You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The plan is being introduced by Axa. PA Images

Poll: Would you fix a dash cam to your car for an insurance discount?

The plan is part of efforts to prevent fraudulent claims.

AXA IS TO offer customers a 10% discount on their insurance if they fit a dash cam to their car. 

The Irish Independent reports today that the plan is aimed at attempting to cut down on fraudulent injury claims.

Camera company Nextbase is also to offer a 10% discount on its dash cams as part of the initiative. But is this a good idea?

Poll: Would you fix a dash cam to your car for a motor insurance discount? 

Poll Results:

Yes (11035)
No (2519)
Don't know/I don't have a car (634)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

146 Comments
    Mute Peter Barlow
    Favourite Peter Barlow
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:04 AM

10% discount is not good enough. All premiums limited to €250 if you have a clean record and then I might be interested.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:11 AM

@Peter Barlow: past my test in the uk in 1978 – passed my advanced driving test 2 years later – NEVER had so much a a parking ticket ,speeding fine or penalty point, my car is always nct’d taxed and insured – fully comp with 70% n.c.b — im with axa for more almost 20 yrs in ireland and yet im still paying over 600 euro a year for a 05 car that is only worth ‘scrap ‘ value ! as part of the eu i dont see why we cant insure our cars outside of the state – i could get the same cover abroad for less than 300 euro !

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:24 AM

@Eric Davies: you obviously have not shopped around. You can get a policy much cheaper than that.

Mute Conrad Shields
    Favourite Conrad Shields
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:35 AM

@Tony O Neill: I shop around and I still can’t get a cheaper deal.

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:11 PM

@Eric Davies: identify as female and see if the price goes down

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:46 PM

@Eric Davies: The value of your car is largely irrelevant when it comes to setting your premium. The majority of it is based on the risk that you will be involved in an accident and have a claim made against you. The older your car, the more likely this is.

Mute Marcella Treacy
    Favourite Marcella Treacy
    Nov 14th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Eric Davies: Axa are so expensive..was with them for a couple of years..not any more,The AA are very reasonable..

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Nov 14th 2018, 4:52 PM

@Eric Davies: yeah I thought that the common economic area would include accessing services from continental companies. Sure ar3nt they all underwritten by Lloyds in London? So how come the companies can be insured from London but Joe soap cannot?

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 14th 2018, 5:48 PM

@Dick Face: i cant afford a newer car and the one i have is perfectly fine – mechanically it is very good order ,it passes its nct every time without issues because i have it well looked after – regularly serviced and maintained , so why should i change it ? so long as it is roadworthy and able to pass an nct i dont see why insurance companies should be allowed to increase my premiums – i have a very good driving record – no accidents ,no claims ,no points or fines in 40 yrs of driving – more if you take into account that i had a motorbike before i passed my driving test – insurance should be based on the driver and the drivers ability and record -not the age of the car ,so long as it is road legal !

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 14th 2018, 5:54 PM

@Tony O Neill: i have tony – and axa actually came out as one of the cheaper options – the big insurance companies here are all subsidiaries of the big banks -aib and boi or an post — ebs wanted over 900 euro – 123,ie wanted nearly 1000 – quote devil was over a grand and others would not insure because the car is over 10 yrs old – i cant afford a newer car and the one i have suits me fine – its only a 1.1 ltr — the problem is not me or my car -the problem is we as a nation are ripped off by insurance companies be it for car ,house life or health insurance .

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 14th 2018, 5:59 PM

@Donal McCarthy: 40yrs without any claims ? i dont see how that makes me a bigger risk — if im ‘involved’ in an accident it is most likely to be with some gombeen with a newer more ‘modern’ car who thinks they own the fecking roads !

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 14th 2018, 6:00 PM

@Marcella Treacy: tried them in july when my renewal was due – they were dearer than axa , were all being ripped off !

Mute Bobo Bogojevic
    Favourite Bobo Bogojevic
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:21 PM

@Eric Davies:
    ;-)
    well you are mathematically fit to be statistically bigger risk with each new year LOL ;-)

Mute sequoia
    Favourite sequoia
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:15 AM

Have both a front & rear facing

3 pieces of advice:

1. Turn off sound recording. No need for it.
    2. Don’t get a gps enabled one. Your speed can be worked out from it.
    3. If ever involved in an accident, don’t ever disclose you have a dash cam until you’ve reviewed the footage. The other side doesn’t need help to prove you were in the wrong.

Are axa going to supply the camera because a 10% discount is only worth about €30 to me.

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:25 AM

@sequoia: Is your insurance only €300, Nice, good for you.

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:25 AM

@sequoia: Do you know if the law can seize a dashcam from witnesses to a collision and/or involved drivers?

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:26 AM

@sequoia: The premise of your advice seems to indicate that if an accident occurs you expect to be at fault.
    Perhaps you should address your driving habits if a dashcam will prove you’re wrong.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:22 AM

@Grotmaster: they can.

Mute sequoia
    Favourite sequoia
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:40 AM

@David McShite:

I don’t expect to be at fault but unfortunately was involved in an accident several years ago where the other person was at fault and it was still found that I was “contributory” even though they hit me on my side of the road.

Apparently I should have swerved out of their way onto the pavement.

No harm in ensuring that you’re in the right. A crash is going to cloud your thinking in the immoderate aftermath. Get your thoughts together and review footage before submitting it.

Mute Chris Riordan
    Favourite Chris Riordan
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:23 PM

@sequoia: they can still work out your speed without gps enabled. Speed = Distance/Time. All they need to do is see how long it takes the car to cover a known distance in the video. Simples.

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:59 AM

should be fitted to all new cars

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:29 AM

@Flippermac: nope! will eventually be used against you.

Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:40 AM

@Flippermac: GDPR?? Maybe I don’t want to be filmed while walking down the street.

Mute Philip Morgan
    Favourite Philip Morgan
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:42 AM

@iohanx: How can it be used against somebody ?

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:45 AM

@Ger Buckley: well then you should use the sewage canals to walk arund. Filming in Public is legal.

Mute Stefan Epure
    Favourite Stefan Epure
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:56 AM

@Ger Buckley: What dose data protection legislation have to do with the fact that you are already being filmed walking on the road?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:56 AM

@Flippermac: Only with consent, this isn’t a police state (yet).

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:05 AM

@Will: “we have to bow to the realisarion that none of us have the right not to be photographed in a public place….” recent judges comments!

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:05 AM

@Tony Harris: realization

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Nov 14th 2018, 5:07 PM

@Philip Morgan: If you were in the wrong, and your dash cam shows it

Mute David peate
    Favourite David peate
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:50 AM

have one fitted almost 2 years now

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:21 AM

@David peate: I wouldn’t. If you forgot too switch it on for whatever reason and you had an accident, the insurance company would use it against you and try not to pay out even if you were in the right.

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:22 AM

@Peter Cavey: they turn automatically when your car turns on

Mute Pete Brady
    Favourite Pete Brady
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:28 AM

@Peter Cavey: I got one free with my insurance same price as if I didnt get one, discovered afterwards yes you must show it in event of an accident. I rang them wasnt too extreme it didnt invalidate the insurance just increased excess by 180 quid. My car doesnt power down the 12v sockets when engine is off by design so in my case I do need to plug it in and out each time which is a pain.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:47 AM

@Pete Brady: What model car is it to not shut down everything to save the battery, I know all Citroen / Peugeots will power down anything that’s in use after 30 mins after engine is turned off.

Mute SlinkyDog
    Favourite SlinkyDog
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Me_a_monkey: thats one scenario what if the hnit fails or the sd card is corupt? Happens quite alot and not everyone knows how to check this stuff…

Mute Pete Brady
    Favourite Pete Brady
    Nov 14th 2018, 3:23 PM

@brendan H: Porsche Brendan. Sockets always are alive. Always need to be careful to plug chargers etc out.

Mute michael h
    Favourite michael h
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:46 PM

@Pete Brady: I’ve got a Skoda and it has a permanent feed to the sockets as well. I used a splitter on the fuse for the rear wiper and this then supplies power to a 12v socket. This is all next to the fuse box so is out of sight. I fed the cables from the dashcam behind the car trims and plugged it in. Works perfectly and switches off with the ignition.

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty
    Nov 15th 2018, 12:02 AM

@brendan H: Older Mondeos (09) doesn’t auto power off

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:54 AM

I got one last Summer after a HGV with a heavy load pulled out in front of me on to the fast lane on the M1 North bound, he didn’t hit me only because I slammed on my brakes and served, it was too close for comfort though.

Mute John Mullin
    Favourite John Mullin
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:09 AM

@Brianán McBride: did you serve him dinner or with a warrant? Only joking…#swerve. It’s not nice when that happens but at least you know your heart is working properly afterwards…. a lunatic decided to overtake 4 or 5 cars AND A LORRY AT THE FRONT that was approaching me and even though I had to jam on the breaks hard, I still don’t know how she managed to squeeze between me and the lorry as the lorry passed me. My heart was beating louder than the radio until I got to work that morning #heartracing

Mute Pete Brady
    Favourite Pete Brady
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:32 AM

@John Mullin: ‘brakes’ lol sorry John I couldn’t resist after reading your post.

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:38 AM

@Brianán McBride: The ‘fast lane’?

Mute Brianán McBride
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:08 AM

@Noel Kelly: over take lane of which I only ever use when over taking.

Mute John Mullin
    Favourite John Mullin
    Nov 14th 2018, 2:55 PM

@Pete Brady: when the ball is there to be hit, you gotta swing that bat. Nothing to be sorry about…. “swerves” me right!

Mute Pete Brady
    Favourite Pete Brady
    Nov 14th 2018, 3:24 PM

@John Mullin: Hahaha

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:55 AM

But then they’d know where I hide the bodies…

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:18 AM

@Don Juan: Killing insects doesn’t count.

Mute Dave C
    Favourite Dave C

I have one the last 2 years and worth the money. If nothing else it makes you a more careful driver because you know you are being recorded.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Dave C: I have one for a good while too and have a collection of fine examples of dangerous idiots behind the wheel. I’m told that if you post the vids you need to be careful to blur the reg or you’ll get legal threats. It must be a growth industry for the pond life lawyers.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:02 AM

Given recent activity in Irish airspace can we also have them in planes

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:32 AM

@Richard Day: I think that busting an alien for drinking and texting whilst flying a UFO and warping from the scene of an accident could be problematic.

Mute oldon
    Favourite oldon
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:54 AM

Have dashcams fitted the last 6 years. They have paid for there cost 10 times over. You be foolish not to have one. There is no Gray area when you have HD footage for the most part.
    But 10% Axa having a laugh. Wasn’t of time they just load your policy some other way.

Mute Ananya Sharma
    Favourite Ananya Sharma
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:09 AM

@oldon: You had a few tips?

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:20 PM

@oldon: 10% every year soon adds up.

Mute oldon
    Favourite oldon
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:39 PM

@Ananya Sharma: hi Anaya.
    Just the one. My car was hit by a car on the wrong side of the road. Cost just shy €1000 worth of damge. All caught on the cam. The cam cost my €50 at the time.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:11 AM

So If my dashcam breaks while driving I become uninsured??No thank you.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:17 AM

Should be a Cam at Insurance Companies profit margins and how they continue to raise premiums for unfounded reasons !

Mute Killawalla Killjoy
    Favourite Killawalla Killjoy
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:23 AM

Drop my premium by at least 70% and I’ll consider it.

Mute Vivienne Ward
    Favourite Vivienne Ward
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:22 AM

Brianan mcbride you clearly haven’t a clue and i would urge other drivers to install a camera to protect themselves from you There are no fast lanes in this country just a driving lane and an overtaking lane. In the case of a three lane carriageway its a driving lane, first overtaking and second overtaking lane. In all cases once the overtaking manoeuvre is complete you should return to the driving lane Based on your statement it is clear you were driving in the overtaking lane and the poor truck driver who is limited on speed and struggling to meet delivery schedules got fed up waiting and was unable to access the overtaking lane because you were loitering out there in the false belief that because you are doing a speed that you regard as “fast”, you have a god given right to remain there

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Vivienne Ward:
    They’re actually named
    Minor road – Lane 1
    Dual Carriage Way – Lane 1 + 2 (inside, outside)
    Motorway – Lane 1, 2 + 3 (inside, outside 1 and outside 2)

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:20 AM

@Vivienne Ward: have to jump in – this leap frog rubbish by the articulated trucks should be banned like the rest of Europe – they go 80kmh max and should never overtake anyone.

We’re only part of the EU when it suits FG

Mute Ronan McKeon
    Favourite Ronan McKeon
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:47 AM

@Kamshafft: maybe you’re a t…..

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:03 AM

@Vivienne Ward: Based on his statement it is clear he was in the overtaking lane Overtaking something when a lorry nearly caused a crash by not paying attention. I think he has more of a clue then you…as he was involved and not you? Also, a professional driver should drive safely irrespective of their work commitments, yes?

Mute Brianán McBride
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:32 PM

@Vivienne Ward: FYI I only ever use the over take lane when over taking, I moved in to the over take lane leaving plenty of room between vehicles as I’m aware of the drivers blind spot, this driver didn’t indicate and cut in in front of me, I slammed on my brakes and swerved to avoid a collision. Due to my misuse of a word you choose to insult me not knowing all the facts showing your ignorance.

Mute Brianán McBride
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:38 PM

@Dan: I’m a she

Mute Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86
    Favourite Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:51 AM

Do they supply it or do you have to buy one?

Mute PATO DUNNE
    Favourite PATO DUNNE

It’s for your own sake to have a dashcam. There are way more cars, bicycles and pedestrians than ever before. They’re not too expensive either for the job they do.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:20 AM

if the insurance company supply it then yes otherwise for a measly 10% then no

Mute Eternally Eternal
    Favourite Eternally Eternal
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:28 AM

I theory it sounds great but, you are basically doing the Insurance Company’s investigation for them. If you’re in the wrong, or even slightly liable, the evidence on the cam will be used, potentially against you.

If you fail to keep your cam turned on and can’t provide the footage required, you’d risk a policy voidence. But yay, 10% discount!!!

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:41 AM

@Eternally Eternal: I think it could be beneficial in the long run if it drops average premiums overall by weeding out fradulant claims

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:57 AM

@JC: do you honestly think insurance companies will start dropping prices if fraudulent claims decrease? I seriously doubt it. They’ll just enjoy higher profits and that’ll be that.

Mute Scottyal
    Favourite Scottyal
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:24 AM

@Eternally Eternal:
    I know of a few car accidents that dashcams have saved car owners a lot of money .

Mute NBarrett
    Favourite NBarrett
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:04 AM

More expense by the insurance companies if you ask me. 10% reduction of already over inflated premiums by them. The country is full of cctv as it is and now they want you recording your every move

Mute Scottyal
    Favourite Scottyal
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:12 AM

Yes.
    For the last three years I did have a dashcam and getting no discount I paid over 200 euros at the time for it and it certainly made a huge difference. I can recall one occasion where a driver was stuck to my bumper behind and would not move back tried all of the messages to get him to drop back a little bit but to no avail . I then swung the dashcam around so it was recording his style of driving as soon as he realised he was on camera he dropped back by at least two car lengths . For some reason after about two years the dashcam packed in and was told it could not be repaired I am going to invest in another one.

Mute Scottyal
    Favourite Scottyal
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:21 AM

@Kamshafft: I never stay out on the outside lane on a motor/Dual W for obvious reasons this incident I am referring to was on a very narrow and dangerous country road but very little traffic I do not use my m/b while driving and I have BT I also avoid this as its still a distraction I hope you are satisfied with my answers to what started out as a dashcam thread only you desided to put in your own idiotic questions to me . You should pick up a hobby.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:50 PM

@Kamshafft: presumptive? You just made up two contributing factors and put them too him. ‘Hogging fast lane and browsing mobile phone’ and then call him presumptive. Maybe he was juggling oranges and singing a boyz to men song. I dunno. Or maybe he was just telling a story regarding his dash cam. Weird

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Nov 14th 2018, 4:40 PM

@Kamshafft: yes and i was pointing out how ironic that was when you had made previous presumptions to his story. Also ‘mustnt be able to understand English properly’. it’s mustn’t or must not. More irony. Thanks for that. Also that’s not really how AKA is used.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Nov 14th 2018, 5:25 PM

@Kamshafft: Hahaha. I look forward to it. Enjoy your day.

Mute Alan foggorty
    Favourite Alan foggorty
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:27 AM

It’s just another way our privacy is being eroded. Go ahead people you get your dashcams but be warned it will be used against you one way or another.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:12 AM

Always had one. Worthy investment

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:20 AM

@James O’Brien: genuine question. How is it a worthy investment? Intuitively I think they may be a good idea, but I’d be interested in knowing how they improve things for the average, non commercial driver rather than just record instances if bad driving

Mute Brianán McBride
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:32 AM

@James O’Brien: I asked James to advise me on a good brand which he done. They are a very worthy investments as Guards often ask for dash cam coverage of incidents/accidents, they provide proof with no doubt if for example someone driving in front of you suddenly slams on their breaks causing you to rear end them for a false insurance claim or indeed the HGV driver who pulled out in front of me, if he hit me I would have proof it was entirely his fault.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:21 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: OK.. If people all had them fraudulent insurance claims would cease and premiums go down in fact the other day some muppet tried to say I hit his car and I took the dashcam out and he was found out there and then. These work when parked too and you can get more advanced ones with sensors that start recording say if someone tried to break into your car. No you tell me me why its not a worthy investment.

Mute Brianán McBride
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:29 AM

@James O’Brien: James gave me advice on a dash cam when I asked him, I got one after a HGV pulled out in front of me on the M1; only I slammed on my brakes and swerved he would have collided with me. Also if a vehicle suddenly slams on their brakes in front of you for the reason of making a false claim your dash cam will prove who was at fault. The guards/police regularly ask for dash cam footage of accidents/incidents.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Nov 14th 2018, 4:56 PM

@Brianán McBride: dashcam for the win

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:43 AM

should be part of all standard car equipment, front and rear

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:03 AM

Given that we have drink driving laws .
    Our roads have improved
    Safety belts
    Driving tests for everyone
    NCT on all cars
    Spot checks on tyres
    All to improve safety in the last 10 year’s
    We will all get dash cams and they Will find some other way to make us pay more
    Why have incurance never came down?
    They are a little like the banks can’t be trusted

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:24 AM

Yup already have one for the last 2 years, so far haven’t needed it but have seen plenty of atrocious driving on it

Mute Sportmad
    Favourite Sportmad
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:51 AM

I was involved in an accident where a driver pulled out in front of me on a rd about I hit her and as I hit her back corner I was deemed responsible and she got 45k crazy if I had a camera it could have been used.

The way money is given out in claims is a joke sort that out and the accidents and premiums will fall..

Insurance companies don’t want to go to court….

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:12 PM

sounds like it would come with a lot of terms and conditions attached and quite possibly previous data unrelated to a claim would be used as justification for non-payment. With insurance companies you always must ask yourself “what’s in it for them?”

Mute Niamh Ní Dhonnchú
    Favourite Niamh Ní Dhonnchú
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:54 AM

AXA are too expensive to begin with. Rope you in the first year with a good quote and then double it the following year. I have never found them competitive. 10% discount is not enough!

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:13 PM

I fit one last year to our car. Bought off amazon and took 10 minutes to fit.
    My missus had a fender bender on a roundabout during the summer. Another driver was in the left lane and wanted to go right.
    Their insurance said there had to be an investigation as the stories conflicted and this could take 3 months. We got our solicitor to send images from the dashcam and it took them two days to accept liability. Paid for itself.

Mute Jimmy Pea
    Favourite Jimmy Pea
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:44 AM

I have one two years and wonder how I ever survived without it. There are nuts out there driving these days.

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin

The dashcam also provides entertainment especially on a long journey, particularly when the kids are singing and and arguing among themselves. After the trip I remove the SD card and play the contents back on the TV their reaction does be amusing, but now when they know the dc is on they have become much quite leaving me to concentrate on my driving.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 14th 2018, 6:09 PM

@Kamshafft: He said that they watch it later, at home. No one has a three-inch television at home.

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:17 AM

Great idea that should put manners on bad drivers, it should be made law that all cars are fitted with cams in front and back.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:46 AM

I would if they were prepared supply it. Otherwise it’s just another motoring related cost I don’t need

Mute Seán J. Troy
    Favourite Seán J. Troy
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:13 AM

Not for 10%.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:07 AM

Dash cams need to be mandatory and checked through an NCT system

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:10 PM

@Thomas Meaney: Good idea. People get a discount for having a burglar alarm, so this is similar.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:47 AM

It had better be a lot more than 10% though. That’s derisory.

Mute Bob Earner
    Favourite Bob Earner
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:31 AM

I don’t like the idea of anyone having access to the information on my driving.
    I know I could be described as an aggressive driver.
    I know I exceed the speed limit.
    And though I’ve never been in an accident I’m not arrogant enough to think it couldn’t happen nor that it could very well be my fault.
    And even if it wasn’t…… no guarantee I’d not get in sh!6 for how I’d driven prior to any incident.

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:32 AM

Yes and I already have one.

The question though is, say the dashcam fails to record for whatever reason while you are in an accident. What would the insurance company’s response be?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:05 PM

@Reuben Gray: Oh, I imagine they’d increase your premium to insure the dashcam.

Mute barbara1
    Favourite barbara1
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:41 AM

How much to have one installed?

Mute Sluggermctugger
    Favourite Sluggermctugger
    Nov 14th 2018, 12:19 PM

@barbara1: cost ye 30 euros on Wish.

Mute Handsome Dan
    Favourite Handsome Dan
    Nov 14th 2018, 10:23 AM

My advice. Get a full final quote with insurance company…….then say you have a dashcam. But 10% is terrible. Mine cost me €110. I’f only get €40 back if they cared which they don’t.

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:04 PM

@Kamshaft: for your information, the footage from the SD card is inserted into a USB device and video is displayed in 16.9 mode with 30 second continuous clips, and then the card is reformatted and ready for the next journey and the dc continues to carry out the function it was intended for.

Mute Roisin O' Reilly
    Favourite Roisin O' Reilly
    Nov 14th 2018, 3:49 PM

Got one two years ago and it’s caught someone reversing into my parked car, and a yellow reg driver trying to ram me off the road! Definitely worth the money!! And Black Friday is coming up folks get one on the deals

Mute NBarrett
    Favourite NBarrett

How about those who have them and those who “want” one have a list of the best type and maybe suppliers etc

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Nov 14th 2018, 3:08 PM

I’ve had one for years with no insurance discount necessary. The peace of mind is worth every penny.

Mute Thomas Troy
    Favourite Thomas Troy
    Nov 14th 2018, 3:13 PM

During the abortion referendum a woman kept tearing down a poster that was placed on a pole outside her house in a small village but I couldn’t prove it was her so I parked my car across the street from her house and left the dash cam running so I could catch her in the act, she spotted the dash cam and made a complaint to the guards, and said I was invading her right to privacy, when the guards contacted me and I explained the situation they told me I wasn’t breaking the law as I have a right to protect my property but asked if I would move it in the interest of peace and harmony which I agreed to do. Two days later my poster was gone again. She obviously wasn’t a fair minded woman as everyone is entitled to their opinion, anyway she got her way in the end. Sorry if this has nothing to do with car insurance just another use for the dash cam.

Mute eamonn farrell
    Favourite eamonn farrell
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:28 PM

a woman cut in front of me at a roundabout in naas.I beeped because i thought she was going to hit me..She stopped ,got out and started to abuse me.i let her rant,then showed her my dash cam and asked if she wanted to call the gardai,she couldntt get away quick enough.Nasty woman !!!

Mute Stephen Nix
    Favourite Stephen Nix
    Nov 14th 2018, 2:30 PM

Depends. A real discount or the kind of discount i normally get. “You have recieved a 20% discount”….but price has gone up.

Mute Kipper O Keeffe
    Favourite Kipper O Keeffe
    Nov 14th 2018, 4:47 PM

You have to buy a dash cam from there supplier
    Cost you more than discount

Mute Colm Smyth
    Favourite Colm Smyth
    Nov 14th 2018, 4:49 PM

I’ve had a dashcam for years, first a Nextbase and now a YI as the Nextbase broke. It’s poor show that AXA have chosen to restrict users to just one dashcam maker

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 14th 2018, 6:10 PM

@Colm Smyth: There you go, they will probably charge another 5% to insure the dashcam.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:35 PM

There should be more cameras on the roads. Guards only just getting technology to check insurance!… ridiculous, Last time I drove in the UK a decade ago they had done away with any need for paper in the windscreen, all automated by camera, we’re pathetically inept.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 14th 2018, 6:16 PM

@thesaltyurchin: What do you mean? For years Gardaí have been able to check if a car is insured. Friends and I have sometimes been given faded printed labels, or the sticker didn’t arrive on renewal, and if stopped, the Garda simply ran a check from his car and confirmed that the car was fully covered. After business hours too. Maybe they need to do more checks, but they are catching uninsured cars.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Nov 14th 2018, 6:23 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Absolutely, by stopping a car and checking, which is a massive waste of time and resources. They’re only being automated now, so now (or soon) they can check with a camera from… Wait for it!… a ‘central database’, everybody’s information, tax, insurance, etc. Should (and will eventually) be sourced from a numberplate via a camera, ie no need for paper.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 14th 2018, 8:15 PM

@thesaltyurchin: Yes, no, I agree on automation. Sorry, I hadn’t read the previous article about the handheld devices when I wrote that. As you say, it makes sense to only stop the cars that aren’t insured.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:07 PM

Miserable offer

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Nov 14th 2018, 5:46 PM

So long as it’s a choice of the car owner and not forced by the state I have no objections.

Mute Simon Doyle
    Favourite Simon Doyle
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:10 PM

I pay €500 insurance so 10% discount when the cam will prob cost that or more is no incentive – should be at least 25% discount, free fitting and half price dashcam – or something like that.
    Another half arsed attempt to appease the public from that crooked industry.

Mute Dave O'Looney
    Favourite Dave O'Looney
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:11 AM

They’d have to listen to my shit singing.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Nov 14th 2018, 11:49 AM

@Dave O’Looney: They only save a recording if you press the record/save button, and usually only about the previous 30 seconds.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:06 AM

C’mon autonomous vehicles!

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Nov 15th 2018, 1:10 AM

@Kamshaft: nowhere in the comment was there ever a mention of the dashcam being used in the car for the kids entertainment. The memory card was removed from the dashcam from the car and brought into the house so the data could be viewed on a large TV screen. To clarity once again, the dashcam records the activity which occurs on the public road everytime the car is been driven and the footage is never viewed in the vehicle.

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Nov 14th 2018, 9:11 PM

@Kamshaft: the footage would be screened on a large TV screen (55 inch in this case) via a USB card reader. I hope this clarifies the matter for you.