You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of people outside Temple Bar Alamy Stock Photo

Poll: Should tourists in Dublin be charged a tourist tax?

Edinburgh introduced a tourist tax last month and expects this to generate around €60m annually.

FINE GAEL TD James Geoghegan has called for the introduction of a tourist tax in Dublin.

Speaking in the Dáil yesterday, Geoghan said the “accommodation levy” would help fund the rejuvenation of Dublin city centre.

Last month, Edinburgh introduced a tourist tax and the city expects this to generate around €60m annually.

Geoghan said the tax would work by imposing a 5% levy on accommodation providers, 2% of which goes back to the provider to pay for the “administrative burden of applying the levy”.

“Ultimately what we’re talking about here is a couple of euro on a sector that is thriving,” said Geoghan.

So in our poll we want to know: Should Dublin have a hotel tax for tourists?

Poll Results:

No (5588)
Yes (3474)
Unsure (430)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

118 Comments
    Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:16 AM

Sure,tax tourists while meanwhile rolling out the red carpet for illegal immigrant criminals facing deportation from other European countries who flee here knowing our border ‘controls’ are a farce. You couldn’t make it up!

Mute Nurse On Call.
    Favourite Nurse On Call.
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:19 AM

@Jonn: yes!! 1 billion housing fake illegals yet they want to charge the actual people who spend money.

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:29 AM

@Nurse On Call.:
    Exactly. Funny how in all the acres of coverage last weekends stabbing in Dublin received no mainstream outlet has gotten around to mentioning that the victim was facing deportation from Italy on rape charges,and fled here because he knew our non-existent ‘vetting’ system wouldn’t ask any awkward questions! Ireland is broken!

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:42 AM

@Jonn: nevermind the many stabbings prior, but they’re white victims so who cares I guess… PoC? RACISM IS ALIVE AND KICKING!!!

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:48 AM

@Nurse On Call.: so true this is absolute disgraceful. The government spending money like confetti imagine €1 billion and they dedicate 450,000,000 to housing bunch of chancers.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:50 AM

@Jonn: it’s not broken we just been run so badly for so long. It’s like a circus act we are definitely the clowns of Europe the way we are being treated.

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:58 AM

@Bren:
    Neither the victim or the suspect in that stabbing should have even been in Ireland, if our wretched useless government was doing its job! Both had criminal records, for rape and drugs respectively, both were here illegally! Expect to see a lot more of this kind of stuff until the authorities finally wake up and get their act together! But hey,let’s tax tourists, that’ll fix things!

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:35 PM

@Nurse On Call.: If they are fake illegals that means they are legally here! Loving your brainpower.

Mute Fool Hunter
    Favourite Fool Hunter
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:36 PM

@Jonn: any legitimate source to that claim?

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:52 PM

@Jonn: Loser.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:54 PM

@Jonn: There isn’t a shred of evidence to back up your claim about the victim. You fools are compulsive liars and the clowns that lap it up are just as bad.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:55 PM

@Tony: I’m afraid your reasoning and logic are wrong.
    Most people with single digit intelligence would have figured out that the post you refer to infers that they are not genuine asylum seekers – (fake), with the clear implementation that they are in the state illegally.
    I hope that helps your comprehension, but can I suggest that you get an adult to read it to you slowly

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:59 PM

@Jonn: what’s next

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:23 PM

@Ian:
    And here come the useful id@ot NPCs,right on cue!

Mute Fool Hunter
    Favourite Fool Hunter
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:31 PM

@Jonn: what about illegal immigrant Rory Carr also charged

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:03 PM

@Nurse On Call.: Seriously hope you’re not actually a nurse. I’d be worried about the safety of foreign nationals or new Irish citizens in your care, particularly those of a darker skin tone.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:17 PM

@Nurse On Call.: Now the immigrants don’t have the means you see? Hence, if you are a tax collector, you ask those who have.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:55 PM

@Jonn: You know that those from other EU countries who live here are quite entitled to and are not illegal immigrants?.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:27 PM

@Tony: He was here illegally – he was an illegal alien in Italy and therefore he should have classed as an illegal immigrant here. He was wanted in Italy because he raped a woman there. He was on the deportation list but fled here. I have no problem with asylum seekers coming from war torn countries, I do however have a problem with anyone who arrives here without a passport or any form identification and they should be put straight back on the plane and sent back to where they come from as per the European illegal immigrant policy which clearly states that this should happen.
    It makes me laugh that they can vet immigrants in 24 hours but it takes weeks if not months to vet Irish people who want to work with children.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:28 PM

@Jonn: It was reported in the media here – you just didn’t see it. https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/asylum-seeker-stabbed-death-dublin-31025389

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:46 PM

@Ann Reddin:
    That applies to people who are citizens of an EU country, Ann, not refugees/asylum seekers/ illegal immigrants whatever your preferred term is! Go back to sleep,Ann!

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Feb 21st 2025, 7:54 PM

@Jonn: enough with the illegal migration muck. . Get off the bandwagon.

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 8:35 PM

@ian:
    Illegal immigrants..illegal immigrants..illegal immigrants..illegal immigrants..Illegal immigrants…does that term bother you ,Ian, would you prefer the bland and innocuous ‘undocumented migrant’? There, is that better?

Mute W Kienan
    Favourite W Kienan
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:39 PM

@Jonn: the drink prices are tax enough!!!!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:14 AM

Sure aren’t they already paying enough for astronomical room rates,price of a pint in Temple Bar and the cost of a basic meal in any run of the mill restaurant. This will kill the tourist industry. I’m going to Malta next month. 3 course lunch in a Michelin restaurant,€35, or €45 3 course evening meal. 4 star hotel,€38 per night. Hire a car for 7 days for €17 per week!

Mute Niall Boyle
    Favourite Niall Boyle
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:40 AM

@Larry Betts: I hear the grub is like rubber in those Michelin restaurants

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:44 AM

@Larry Betts: Temple bar is NOT Dublin,it’s a part of it….there is a large city surrounding it and plenty of other things to do r than go in there.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:45 AM

@Niall Boyle: At least they don’t need to over inflate their prices.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:50 AM

@John Paul: The Guinness Storehouse is probably the most visited tourist attraction in Dublin,therefore lots of tourists around that area. They’re hardly going to hop a bus to Templeogue or Fairview to get cheaper gargle and grub

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:54 AM

@Larry Betts: I assume when you go to Malta you will pay the Hutu tax on your room?

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack

@Jack: city tax even

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:17 AM

@Jack: €5 maximum per week. Not too bad considering how cheap everything else is. 3 pints for a tenner? I’ll take that

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:01 PM

@Larry Betts: I was in town for a gig recently and was in a pub just off south great George’s street(in the heart of the city)and a pint of Guinness was 5 euro….plenty of decent bars around that are not rip offs like temple bar.

Mute Paul West
    Favourite Paul West
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:26 PM

@Larry Betts: Enjoy the cheap prices

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Favourite JoeJoe Kilbride
    Feb 22nd 2025, 11:41 AM

@Larry Betts: if you were earning the Maltese average wage then those prices would be expensive.

Mute W Kienan
    Favourite W Kienan
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:41 PM

@Niall Boyle:

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:47 PM

@Larry Betts: 38 a night for 4*? A load of fiction that is, even in the off season. Malta is generally cheaper but you are exaggerating

Mute Nurse On Call.
    Favourite Nurse On Call.
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:22 AM

Are they absolutely thick? It’s already extortionate to stay, eat and drink in the city. Plus, the lovely picture of the illegal tents is enough to put any tourist off. Are they trying to make some money to pay off the fake asylum seekers bill of 1 billion. You couldn’t make it up. The shops are already giving out about foot fall loses with the Green Party policies, no1 goes into town anymore, it’s not safe at night but yeh taxi the few tourist that
    Comw to Dublin for a night or two!!!

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:41 AM

@Nurse On Call.:
    Geoghegan is from a very wealthy, privileged background..mummy and daddy supreme court Judges..so probably thinks nothing of paying rip-off prices for hotels and dining etc, it’s just small change to him! Meanwhile every day small restaurants and cafes shut up shop for the final time!

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren

@Jonn: 100% sure there you go that’s a brilliant comment. It’s only a pocket change to them

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere

@Nurse On Call.: tourism is firmly in the sights of the green agenda…inch by inch.

Mute BarryH
    Favourite BarryH
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:22 PM

@Jonn: What is wrong with being wealthy, who doesn’t aspire to that. Most who are, have worked hard to get there, including judges. Although, there are exceptions to every rule. Slagging off immigrants to make yourself feel superior (not you Jonn) is really sad.
    Every European City charges it, and rightly so, if it is directed to improve Security, tourism, amenities, etc.
    The Hotels are the real rip-off merchants, tripling prices when it suits them and then crying about VAT rates. Apart from a bed for the night, they contribute nothing to the tourist experience, not even a ceili session.
    This country has so much tourist potential and even though it is in their interest to develop it, they sit back and count their profits in the hope that the Govt will subsidise their businesses.
    Ironically, the underpaid immigrants who contribute to hotel profits are the ones who get the blame from some posts.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Feb 21st 2025, 7:56 PM

@Nurse On Call.: another muppet on the immigration bandwagon. Getting tired now. . . Big yawn

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Feb 22nd 2025, 11:45 AM

@Nurse On Call.: no one goes in to town any more? Well obviously not you as you’d know this to be false if you did. I work, shop and socialise in the city and live just a 20 minute walk from the GPO and it’s nothing as bad as you people who live no further than your computer screens claim it to be.

Mute W Kienan
    Favourite W Kienan
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:44 PM

@Nurse On Call.: the yokes who come up with these “schemes “ need firing , badly
    They are the ruination of Ireland

Mute Niall Boyle
    Favourite Niall Boyle
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:10 AM

Haven’t they been paying the Temple Bar Tax for years?

Mute Fynn
    Favourite Fynn
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:18 AM

Tourists should be paid to go into the city centre these days, it’s not REAL IRELAND

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:51 AM

@Fynn: ‘Not real Ireland’?…..Yeah and the fake orish stuff that ye put on is?

Mute G
    Favourite G

Absolutely not. Dublin is already a massive rip-off for tourists. It has lost its charm altogether, too.

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:47 AM

@G: Ireland is a rip off,fixed it for you.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:52 PM

@G: And yet they still holiday here and enjoy themselves. You might want to travel and see how expensive other European cities can be so a few quid extra in a tourist tax won’t make a difference to numbers coming to Dublin. But sure it is just another thing for people like you to moan and complain about. Does it not get boring being constantly angry?

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:12 AM

It’s already a rip off

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:19 AM

Instead of dealing with housing health and cost of living crises these ffg entitled wasters ape whatever news stories from other countries to deflect,

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:56 AM

@Robert Halvey: I think it’s time we need to get out on the streets and forced these wasters out of government because they are not working for us
    Anymore

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Feb 22nd 2025, 11:48 AM

@Bren: we did get out on the streets – we voted only a few months ago yet you think the government should be ousted? You don’t believe in the democratic wish of the people

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:40 AM

They’re already paying high taxes off VAT in tourist hubs where everything is overpriced…

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:46 AM

All the comments below going on about how much a rip off dublin is…Ireland as a whole is a rip off,That’s why very few people holiday in Ireland because it’s such a rip off.I was in kenmare a few years ago and it was every bit as expensive as Dublin.

Mute Seamus Enright
    Favourite Seamus Enright
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:20 AM

Only tourists from the US, unless they can prove they didn’t vote for Donald Trump.

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop

@Seamus Enright: But accepting (male) welfare scammers from countries where women are stoned to death is fine? You people are absolutely insane, you know that right?

Mute Thomas O'Brien
    Favourite Thomas O'Brien
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:11 PM

@Seamus Enright:
    Why would they need to reveal who they voted for, it’s nobody else’s business.
    Nice where’s Wally hat by the way.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:15 AM

Should be required to take out insurance at least. Maybe even obliged to hire bodyguards.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:57 AM

We should be paying them ffs

Mute Ciaran Enright
    Favourite Ciaran Enright
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:22 AM

They should be given armed escorts.

Mute david bagnall
    Favourite david bagnall
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:12 AM

Scrap the plastic bottle and can tax and replace it with this and I’m all for it.

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:08 AM

@david bagnall: a reclaimable deposit is not a tax. If you do not wish to pay it, simply return the bottle / can and get your money back.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:56 AM

I often wonder what goes through the minds of people at The Journal who make these polls up.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:14 AM

@Daniel Skelton: Just wait for the annual chestnut, the pancake poll. An integral part of the Journal’s news cast.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:21 AM

@Patrick MC Dermott: Pancake Poll. A. Do you toss with your left hand B. Do you toss with your right hand C. I couldn’t give a crêpe

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:23 AM

@Daniel Skelton: it’s not difficult to understand.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:56 PM

Should pay tourists to stay away for their own safety.

Mute Timo
    Favourite Timo
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:52 AM

THE Only thing these clowns can come up with is more taxes.
    More fees and taxes DO NOT SOLVE OR FIX ANYTHING
    Any chance of more common sense.

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:20 AM

This should be a no-brainer. A tax of 5 Euro or less per booking would hugely help to finance the running of the city and would make very little difference to our already stiff hotel prices. A definite yes from me.

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:34 AM

@Richard Barrett:
    No it wouldn’t.. it would just be pi@#ed against the wall like most of the tax money they take in! Maybe it would go towards hiring a ‘diversity consultant’ for the 2 billion children’s hospital that doesn’t have any children,or painting rainbow logos on the half million bike shed that doesn’t have any bikes..the possibilities for waste are endless!

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:19 AM

@Jonn: That’s where you are wrong. I’m certain that our government have several , hitherto unknown ways to waste money. I hear they are going to spend 93 million on in armoured cars, but there will be no-one to drive them. The contract price is €93 million. I just wonder what the final price will be!

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:01 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott:
    I’d say you could double it for a start,and after that the sky’s the limit. And this for vehicles that will never serve any useful purpose other than to be rolled out on Paddy’s day parades.

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:04 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: would you prefer our defense forces to take to their pushbikes?

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:39 AM

Charge them a tax on the beating they have the opportunity to get ..

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian

@Sickof thisshit: Clown.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:24 AM

Well…If their country is charging us…it makes sense to reciprocate!

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:15 PM

Of course it’s a Fine Gael TD that’s proposing yet another tax because they’re not content to just take money off Irish people. Tourists are not some infinite well of easy money that governments can simply tap into without consequences. When you introduce a tax on visitors, you make Ireland less attractive as a destination. People will go elsewhere. They’ll take their dollars, euros, and yen and spend them in places where they feel welcome and valued. Taxing tourists is like slapping a “do not enter” sign on your economy, and you don’t need to be a genius to know that fewer people will choose to visit a country that’s become more expensive. Tourism doesn’t just affect those working directly in the sector, it touches every corner of the economy. This is an absolutely terrible idea.

Mute Thomas Potter
    Favourite Thomas Potter
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:58 PM

Aren’t they already paying a tax.?.
    As soon they get into Dublin it’s tax everything they do..????

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Feb 21st 2025, 7:53 PM

Seriously? Who can afford Dublin as it is. I can get a holiday on the continent, flights & accommodation, for the price of two nights in Dublin.

Mute S banter
    Favourite S banter
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:06 PM

The poor sods get fleeced enough when they visit.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:54 AM

Gaza looks a safer bet now well done FFG

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:59 PM

@Kevin O Brien: a complete joke this so called government

Mute I Am
    Favourite I Am

Yes. I personally tjink we should just hand up our wages, in return for a tent with bread amd milk as sustinance
    The houses we lived in, but not owned can be share between the vulture fund groups and asylum seekers. A more prominent arrangement of whats already in place.

Mute Emily Dalton
    Favourite Emily Dalton
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:32 PM

Hotel rooms are expensive as it is. With it being targetted at tourists. It would be passed on.

I was looking today at hotels in Dublin for a night and the 3 places I like were 140, 185 and 225 for one night for a single person which seems expensive

Mute Harry Callahan
    Favourite Harry Callahan
    Feb 21st 2025, 7:42 PM

As if they’re not being fleeced enough with exorbitant hotel prices along with the cost of drinks and eating out. I was considering a staycation this year in an aparthotel. Cost per night for one bed, kitchen, lounge and bathroom was €249. Instead going to Spain, aparthotel, front line to beach for €85 per night. Why anyone would want to come to Ireland baffles me.

Mute Greagoir O Duinn
    Favourite Greagoir O Duinn
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:04 PM

Funny that the journal has used The Temple Bar photo as a header. Remind everyone how much a pint is in there? The tourist is ripped off enough here. I’m surprised we still have a tourist industry with the extortionate cost of visiting this country

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:14 PM

@Greagoir O Duinn: Dublin is expensive but it’s still considered cheaper than other capital cities such as London and Paris

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:19 AM

Mad comments. Government offers to finally tax non Irish people and we’re up in arms, lol. Tax the hell out of them I could care less.

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:03 PM

@Thesaltyurchin:
    People that come here to spend money and create employment, while getting fleeced and scammed at every turn! When the multinational money tree starts to wither we might regret the years of neglecting our once lucrative tourist industry!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:56 PM

@Jonn: See you continue to talk shyte. Our tourism numbers were up 6.7% last year and growth is expected to continue. New hotel openings, new hotels granted planning permission but you persist on talking out of yer hole about things you so clearly know nothing about.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Feb 21st 2025, 8:49 PM

@Ian: ‘Tourism’?? Oh yeah alright Ian… are they all coming over on camping holidays??

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:30 PM

@Jonn: Stage-dos come to drink from the fountain of Irelands’ biggest tourist attraction, the cead mile failte was always a marketing scam.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:00 AM

Bring back the airport passenger tax, a tenner in and a tenner out.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:23 AM

@P. V. Aglue: Bring back the Hokey Cokey tax. One leg in. One leg out.

Mute Toca Stories
    Favourite Toca Stories
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:04 PM

Taking 5% and giving 2% back to the private tax collectorsso the actual tax collected is 3%……no thanks. Save the beaurocracy…sounds too much like the bottle return scheme to me.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:39 AM

The topics being discussed by the media outlets are like the wheels of the bus,they just go round and round. Can’t wait for rte 1 and newstalk to chime in later today

Mute Alan Smith
    Favourite Alan Smith
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:10 PM

They’re already taxed on every cent they spend ffs

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:23 PM

So the government wants to tax tourists when the actual money they pay for the tax is now not going to be spent in hospitality or an attraction or shop. Tourists pay their taxes already when paying for said things.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:37 PM

The problem with this is, as I see it is that it would not be used for the benefit of Dublin.
    Just like the LPT raised in Dublin, is not spent in Dublin. If it was we would be in a much better position!

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:22 PM

Maybe tourists should pay for protection when there on hols here. Might keep them safe

Mute Fred
    Favourite Fred
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:14 PM

Dublin/Ireland is overly dependent on American visitors. Plus serious safety issues in Dublin in particular. Until these matters are addressed properly there should not be a tourist tax imo.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Feb 21st 2025, 8:59 PM

@Fred: Exactly and it’s embarrassing enough as it is to provide directions to enthusiastic US tourists to say the Maldron on Dorset Street… knowing they’ll prob get mugged en route before they get mugged by the hotelier for €300 per night. They book online being promised that they’re within 5 minutes walk on used needles and human faeces from our Capital’s main thoroughfare. Only to get there and realise that their view is of the Granby Centre, a brothel and the glorious Dorset St. flats… yay what a beautiful City:)

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Feb 22nd 2025, 12:15 PM

@Donna Fallon: the Dorset St flats were demolished, shows how much you know about the area.

Mute D White
    Favourite D White
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:01 PM

They should be issued with a stab proof vest.

Mute Michael James Brennan
    Favourite Michael James Brennan
    Feb 21st 2025, 8:23 PM

per person?. per room?,non irish passport ? what are the parameter’s ?

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:38 PM

Imagine considering that! CRAZY! Do we not want a tourism industry?? Tourism performed so poorly last year, and you now want to make it even more expensive to come here. Wow!! Maybe offer a 10% discount on flights/accom to tourists coming from abroad, this would make more sense, show casing our country to even more people and boosting the economy further (although it’s flying for years now).

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:21 PM

You’d make more if you charged Tourists to get out of the kip !!!

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Feb 21st 2025, 8:15 PM

Why is the question only posed to Dublin and not the whole country

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:00 PM

@David Fox: Eh it’s hardly a ‘good news story’ about Dublin.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:19 PM

Why not? Then we can add on what we could call a “tax tax” and that one will be just because. In addition throw in a B&B live-in levy, plus a closer-you-get-to-the-city-centre tax the more you pay. Then, to protect visitors, a security tax to be wasted on some other quango. Hell, we’re just getting started.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:55 PM

@Patrice Ahern: You must hate holidaying in Europe where they all have a tourist tax. From Jan 1st Paris is €8.45 per person, per night.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:13 PM

@Sal Paradise: no, not at all, we visit Germany 3 to 4 times each year. However, adding yet another tax, just for the sake of it, really is the limit. Does it ever end? One tax after another after another.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:43 PM

@Patrice Ahern: It’s a tax for tourists to pay. Are you a tourist in Dublin? Could make an exemption for Irish citizens.

Mute Seriously Really
    Favourite Seriously Really
    Feb 21st 2025, 11:16 PM

Blah, blah… People here illegally… Let us not forget the 100s of Irish living illegally in other countries… Like the US.