You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/VanderWolf Images

Politicians who don't pay their bar tab will have it deducted from their salary

The Taoiseach encouraged the Oireachtas to investigate how to chase up politicians who fail to pay their bills.

POLITICIANS WHO DO not pay their bar tab will soon have their unpaid debts automatically deducted from their salary.

All TDs and senators have received a letter from the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission outlining a new credit policy for use of the Dáil bar and restaurant.

The letter states that as of the 23 April, politicians will not be able to make any purchases “on credit” without having returned their direct debit form.

It outlines that any debt incurred by TDs or senators will be deducted from their salary at the end of the month.

The change in policy comes after it emerged last year that unpaid Dáil bar and restaurant bills were being written off, with some tabs dating back many years.

A recent Houses of the Oireachtas Commission report disclosed that almost €5,500 in unpaid Dáil bar and restaurant tabs was written off.

There are two bars in Leinster House – one that is open to visitors and one that is only for use by TDs and senators.

There are also a member’s restaurant in Leinster House, which members of the both Houses can dine in, and where visitors can be invited. There is also a cafeteria, which is open to all. Food is also available in the bars.

Leo Varadkar told TheJournal.ie last August that politicians who have not paid their bill should have it deducted from their salary or pension.

“There is a separation between the role of the Oireachtas and the role of the government and I don’t want to be accused of interfering in the role of the Oireachtas. It is absolutely my view that members and former members pay their bills and I would encourage the Oireachtas Commission to look at mechanisms of deducting that money from people’s salaries or pensions,” he said.

At the time, the Taoiseach indicated that it would be more difficult to get the money from TDs and senators who are no longer in office.

“I imagine it is possible to deduct it from people’s salaries, it probably isn’t possible to deduct it from people’s pensions for reasons you’ll understand.

“But I would encourage the Oireachtas Commission to examine that. Everyone should pay their bills, particularly politicians,” he said at the time.

The Houses of the Oireachtas said a “series of efforts had been made to recover the sums due”. The roll out of the new system is the latest effort to get politicians to pay up.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

85 Comments
    Mute Porterkev
    Favourite Porterkev
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:35 AM

And a poll was needed to tell us this?

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:38 PM

True but good to keep it in the news; sadly a lot of people have short memories!

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:53 PM

I can honestly say I don’t trust any politician anymore, come voting day I will struggle who to pick.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:06 PM

Is Enda Kenny trustworthy ?.

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:07 PM

Deff not.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:35 PM

Minsters have it made huge salary,expenses very generous allowances,
    for example €3000 a year for dry cleaning.
    To top that off big cash payment when they retire and pension the rest of us can only dream of.
    They are so out of touch it’s …..

Mute Ciarán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Ciarán O'Sullivan
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:58 PM

The poll is to tell the politicians, otherwise they would never have figured it out.

Mute Kevin Mullen
    Favourite Kevin Mullen
    Apr 5th 2014, 4:13 PM

Like they care what we think

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Apr 5th 2014, 4:17 PM

The problem is not just limited to politicians, civil servants etc. as listed here.

It is every institution with any kind of public interest remit – church, Garda, charities, lawyers – you name it and they have shown themselves to be spectacularly self-serving.

Perhaps we should not be surprised because these top few percent classes in income and wealth have very close social and family ties that spread across all these institutions’ senior executives’ positions.

Ordinary citizens’ interests do not get a look in, as we’ve seen both in the causes of the Financial Crisis itself, and subsequent policies designed to protect wealth interests, not those of majority citizens, who are forced to bear the costs, totally unjustifiably.

And it’s not just in Ireland, this situation pertains right across Europe, in the US & much everywhere.

The world has stumbled along, in denial of this, for decades. Even whilst the rich were getting fabulously richer, whilst ordinary citizens could still feel some gain by unsustainable exploitation of cheap resources and labour from 3rd world countries particularly, the reality of plutocracy – not democracy – remained hidden.

As the saying goes, we find out who our friends really are in the hard times, not the easy boom time euphoria.

The world is now creaking under the triple whammy of increasingly dangerous and costly pollution and their effects, still growing population, and diminishing non-renewable (one-off) resources, especially in vital raw energy, but also in other key commodities too.

Unless we find another planet, identical to this one & some radically easier means of migrating there, this ‘model’ of devil-take-the-hindmost, rule by privileged elites in the exclusive interests of Capital ownership (as opposed to Labour), whilst spinning the illusion of ‘democracy’, only means one result for the masses of ordinary citizens. That is, we are to become increasingly ‘disposable’ – surplus to the needs of the rich.

In essence this is a return to the morality of the 19th century, or even earlier.

Irish citizens should know what this means – and not, in the 21st century, I hope remain stupid enough to ‘blame’ another ‘nationality’, as the elites would have us do, to deflect attention from the real culprits.

I’m talking about the ‘famine’, of course, and the morality of denying food when there was plenty to go round, taken overall in Europe at the time.

This was a deliberate policy decision taken by elites & the British were no worse in this than the Irish or any other elites in the world.

Well, guess what, despite decades of relative abundance for all – hard fought and died for +remember+ by the early social justice and Labour campaigners, never ‘gifted’ by elites – the ruling classes, as I say, most easily distinguished by their reliance not on their labour, rather the renting of money or other Capital assets, underneath the modern veneer of MSM spin are just as self-serving and callous as they always have been.

How many more lessons in the truth of this do we need?

We are all facing a very new phase in Human habitation on planet Earth. If we are to avoid unprecedented levels of increasing levels of brutal repression and/or mass die offs from collapse, we need to radically change the way we organise ourselves – to co-operate and share. Actually value every human life in the way we daily bullsh1t to ourselves that we actually do, but then act otherwise.

The existing systems and structures of ‘public’ interest representation are completely dysfunctional.

Few, if any, of their senior executives should remain in office.

The ‘technical’ answers and alternative structures are all available to us – nothing needs be ‘invented’.

It only remains for a critical mass of ordinary citizens to demand that the process begin.

I think I would start by a mass boycott of any and all further Elections for public office.

None of the mainstream parties are fit for office. Most if not all of the alternative candidates are untried, massively under resourced intellectually, or offer policies that simply have not been able to have the proper public education, discussion, selection and refinement they need to become reliable and coherent policy.

So, let’s send the only message we can at this point that will really hit home – do not go to the polling booth, all of us!

If we do not go to the polling stations, no candidates can claim any legitimacy – let the national debate for real reform then begin properly.

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    Apr 5th 2014, 5:05 PM

Mike,
    I am sure a lot of people appreciate the effort you put into that, but there was really no need

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:31 PM

an we tought Enda, and friends were going to change all this 2 hopes bob hope an no hope

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:04 PM

No no no he’s a sleeven of the highest order

Mute Gary Mooney
    Favourite Gary Mooney
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:44 PM

I can’t even afford to get my suits which are falling apart at this stage dry cleaned. .

Mute De Badger
    Favourite De Badger
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:36 AM

If we don’t trust them why do we keep voting for them?

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:19 PM

And believe figures they put in their reports when it suits

Mute al shamen
    Favourite al shamen
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:12 PM

Ahippo you have shown yourself on these threads to be susceptable to whatever propaganda is issued from the unelected Brussels mob.Stauncly defending unelected bureaucrats with no accountability while repeatedly demeaning and slurring posters who are anti EU.
    Your a hypocrite.

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:57 PM

What has my willingness to challenge your groupthink and belief in British media propaganda got to do with lack of trust in politicians?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:44 AM

The Church, The Government, The Banks, The Gardaí, The Medical Profession, The Directors of Charities. Next – the Judiciary?

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:59 AM

The media should be on that list also, particularly as one man is trying to control most of it.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:08 PM

Too right, Look no further than the Gemma Doherty debacle. She questioned something that wasn’t supposed to be questioned and was suddenly fired. Only the delusional would believe that this was coincidence. It was the work of Denis O’ Brien and, by proxy, Fine Gael. We have a servile media in this country; RTE is a government mouthpiece and the majority of “independent” media is owned by Denis O’ Brien, a man who owes the bulk of his fortune to shady dealings with the Fine Gael party.

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:21 PM

And would you be a FF supporter Bonnie…

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:35 PM

Well said vin though will be interesting to see if your comment is removed!

Mute Jason Davis
    Favourite Jason Davis
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:39 PM

What did Gemma do? Can’t get to the bottom of if.

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:47 PM

Controversy over firing of leading Irish investigative journalist

http://gu.com/p/3tzgc

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:00 PM

She doorstepped the Garda Commissioner to enquire why he’d had penalty points wiped from his licence. She was then made redundant by Denis O’Briens INM.

Sure enough, it was first reported in an English newspaper, just like the GSOC bugging.

Our state is rotten to the core.

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:08 PM

Indo editor, who used to work for Garda Review, also had some “issues” with penalty points. You couldn’t make it up!

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:09 PM

Ireland’s media ignore Irish Independent editor’s annulled penalty points

http://gu.com/p/3j94a

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:11 PM

Anyone notice how the Guardian is supplanting the Irish Times?

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:40 PM

The IT was never great but since Geraldine Kennedy left it has become little more than a rag, it’s certainly not worthy of the title newspaper of record. The Guardian has it’s flaws but is in a different league when it comes to reporting standards. The only Irish paper that comes anyway close is the Examiner, which is a very poor reflection on the state of Irish print media.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:53 PM

Oh yes, Mick Clifford…. Anybody notice how he seems to vary his level of Garda criticism depending on which way the wind seems to blow? It’s a common trait among crime correspondents and perhaps it’s something Ian Baileys counsel pointed out to the High Court… I should have included the media on my (s)hitlist above.

Mute Maureen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Maureen O'Sullivan
    Apr 6th 2014, 4:16 PM

Totally agree.

Mute Dave Mac
    Favourite Dave Mac
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:44 AM

I was at a liquidation auction last Saturday, Garda squad car sat outside all day with a female Garda sitting in the passenger seat, older (senior male) Garda inside bidding all day.

A fine days work done by two members of the boys in blue..

Trust guards! Not a chance!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:46 AM

Snap and tweet.

Mute Dave Mac
    Favourite Dave Mac
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:48 AM

Should have!!

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Apr 6th 2014, 11:21 PM

I say if you did tweet it , you would have got a knock on the door

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:55 AM

Amazed 20% still trust our so called leaders. We’ve a governement to lied their way to power on the back of a goverment who destroyed our economy (the second time FF have destroyed our economy in my lifetime, and I’m not that old), propped up by a labour party who sold out the ordinary working class which replaced a Green party who sold out themselves to stay in power.

Roll on May. SF and left leaning independents all the way……

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:22 PM

You really think that shower of vankers will be any different?

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:22 PM

Who will sell out the working class to stay in power…

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:17 PM

We didnt need a poll to tell us that, i wonder why we dont trust them..Im looking forward to the next Elections, change is on the way and badly needed!!

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:49 PM

Yea but the problem is who now?!?

Mute nicola dixon
    Favourite nicola dixon
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:37 AM

I wonder why we don’t trust them????

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:43 AM

I don’t trust them that why I am running in the locals in Fingal.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:50 AM

…….and this ends the non-Party political broadcast by Malachy Quinn. Success to you Mr Q.

Mute Jason Davis
    Favourite Jason Davis
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:38 PM

To become one of them? I trust Alan Shatter every day of the week before I trust Gerry Adams and SF.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:16 PM

If you want to trust a man who took 6 months to apologise to two people he publicly defamed under Dail privilege and is spoofing his way from one controversy to the next, then thats your own business.

Mute Allan O'Shea
    Favourite Allan O'Shea
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:24 PM

Cause they’re all dirty liars and all have their own agenda. Look at the 2 fake smiles by those 2 idiots in the picture above. Liars. They don’t care about all the people of Ireland. Only the rich ones.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:20 PM

Haha this is no suprise, the likes of scambridge makes people despise these muppets, Obviously designed so they could bring in slave labour for the benefit of their wealthy buddies. No amount of bill cullen-isms would make me work for free. Everyone deserves honest pay for honest work. These vultures have made their bed, hopefully the Irish citizens will have the sense to act accordingly come next month.

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:23 PM

No one deserves to be paid to do nothing, time all lifestyle dolers were made to work 40 hours per week in community

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:18 PM

Rachel pet , then go out and do that community work , instead of sitting at home , writing crap on your PC !

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Apr 5th 2014, 4:05 PM

Whynotme, pet, why not you indeed? Rachel’s point is well made and I suspect she’s a tax-paying worker, contributing to society in other ways. Her tax allows the organs of state to have paid employees who work full time ‘for’ the Community. I pay a huge amount of tax and stress a lot about how to keep the show on the road. I’m happy though that the tax I pay can help those who have fallen on hard times, as I have myself in the past, and would go so far as to say that unemployment benefit should be higher but strictly for those that deserve it, want to work and who spend 9-5 trying to find taxable employment. Equally, I am not happy that my tax is used to help pay the bloated salaries of the likes of Angela Kerins. I believe that very few employees are worth €150k + per year. You want to make that sort of cash, you should make it yourself and certainly not have it courtesy of the tax payer. Your condescending comment suggests that you are not working and can’t be bothered doing so.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Apr 5th 2014, 4:35 PM

Greg ,pet ,why not me ? I do contribute with my taxes ,and like you ,an awful lot ! Rachel is a wannabe troll ! My comment wasn’t condescending ,but yours was !

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 5th 2014, 4:38 PM

“Rachel’s point is well made and I suspect she’s a tax-paying worker, contributing to society in other ways.”

Its a fake account, so you may as well suspect ‘shes’ an astronaut or a fire engine.

Mute Gary Mooney
    Favourite Gary Mooney
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:55 PM

How do you know its a fake account were jammin

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Apr 7th 2014, 2:47 AM

Rachel, then with your proposal- free labour- there will be no jobs for anyone else to get paid from.

Each country has the ability to create its own money- so why not do it and pay every citizen enough for all their human needs and if people want more, then “work” at what they love doing. This would bring plenty of money into our economy- local shops etc.
    Dr Wrennell, criminologist devised such a plan under social justice, eliminate all the civil servants engaged in dole, etc.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:41 PM

Not 1 of them in our government have any integrity. A bunch of people addicted to power and money. Like most junkies others pay the cost of their bad behaviour. To think they are paid higher salaries than those in the Whitehouse or Downing Street is immoral. They are stealing money from the vulnerable to pay their high salaries. Food poverty at its highest in Ireland and these guys are like pigs at a troff. Our local councils are more corrupt than most others in civilised society. The purchasing of services and materials – most of which are a luxury – when people need housing is scandalous. Brown envelopes for all the above.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:05 PM

Looking forward to 2016: The Second Rising – when we kick these jokers out for good and start again. Time to replace the banana republic with a real republic.

Mute PicassoRepublic
    Favourite PicassoRepublic
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:31 PM

Why wait until 2016. Ireland needs a nationalist revolution to focus on protecting Irish peoples interests and dismantle the get rich quick Uber Irish group of politicians, senior civil servants, Business, Gardai and Revenue who are using the country as a blank canvas for their own greed and immunity from any consequences. Few in Ireland have ever voted to see Irish people emigrate while low pay workers and benefit tourists flock to the country, few in Ireland support the idea of our taxes being used to evict Irish families while any deadbeat can arrive to our shores with ‘a story’ and be housed free of charge, few in Ireland support the idea of selling off our assets and increasing taxes to breaking point to pay the debts of failed private banks. FFS there is hardly a ‘charity’ in Ireland which has not been proven to be simply another get rich quick scheme for someone connected to power..

Mute Eamonn McAuley
    Favourite Eamonn McAuley
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:53 PM

Least Sinn Fein will look after the people of Ireland and not shield the rich.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:59 PM

They will yeah….

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:23 PM

And you set up a brand new twitter account just to share that with us ‘donal’.

Good man…

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:22 PM

Shinners sole interest is social chaos, the families of the 2,000 murdered souls know precisely what SF stands for

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:31 PM

Still at FGHQ I see. Hows the latest fake name working out for you rachel/vincent/kevin/touchy/eggy?

Or are you only rachel at weekends?

Mute Vanessa Doyle
    Favourite Vanessa Doyle
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:37 AM

This is news??

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:26 PM

For good reason we dont trust politicians the last bunch screwed the country and the current bunch lied through their teeth to get into power and screwed us even more while telling us things are better.

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:02 PM

I trust nobody any more, afraid to trust myself at this point…

Mute Straighttalker
    Favourite Straighttalker
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:19 PM

Kenny`s a spineless liar and so is his mate shatter so what is their to trust?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:41 PM

I seen a man in a shopping Center handing out leaflets for a ff,re , I really think these fellas have a neck like a jockeys @@@@@@ at the grand national

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:35 PM

I’d trust them as far as I could throw them.
    The current (and last shower) have proven themselves to be self serving liars.

Mute Jason McCutcheon
    Favourite Jason McCutcheon
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:50 PM

There are very few peoole you can trust in this life. You would want to be crazy to trust politicians and business leaders. They only care about number 1. Which is probably normal and more of us should do this “always ask yourself what’s in this for me”

Mute Bill Conlan
    Favourite Bill Conlan
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:43 PM

Politicians ignore polls so this poll will go straight over their heads. They are all too busy planning for retirement after the next election :((

Mute Riff Rafferty
    Favourite Riff Rafferty
    Apr 5th 2014, 7:32 PM

Why would anyone trust the FF and FG/ Lab shower of cants in Leinster House.
    They treat the people of this country like mushrooms.
    Keep us in the dark and feed us sh1te!

Mute Kevin Larkin
    Favourite Kevin Larkin
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:52 PM

It’s hardly surprising really. Most of them have proved themselves untrustworthy in recent years!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Apr 5th 2014, 12:36 PM

I wonder why people dont trust them!

Mute Jean Martin
    Favourite Jean Martin
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:32 PM

Imagine that!!!!!!!

Mute David Gray
    Favourite David Gray
    Apr 5th 2014, 8:42 PM

With all the talk about 100 years since the 1916 rising it really makes me think was it worth it and would those who took part have bothered if they foresaw what we choose to lead us we from what we put into power in this country are not fit to govern ourselves

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Apr 5th 2014, 2:20 PM

Certainly no one trusts any Shinner/Provos

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Apr 5th 2014, 6:46 PM

no doubt we will get soundbites and spin from ppoltical leaders saying how they need to regain the public confidence etc etc based on the poll findings… yet according to bruton and kenny they pay no attention to any polls as they come and go…

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:14 PM

I an saddened that Fine Gael Party whom I thought was a party of integrity, honesty and courage would get involved in telling “untruths” to the electorate!

Why was Bailey “setup”,

Who set him up?

What action has the Minister for Justice taken to disclose the truth!

Why has the Minister not made full disclosure after 2 years in Government?

Time for full disclosure and honesty!

NAMA is still paying “corrupt” developers T the expense of Irish innocent Taxpayers.

Enda has “bowed” to Merchel!

Enda has forgot the the Irish Electorate who elected him!

Why?

Mute dave mike dolan
    Favourite dave mike dolan
    Apr 5th 2014, 3:52 PM

As a business leader, I don’t trust welfare cases. Works both ways :)

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Apr 5th 2014, 4:15 PM

Hello pet :) As you’re a well known troll on the Journal , this can only mean , that you got a bridging loan for your Kool -Aid stand !

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Apr 5th 2014, 11:51 PM

Will you ever stop pretending you’re a big-shot businessman Kenneth (dave mike dolan) you are anything but!!