You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

DailyEdge.ie

Poll: Will you drink alcohol today?

What’ll yours be?

AT THIS TIME every year, the same debate emerges – whether Irish people use St Patrick’s Day as an excuse to imbibe.

Writing in TheJournal.ie today, a former barman argues that Ireland is “hopelessly devoted to alcohol”.

But many people view today as a family day – one of parades, junk food and, maybe, a bit of Irish dancing.

What about you? Will you drink alcohol today?

Poll Results:

No (12543)
Yes (8519)
Not sure yet (2437)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:11 AM

I’ll probably squeeze in a pint this evening. I do have work tomorrow so I’ll drink but not to excess because that’s an option.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:00 AM

Same. Saving my pennies fora few pints watching the Scotland Ireland game at the weekend.

Mute Cabe™
    Favourite Cabe™
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:47 AM

Climbing Muckish Mountain, she’s coming and is less than impressed! Sun is out, enjoy your day!

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:20 PM

Anybody who voted no should have the citizenship revoked.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Mar 17th 2016, 5:48 PM

Ah yes, anyone who isn’t a raging alcoholic isn’t really Irish. Way to perpetuate a stereotype that clearly doesn’t apply to a lot of people living here.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:15 AM

I’m not sure yet, but thanks for that Sinead, it’s only 10:15 and you’ve got me thinking about drink.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:18 AM

Sorry Richard. Here’s a quiz you can do to distract your brain for the next few minutes: http://www.thejournal.ie/st-patricks-quiz-2660722-Mar2016/

Have a great one!

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:36 AM

It’s the day to show the world our cultural heritage ,Swill booze,get drunk,fight,fall down.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:45 AM

I’m Saint Patrick

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:01 AM

Christ! My regard for Journal staff has increased. What a think to put yourselves through for a article.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:01 PM

Rand, don’t forget the gambling and watching British sports teams. Today will have it all, the tourists will be enthralled to get such a genuine insight into our culture.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:09 AM

Remember, don’t drink a skin full tonight and drive in the morning.

Mute tottkingham
    Favourite tottkingham
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:51 AM

Will raise a glass for a dear friend who passed away Tuesday.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:06 AM

Cheltenham and a few pints. Life doesn’t get much better.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:10 AM

Mass and repentance for me.
    This is a holy day, you heathen!

Mar 17th 2016, 10:14 AM

Any tips? I put a few hundred on 2.50 Vautour.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:28 AM

I’d say the yes vote will increase as the morning goes on as most people up this early would have kids and would not have been out on the beer last night,should have a round 2 option

Mute Ivor Hardy
    Favourite Ivor Hardy
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:31 AM

@ John: Bet of the day is Thistlecrack running in the 3:30 in Cheltenham.

Mar 17th 2016, 11:02 AM

Cheers Ivor, stuck 100 on it.. 5/4 fingers crossed :-)

Mute Mary Maher
    Favourite Mary Maher
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:55 AM

100 eu on a horse? I do hope you are not one of those people protesting about austerity! Good luck, hope it wins.

Mute Ivor Hardy
    Favourite Ivor Hardy
    Mar 17th 2016, 7:30 PM

He cashed that bet for €225 Mary.

Mar 17th 2016, 9:10 PM

I won over 700 today. Great day overall. I must admit I took the 100 water grant and I didn’t pay my bill. :-/

Mute Mary Maher
    Favourite Mary Maher
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:49 PM

Well there’s no luck trying to be good! I am giving up the day job and joining you band of renegades!

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:38 AM

It’s a beautiful sunny, but a bit chilly day here in Bulgaria, a normal working day as well. Will watch some of the parade on the comp. Then go and prune a few more grape vines. Have some good Bulgarian wine at hand for later on.
    Happy Paddy’s Day to all in the Emerald Isle!

Mar 17th 2016, 11:21 AM

Happy Paddys day!!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:37 AM

A jockeys breakfast, a ride and a rasher, sure you couldn’t beat it with a stick.

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:07 AM

Most of us have a full day of work tomorrow so no !

Mar 17th 2016, 10:30 AM

I find I work better after a few pints. I’m a freelance gynecologist, mostly work nights.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:35 AM

John, i’m surprised your parents let you out at night.

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen

Why is there a spoon in the picture? I really hope wkd and Guinness isn’t a new fad.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:17 AM
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh

I will be sitting in a sun terrace in the Alps enjoying a beer and celebrating my home

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:26 AM

show off :)

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:35 AM

It’s my office, some offices are just better than others

Mute Bill O'Connor
    Favourite Bill O'Connor
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:10 AM

One or two

Mute Fred
    Favourite Fred
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:34 AM

Three or four…

Mute Keith Fealy
    Favourite Keith Fealy
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:07 PM

I’m in Cheltenham. If I can count to four later I’ll be happy.

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Mar 17th 2016, 7:55 PM

Boring Keith!

Mute P Mc D
    Favourite P Mc D
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:24 AM

It’s my birthday, would be rude not to sneak in an oul glass of Guinness

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:51 PM

Happy Birthday Is your first name Patrick / Patrica ?

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:12 AM

A couple of glasses of vino with the din dins, but not because of the day that’s in it.

Mute Phelim O'Shaughnessy McDonagh
    Favourite Phelim O'Shaughnessy McDonagh
    Mar 17th 2016, 4:07 PM

Vino? Who says things like that anymore? Pffft

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 17th 2016, 4:17 PM

Me

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:24 AM

Working today and early tomorrow so big fat NO.

Mar 17th 2016, 11:21 AM

Haven’t drank for the last four but I’m off tomorrow so yippee!!!

Mar 18th 2016, 12:11 AM

Carlin, you can get crucified next weekend then? lol.

Mute Barty
    Favourite Barty
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:09 AM

Some of us have to clean up the carnage which is created on St Patrick’s day. Have a safe one and don’t drink and drive.

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:01 AM

A few cans at home tonight when the kids are gone off to bed, herself will have the west coast cooler. Have work tomorrow so need to have manners.

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:16 AM

Ah sure it would be rude not to …..

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:16 AM

52% no?
    A few people telling porkies there I think!

And I’m a teetotaller

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:19 AM

Pj some of us have kids. Or just don’t feel like heading out. It a day for teenagers and piss heads.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:27 AM

Agreed

Mar 17th 2016, 11:28 AM

Judgemental much? I will be enjoying the wonderful atmosphere that only our day of celebration to be Irish can be. Yes I may part take in a beverage but I do take your point.

Mute Grinspoon
    Favourite Grinspoon
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:46 AM

Im gonna smoke alot of green instead. I’ve work tomorro cant be dealing with a hangover. Happy Paddies day folks

Mute IrishStoner
    Favourite IrishStoner
    Mar 17th 2016, 3:16 PM

THC all day. Such a far more superior drug than alcohol.

Mute Neville Mc Carthy
    Favourite Neville Mc Carthy
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:33 AM

Absolutely. No work till Monday so I shall indulge in a pint or ten

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    Mar 17th 2016, 1:30 PM

Good question and interesting result. Gave up drink 5 months ago. Hope everyone has a great Paddy’s day with and without drink!

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith

Is the Pope a Catholic?…Unless someone has invented a new miraculous cure for last night night’s hangover Yes!

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:21 AM

Why are even having this poll?? Can the nanny state just go and F off.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:17 AM

Lads, it’s still Lent and our National Saint’s day. Ye should be on your knees saying a decade or 2 after a good, long mass as gaeilge and drinking only black tea, not the blackstuff. You durty heathen prods!

Mute Cormac Doyle
    Favourite Cormac Doyle
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:54 AM

Where is the I wish option?

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish

What time do the off licences open? Is it sunday hours?.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:25 AM

No, I don’t like to celebrate my country by engaging in the worst aspect of our culture! Catholicism and alcohol is a recipe for depression, will enjoy the parade though.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh

Some of us have an ability to have one beer, celebrate Ireland, it’s people, it’s culture and arts and every aspect of Irish history

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Mar 17th 2016, 5:34 PM

It was actually the opposite! Pagan Ireland was leading the way with education and philosophy – Brehon law gave equality to women and living with someone before making a decision on marriage was promoted! Religion stifled enlightenment, promoted inequality, demonised science and made women 2nd class citizens! Ireland would be a far better country today if Roman Catholicism never came here!

Mute nigel murphy
    Favourite nigel murphy

Does a bear shit in the woods

Mute P. ENNIS
    Favourite P. ENNIS
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:27 AM

Would a fat dog fart?

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:43 AM

I will consume one pint of Guinness, half a bottle of Whiskey and a nice bottle of Rioja, – in other words, the usual.

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:46 AM

It’s Cheltenham and yesterday was dole day, of course I’ll be drinking and gambling.

Mute Paolo
    Favourite Paolo
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:41 AM

I expected the option “I’m Irish, of course I’ll drink today”…..

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Mar 17th 2016, 2:23 PM

I’ll be spending the day with my family – I always do, I won’t be drinking as I rarely ever drink apart from the odd glass of wine at Xmas or a wedding etc! You don’t have to drink to enjoy yourself – there will be a lot of people very much the worse for wear tomorrow morning who will regret it but will be bragging on Monday at work on how much alcohol they drank- Sad!

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:53 AM

I must have some booze. I demand to have some booze!

Mute Dylan Prendergast
    Favourite Dylan Prendergast
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:42 AM

No because I had a shitload yesterday.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:13 AM

A few glasses of vino later but likely to be reffing a game tomorrow so need to go easy.

Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    Mar 17th 2016, 2:28 PM

I have things to do so just had a g&t after the local parade. So far the shamrock is only wet but it’s sure to be drowned later .. I hope everyone enjoys the day, irrespective of drinking or not. Slainte!

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    Mar 17th 2016, 4:35 PM

Paddys day is for the kids parents should not bring their kids to the pub today as it is not fair

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:16 AM

Cheers Sinead and happy St Patricks to all…I am having one now…hmmm beer

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Favourite Séamus Longshanks
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:56 AM

Oddly no , not today.

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:14 AM

51% No?

Mute Colm Garvey
    Favourite Colm Garvey
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:25 AM

Sod the lot of ye I’m getting bladdered!

Mute Omar Batistuta
    Favourite Omar Batistuta
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:22 AM

No as I started a course of antibiotics yesterday. If I hadn’t i would probably have 2 pints watching United Liverpool match but cos of the match not Patrick’s Day

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Mar 17th 2016, 1:04 PM

Some of us are working…

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:58 PM

Will have one bottle of beer tonight as am on medication , H ope to confront a couple of snakes today,, local politicians as St. Patricks work goes on ,Keep safe everyone ,

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Mar 17th 2016, 2:14 PM

How many times does a mate ask you out for a pint and you say no, then you end up absolutely blitzed? Do a poll tomorrow on the people who voted No :)

Mute Conor Flynn
    Favourite Conor Flynn
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:47 AM

Working the night shift in a pub tonight so won’t get a chance!

Mar 17th 2016, 11:30 AM

God help you!!

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:21 AM

Ireland has more alcoholics per capita, than it does people. http://youtu.be/_lJbpVmyKgo

Mar 17th 2016, 4:19 PM

Shut your piehole Stevey

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:57 PM

Wait, what?!? “But many people view today as a family day – one of parades, junk food and, maybe, a bit of Irish dancing.” Sure with all the allergies going, loads of parents bring their own picnic along. Bit harsh to equate family time with fast food, isn’t it?

Mute Rachael Baldwin
    Favourite Rachael Baldwin
    Mar 17th 2016, 6:02 PM

Na, hangovers aren’t fun with a 3 year boy. Enjoy responsibly everyone that is drinking.

Mute Peter Flipper Kelly
    Favourite Peter Flipper Kelly
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:38 AM

Some of us do work on this so I can’t

Mute thomas mitchell
    Favourite thomas mitchell
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:55 AM

Does a bear sh#t in the woods

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 17th 2016, 3:38 PM

The people who didn’t drink today Bravo i couldn’t wait for today to have one. Do i sound an alco.

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Mar 17th 2016, 5:51 PM

I voted no then someone said, ” do you want to go for a pint?”. My resolve dissolved.

Mute Steve stevenage
    Favourite Steve stevenage
    Mar 17th 2016, 3:42 PM

Nope…Im DYING from last night

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Mar 17th 2016, 1:17 PM

5HTP… best hangover cure ever…

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Mar 17th 2016, 11:16 AM

Baileys with cornflakes and a large coffee that says paddy’s day to me.

Mute Jaune Fujisawa
    Favourite Jaune Fujisawa
    Mar 17th 2016, 1:05 PM

Il drink to that. Cheers

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 17th 2016, 8:28 PM

Considering I have just read that Enda has had talks with the Green Party of……two I am going to get blathered. Wtf gave him the mandate to do that.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Mar 17th 2016, 1:39 PM

Don’t see why not, though maybe the options should have “only one or two” and another with “on the lash” to differentiate the all out binge that people expect, and the quiet ones that arent going to create outrage later tonight.

Mute Lord mountainbaton
    Favourite Lord mountainbaton
    Mar 17th 2016, 1:51 PM

What is the closing time tonight does anybody know? Volunteering until 9 tonight so won’t bother if it’s 11 closing. Happy St Patrick’s day everyone.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Mar 17th 2016, 2:03 PM

Whenever the money grabbing pub owner says its closing time.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 17th 2016, 10:59 AM

Enjoy the evetyont,.

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:51 PM

After how the first half of my work day has gone, yes!

Mute Dave!
    Favourite Dave!
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:49 PM

@john. You have a lot in common with a pizza delivery driver. You’re both allowed smell it but neither of you are allowed eat it.

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Mar 17th 2016, 2:24 PM

I didn’t even read the article, yes

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 17th 2016, 8:24 PM

After hearing that Enda had great talks with the Green Party of…..two…..I am going to get blathered

Mar 17th 2016, 4:12 PM

Sent the 3 and 4 yr old to bed there. Meself and the missus hitting the boozer now to get trollied.

Mute Ó Muirí Oisín
    Favourite Ó Muirí Oisín
    Mar 17th 2016, 4:31 PM

So at the time of commenting, 51% of voters are liars…!

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Mar 17th 2016, 5:36 PM

No drink no Irish.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Mar 18th 2016, 12:51 AM

A pint and a few whiskeys along with good company.

Mar 18th 2016, 12:13 AM

How many will be poll dancing tonight???

Mute Robert Heffernan
    Favourite Robert Heffernan
    Mar 17th 2016, 12:08 PM

Ill be drinking today not just because its paddys day