You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

English Leaving Certificate paper No.1 PA

Poll: Should Leaving Cert students be awarded full marks for oral and practical exams?

The main teachers’ union the ASTI called for that measure today.

ON 19 MARCH, Education Minister Joe McHugh announced that Leaving Cert students would be awarded full marks for their oral exams, and certain practical exams like the music practical.

These exams were meant to take place between 23 March and 3 April, and can be worth anything from 40% to 62.5%.

But on Friday, with the Minister’s announcement that the Leaving Cert written exams on 29 July would be cancelled, and this decision would now be reversed, so that teachers now have to estimate what grade students would have received in these exams.

Teachers’ union the ASTI has now called on that decision to be reversed, and for students to be awarded full marks for all oral and all practical exams.

So we’re asking, do you think that Leaving Cert students should be awarded full marks for their oral and practical exams?

Poll Results:

No (9267)
Yes (6347)
I don't know (852)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

113 Comments
    Mute Rúraíocht
    Favourite Rúraíocht
    May 11th 2020, 9:20 AM

Boris Johnston is not fit for purpose.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 11th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Rúraíocht: the Tories are not fit for purpose. You really think he writes his own speeches? He has advisors and cabinet around him – they have been rubbish this past 10 years but the media have shielded then time and again.

Mute Kyle
    Favourite Kyle
    May 11th 2020, 10:29 AM

@Peter McGlynn: there is an evil in that tory establishment. Hidden agendas with them all the time. They are clearly pursuing herd immunity with not a care for the people that are going to die

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    May 11th 2020, 10:43 AM

@Rúraíocht: there Bly not fit for purpose if there purpose is not to destroy the UK if that’s there plan there doing a really good job

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    May 11th 2020, 9:17 AM

I’m living in London right now and honestly the level of confusion is crazy. There are some people thinking everyone should try be back to work on Wednesday and others who feel it should just be manufacturing, constructions and other similar areas . He hasn’t set out exactly which industries should go back and has just provided examples.

Mute ☘
    Favourite ☘
    May 11th 2020, 9:46 AM

@Aaron Tynan: was talking to someone from northern ireland last night on phone and the majority of people there are following the dublin guidance

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    May 11th 2020, 9:58 AM

@Aaron Tynan: I understood manufacturing & construction only . Considering all hospitality services are closed everybody else can work from home. With regards to manufacturing, most people have never stopped working as they’re in food production or pharma & engineering.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    May 11th 2020, 9:59 AM

@☘: Dublin guidance? Oh yeah I forgot the republic consists of only 1 city.

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    May 11th 2020, 10:01 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: that was my take on it as well.. but honestly there are people not in those industries looking to go back in Wednesday now… he has basically said if it is safe to do so, do go back.
    Maybe later today he will give more clarity, but it’s a mess.

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    May 11th 2020, 10:05 AM

@Richard: No, but that’s where the government sit and make their decisions from, geographically speaking the guidance is emanating from Dublin.

Mute Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Favourite Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh

@Richard: I’m pretty sure he meant the guidance FROM Dublin rather than guidance FOR Dublin

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    May 11th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Richard: Now say that again without crying

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    May 11th 2020, 10:19 AM

@Aaron Tynan: it was crazy when he asked people not to take public transport as well . All for the sake of not asking people to wear masks . It’s asking for chaos and to leave the announcement for a Sunday night even worse.

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    May 11th 2020, 11:03 AM

@Richard: You are being pedantic. Obviously he means the administrative centre of the Republic of Ireland.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    May 11th 2020, 1:57 PM

@Richard: I think he means the government sitting in Dublin.

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    May 11th 2020, 9:27 AM

This is why voters should think twice before electing populist leaders. Boris & Trump both proving they are not fit for office!

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    May 11th 2020, 9:49 AM

@Wreck Tangle: + Mary Loo

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    May 11th 2020, 9:57 AM

@A2 Poster:

Indeed, but you know the SF brigade on here would have us believe that we would be Corona free under her watch!

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    May 11th 2020, 10:39 AM

@Wreck Tangle: I’m not a SF voter but I don’t think it’s fair to compare Mary Lou to those two, she’s completely mainstream and establishment by comparison. Wanting a border poll or to build more houses is hardly especially radical.
    The equivalent would be more like us electing Gemma or Peter Casey as taoiseach.

Mute Kevin Finnegan
    Favourite Kevin Finnegan
    May 11th 2020, 10:44 AM

@Rochelle: ah here come on now it’s no fun for the lads when they can’t make up lies about Sinn Fein sure what else would they be doing?

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    May 11th 2020, 10:50 AM

@Wreck Tangle: so we should elect unpopular leaders who refuse to do the right thing by their employer’s!??

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    May 11th 2020, 10:58 AM

@Rochelle:

You mean Mary Lou who couldn’t really bring a logical budget and adopted the populist line of taxing multinationals. An action that would jeopardise thousands of jobs and even more indirect. You mean MLM who before she had even created a government, was already talking about reunification, something that no doubt pushed potential parties away. The MLM who cannot get the Unionists to play ball in the north? We would now send that to deal with UK and difficult negotiations with EU?

I am not saying that the current options are better. Reality is that Ireland has a very poor choice of politicians but SF have done nothing to prove that they are any more capable than other parties. Their history, actions and reactions under scrutiny create many indications that they would be worse.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    May 11th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Wreck Tangle: Hold the view of SF being a downgrade if you wish but it’s absurd to liken policies like taxing multinationals to things like Boris advocating genocide (herd immunity) or Trump suggesting people inject themselves with bleach. Don’t elevate it to the worst examples you can think of just because you disagree with their policies.

I think people who make those sort of comparisons have no idea what an actual radical populist party could do to Ireland and how lucky we are to have mostly avoided those influences so far in Irish politics.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    May 11th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Wreck Tangle: Spoken like a true Blueshirt. It took a pandemic to give Vareadkar an appetite for government. Harris who they kept hidden during the election, Now put on a pedestal by sections of the media. Martin to busy trying at best to become a part time Taoiseacht all but disappeared in the pandemic. Your answer attack Sinn Fein. Hypocrisy at it’s best.

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    May 11th 2020, 11:23 AM

@Rochelle: Where did I make a direct comparison?

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    May 11th 2020, 11:36 AM

@Donal Desmond:

I didn’t attack SF to defend other parties. I answered someone else and referred to people who believe that under SF Ireland would not have had Corona outbreak.

I agree with you. LV is a joke and he has not been a good Taoiseach. He will benefit more than most people from Corona. My initial comment was general, there is no country with a populist government that have not done well during this pandemic. My own hope is that the SF shock combined with this pandemic will make government (whoever they may be) realise that their job is to serve the people. This means delivering more and delivering policies that create a fairer society.

As for me being a blue-shirt. I was born into a working class family, I saw my parents work really hard and have very little to show for their work. I made sure that I got to university and work hard to ensure that I can achieve the standard of life I want. Should I be apologetic for that?

Mute AnnaM1980
    Favourite AnnaM1980
    May 11th 2020, 11:46 AM

@Wreck Tangle: haha! With the alternative being a Jeremy Corbyn government. No thanks. I was a Labour voter prior to last GE but there was no way I was voting in that Momentum crowd. And you cant tell me they would have fared any better through this crisis.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    May 11th 2020, 11:54 AM

@Wreck Tangle: You responded with “indeed” to the person that did.

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle
    May 11th 2020, 11:57 AM

@Rochelle:

Ok I’ll refrain from being agreeable from now on!

Mute Joe Griffin
    Favourite Joe Griffin
    May 11th 2020, 12:24 PM

@AnnaM1980: I can tell you and will tell you. The Labour party under Jeremy Corbyn would have had adopted proper scientific advice and not just pursued the stupid behaviour of Johnson and his band of murderers (over 32,000 people they have killed so far).

Mute AnnaM1980
    Favourite AnnaM1980
    May 11th 2020, 12:34 PM

@Joe Griffin: Murderers, get a grip would you. And no, you cant tell me that.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    May 11th 2020, 1:05 PM

@Wreck Tangle: If you are happy with F.G. who lost the election now again being propped up again by F.F. who technically finished up one seat ahead of Sinn Fein, that is your choice. Vareadkar suddenly had an appetite for government again because of a pandemic. Failing to mention the state of a crumbling health service under his watch. S.F. or the left did not create this mess., It was F.G. kept in power by F.F. Remember when Harris threatened striking nurses with fines if they did not return to work. Hypocrisy at it’s best.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    May 11th 2020, 1:24 PM

@Wreck Tangle: Apologies for calling you a blueshirt.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    May 12th 2020, 4:02 AM

@AnnaM1980: with infrastructure? they probably would not have. But that’s because the Tories have been ripping it apart for 10 years. On communication and planning? My cat would have done a better job.

Mute Oliver Walker
    Favourite Oliver Walker
    May 11th 2020, 9:24 AM

I don’t think I’ve ever seen the leader of a country give a more shambolic and rambling message on television. Boris had no clue what he was saying and their ‘roadmap’ looks like it was drawn on a napkin before the camera was turned on. Crazy stuff.

Mute Joe Griffin
    Favourite Joe Griffin
    May 11th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Oliver Walker: I duuno, I think Trump manages quite well in this respect. Touch and go as to who is the crazier, more deluded leader.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    May 11th 2020, 9:18 AM

UK policy on Covid 19 is same as brexit jump in deep end find out can we swin or drown

Mute Aodhan Tinney
    Favourite Aodhan Tinney
    May 11th 2020, 9:25 AM

If you can work from home do it…. if you can’t, then go to work… the lack of common sense is more worrying than the virus

Mute Skipper Mac
    Favourite Skipper Mac
    May 11th 2020, 9:21 AM

England is going to turn into one giant Petri dish for Covid at this rate. Just open the floodgates and let it rip. Great plan.

Mute Oliver Walker
    Favourite Oliver Walker
    May 11th 2020, 9:48 AM

@Skipper Mac: Never thought I’d see the day that Arlene would go against the Great Union’s advice…

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    May 11th 2020, 10:25 AM

@Oliver Walker: abortion, same sex marriage, covid-19 restrictions – NI is only cherry picking the parts of the Union that suits them, nothing new there

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    May 11th 2020, 9:22 AM

Boris’ bluster and bull is much like Trumps

Mute TL55
    Favourite TL55
    May 11th 2020, 9:18 AM

Makings of a clusterfu£k

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Favourite Modern Irish Dad
    May 11th 2020, 9:23 AM

The ice age is coming, the sun’s zooming in
    Engines stop running, the wheat is growing thin
    A nuclear era, but I have no fear
    ‘Cause London is drowning
    I, I live by the river

Mute Sorcha Hackett
    Favourite Sorcha Hackett
    May 11th 2020, 10:46 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: Tune!

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    May 11th 2020, 11:25 AM

@Sorcha Hackett: It really is and it’s standing the test of time.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    May 11th 2020, 11:27 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: what I mean is it holds up well.

Mute David Finn
    Favourite David Finn
    May 11th 2020, 11:55 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: one of the all time greats!

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    May 11th 2020, 9:20 AM

Great Britain?

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    May 11th 2020, 9:34 AM

@Patrick O’Brien: I’d be removing “great” in the description

Mute Michelle Duignan
    Favourite Michelle Duignan
    May 11th 2020, 9:48 AM

Sinking feeling that it’s going to impact us ..

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77
    May 11th 2020, 9:55 AM

Its not just Johnson, when you look down that cabinet list, theres not a capable, hard-working, sympathetic, leader figure among them. One myopic Brexiter after another. The UK economy just went to hell in a handcart and the intern is in charge. The UK has been a slow motion train crash for 5 years now and its gathering debris.

Mute Harry Corry
    Favourite Harry Corry

@Rochey77: Nail on the head. The incumbent at 10 Downing Street was elected on one issue only, with cabinet made up of his staunchest allies. Completely out of their depth.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    May 11th 2020, 12:46 PM

@Harry Corry: This is where their privileged backgrounds proves they haven a clue .

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    May 11th 2020, 9:59 AM

Very unprofessional. I think they should swallow their pride and use our plan of action at least it’s clear and concise.

Mute Uinseann Ó Gairbhith
    Favourite Uinseann Ó Gairbhith
    May 11th 2020, 10:03 AM

Get Covid Done!

Mute David Saunders
    Favourite David Saunders
    May 11th 2020, 10:22 AM

Up to now if you stay at home they have to pay you social security payments but if you go back to work now then you have to be vigilant which means if you catch covid 19 it’s your own fault because you didn’t try hard enough to stay safe and it’s your own fault. Win win for the government. Tax money for the time you work and they don’t have to pay you dole

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    May 11th 2020, 10:49 AM

British people have the leaders they voted for and deserve after their brexit fiasco

Mute Gary O CONNOR
    Favourite Gary O CONNOR
    May 11th 2020, 10:23 AM

What is it with the media and obsession with BJ and Trump. Every second article. Why not compare to countries doing way better than us despite us being and island. I suggest Lieo and Mehole are doing way worse.
    We should be at zero by now instead of flying and driving more people into the country .
    Brits landing in Belfast and driving south for holidays needs stop. Quarantine needs made compulsory at all ports and airports.
    We need an all island approach like Mary Lou keeps saying but FFG ignore.
    Trump US , BJ UK, are not our issue.
    Lieo and Mehole are most certainly.
    Media need do their job instead of deflection..

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    May 11th 2020, 10:50 AM

@Gary O CONNOR: Any figures on the numbers of British holiday makers flying to Belfast and then driving south for holidays at the moment?

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    May 11th 2020, 11:11 AM

@Gary O CONNOR: The ONLY country that you can compare us to with any semblance of statistical comparisons is the UK. We are culturally, demographically, geographically and environmentally closest to them. Comparing us to other countries with different cultural attitudes, temperatures, humidity, geographical locations, borders etc. is statistically pointless.

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    May 11th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Gary O CONNOR: Just wow, I’m sure you’d have it all fixed by now if you were in charge.
    Typical whinger, nothing to contribute but criticism and sniping.

Mute Peter Clancy
    Favourite Peter Clancy
    May 11th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Gary O CONNOR: What is it with your obsession with people who don’t think Trump and Johnson are fit for the positions they hold? You appear on every single article on this site defending your loved ones.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    May 11th 2020, 9:45 AM

OMG they need the Taiwan leadership urgently

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77
    May 11th 2020, 9:56 AM

@trebloc01: i was just thinking…….that.

Mute Wreck Tangle
    Favourite Wreck Tangle

@trebloc01:

Oversimplification. Taiwan has the benefit of learning from being the worst performer in SARS.

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    May 11th 2020, 1:12 PM

Say what you will about Leo but I’m glad I’m here instead of in the UK or USA

Mute Cliff Burnby
    Favourite Cliff Burnby
    May 11th 2020, 1:59 PM

@Terrence Edwards: We actually have more deaths per million than the US at the moment. I think they will probably overtake us but I don’t we’re not doing as well as we could have done. Too many mistakes and inaction in the early days.

Mute Darren Carroll
    Favourite Darren Carroll
    May 11th 2020, 10:58 AM

No article on the caretaker taoiseach apologising for referring to Belfast as overseas??

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    May 11th 2020, 1:14 PM

@Darren Carroll: oh cop on

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    May 11th 2020, 11:01 AM

Boris is a Baffoon but he would have had some chance of putting together a coherent government, if he hadn’t stripped out all the competent members just out of spite, because of their stance on Brexit.

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    May 11th 2020, 11:08 AM

So the bottom line is that are we going to keep free movement open with this crowd over there? If we are there is no chance whatsoever of defeating the corona virus.

Mute John O'Byrne
    Favourite John O'Byrne
    May 11th 2020, 11:10 AM

It’s a shambollix

Mute Joe L
    Favourite Joe L
    May 11th 2020, 1:42 PM

Some people were very critical of Leo having to retrieve a sheet of paper with the details of our emergence from lockdown from his pocket before answering questions on the details during his Late Late appearance. What’s going on in England, in particular, today, goes to show the chaos that ensues when you have people chancing their arm rather than being sure that what they’re saying is true and accurate.
    I would never have voted for Leo or Simon Harris, and like everyone worldwide dealing with this virus, they’ve made mistakes, but I wouldn’t swap him for Boris or Trump for anything right now!

Mute Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    Favourite Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    May 11th 2020, 10:48 AM

I cannot believe that this wasn’t intentional. To confuse and create ambiguity. If you think about it…. It was pre-recorded. The government surely has communication experts at hand to make sure these politicians are giving the correct messages. The confusion is to allow people back to work without showing a clear discrimination between people’s job roles. It can’t be complete stupidity.

Mute Braonain Proinseas
    Favourite Braonain Proinseas

People are not mindless chickens they will of course come to their own conclusions and do what suits them little by little

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    May 11th 2020, 11:33 AM

Hilarious , they cant even agree or communicate to a start date amongst themselves

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    May 11th 2020, 3:50 PM

A disaster best describes Brits response to the pandemic