You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

You can no longer send any post to the North of Ireland or abroad. Alamy Stock Photo

Poll: Have you sent Christmas cards?

The last day to send post inside the Republic of Ireland is 21 December.

THE LAST DAY to post your Christmas cards and other post is 21 December this year.

Today is the last day to send any post to the North, while the deadlines to send post abroad have now passed.

This Christmas, it is expected that about two million Christmas cards and around one million parcels will pass through An Post’s hub.

With the deadlines soon approaching, with want to know… Have you sent Christmas cards this year?

Poll Results:

Yes (7241)
No (4738)
I'm still planning to (774)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:35 PM

This means Irish people will be holidaying in Europe for the foreseeable future..

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:39 PM

Stop it. People on here are too poor to holiday abroad.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:08 PM

I’m too poor to holiday in Ireland!

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:06 PM

Staying in Ireland is bloody expensive.. Only last week I was checking out hotel prices in New York online , I put my dates in and when the hotels popped up I said to myself “Jasus that’s expensive” Then when I looked closely I realised I hadn’t changed my location from Dublin.. They were poxy hotel prices in Dublin I was looking at.. Then you factor in €5.50 pints, €15 for a burger and trying to entertain kids in the fecking rain for two weeks.. It’s nearly as cheap to go to New York..

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:14 PM

Actually, it’s good If the Euro is weak and more will buy/spend here. Go to Portugal/Spain/Greece, If you need a holiday and Ireland is still way too expensive.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:28 PM

Crap for holidays of course, but brilliant for our export market, which is huge for Ireland

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:27 PM

Is there ANYthing to be said for another mass?

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Favourite Toddimus Maximus
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:41 PM

By mass you mean quantitive easing and false inflation?

Nov 23rd 2015, 12:48 PM

Another MASS EXODUS of immigration Joe lol.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:30 PM

This is generally good for Irish exports as are goods are relatively cheaper to buy, not so good for imports

Mute Nira Line
    Favourite Nira Line

Great for Irish exports though.

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted

More American tourists will come as result, none of them fancied paying $10 for a pint!

Nov 23rd 2015, 12:50 PM

If Yellan puts on interest rates for the dollar then that might effect U.S. business here and therefore jobs???

Mute Connachtabu
    Favourite Connachtabu
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:51 PM

I was charged US$10 for a glass of californian wine in a restaurant in California last week AND had to pay 15% tip on top, bringing it to a grand total of US$11.50! Rubbish sandwich in the airport cost US$9.50 plus tax!
    I think the Yanks will not be shocked by our prices and will be pleasantly surprised by the quality of our food!

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:28 PM

I was in the USA a while back and the prices were off the wall. Couldn’t believe it. Makes here look cheap

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:47 PM

The quality of our food?
    What are you smokin’?

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:12 PM

If your getting a good glass of California wine for 10 dollars it’s worth it. Your probably use to drinking €5 a bottle of Lidl’s best red water.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:15 PM

Oooooh we have a connoisseur here.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:51 PM

How many bogus accounts now I.G.T. green thumbing yourself multiple times .What a sad life.

Nov 23rd 2015, 8:14 PM

Depends on the Dollar Euro strain, QE has created a mess and the U.S. tells Germany what to do and they tell Ireland what to do then, a f….g mess.

Mute IrishGravyTrain

How low will it have to get before the plug is pulled?

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly

Lower than a snakes bollix

Nov 23rd 2015, 12:49 PM

Not too long now I fear and I do fear that…
    https://www.rt.com/shows/sophieco/320457-eu-currency-economy-crises/

Mute Paid_Shill
    Favourite Paid_Shill
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:30 PM

I love Russia Today, it gives me a nice warm sense of panic and paranoia.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:42 PM

Michael. The fall of threat Euro has been bandied about for the past 15 years and guess what its still here. And RT should really look at the Ruble and the Russian economy. Toilet Paper and flushing toilets spring to mind when they are mentioned.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:51 PM

When it collapses. None of these idiots would get rid of it till that happens.

Nov 23rd 2015, 8:20 PM

Don’t go by them alone, listen to Bloonberg as well, the BBC, never put all your eggs in one basket. Look at Dragi now…
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans-Werner_Sinn
    “President of the Ifo Institute for Economic Research and serves on the German economy ministry’s advisory council. He is Professor of Economics and Public Finance at the University of Munich” and that is who was saying that a political union was needed to save the Euro now on that RT programme.
    https://www.rt.com/shows/sophieco/320457-eu-currency-economy-crises/

So it was him Sinn that did all the speaking and not RT BUT YOU DIDN’T WATCH IT DID YOU MICK?

Nov 23rd 2015, 8:38 PM

I fear an Euro breakup that will make the Eurozone look like Germany after WW1… BECAUSE WHAT THEY NEED TO FIX THE eURO WILL BE A POLITICAL uNION AND MANY COUNTRIES WILL NOT ACCEPT THAT…

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee

in good news 1 euro=14.8 South Africa Rands. so cape town and the garden route looks like a good holiday.

Mute andrew haire
    Favourite andrew haire
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:15 PM

Why surprised ?! It’s exactly what the ECB wanted.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:06 PM

For those of you who think that FG/Lab should be commended for the “recovery”, I’d suggest you think very carefully about what this means.
    The Euro will shortly be worth less than the currency of a federation that is renowned for not paying its debts.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:20 PM

The weak euro is working out quite nicely for Irish business, thank you very much.

Not that that had anything to do with FG, Labour etc though.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:27 PM

Joe,
    What you call “Irish Business” is not beneficial to the Irish people.
    The profits created by “Irish Business” would be an incredible boost to our economy if they stayed here. The truth is that “Irish Business” is essentially an offshore laundering operation that benefits a minority of the workforce.
    When the US and EU close the loopholes, what you call “Irish Business” will disappear.
    This government has done nothing and is powerless to prevent that from happening.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:38 PM

Paul. And what of all those thousands of people getting a good wage from those Companies?

Mute Paid_Shill
    Favourite Paid_Shill
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:43 PM

A weak euro means more tourism, increased export opportunities.

I’m not sure if you count restaurants, B&Bs and hotels as part of “Irish business”, but I’m relatively sure that the people employed in these, and other “Irish businesses” are pretty happy with their pay checks.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:50 PM

What are you talking about Paul? We’re not banging on about CT rates here, we’re talking about a weak local currency helping Irish exports.

Irish businesses export a lot. Loads. More than most other countries typically do – in fact we’re reliant on it..

I’ll give you a real example:
    Company I work in Dublin for sells exports almost exclusively. The product sold, as it happens, has almost zero demand in Ireland. Any profits the company makes (or will make), stay in Ireland. The company’s gone through hardship, but the strong dollar has definitely helped it stay afloat.

So yeah, my family finds a weak Euro beneficial.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:28 PM

Joe,
    We’re in the Eurozone because Germany forced us to sign up to austerity measures that now appear were an abuse of their dominance in the Eurozone. We suffered while Germany profited and the end result is no different. Our citizens have been screwed by a government that betrayed them and our economy is no better off. The rich got richer, and after pirating the assets of a bankrupt economy, we now face a similar meltdown, with no bargaining chips.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:34 PM

Wow Paul. That’s amazing how you dig out an old broken record that’s away from the point of what’s actually being discussed.

“Not talking about what I want to rant about? Who cares!”

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:52 PM

Mick..obviously not for all…but for a lot of those companies its been a race to the bottom in terms of driving down salary levels since 2008. I have seen Honours Degree Business Graduates starting on 21k euro a year and working a damn hard 45 hour week to get that too

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:06 PM

Joe,
    The fact that the economy is in a worse shape now than it was 8 years ago is not a broken record.
    While it looks like employment is returning, the quality of that employment should be looked at carefully while the costs of living in this country have made investment here difficult to comprehend without understanding how the Irish economy operates in it’s entirety.
    We are an offshore tax haven run by a corrupt political system and we use emigration as a release valve. We allow globalised corporations easy access to EU markets while enabling their avoidance of any meaningful taxation.
    The people who decide that this must come to an end will not be the Irish electorate.

Nov 23rd 2015, 12:52 PM

The problem with the Euro and the E.U. now is that it is another name for Greed…

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott

Might head to Canada!!!

Mute Rebekah Corbett
    Favourite Rebekah Corbett
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:07 PM

Tell me about it. Changed €350 into sterling on Friday and for a miserable £234 in exchange

Mute Robert Conneely
    Favourite Robert Conneely
    Nov 24th 2015, 1:44 AM

It’s still better than the Celtic tiger years. The euro to pound was .67p to.69p up until 2009.

Mute Luke Evans
    Favourite Luke Evans
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:27 PM

“Daddy what’s a euro?”

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:03 PM

20 pence

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:00 PM

I will never understand why zero inflation is seen as an evil. Inflation is life a raging fire that ravages wealth and impoverishes people. We have put the fire out…and now the lack of fire is a problem??

Look at our own country, 6% growth and zero inflation looks pretty good to me. Similarly, other countries could grow strongly without any inflation. The problems of Italy and France are its embedded structural labour problems. Type of problems that arise from civil servants being the number one job choice of school leavers.

Mute Paul Geoghegan
    Favourite Paul Geoghegan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:01 PM

Some of these comments are hilarious.
    Who decides where to go on vacation based on exchange rates! The US is way cheaper than Ireland too..the cost of beer and wine are not a deciding factor.

Mute Paid_Shill
    Favourite Paid_Shill
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:46 PM

“Vacation”? I don’t know about the yank here, but if hotel prices go up or down by 10 or 20% – that affects my holiday plans.

Mute Paul Geoghegan
    Favourite Paul Geoghegan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 7:00 PM

That’s unfortunate for you.

Mute Seamus Keogh
    Favourite Seamus Keogh
    Nov 23rd 2015, 9:04 PM

I was in Orlando in October and was priced $5.30 for a bottle of bud or 4 for $10!! Wooooohoooooo!!