancing Pony.

Mute Davy
    Favourite Davy
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Tom Bombdadil: Yep, i laughed ..!!

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:42 PM

@Ross O’Donnell: Hes Hodor.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue

@Tom: wet

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:34 PM

@Tom: grow up..

Mute Jonathan Gildea
    Favourite Jonathan Gildea
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:32 PM

Lock down Dublin :p

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: lock down nowhere

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:14 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: protect Dublin, lock out the culchies :0

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Sam Greene: id say the ‘culchies’ would love protection from the dubs.. they are poisoning every other part of the country…

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:00 PM

@Stuart Doherty: the only poisonous thing is your brain

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:48 PM

@Sam Greene: No problem locking the country down from Dublin, as long as there is free movement throughout the other 25 counties

Mute Kevin Davy
    Favourite Kevin Davy
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:04 AM

@Joe_X: 31 counties

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:17 AM

@Kevin Davy: I know, but our guys only have Jurisdiction over whats this side of the border.

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:43 AM

@Jonathan Gildea: tit

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan

Maybe start reporting this once a week. Casedemic.
    Scaremongering.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:33 PM

@Declan: It’s transparency and reporting of facts

Mute Noel Healy
    Favourite Noel Healy
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Rochelle: why not report cancer diagnosis?

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Harney
    Favourite Joe Harney
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:42 PM

@Declan: Yes I agree Sun 23rd – Sat 29th August – 826 cases
    Sun 30th Aug – Sat 5 Sept – 825 cases.

The numbers seem pretty stable to me, would be interesting to see what they are like next week, 2 weeks after schools have returned.

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan

@Rochelle: not really. No context given. I wonder why?
    How many suicides, heart attacks, cancer deaths, job loses, undiagnosed cancers this week etc.
    The majority have copped on thankfully.

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems

@Declan: reporting once a week isn’t going to change the numbers for heart attacks, cancer deaths, job losses or un-diagnosed cancers. If you are implying the daily reporting is contributing to suicides, whilst plausible, I don’t believe anyone has scientifically examined in one way or the othee yet

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Rochelle: all stats on App nos per county updated also on Worldmeter

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:04 PM

@D Mems: exactly all the others are far more important on a daily basis and don’t get reported nationally. Mask wearing doesn’t work, look it up. Cure is worse than the disease at this point. Will have to learn to live with this, protect the vulnerable and let people make decisions for themselves on risks every day as they do quite capably at the moment. Simple. Covid has become the new religion of neurotics.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:06 PM

@Declan: Undiagnosed cancers might be a hard one to give a daily number on…

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:30 PM

@Bountyop: point We don’t know the numbers because they are unknown and growing. Social distancing means less attend clinics, waiting times double, more cancer deaths unfortunately inevitable

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:55 PM

@Declan: except none of the ailments you list are contagious, unlike Covid, so a bit of a difference there.
    I’m always intrigued when people say we have to learn to live with Covid, i’m curious, what would that look like? In many cases the answer appears to be to do nothing, that’s not really living with, or dealing with, Covid, it’s just putting your head in the sand and ignoring it. What measures would you put in place? How would you protect the vulnerable, or is it a case we get the vulnerable, you also need to define that group, to hide away and pretend they are not part of our society as well?

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys

@Declan: Weekly won’t change anything. They’re numbers.

If those scare anyone…they should probably ask themselves why they find basic facts to so terrifying.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop

@Declan: You cannot quantify the unknown. You can try and predict using incidence. Screening may or may not affect mortality.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:06 PM

@Declan: can you provide figures for numbers on problems that have always been here pre-pandemic. You didn’t give a toss about them back then and the only reason you “care” about them now is to support your rant… I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… sickening behaviour

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:09 PM

@Declan: Scaremongery is a weird trade to choose, no money in the cheese or iron end of things anymore.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:11 PM

@Declan: a month after the virus was introduced we were getting daily cases of 300 to 400 a day, just as we went into lock down. We are now 2 months on from the largest lifting of restrictions at the end of June. Not even reaching half those figures yet. The difference is the masks. Now here are your choices: put on your mask….. or move to the blaskets with the rest of your anti mask buddies where you cannot do any harm

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:08 PM

@Mary Oliver: total active cases 4162 here Worldometer 4th Sept

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:37 PM

@Declan: oh shut up ya sap

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:42 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: thanks for sharing your intellect…..fantastic input

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Declan: panicdemic

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:44 AM

@Rochelle: Are you sure about that?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:22 AM
    Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:38 PM

Why don’t they put restrictions on Dublin when they have repeatedly had high numbers, whereas in other counties they don’t think twice about bringing in restrictions!

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti

@Freda Hanratty: Because no one cares about closing down a few muldoon villages.
    Plus rates per 100k are what trigger action, not culchie ignorance.
    Kildare for example was near 200 per 100k.
    Dublin is 50.
    If Dublin reaches 200, we are in for a full country lockdown again.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris

@Freda Hanratty: you need to look at it per 100,000. You should know this already!

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Bain triail aisti: yes, but it seems they just keep turning a blind eye to the high numbers in Dublin. It’s like they are just giving Dublin a little tip on the hand, and saying, “behave yourself now”! Locking Dublin down will just interfere with their social life, and inconvenience their important cronies! Will they actually bring in restrictions for Dublin if numbers go sky high, I very much doubt it! And I’m talking as a Dub, so I’m not a bitter culchie!

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Bain triail aisti: the country will never be locked down again. Economically it won’t be allowed.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Bain triail aisti: should population density not come in to the equation?? Dublin’s population density is massive! think even bigger than London

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:22 PM

@Bain triail aisti: No we won’t. And I told you why the other evening. Anything we need from Dublin is available online. Also the population density in Dublin is skewing the figures. 1.2 million in Dublin compared to 200,000 in Kildare. Current daily figures and past numbers show that the virus will spread faster in Dublin. If Dublin goes back into lockdown, the other 3.8 million of us wont even care because we don’t need anything from the Capitol. Sorry but thats the truth of it.

Mute Eoin Hennigan
    Favourite Eoin Hennigan
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:22 PM

@john: percentage of Irish people who live in Dublin, somewhere between 20% and 25 %. Percentage of people getting the virus in the last month 50% to 60%. Stop talking cathology.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Joe_X: That statement has as much validity as your statement that 99% of home owners in Kildare are Kildare born and bred, bullsh8t
    Dubs living in Kildare are only there as they couldn’t afford a house in Dublin
    On another point, if Kildare peolpe protested against the lockdown and either a) refused to observe it or b) refused to continue working, both scenarios could be dealth with easily, apply either protest to Dublin and it results in complete sterilisation of Ireland. Our economy showed the lowest dip in GDP of all EU economies, solely due to Dublin people.
    Either say thanks, or just be quiet.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:00 PM

@Bain triail aisti: no thanks…. by the way, what I said was 99% of peole i Kildare are born and bred there, and chose to be there because they want to be. The dubs can still do all their business if locked down, thru online.anything else I need I get local.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:04 PM

@Joe_X: BTW, I work in Clare. Every place around me kept working. I was working for most of it, bar having to take a couple weeks leave…..you can thank the 3.8 million people outside the Capitol any time.

Mute Finbarr Dowling
    Favourite Finbarr Dowling
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:22 PM

@Bain triail aisti: well done Mr consultant

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:26 AM

@Freda Hanratty: Economically, you cannot compare Dublin with any other county in terms of importance. 50 people live in Leitrim and Offaly. And 49 of them are dubs.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:27 AM

@Freda Hanratty: No it is just anti Dublin bias showing thats normal. As a Dub I am used to it all Dubs are.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:29 AM

@Joe_X: Thats why Leixlip in the summer is covered in dublin Flags. I know a fair few people who live in Kildare and they are all Dubs

Mute Lynsey Gavin
    Favourite Lynsey Gavin

A certain protest might have something to do with the high numbers

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:44 PM

@Lynsey Gavin: I seriously doubt it..

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

It seems Dublin might have lost control of the situation with 133 cases and a large amount of them seem to be community transmission.

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham

@Rochelle: Yes. Lockdown is definitely needed there. I’ll have a nice cold pint in tribute to them in two weeks.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Peter Denham: if it keeps the boggers out I’m all for it.

Mute Richard Doherty

@Peter Denham: lockdown nowhere without a vaccine one hundred outside down could argue for overall lockdown but government has sense not to listen to people complaining for lockdowns

Mute Richard Doherty

@Rochelle: only ones who lost control are the people looking for lockdowns get real get a life

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Richard Doherty: Just to remind people that if a case is found due to community transmission, it means they are already showing symptoms : CoViD-19.
    If they are found as close contacts, they may not be showing symptoms which means they are only testing positive for the virus: SARS-COV-2, that could go on to develop CoViD-19.
    That means that at least 133 cases are actually CoViD-19.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Fergus Lynch: it would keep the scangers in Dublin

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:37 PM

@Rochelle: indeed serious control loss: 133 out of circa 2 million people leaving there.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:45 PM

@Joe_X: sorry, my mistake….54 actually CoViD-19

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:08 PM

@Claude Saulnier: it is 133 tonight, following the trend of approximately 50% of positive cases every other day!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 5th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Fergus Lynch: But business isn’t, actually heard national radio advertisements for the merits of grafton street this week! They’re desperate for business.
    Turns out dubs aren’t enough to keep Dublin afloat

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:29 PM

Close the schools!!!!!

Mute Sinead Scott
    Favourite Sinead Scott
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:31 PM

@Jacks R. Back: the schools aren’t the problem are kids mental health is as important

Mute Máirtín Ó Conghaile
    Favourite Máirtín Ó Conghaile

@Jacks R. Back: close dublin

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back

@Sinead Scott: Tongue in cheek Sinead.

Mute David O'Riordan
    Favourite David O'Riordan

@Jacks R. Back: Are you serious? You surely understand that one big number is not enough to blame schools. The schools aren’t open long enough to ascertain whether opening them was responsible for any increases.

Mute Jacks R. Back
    Favourite Jacks R. Back

@Máirtín Ó Conghaile: Close Dublin? Who’ll subsidise the rest of the country then Máirtín?

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Jacks R. Back: Are you saying your immune from lockdown.? Heard it all now.

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77

@Máirtín Ó Conghaile: close Dublin to culchies!

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop

@Jacks R. Back: Greater Dublin has around 40% of Ireland’s population AND GDP…they only subsidise themselves actually

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Bountyop: No it hasn’t nearly 40% of the population and stop spouting this lie regarding Dublins population. 1.38 million is not nearly 40% of 4.9 million.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:52 PM

@Leonard Barry: I think the key lies in the ‘term’ greater and it’s definition. Maybe you don’t be so aggressive

Mute SB
    Favourite SB

Open up society ffs this is ridiculous by now, it’s not going anywhere just get on with things

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:36 PM

@Barry: where are all the deaths ?

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford

@Barry: Dieing what?

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:43 PM

@Barry: Barry get a grip of yourself

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:18 PM

@Barry: how many deaths in the past 8 weeks Barry? Grow up.

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Sam Greene: Yes, the low number of deaths is clear proof that current measures have failed completely. C’mon NPHET, even Trump has managed higher numbers than you. Why can’t you just ignore the science and read the room: Ireland demands this pathetic body counts rises!

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:59 PM

@Barry: provide the evidence where people are dying or zip it

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:35 PM

@SB: simple proof: 1777. We are currently reaping the benefits of the low numbers that allowed the country to open. Let’s follow your plan and open up the country like it was pre-pandemic…… see what happens then!

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:08 AM

@Joe_X: and whats that going to achieve absolutely nothing, just get on with things and protect those who are most vulnerable

Mute Comfortably Numb
    Favourite Comfortably Numb

Really fed up with this now

Mute Philip King ⚡️
    Favourite Philip King ⚡️
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:47 PM

@Comfortably Numb: ain’t we all.
    It’s not fed up with us unfortunately.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean

On a Saturday too, when people are usually saying cases are lower due to lower levels of administrative staff. By their logic, we’re in for an explosion next week.

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:03 PM

@Sean: Not true. I think the trends on days have gone out the window at this stage, pal. It’s a crude stab at analysis. For example, numbers were always low on a Sunday.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean

@EnKy: you’ve just taken exactly what I said and said it again. I said that on Saturdays there are lower numbers due to lower administrative staff, to which you repeat the exact same thing? With numbers this high on a Saturday, surely when there’s not a skeleton crew on testing during the week numbers will be much higher

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:33 PM

@Sean: The figures are lower on Saturdays and Mondays. Todays figures are the result of Fridays tests.

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion

Well holy god

Mute theseldomseenkid
    Favourite theseldomseenkid
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:35 PM

@Frank Discussion: well janey mac

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion

@theseldomseenkid: spirit of Miley

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler

A question, not an opinion:
    Given the fact that we have had fewer deaths in recent times (thankfully), has the actual strength of the virus weakened to the extent perhaps that we may have built up a considerable amount of herd immunity?

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:45 PM

@Pat Butler: there’s no such thing as herd immunity (so far). More younger people now catch corona and also likely that hospitals can deal with it better.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Pat Butler: the virus has mutated and they have found a less lethal version. Herd immunity is nonsense, people are being reinfected.

Mute PaulOMahoney Irish
    Favourite PaulOMahoney Irish

@Pat Butler: There are a huge amount of views on this, some believe that the virus has mutated and isn’t as deadly but has increased its spreading capability.
    There is no evidence of this yet I think the next few months will test that theory, another view is that the virus is mutating itself out of existence and again has developed new ways of infecting people but will eventually either die away or just be like the common cold or bad hay-fever…..again unproven now.
    Herd immunity isn’t something that the WHO likes to put forward that doesn’t mean it isn’t present

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan

@Pat Butler: there is no herd immunity. Younger people are catching and the elderly/vulnerable are being cautious.

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems

@PaulOMahoney Irish: since when has hay-fever been infectious, bad or otherwise?

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Pat Butler: Studies have been done and reported on – herd immunity does not work on this virus. You can get it more than once.

Mute PaulOMahoney Irish
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:39 PM

@D Mems: symptoms like hay-fever, Im only paraphrasing some stuff that’s out there.
    And as a hay fever sufferer who ended up in hospital from it, respiratory problem, hay-fever isn’t pleasant

Mute Claude Saulnier

@Pat Butler: it is far more likely hospitals know how to deal with patients better now than in March when they were given incorrect protocols to treat patients. Also, remember more cases are found because they carry out more tests. The virus -although deadly for many people with health conditions- doesn’t seem that dangerous for a large proportion of people who caught it and recovered. An unknown (but apparently small) number of people who recovered suffer from side effects – but the unkown is also whether the medecines they were given didn’t cause side effects either.

Mute PaulOMahoney Irish
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:49 PM

@Bee Bonthuys: They don’t really know 100% you can, antibodies are formed after you are infected but they don’t know for how long, and many believe that each person who has antibodies will not be the same amount, etc.
    One vaccine for certain will be 2 shots months apart , if it works

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 6th 2020, 9:19 AM

@Bee Bonthuys: any links to these studies? You can test positive more than once. I don’t know if they’ve actually proved re-infection.

Mute VJH
    Favourite VJH
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:40 PM

Lockdown dublin

Mute Richard Doherty

@VJH: lockdown vjd

Mute Patrick Khan
    Favourite Patrick Khan
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:41 PM

@Richard Doherty: all you comment on is people who say lockdown dublin you give a silly reply. Dublin people will have to be told not to leave the county. If the cases were as high in another county it would be locked down. Are the dubs special

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1

Numbers slowly increasing, that’s more worrying than anything.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale

@Munster1: I’m actually less worried now than I was at the height of it. Yes, numbers are up, but they’re doing more testing. Deaths are nil, most of the time, so I’m looking at that as a huge positive.

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:02 PM

@Trevor Beale: the R number is reported as 1.2, this means that no matter what cases will increase, we need to get the r number down, and that doesn’t require a lockdown, just people to reduce their number of close contacts

Mute Michael Fleming
    Favourite Michael Fleming
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:11 PM

@Munster1: numbers seem to be rising. I was of the same opinion but if you take the weekly testing rate the no.s aren’t raising that much i think it was 1.2 positive 2 weeks ago 58k tests this week just under 65k tests done last 7 days positive rate 1.3% which is why we should shift to weekly rather than daily counts unless there is a drastic rise in no.s last week 825 this week 826 if I read it correctly. We need to get back to the new norm open wverything and monitor daily to see if their are rises that need temp lockdowns in counties

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:15 PM

@D Mems: I’m with ya 100%. I’m of the opinion now, wash the hands regularly, mask in a shop, but live life as best you can, safely. Mental health is a fragile thing. Lot of people out there, this is doing more harm than good.

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:11 PM

@Trevor Beale: Can you imagine the mental health of those at High Risk, and I read somewhere that this is approx 1 million people in Ireland? Loads of asthmatics and diabetics. The victims are not say, 97 years plus 103 days old, who would normally live to only 97 years plus 109 days old. Keep up the good work in wearing masks and handwashing and fingernails brushing, even if you didn’t mention that last bit Kind and High Regards.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 6th 2020, 9:29 AM

@Trevor Beale: me too, I can’t fathom why people don’t get that!

Mute Ciarán McGrath
    Favourite Ciarán McGrath

CLOSE THE HOSPITALS!!!

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith

@Ciarán McGrath: Thick plank

Mute Ciarán McGrath
    Favourite Ciarán McGrath
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:24 PM

@Olivia Smith: DOES MY IRONY UPSET YOU OLIVIA?!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:32 PM

@Ciarán McGrath: no but your caps lock does

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:29 PM

No ICU admissions, no deaths, 231 coughed and sneezed. Time for a bit of cop on.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:48 PM

@Paul Potts: another ldiot who thinks you catch it monday, in the grave Tuesday

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:13 PM

@Joe_X: You’re not very bright Joe. No net increase in ICU admissions in the past 14 days, no deaths in the past 14 days. I rest my case.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:27 PM

@Paul Potts: Paul only ldiot here is YOU. You think it works that fast. Oh no my boy, go research the numbers properly. As I said earlier. We are currently reaping the benefits of low numbers that allowed the country to open. But FOOLS like you are going to have a lot in the grave!

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:30 PM

@Paul Potts: by the way, you cannot even stick to an argument….last week you were claiming how we were all being duped. Now using admissions even though NET hospital admissions have been slowly rising the last few weeks, and I am including admissions and discharges when I say that.

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:49 PM

@Joe_X: You need to calm down, and yes we are being duped. The virus is not as deadly to life as is being made out.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:06 PM

@Paul Potts:
    On the 5th August at 8pm we had 9 cases in hospitals, 1 on a ventilator
    On the 4th Septmeber at 8pm we had 47 cases in hospitals, 6 on ventilators

One can draw their on conclusions as to what is possible against what is happening

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:09 PM

@Paul Potts: Did you take part in the anti everything rally in Cork today, they sound like your kinda people!

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Sep 5th 2020, 11:22 PM

@Paul Potts: I got the bloody thing 5 months in only feeling normal now but still have brain fog.

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney

Nearly seems like they’re ramping these numbers up the more the publicans are asking to be opened.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:01 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: you’re suggesting the numbers aren’t real?

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:41 PM

@EillieEs: No I’m suggesting they’re testing more

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:53 PM

Close Dublin

Mute Richard Doherty

@Fran O’Keeffe: lockdown fran o keeffe

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene

@Fran O’Keeffe: ok , cos u said so.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:47 PM

Leo said yesterday that cases are only positive swabs. They don’t mean that anyone is sick

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:39 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Well if they are atteibuted to community transmission, they are already symptomatic, otherwise they would have no reason to be tested. Those attributed to close contacts are for the most part asymptomatic, but still carriers of the virus, who can still spread it and develop symptoms later.

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:56 PM

@Joe_X: Joe, here’s a suggestion. Why not wrap yourself up in cotton wool and let life pass you by. The vast majority will live by the recommendations and get on with our lives. You remind me of my next door neighbour. A teacher, afraid of a days work. And no, I don’t place all teachers in that bracket.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:12 PM

@Paul Potts: unlike most of the country Paul, I have been out in this everyday since the beginning. So don’t dare tell me wrap myself up in cotton wool. I was deemed essential services. Troll

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:19 PM

@Paul Potts: hit the wrong button..trolling seems to be all you are good at, start providing some real proof..you know facts, figures, to show we are being duped….prove it to me.

Mute Ann Experiment
    Favourite Ann Experiment

Íosa Chríost.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie

@Ann Experiment: A case in Leitrim, we’re fecked!!

Mute Sean Treacy
    Favourite Sean Treacy

Government need to show b4ll5 and lockdown Dublin

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:55 PM

I am not surprised to see Dublin numbers rising. Just back from a fantastic weeks holiday in the southeast. The difference in people observing hand sanitising, distancing and mask wearing was unbelievable. Visited both Youghal and Dungarvan and every place we went, people respected distancing, masks were being worn even around towns and hand sanitising was strictly observed. Got back to Dublin a couple of hours ago and went to my local shop and watched 4 other people come in no sanitiser used and none of their own before entering either as I was actually watching to see out of curiosity. A woman came in no face covering and practically walked into me to get to the newspapers completely ignoring any distancing and the fact she was ignoring the direction to walk in in a very narrow queue.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher

@Heather Knowles: Dubliners are arrogant

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Heather Knowles: Ah yes and here we have what’s called a semi Karen…More a snitch. Observes all around them says NOTHING and has a wee rant..Also know as a Curtain Twitcher who can’t mind own business…Bravo!

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:16 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: Or maybe somebody just showing how ldiotic some people are.

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Sep 5th 2020, 11:14 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: You might want to look at some Karen videos as you couldn’t be more wrong. Karen’s are the ones who go out of their way to be offensive & cause a scene. I am too busy living my life (with suitable and responsible precautions) to be a curtain twitcher. I’m so used to people ignoring the basic safety recommendations in Dublin that it was quite shocking to be somewhere where people respected and got on with them. I’m perfectly happy minding my own business but I’m equally entitled to comment on an article about rising numbers & what I see around me. And it’s hard to avoid a maskless woman literally shoving past you. I’ve learnt you cannot argue with stupid so aside from asking the woman to respect the distancing measures I wasn’t wasting time arguing.

Mute Mick Mouse
    Favourite Mick Mouse

Here we go

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil

@Mick Mouse: where are we going ? More testing more discovery. No deaths, no full hospitals no full ICU. You’ve been brainwashed by these pointless updates. Move on.

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ

@Tom Bombdadil: do people realise that a statement like, we only have high numbers because we are testing more is, well its Tumpenitious

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell

@RJ: Not really. The implication is that cases have been this high or close to it for a long time, we just weren’t detecting them.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X

@Tom Bombdadil: as I’ve said before, you do not catch the virus on a Monday and be buried on Tuesday. How many of the people discovered during the past week, contributed to community transmission, will be alive in a months time?

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:16 PM

@Joe_X: hi numbers for months now no deaths, give it a rest with the scaremongering

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:51 PM

@Tom Bombdadil: Numbers thankfully low because we are reaping the benefits of the low numbers that allowed Leo to open the country on 29th June. It was a further 2 weeks before the numbers started to increase. To the point they were this week: 2 days of 200 +. I don’t want to see any deaths and would be quite happy to be wrong. But the history of the situation, well to misqoute Santayana, those who do not learn from the mistakes of the past are doomed to repeat them

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 7th 2020, 2:10 PM

@Tom Bombdadil: People in hospitals are being kept alive by dedicated teams of medical support staff. Some caught it more than a month ago. Ireland doesn’t have enough medical staff to keep that up if numbers rise. It’s not flu. Flu would floor you after two days exposed to it, and you wouldn’t be in any shape to infect other people.

Mute aidanshaw
    Favourite aidanshaw

Never any updates on recovery numbers.. Posiitive talk maybe

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:17 PM

@aidanshaw: hard to know if someone gets a positive test and isolates at home if they are “recovered” and when. Also some (even if it is a small number) will have permanent damage as the cells killed by the virus are the same as killed by emphysema and they do not regenerate or regrow.

One can estimate that the maximum number of current infections is the 14 day total infection.

However there is also another issue, some take weeks or months to reach a conclusion in hospital and ICU and these may no longer be running an infection but have not recovered either. So recovery can only be estimated and, as already said, some will never recover from the covid-19 damage.

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron

NPHET saying they’d prefer if the word lockdown wasn’t used as it’s too severe.. fair enough . But then maybe the word “cases” should be replaced with “positive swobs” as many people might think cases indicates that they are all sick.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:37 PM

If they went to weekly reporting instead of daily numbers, how long would it take before calls for monthly numbers instead of weekly.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene

@Diarmuid Hehir: good. Monthly suits me fine.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:59 PM

@Sam Greene: you don’t have to read the stats if it doesn’t interest you

Mute Monster Munch
    Favourite Monster Munch
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:26 PM

@Diarmuid Hehir: I’d like to know from start of July, how many cases have their been and how many of those lead to hospitalisations and how many died. I’d also like clarity on whether some Irish experts that are never off the telly or radio have skin in the game re a vaccine. Some of them absolutely tie themselves in knots pedalling that vaccine is only way out of this. Do they have a vested interest there? If so what is it?

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:57 PM

@Diarmuid Hehir: how could they keep fear on people?

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:10 PM

@EillieEs: how can anyone avoid it? Day after day of figures read out in a dire voice. Peoples mental health is suffering, a doctor of elderly folk said on prime time that his patients are telling him they wish they were dead , that lifes not worth living, yes we have to protect our elderly, but we need to balance it now with positivity, not scare mongering waiting for the big second wave talk, night after night after night.

Mute John brett
    Favourite John brett

Calling Annie Annie.

Mute Tushar Gaikwad 
    Favourite Tushar Gaikwad 

@John brett: It’s Anna Anna I guess :)

Mute Tom Keenan
    Favourite Tom Keenan

Seal Dublin off from the rest of us so we can stay safe. You know it makes sense.

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:52 AM

@Tom Keenan: Don’t even joke about lockdowns.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 6th 2020, 4:26 AM

@xor: He’s not joking

Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee

Not surprised, testing every Tom, Dick and Harry at this stage

Mute Gavin Murphy
    Favourite Gavin Murphy
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:08 PM

@David Lee: Not true, I rang GP for an appointment for a test on Wednesday morning, still haven’t heard from aytone for an appointment.

Mute Gavin Murphy
    Favourite Gavin Murphy

@Gavin Murphy: Not true, I rang GP for an appointment for a test on Wednesday morning, still haven’t heard from anyone for an appointment.

Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:16 PM

@Gavin Murphy: They had a mobile clinic outside dolphin house the other day and it was a walk in service, do you think im making this up? Your GP is probably has more important cases to deal with

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy

@Gavin Murphy: I suggest you change GP.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:24 PM

@Gavin Murphy: Gavin, I suggest you contact them again, anyone I know who has been tested, got contacted back by their GP to be assessed within 2 hours and had test appointment within an hour at the latest, usually for the following day.

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:50 AM

With a flawed test!

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 6th 2020, 4:25 AM

@xor: please provide something to back your claim instead of arriving on and putting 3 and 4 word sentences and degrading those who do put up information.

Mute Rebekah Corbett
    Favourite Rebekah Corbett

2 weeks since the anti- mask protest. That might have something to do with the rise in cases particularly in Dublin

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:18 PM

“No Deaths and 231 cases”

That should be the focus. Many days without deaths as much as cases are up n down that’s the very important thing here nobody is dying.

Sep 5th 2020, 7:48 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: yet

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:39 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: Mr Fkn Doom n Gloom! OK so! Always 1!

Sep 5th 2020, 9:14 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: go back be hind your curtains

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:32 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: The higher the cases, the more likely it’s going to spread to more vulnerable people though.

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:27 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: it takes several weeks to die from the virus

Mute Colm Lawlor
    Favourite Colm Lawlor

Open the pubs, close the schools

Mute aidanshaw
    Favourite aidanshaw
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:53 PM

Never any uodates on recovery numbers.. Posiitive talk maybe…

Mute Billy Donovan
    Favourite Billy Donovan

Dublin will be going into lockdown soon I guess then?

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:32 PM

Lockdown dublin, they’re spreading it like syphilis!

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:44 PM

I wonder is the virus weakening,any ideas or thoughts on that as we still have quite a few confirmed cases every day but very little deaths.
    of course any is too many.

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:22 PM

@Ann Morris Doolan: A very important question.I am surprised that your comment didn’t get far more thumbs up.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:35 PM

I travelled down the canal last night at 22 00 and the crowds sitting on the walls and verges of the canal was huge and nobody was social distancing and I didnt see anyone wearing a mask either

Mute Leo O' Leary
    Favourite Leo O' Leary

Very slow to lockdown the Dubs in fairness

Mute Paul Greham
    Favourite Paul Greham

115 men, 113 women. What were the other 3 ?

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Sep 5th 2020, 5:54 PM

@Paul Greham: alphabet people

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:08 PM

@Paul Greham: Hermaphrodites?

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:16 PM

I’m so glad that Dr Glynn assured us as the virus is under control as we were conditioned to be concerned for double digits

Mute Keith McAvinue
    Favourite Keith McAvinue

Doing great job. Well done.

Mute Sean Dermody
    Favourite Sean Dermody
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:49 PM

Be great if they gave a breakdown of the cases. For example how many are people with symptoms who get a test, how many are colleagues of someone who tested positive and were asymptotic and tested positive? In other words of the cases announced today how many are showing full on symptoms and are contagious!

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:55 PM

@Sean Dermody: while what you say is true, anybody who is down to community transmission, would be symptomatic, as they would have no other reason to be tested. That would make 54 today. Those attributed as close contacts are still carriers of the virus at least and could still spread it unless they are extremely hygenic.

Mute Eire90
    Favourite Eire90
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:28 PM

pubs wont open in two weeks thats a good bet

Mute wburke
    Favourite wburke

More like lockdown Dublin. 231 new cases and morons keep asking for pubs to be reopened. Think of the people who are highly vulnerable to this and stop thinking about yourselves you shower of self obsessed clowns. Maybe if more people wore masks, socially distanced and washed their hands the cases might go down instead of up. Enough with the conspiracy theories already. Viruses do not discriminate they don’t care who you are or where you live.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:35 PM

Still no lockdown for Dublin???
    Government are afraid to close down Dublin again….
    IT’S ALL ABOUT THE MONEY, NOT PUBLIC HEALTH!!!!!

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:20 PM

Throw caution to the wind, open everything up, back to old normal and see what the f!!k happens. Do a tally in late 2022 to see if it was the correct course to take. By the way, I’m not an epidemiologist.

Mute Liam Collins
    Favourite Liam Collins

Where is annie

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:42 PM

Dublin very bad indeed!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella

@Jonnie Marre: it’s population is vast though.

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:46 PM

It’s hard to believe that otherwise intelligent people are still buying into this corona cahoñes numbers game. So, out of tens of thousands of people tested, with tests that will produce positive results for a common cold, they managed to find 200+ cases, the vast majority of them not even showing symptoms. It would appear that some people thrive on drama, even after the drama has proven itself benign.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:00 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: 54 of those found today alone would be symptomatic, as they are attributed to community transmission. Otherwise they would not have reason to be tested. The remaining are carriers of the virus, who could spread it. And also go on to develop symptoms. Could you qoute your source for the test showing positive for the common cold? And which strain, as there is more than 1?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:33 AM

@John Brendan Mullen: 209,778 people dead in Europe and you say “the drama has proven itself benign” What would you call dangerous?

Sep 5th 2020, 6:54 PM

Only going one way ‘ wash yer hands ‘

Mute Ann Neylan
    Favourite Ann Neylan
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:34 PM

Disappointing at the high number of cases today. Not surprising though. We have to try and continue with this novel virus. My opinion is that the majority will survive it…. Very upsetting that the vulnerable wont. :(

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:34 AM

@Ann Neylan: A sad face for the people who die, you must be a real caring person to show the sad face

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50

No good Locking down Dublin… like Kildare people they would just ignore the order and travel outside their area

Mute Greg
    Favourite Greg
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:56 PM

Please lock Dublin down , quick enough to lock Kildare , Laois and Offaly down for less numbers

Mute Donna Hayfield
    Favourite Donna Hayfield

What about the other 3…115 and 113 is only 228

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:59 PM

Testing dead viruses
    Today BBC reports that “tests could be picking up dead virus”, based on comprehensive work by Prof @carlheneghan at @CebmOxford.

Prof @LassYoram, former Israeli Health Ministry director-general, said this three months ago. He was ridiculed and viciously attacked… He was right.

Mute Ger Murray
    Favourite Ger Murray
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:52 PM

Time to put Dublin on lockdown

Mute Michael Clair
    Favourite Michael Clair
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:56 PM

Lock down Dublin??

Mute Naomi Leonard
    Favourite Naomi Leonard
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:48 AM

I work in a school it’s so good to be back but it’s impossible to social distance
    A school with 400 kids
    We just need to get in with it the kids 100% need school for education and especially there mental health.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:52 PM

If they are going to give the number of cases per area they also need to say how many are tested per capita in each area otherwise there is no scientific value to reporting the number cases per area, regardless there little science to only testing people who present themselves there is nothing to be extrapolated from this particular since testing is now much higher than when people were reported to dying *with* COVID-19.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:37 AM

@Joeohah: “with” is not the way Covid-19 deaths are being counted. If it is a contributing factor to the death then it is counted.
    If a person does in a car crash had the virus it is not counted.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:20 PM

On average 83 people die every day in Ireland, 53 them are over 75years, when are we going to get daily briefings or shutdowns to prevent the deseases caused by industrial pollutants!!! It appear some want governments to guarantee immortality before they start living!

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 5th 2020, 11:11 PM

@Joeohah: so your saying they are expendable?

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:45 AM

@Joe_X: what way does your mind work that would lead you to say that – COVID-19 kills multiple times less than all other causes of death but there has not been a shutdown to save those lives – the opposite is the case if you care about life then would advocate for saving lives not just certain particular causes of death.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 6th 2020, 4:35 AM

@Joeohah: but these are problems that have been had for years. Lately people have been using them to rant against the restrictions. My problem with that is that pre-pandemic, these same people did not give a toss about these problems and now only “care” about them as ammunition to give out about restrictions. Also those problems…cancer, cardiac issues, suicide, hospital waiting list and so on….not contagious. Flu has vaccines and before you start saying people cannot access the services….they are actually up and running.

Mute peter doyle
    Favourite peter doyle
    Sep 5th 2020, 9:27 PM

On a serious note, as a Dub. The government need to look at provincial restrictions, the economy needs to get going again, many jobs are a stake and people’s mental health is taking a toll. Open the pubs in the less affected areas(outside Dublin) and let people get on with their lives.
    We are realistically are going to be living with the virus for the next few years , so we have to accept this and try get back to back to some of normality. It’s the little things in life that bring enjoyment to so many.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 7th 2020, 2:15 PM

@peter doyle: As a Dub, I’m inclined to agree. By all accounts, people in several counties are far better at distancing properly, hand hygiene, even masking up – and starving the virus of any chance to spread. Dublin isn’t as good at that. It’s habit. People in other counties have adapted well and got into the habit of taking the best measures to stay free of it. Dublin hasn’t been able to do that.

Mute Bernie Mccullough-Whelan
    Favourite Bernie Mccullough-Whelan
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:13 PM

So if 115 are men 113 are women is the other 3 cases in animals or what

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Sep 5th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Bernie Mccullough-Whelan: people who ticked the “not your business” box on the gender question?

Mute Ray purdue
    Favourite Ray purdue
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:41 PM

No regional lockdown in Dublin no…

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham

Should be able to go straight to be tested without referral from gp as it’s impossible to get an appointment in Dublin unless on deaths door.Its no wonder it’s spreading so much

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Sep 5th 2020, 7:09 PM

Divine retribution.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:03 AM

Dubs wash your hands

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Sep 5th 2020, 6:45 PM

OPEN THE HOSPITALS!!! (When we are Covid-19 free, of course).

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin

Including 118 cases in Northern Ireland in the last 24 hours.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

@Noel Martin: no that’s seperate love

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 5th 2020, 8:06 PM

@Noel Martin: In addition to the numbers in NI which are recorded separately

Mute Steve Hehir
    Favourite Steve Hehir
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:25 AM

Well if you test more people, as they are doing, then you are going to get more numbers!!. Have to wonder what exactly the positive test is actually picking up at this point..

Mute Blinkers
    Favourite Blinkers
    Sep 6th 2020, 9:18 AM

It no surprise cases are rising. With attendance at sports across the country banned all the supporters are cramming in to restaurants and house party’s to watch the event streamed. Our local pub/restaurants have been jammed for local championship matches. If people could attend these games this would not happen. I feel this particular rule has had a negative impact on reducing infection rates.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 6th 2020, 10:39 AM

@Blinkers: Your local pubs and restaurants should not be jammed, watch the game at home

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 7th 2020, 2:17 PM

@Blinkers: Ah no. That’s not the way.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 6th 2020, 5:54 AM

From the title you’d swear the journal was disappointed

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Sep 6th 2020, 1:46 AM

Ye’re all gone mad, I tell ya, mad…

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham

Should be able to go straight to be tested without referral from gp as it’s impossible to get an appointment in Dublin unless on deaths door.Its no wonder it’s spreading so much

Mute Tilden Kats
    Favourite Tilden Kats

Hh