You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Poll: Which party would you vote for if there was a general election tomorrow?

The next general election must be held by March 2025 to elect the 34th Dáil.

GREEN PARTY LEADER told RTÉ’s Late Late Show on Friday that his party is willing to work with “every party” to form a future government. 

The next general election must be held by March 2025 to elect the 34th Dáil. 

The last general election in January 2020 saw Sinn Féin finish with 37 seats, but Fianna Fáil (38 seats) and Fine Gael (35 seats) combined with the Green Party to form a coalition government in June 2020. 

Speaking to Patrick Kielty on RTÉ’s Late Late Show last night, Ryan said the Green Party works well with Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael. 

When asked if he would form a government with Sinn Féin if the current government doesn’t form a coalition following the next election, the Green Party leader confirmed he would. 

Elsewhere, a new poll from the Sunday Independent and Ireland Thinks has found that Northern Ireland First Minister Michelle O’Neill is now more popular than any of the main political party leaders in Ireland, including Sinn Féin president Mary Lou McDonald. 

So today, we want to know: Which party would you vote for if there was a general election tomorrow?

Poll Results:

Sinn Féin (5227)
Fine Gael (3994)
Fianna Fáil (2363)
Independent  (1918)
Social Democrats (1633)
Other (1338)
Aontú (1075)
I wouldn't vote (790)
Labour (711)
Green Party (677)
Solidarity-People Before Profit (397)
I can't vote (204)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

183 Comments
    Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 7th 2014, 7:40 AM

I can’t believe he has a girlfriend when he’s a convicted paedophile.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 7th 2014, 7:44 AM

I can’t believe chemical castration isn’t mandatory for animals like him.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 7th 2014, 9:18 AM

“Girlfriend” can refer to an adult woman, not necessarily a child.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Nov 7th 2014, 9:27 AM

Yes Neal, I am aware. I am just surprised that any woman would become involved with a convicted paedophile.

Mute Petyr Baelish
    Favourite Petyr Baelish
    Nov 7th 2014, 9:46 AM

“Girlfriend” can refer to an “inflatable” woman, in this case.

Mute Alan landers
    Favourite Alan landers
    Nov 7th 2014, 11:04 AM

Oh but you can’t say that, these people have human rights you see, the heroes at amnesty international would be appalled…

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Nov 7th 2014, 7:35 AM

Thank goodness for that judgment from Europe. They aren’t always as sensible as this.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 7th 2014, 9:37 AM

Just out of curiosity,

Is there any sympathy for this man at all?

He’s suffering from a genetic condition with a bunch of pretty terrible to side effects (impulsivity, impaired judgement, promiscuity, apathy and executive dysfunction with poor planning and decision making) – these are only a few of the possible symptoms.

While not wanting to excuse this man, or possibly even change the procedure carried out on him, I still find it a little excessive for people to suggest he needs “justice” with a “rusty saw” and that he’s an “animal”. Agree or disagree with what happened to him, but it’s already demonstrated that he’s sick. He is suffering from a condition which could very well have caused him to behave in this way.

Just seem very odd to demonise him, when he’s suffering from a condition which he cannot control. Remove him from society, so that he can’t be a danger to himself or others, but don’t sit in judgement of him as a person.

Cue “liberal agenda”, “lefty nonsense” and “psychological BS” comments.

Mute Troyman
    Favourite Troyman
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:04 AM

Sean wake up and cop on, where Is your thoughts on the next child victim ffs

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:12 AM

In fairness Sean, between this and your outright witch-hunt of the NI baker – you do indeed come out with some off the wall stuff… I’d have that moral compass checked out.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:19 AM

Troyman, did you bother to read my comment at all?

To a certain extent, this man is also the victim of this illness.

As I said, I in no way want to excuse his behavior, actions or compulsions. I also said, I might not even change what happened to him.

What I also said was that there seems to be zero appreciation for the fact that this man is not of sound mind or at the very least has an altered mental state.

All i’m saying is that branding him a monster for a genetic illness he has and can’t do anything about is pretty awful.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:24 AM

LoneHurler,

Once again distorting the truth. Well played, I did absolutely nothing of the sort regarding the NI Baker. What I said on that (which is completely irrelevant to this conversation btw) is that people get religious freedom, businesses don’t. Simple as.

Secondly, please explain to me, what’s wrong (morally) with saying “yeah for the sake of everyone involved, this should probably have happened, but that doesn’t make him a monster”.

You rarely say anything that’s little above trolling, now’s your chance. Go for it.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:25 AM

Compassion for the child victim of sexual abuse trumps the compassion for an ill perpetrator every time Sean.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:30 AM

Wait,

Is there a quota?

Are you only allowed to feel sorry for one of them?

Is it possible that instead of even expressing compassion for this guy, people could simply not suggest that he’s a “animal” who should castrated with a “rusty saw” for the sake of “justice”.

If you’re only capable of having compassion for one of the groups in this, fine. But that isn’t the case, nor does a lack of having compassion compel people to revile someone instead.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Nov 8th 2014, 12:05 AM

How do you suggest we protect our children Sean? It’s not punishment, it’s protection.

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Favourite Catherine Mayock
    Dec 2nd 2014, 9:01 PM

Kitty. Sean puts this animal with his illness above our children. He had the cheek to do the same last week to me over this fellow whom the bbc have interviewed. He has very sexual impulses for children as young as 5. He got great sympathy from a few here . I was devestated, these annimal have no place near children.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 7th 2014, 7:43 AM

I’d have taken him to the zoo and turned him into a Lion bar,
    then I’d have thrown 2 Rennie to the Lion for Dessert. ……

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:25 AM

Pedophilia and hebaphilia are 2 entirely different things! Pedophiles are attracted to prepubescent children and hebaphiles are attracted to pubescent children. One is not a form of the other.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:27 AM

Hebe-geebie-phile

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:32 AM

Castration with a rusty saw is the best treatment for paedophiles.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:39 AM

Do you think torture fantasies are healthy? I’m not judging (much), just find it slightly odd.

Mute Troyman
    Favourite Troyman
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:41 AM

Livestock squeezers at the start of a new moon, sweeling would then occur, that’s proper treatment….. And justice

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:53 AM

U wot m8?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:42 AM

Burdizzo. That’s the best yoke.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 12:08 PM

Foshizzle

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:21 AM

A sensible judgement, when can we implement it here! Probably never too many do gooders!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:33 AM

‘Probably never too many do gooders’ – is that meant as a positive or a negative?

Mute Troyman
    Favourite Troyman
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:11 AM

About time, any chance of out donkey silver spoon cavier fed juctice system following suit

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 8:26 AM

Well, that’s the most bizarre thing I’ve read this morning. *~*

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Nov 7th 2014, 9:29 AM

God old school, finally, someone who stood up to “political correctness”

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 7th 2014, 9:39 AM

If you like this, you’ll looooove Saudi Arabia.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:01 AM

Have to agree with you scarr. Going by the comments made by troy, tom and others, I’m surprised the mairia Cahill story got any traction when so many here call for similar types of sharia based community justice.

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:15 AM

Well Scarr, I am an open Anti Saudi, anti Islamisation of Europe, and pro equal rights, but some people will never change, is in their nature and is either the paedophile’s human rights or our innocent children’s human rights. When human rights clashes what do you do? Don;t tell me that he should be put in surveillance or away from children, or in a program, people like him have no help, they were born this way, just like I was born being attracted to adult women, and someone else was born being attracted to adults from the same sex (Nothing wrong about it), some are medically born to be paedophile like this man.

Mute Shinnerbot
    Favourite Shinnerbot
    Nov 7th 2014, 11:50 AM

Other acceptable punishment would be moving the offender to another jurisdiction.

Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:32 AM

This is a very interesting and important ruling by the ECHR. It now seems that a state can perform a medical procedure on its citizens, like castration, where it is preventative.

I wonder does this hearld a new approach to the way we should punish criminals and those that might harm our society? New laws to castrate sex offenders? Amputate the hands of pick pockets? Psychological and physical maiming of thieves, white collar criminals? Once we have developed the means by which genetics allows us to predict who amongst us might be a threat, then we can really develop this concept further.

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Nov 7th 2014, 10:14 AM

Well Scarr, I am an open Anti Saudi, anti Islamisation of Europe, and pro equal rights, but some people will never change, is in their nature and is either the paedophile’s human rights or our innocent children’s human rights. When human rights clashes what do you do? Don;t tell me that he should be put in surveillance or away from children, or in a program, people like him have no help, they were born this way, just like I was born being attracted to adult women, and someone else was born being attracted to adults from the same sex (Nothing wrong about it), some are medically born to be paedophile like this man.