You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rollingnews.ie

Poll: Will you be attending an event over the 1916 centenary weekend?

The next three days will see celebrations in Dublin and across the country in commemoration of the centenary of the Easter Rising.

THE WEEKEND IS finally here.

After months of anticipation, and also a deal of politicians trying to outdo each other in ‘claiming ownership’ of the Easter Rising, the commemoration of the centenary proper will kick off in Dublin today with a wreath-laying ceremony at the Garden of Remembrance.

That will set the scene for three days of celebrations, mostly in Dublin but also around the country, with RTÉ running Reflecting the Rising on Easter Monday, touted as the biggest public event Ireland has ever seen.

600,000 people are set to travel to Dublin for the celebrations according to estimates, but will you be among them?

We’re asking: Will you be attending an event over the Easter Rising centenary weekend?

Poll Results:

No (9758)
Yes (3614)
I don't know yet (1507)
I'll be there all three days (228)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

121 Comments
    Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:31 AM

Where’s the ‘Depends on the weather’ option :-)

Mute Alexander Chapman
    Favourite Alexander Chapman
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:49 AM

Or the yes I fancy sitting for 3 hours in my car cause there’s no luas

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:51 AM

Who cares bout the greedy Luas!! Get a bus!!

Mute Alexander Chapman
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:09 AM

Where I’m the bus service is poor , plus I don’t fancy standing at a bus stop anyway with the weather that’s expected

Mute paul compton
    Favourite paul compton
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:11 AM

The 1916 leaders would be so proud of you.

Mute Alexander Chapman
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:25 AM

Yes cause it makes me more patriotic if I sand at a bus stop in the p!ssing rain doesn’t it ya clown

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:52 AM

@Paul The 1916 leaders would be rolling in their graves whilst simultaneously scratching their heads at the state of things.

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:56 AM

So the bus service is poor but you have a Luas stop nearby?

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:57 AM

Brilliant gene !!!

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:47 PM

Dublin Coach provide an excellent inexpensive service people should try it.

Mute Mark Nugent
    Favourite Mark Nugent
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:58 PM

Did I say I had a luas stop nearby ? No Luas means more traffic on the road heading to the city centre . Entender ???

Mute Alexander Chapman
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:05 PM

Yes you did , on a thread last week . You were giving out about the drivers . Why was my other commemt removed !

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:56 PM

Take the bus !

Mute Alexander Chapman
    Mar 26th 2016, 3:35 PM

Take a hike !

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:10 PM

Dublin bus are throwing loadza xtra buses on for the 3 days.

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Favourite Jack Falltrades
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:35 AM

I would go if the political parties didn’t have such a big influence on it. I just don’t feel like spending my weekend hearing skewed versions of our country’s march toward freedom.
    I’d imagine they were people who the establishment of the time treated similar to the water protestors of today. Ridiculed at every opportunity.
    And now that same establishment want to tell us their version of events?! No thanks.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:13 AM

Equating 1916 to Water Protests?!

Tell me you’re having a laugh….

Mute That's Bo!!ox
    Favourite That's Bo!!ox
    Mar 26th 2016, 6:02 PM

He didn’t equate 1916 with water protests, he equated the ridicule with which the establishment treated both.
    What age are you?

Mute soft
    Favourite soft
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:39 AM

Yeah I can’t wait till the 24th of April.

Mute Patrick Foley
    Favourite Patrick Foley
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:45 AM

Personally I am not that interested, as Jack says it will too politicised and not much about the real ordinary people involved. On another topic, how come most of your poll results rarely add up to 100%.

Mute Gerry with a J
    Favourite Gerry with a J
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:59 AM

To be fair, asking a load of people who seem to spend all day commenting online, are they going to go out on Sunday to the parade, it’s hardly surprising the majority are not!

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:06 AM

Didn’t realise it wasn’t possible to comment and be somewhere at the same time…

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:26 PM

I’d like to thank the Luas drivers for pinpointing this weekend to cause as much disruption as possible to Irish patriotism and the nations centenary celebrations. Well done lads ye bunch of wasters.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:57 PM

I hope that they all get their marching orders on Tuesday morning and show us that the Luas management do have the balls to do their job.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:20 AM

Yes, but not a state one. I’d rather ignore commemorations organised by a gorvernment utterly embarassed by and ashamed of, 1916. For those going, enjoy your big screen videos of bono/bob geldoff/ian paisley, enjoy the big banners of John Redmond. And enjoy being fed the line in the speeches that the 1916 rising was about achieving a glorious 26 county partitioned land and that this somehow constitutes Irish Independence.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:21 AM

Are ye feeling a bit left of it in the UK there Tyrone, don’t worry sure there is always the 12th.

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:40 AM

You’re so predictable Rod. Same old hateful comments in every article.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:55 AM

Tyrone, nobody is ashamed of our past. It is just that for most of us the present is far more important without shackling ourselves to what some people would have us believe.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©

Where’s the hate?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:08 AM

Ah right Chris. So that’s why an Easter Rising commemorative video made no reference to the Easter Rising? Cos we have to concentrate on the present? And the John Redmond banner is about the present too then, yeah?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:16 AM

Good lad TEG.

Put on your Celtic Jersey, buy the 1916 Tracksuit from Sinn Féin’s online store and visit the propaganda fest in the Ambassador Theatre where you can spill some of your Dutch Gold for the Hunger Strikers of the 1980s.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:33 AM

The entire event is about Commemoration. Nothing more, nothing less. It’s not about people using it as a excuse to vent anger and hatred.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:48 PM

Exactly Tyrone, tragedy of the past is a tool to gain wisdom, not a guide to rule our lives.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:19 AM

Nope. Walking about in the cold and rain being underwhelmed is not my cuppa tay.

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:55 PM

Your definitely not in the army so.

Mute Sean Gillen
    Favourite Sean Gillen
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:11 AM

There’s a load of reasons not to go in: 1. Luas strike 2. Uncertain weather 3. Too crowded 4. 4 young kids 5. I’ll watch it on the telly. All have crossed my mind. However I feel the least I can do is attend in person and pay my respect to the men and women who made the ultimate sacrifice for their country

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:30 AM

Most towns around the country holding events and parades. Think I’ll support local in the true spirit of the rebellion.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:50 AM

The rebellion was almost entirely confined to Dublin

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:20 AM

That’s strange because I’m pretty sure almost every town across the country has a connection to the rebellion. Would you care to name one or two towns that didn’t some part?

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:53 AM

Fact check :
    1) Home Rule had been legally established in 1914
    2) there were no British regiments in Ireland in 1916,
    3) the 1916 Rising was directed solely at Irishmen, who for the most part didn’t join the army to defend the UK, but to fight for Belgium and Home Rule.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:14 AM

So you think Home Rule for the entire island was going to be granted even though the unionists were armed and the army were on their side. Another fact check by the way, the men who fought in 1916 did NOT want Home Rule.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:24 AM

That’s not what he said

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:44 AM

There is little to celebrate that the men of 1916 would want to be remembered for. We haven’t even got a staple government to sort out the crisis of homelessness, emigration and rural de-population. Even the banks and transport companies are screwing us.

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:29 PM

In the absence of a staple government, would you settle for a sticky-tape one?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:51 PM

Do we have a choice Jim……

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 3:42 PM

It seems to me that the men/women of 1916 wanted a lot of different things, including: socialism, nationalism votes for women, anti conscription etc, etc…..

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 26th 2016, 4:57 PM

Its called democracy chris..

Mute Rosie Murray
    Favourite Rosie Murray
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:40 AM

I just think there’s going to be trouble in town…

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:00 AM

No, it’s turned into shinnerfest 2016

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:17 AM

Sinn Fein organise events every year in every county to celebrate the Rising, as they are doing this year so nothing new there. What is new though is the other political parties taking a once off interest.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:23 AM

The great revisionists have claimed the 1916 as there own, not withstanding they have only been about since 1969.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:33 AM

Oh right I could sworn that they were the same SF party, well that’s what every FG/FF/Labour hack keeps telling us. They are constantly telling us that the SF party never actually took part in the Rising so which is it?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:49 AM

The other parties Paul get on with the job of running the country, while Sinn Fein are living out a distorted version of Ireland’s history.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:55 AM

Chris you just contradicted your above statement where you said we don’t even have a stable government today, get now you say the other parties get on with the job of running of the country. I could swear the two biggest parties refuse to go into power together….

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:59 AM

The Sinn Féin organisation was founded in 1905 by Arthur Griffith. It took its current form in 1970 after a split within the party (the other party became the Workers’ Party of Ireland), and has been historically associated with the Provisional Irish Republican Army (IRA). It’s kind of like saying baseball and rounders are the same thing.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:04 AM

Paul there is no contradiction in saying that the other parties get on with the job of running the country. Presently we have a caretaker government. It wouldn’t be the first time that this country was governed by a minority government and there is no reason why that couldn’t happen again.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:18 AM

Thankfully, SF/PIRA are being sidelined and ridiculed for the vile minority that they are.

This weekend is about the Irish people, with thousands of events, culminating in a parade by the defence forces of this proud nation.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:02 PM

Diarmiud/Leo somebody must be doing something right when the likes of you try and pass yourself of as Irish.

Mute PhotographybyMeAÒb
    Favourite PhotographybyMeAÒb
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:42 AM

It is disrespectful and an insult to those who fought in the Easter Rising. One of the men who are among other so called leaders on this banner, was John Redmond. He was not a leader, he stole money from the volunteers to purchase weapons and ammunition. This traitor persuaded irish men to join the British Army to fight against their own. You all know who the real heroes are?

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:37 AM

No as I prefer gandi ‘s non violent option. Principal of non violence gained Indias independence !

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:54 AM

I know, sure a few peaceful protests and the Brits would definitely have left. How did none of them think of that?

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:09 AM

Scotland had a vote on independence last year. They didn’t have to kill any one!

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:15 AM

Conor are you seriously trying to equate the world of 1916 and 2015 as the same, good God man please tell me you’re taking the piss?

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:21 AM

Is India free or not? Peacefull non resistance won then that!

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:29 AM

Conor three years after the Easter Rising the British massacred 1,000 peaceful protestors in India in Amritsar so stop trying to compare apples and oranges. That was their attitude to peaceful protest back then!

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:33 AM

India had a long road to freedom and it was far from peaceful at times. You should read up on it some more it’s actually very interesting and not what I expected. Although some of the massacres carried out by the British were easy to fathom.

Mute Seán O Maolduin
    Favourite Seán O Maolduin
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:36 AM

India was partitioned against it’s will, which lead to widepsread death and destruction.

There is a pattern here.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:49 AM

The NICRA were peaceful. They were shot dead in the streets

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:59 AM

Comparing India to Ireland seems rational. They were both tiny colonies with small populations right beside the heart of the British empire.

Mute Fergal Gillespie
    Favourite Fergal Gillespie
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:05 AM

You’d really have to know feck all about the history of the Indian subcontnent in the 20th century, outside of inspirarional Ghandi quote memes, to describe it as peacefull.

From widespread secrarian violence, ethnic cleansing and mass displacement that lead to partition, to the numerous Indo-Pakistani wars, the genocide of Bengalis and the Bangladesh war of liberarion, it was about as far from peaceful as its possible to be.

Makes the conflicts involced in Irish ideoendence look positively tame in comparison.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:10 AM

@Conor O’Neill,
    The people of Derry tried peaceful protest and were massacred on the streets.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:14 AM

The NICRA were indeed peaceful. They were also very successful in achieving the civil rights that are enjoyed in NI today. Although they were attacked (verbally and sometimes violently) that did not deter them or prevent their success.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:46 AM

Home rule was being democratically called for since 1870, the democratic non violent path was ignored by the lords and didn’t work. Also the you can’t compare the Irish problems to Scotland or India, they are all totally different situations. Scotland voluntarily signed up to the act of union, Ireland signed up through force of arms, treacherous bribery and bloodshed.
    The flawed Irish Parliamentary Parties route was also undemocratic as women weren’t allowed to vote thus they had no mandate and didn’t represent all the demographics.
    The revisionists would have you believe that an ungrateful Ireland bit the hand that fed it, but the fact is Ireland’s history of violence was brought to these shores.

Mute Ross Costello
    Favourite Ross Costello
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:40 AM

No, but only because I’m working. I’d love to be there on Sunday for the parade

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:46 AM

Commemorating killing is not my idea of the actions of a civilised society.

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:51 AM

Neither is watching porn but that doesn’t stop you!

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 26th 2016, 10:57 AM

Leo so what you are saying is 99% of the worlds countries are not civilised then, clown!

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:04 AM

I think he’s saying that celebrating killing is not civilised

Mute Fergal Gillespie

Yeah, it’s not like anyone died at the Battle of the Boyne. When Leo’s marching on the 12th, he won’t be celebrating any killing. That would be uncivillised.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:20 AM

It is uncivilised

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:46 AM

Why is it that anyone who disagrees with the events of 1916 is suddenly a loyalist?

Mute Fergal Gillespie
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:58 AM

So what country is “civilised”, in your mixed up world view? Certainly not the British, what with Waterloo and Trafalger day. Not the Americans either, cause they love to throw a good party every fourth of July. Can’t forgot about the French and Bastille Day. Then there’s Defender of the Fatherland Day in Russia. Army Day in India. Yom Ha’atzmaut in Israel. Simon Bolivar Day in multille Latin American countries. Just about every single country is Europe acknowledges Armistice Day in some form. I could go on and on.

But you’re missing the point entirely anyway. Its not about celebrating killing. Its about commerating our history and our past. Cultural contextualising of out shared past, and how it has shaped and defined the country of today. And our history, like the history of every single nation on the planet, like the history of our very species itself, has its monents of violence. Its impossible to avoid.

The self loathing Paddy stuff is really contemptible.

Mute Fergal Gillespie
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:00 PM

Not saying everyone is, just Leo. He’s most certainly a Loyalist.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:07 AM

I couldn’t watch those traitors who have turned us into a Third World economy, hijack the memory of the brave patriots who gave their lives for Ireland.

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:14 AM

Should have fireworks like 4th of July in America, and maybe some barbeque

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:33 AM

Interesting Easter statement from imperial grand wizard Drew Nelson in the Belfast Telegraph.
    Drew has a problem with Catholic civil servants wearing ashes on their foreheads, Catholic paraphanelia on their desks plus they spend too much time Monday mornings talking about GAA matches.
    Jesus wept.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 3:32 PM

Drew Nelson appears like his namesake Horatio, not very accommodating of people he didn’t like. Horatio hated his own wife and didn’t bother to attend at his fathers funeral.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 26th 2016, 4:55 PM

Yes chris. These where people that Michael collins sacrifice the nationalist population in the 6 counties for a 26 county republic. Lock into a super Orange State..!!!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:48 PM

Bobby it was Arthur Griffith signed the Treaty, Collins was the junior member of the delegation.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:38 AM

No I won’t be wasting my time .. sounds l like a snooze fest

Mar 26th 2016, 1:37 PM

AFTER Belgium, Many might be too scared to go???

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:52 PM

I don’t know. It’s still a month away

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:23 AM

If there was a real revolution happening again id be there otherwise stick it.

Mar 26th 2016, 1:33 PM

WHERE IS THE 1916 SPIRIT, IT IS ALL SHOW AND BULL AS WELL AS A CATCH PENNY BUT WHERE IS THE 1916 SPIRIT???

John Perkins, Former Advisor IMF.
    “My job was to identify countries with resources that corporations covert, like oil and then arrange a huge loan to that country from the World Bank or from one of its sister organisations. The money however would not go to the country, it would go to our own corporations who would make huge profits, but the majority of the people would suffer terrible as a result, because money would be diverted from Education, Healthcare and other Social Services to pay interest on the debt.”

What happened when the IMF moved in and the debt couldn’t be repaid?

“We go back into that country and say, since you can’t pay your debt, sell your resource oil or whatever real cheap to our corporations without any environmental restrictions or, or social regulations. Privatise, sell your electric utilities, your water, sewage systems, your schools, your jails, all your public sector businesses to our corporations, and in the few cases where we failed economic hitman, the jackals went in and still do and aah, they either assassinate the leaders of the country or overthrow them in coups.”

WE ARE IN THE SAME SITUATION AS IN 1916 AND THE PROCLAIMATION IS DESTROYED DUE TO THE E.U. AND THE TROIKA, When will people wake up?

Mar 26th 2016, 1:35 PM

Let’s celebrate it without knowing what we are celebrating, lets use it as an excuse as a catchpenny and an excuse to get drunk and say how nationalistic we are under the thumb of the E.U.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:18 PM

Wow, did you edit those quotes yourself?

Mar 26th 2016, 5:50 PM

No, as they are quoates, you do not edit quotes Dave… Straight from Perkins at his book signing at a bookstore in the U.S. from one sitting.

Mar 26th 2016, 5:54 PM

Wasn’t hard to do, I listened to what he said on the recorded interview on TV and I wrote it down WORD FOR WORD, as that is quotation…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 26th 2016, 8:31 PM

4th paragraph, 4th line, you’ve omitted something

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 26th 2016, 8:36 PM

Also when did he serve as an advisor to the IMF? Those dates are relevant

Mar 26th 2016, 10:16 PM

Nothing omitted at all, it is word for word using quotations, no mistakes at all.

Mar 26th 2016, 10:20 PM

http://www.wanttoknow.info/johnperkinseconomichitman
    “John Perkins was for many years one of the world’s top economists. He worked directly with the heads of the World Bank, IMF, and other global financial institutions. He quit this work in the 1980s because morally and ethically, he felt it was wrong to play such a key role in creating world empire at the expense of the less advantaged around the world.

After being persuaded and even bribed not to write a book about his experiences, Perkins states, “When 9/11 struck, I had a change of heart.” The book, Confessions of an Economic Hitman”

http://johnperkins.org/about

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 27th 2016, 12:34 AM

So he quit 30 years before the IMF got involved in Ireland? Also, in reference to your quote “or, or” did he stutter? Surely no need to write the stuttering

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 27th 2016, 12:37 AM

Also, your quote is misleading, nowhere does it say that that is what he advised the IMF to do or that it was his role with the IMF. Some man for twisting words. Link the video of his book signing there will you

Mar 27th 2016, 11:56 PM

https://www.rt.com/shows/going-underground/335781-refugee-crisis-wwii-un/
    It is the same then as now as TTIP and the TiSA Agreement shows and Perkins still has good friends out there still?
    The video is at the start of the programme… All the detail are there….

Mar 27th 2016, 11:58 PM

I think that the IMF in the Troika bail out scenarios have proved him to be spot on due to austerity and to the ECB…

Mute Alice Simms
    Favourite Alice Simms
    Mar 26th 2016, 11:49 AM

If anybody is planning to make the trip from outside of dublin the 69 bus from Rathcoole will get you into the city centre. parking should be cheaper and more plentiful than closer to the city. It also travels past citywest where there is parking for the luas which probably won’t be used due to the strike.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Mar 26th 2016, 3:58 PM

I was thinking of going in to O’Connell Street tomorrow but I am wondering if it’s going to be an excercise in futility. I was in there last night and the large amount of “private” seating means getting a view of the GPO/Parade is going to be very limited. I wanted to catch the reading of the proclamation. A bit annoyed at the amount of seating, 6000 seats I think.

Mute mary o'keeffe
    Favourite mary o'keeffe

I would have loved to be in Dublin for it but due to luas strike I’ll be staying local

Mute Robert Loughran
    Favourite Robert Loughran

What have I now, said the fine old woman…..

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Mar 26th 2016, 4:02 PM

Aiming for a 1916 free weekend.

Mute Denis Silver
    Favourite Denis Silver
    Mar 26th 2016, 5:58 PM

Already went to a very special event marking the commemoration. My son’s class in school acted out a play written especially for all the schools in Ireland I believe.When they acted out the wedding and sang Grace there wasn’t a dry eye in the hall.Well done to all the teachers who got the kids to practice for weeks and to who ever came up with the idea.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:19 PM

Just watching the ceremony from The Garden of Remembrance. Sweet Jaaasus its complete, total and utter dreck. Tomorrow will be arrive at Stephens Green at 8.30am. Have a look at the troops and their vehicles and equipment. Home by 10.30 and have it on the tellybox in the background.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:54 PM

Jesus there is a spectacular bunch of moaning
    Arse’s here today.

Mar 26th 2016, 5:59 PM

That is called piles or farting lol.

Mute Ros Aodha
    Favourite Ros Aodha
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:28 PM

Participating in an event on Monday.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Mar 26th 2016, 5:10 PM

I’ll see what’s on come 24th of April.

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:53 PM

No Luas service, I suppose the army lads will have to walk to town now.

Mute BJBcreative
    Favourite BJBcreative
    Mar 26th 2016, 3:49 PM

Patriotism is the Pursuit of the vicious

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    Mar 26th 2016, 9:01 PM

I will certainly not be attending a state commeration, An FG slant on the rising? no thanks, not for me or my family, watched a bit of it today on pravda nothing but a ticketed event and a snob fest, working class need not attend. The cheek of heather humphreys being there, was she not in favour of destroying Moore St?

Mute R Pupkin
    Favourite R Pupkin
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:37 PM

The centenary will be April 24th. So no.

Mute Seán Glennon
    Favourite Seán Glennon
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:53 PM

If the Govt wanted people to attend why didn’t they make Easter Sunday a public holiday?