You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cans of lager for sale in a supermarket Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Poll: Should the Government set a minimum price for alcohol?

Doubling the cost of the cheapest drinks would help combat anti-social behaviour, according to Dublin’s Lord Mayor. Do you agree?

DUBLIN’S LORD MAYOR, Andrew Montague, has said that prices should be doubled on the cheapest alcohol sold in supermarkets and off-licences.

The Labour councillor said cans of lager available for as little as 50c should cost at least a euro. He added this would help combat underage and problem drinking as well as anti-social behaviour – half of which is drink-related. “I think there is a case to be made for bringing in a minimum price for alcohol,” he said.

Charities have also called for minimum prices to be imposed on off-licence drinks, saying that cheap alcohol is having a serious impact on young people in Ireland. A scheme to set a minimum cost per alcoholic unit has already been launched in the North.

So what do you think? Should the Government set a minimum price for alcohol?

Poll Results:

No (1245)
Yes (520)
I don't know (45)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Lenny Sloane
    Favourite Lenny Sloane
    Jun 29th 2011, 10:34 AM

I know for some people, singing should be considered a crime but causing irresponsible driving?
    Really, there are some sad people out there with nothing better to do than complain for the sake of it.

Mute Sharon Larkin
    Favourite Sharon Larkin
    Jun 29th 2011, 10:44 AM

Some people get offended way to easily.

Mute Mike Reid
    Favourite Mike Reid
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:12 AM

I like the Heineken one. And beer does attract, just go to any night club and look around

Mute David Neill 
    Favourite David Neill 
    Jun 29th 2011, 10:37 AM

That car buyers ad is terrible. Makes me cringe.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:24 AM

I thought the Heineken one was quite funny. Some people have too much time on their hands if all they can do is complain about ads…

Mute Alison Gibney
    Favourite Alison Gibney
    Jul 3rd 2011, 6:14 PM

I love people commenting on forums that mock others for having “too much time on their hands”.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:28 AM

@Cara, Diet Coke adds.

Mute Cara Lally ✔
    Favourite Cara Lally ✔
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:55 AM

What, the puppets? Yea, they’re really sexist. Or do you mean the advert that is over a decade old? Every time a woman complains about one of the thousand sexist adverts, the Diet Coke ad is flung back. It may as well be the Godwin’s law of advertising!

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Jun 29th 2011, 6:30 PM

Don’t forget the malteasers ad! Yer man in the nip on the couch – down with that sort of thing! I think people are missing the point here. The fact that we’re discussing these ads means they worked on some level. Simples

Mute Cara Lally ✔
    Favourite Cara Lally ✔
    Jun 29th 2011, 10:47 AM

The Car Buyers ad was awful, nothing but sexist, demeaning crap. Delighted it’s been censored.

Mute Mike Reid
    Favourite Mike Reid
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:07 AM

Would you consider it sexist if that was a man instead? I think not

Mute Cara Lally ✔
    Favourite Cara Lally ✔
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:15 AM

Actually, I found it quite sexist towards men, also. If a company/product thinks they can sell better, just by putting a scantily clothed person in their ad, it insulting to their audience. A bit of intelligence and creativity wouldn’t go amiss. The ad was demeaning to not only women, but men, too.

Mute J.j. Sheehy
    Favourite J.j. Sheehy
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:30 AM

What’s your problem granny, allow a bit of fun into your life

Mute Thomas Stadler
    Favourite Thomas Stadler
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:48 AM

I was impressed with her think outside the box and can do attitude. I support female entrepreneurs and you should too.

Mute Cara Lally ✔
    Favourite Cara Lally ✔
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:57 AM

So, because I find an advert sexist and demeaning, I’m a granny? Sorry we all don’t have your charming views, JJ.

Mute Niall Dargan
    Favourite Niall Dargan
    Jun 29th 2011, 1:44 PM

Hmm. It was a piece of tongue in cheek fun. People are just too bloody sensitive these days. Sex sells, end of story.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 3:28 PM

When there is true equality between men and women then perhaps ads like this would be fine. However, as it stands, women are treated as nothing more than sex symbols if their looks allow, and best ignored if they are considered less than attractive. The simple fact is that ads like this reinforce the negative portrayal of women as second class citizens whose sole purpose is to please the eye of men. Women are “seen” as sex symbols and so ads are created to sell based on that. Unfortunately “disabled” people are seen as lesser than those in the “abled” community – would you like it if there were ads which exploited this gap? How about ads showing Africans beating their chests and throwing bananas? We would see these last two as sickening and wrong, yet you would argue that women are different? Again, you are simply reinforcing the gender division. I agree that some of the ads that had complaints made against them were a little OTT, but not the CBG ad.

Mute Darren Keogh
    Favourite Darren Keogh
    Jun 29th 2011, 6:39 PM

Cara it’s nice to see people of your age using the Internet. It must have been difficult to adapt to this new technology..

Mute Maureen Kelly
    Favourite Maureen Kelly
    Jun 29th 2011, 7:48 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh. Excellent post!! Refreshing to read such an articulate, intelligent point of view!!! Might be wasted on a lot of people on this forum, unfortunately!!!!!

Mute Earl Fitzgerald
    Favourite Earl Fitzgerald
    Jun 29th 2011, 12:49 PM

The best ads are still the old spice ads!
    I’m on a horse!

Mute Jeffrey McMahon
    Favourite Jeffrey McMahon
    Jun 30th 2011, 12:00 PM

Funny how that ad didn’t receive a complaint for sexist portrayal of men seeing as the guy is muscular and topless. It presents an image of what a man should be that most men cannot actually reach. The whole gender debate is pointless really. You might as well complain that Santa Claus is sexist because he goes out and does the work while Mrs Claus stays home and cooks dinner (someone did that actually while complaining that the Swedish tradition of dancing around the maypole was sexist because it was a phallic symbol). While I think the car ad was stupid, there are mitigating factors against the sexism claim. For example, she uploaded the pictures herself. If that’s still sexism then quite a lot of females on Facebook should expect to have their pages taken down shortly eh?

Mute Michael Twomey
    Favourite Michael Twomey
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:53 AM

The good thing about the government jobs initiative is that people will surely have less time to complain about farcial things like these ads,I’m gonna complain the next time any of the Healy-Rays’ are on TV for crimes against life and their lack of being able to speak

Mute Jane Ward
    Favourite Jane Ward
    Jun 29th 2011, 1:45 PM

They should ban that envirofone ad with the guy who sells his old phone and buys a car. It’s offensive to people with half a brain and his smirk irritates me.

Mute Gerard Murphy
    Favourite Gerard Murphy
    Jun 29th 2011, 12:04 PM

This is pointless when the ads have already been aired and the promotion completed ( the ASAI does a great job it’s just they are hamstrung),
    For many companies, it’s just further free exposure.

Whilst some people might get a giggle about some ads, and there will always be cranks out there, ads should not be allowed to bend the truth about their products.

If substantial fines were brought in, it might make companies think twice before telling fibs on ads.

Mute Killian Woods
    Favourite Killian Woods
    Jun 29th 2011, 12:38 PM

This is the most sensible comment I’ve read so far that doesn’t get caught up in the ‘you can’t portray women like that’ row.

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Jun 29th 2011, 12:41 PM

ah now sensible comments like that have no place here

Mute Fintan Foley
    Favourite Fintan Foley

Clearly our economy isnt fucked enough if people have time on their hands to moan about such trivial shite, get a job, keep busy and if your offended turn thr fuc’in thing off, SIMPLES

Mute Jennifer Cox
    Favourite Jennifer Cox
    Jun 29th 2011, 4:37 PM

Hurray for SKY+………….. no more having to watch adverts at all.

Mute Dave Carton
    Favourite Dave Carton
    Jun 29th 2011, 5:55 PM

that’s the best comment so far….

Mute Paul Beggan
    Favourite Paul Beggan
    Jun 29th 2011, 2:59 PM

Eh… The Post Phone ad is by FAR and away the most sexualised ad on the telly!! The one where the three aul dears are swimming and a good looking guy walks past them….! one of ‘em whips around and takes a photo of his speedo’d arse with her phone!!!

I think it’s funny… But reverse the ad. Three aul lads and a hot girl walking past and one takes a photo of her arse with his phone!!! Eh…. 999…. An Garda Siochana…. There’s a bunch of pervs at the forty foot!!!

Mute John Mack
    Favourite John Mack
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:52 AM

So what advert would you complain about, I have two the beep fecken beep one and anyone that has overly strong cork accents, no-one I know speaks like that.

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Jun 29th 2011, 12:39 PM

Sher We all Speak like that in Cork Boy Like

Mute Fintan Foley
    Favourite Fintan Foley

Clearly our economy isnt fucked enough if people have time on their hands to moan about such trivial shite, get a job, keep busy and if your offended turn the fuc’in thing off, SIMPLES

Mute Niamh Francis
    Favourite Niamh Francis
    Jun 29th 2011, 3:55 PM

That comment makes no sense whatsoever. Jobs are scarce. Thousands are unemployed. They have more free time on their hands than they want. So it makes perfect sense that people have time to complain about ads. It also doesn’t make sense that they should only be interested in topics less trivial than this just because they no longer have work. And if the solution, when you encounter something that you wish to complain about, is to “just turn the fuc’in thing off”, then why didn’t you just turn your computer off instead of complaining about this?

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Jun 29th 2011, 2:48 PM

Politically Correct left-wing liberalism gone MAD!

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 3:36 PM

Actually I think you’ll find that Liberalism would allow those ads, what with being Liberal and all. Liberalism does not equal Left Wing. You can have right wing liberals too.

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Jun 29th 2011, 3:52 PM

What about the Aero advert where the guy is wearing nothing but a towel? That get many complaints I wonder? It made it onto television and was on for a good while.

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Jun 29th 2011, 4:11 PM

By the way I’m not saying I find the ad offensive, I couldn’t give a flying you know what! I would just be curious to see the level of complaints it recieved, if any, or why it was not deemed sexist comapred to these other supposed ‘sexist’ adverts.

Mute Gordon Bernard
    Favourite Gordon Bernard
    Jun 29th 2011, 8:42 PM

Brian I’d say the women love you…!

Mute Brian Keane
    Favourite Brian Keane
    Jun 29th 2011, 4:19 PM

they should just ban adverts altogether, they’re annoying, mostly poor quality, interrupt good moments in movies, and whenever a good one comes along it’s barely on telly cos it offends a small minority (not ethnic or aged, just grumpy miserable lonely fecks!) and the politically correct brigade come along and ruin it for everyone.

Just do it – It’s the choice of a new generation, I’m lovin’ it…

Mute Gavin Byrne
    Favourite Gavin Byrne
    Jun 29th 2011, 12:03 PM

The Heineken one should be done for plagiarism. Hasn’t anyone read “So Long and Thanks for All the Fish”?

Mute Colm Hagan
    Favourite Colm Hagan
    Jun 29th 2011, 2:20 PM

I’ve seen plenty of youung attractive women in Dublin city centre on a Wednesday/Thu/Fri/Sat night similarly dressed and sometimes wearing things that leave less to the imagination….Certain people on here remind me of that old nun who used to carry a cross in her one-woman crusade in the city centre!!!! Laughable!…That said, each to their own!

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 3:34 PM

There were plenty of African Americans who in their time couldn’t conceive of the possibility of freedom from Slavery. Some did not know there was a problem. Likewise, many (both men and women) go around in the blind assumption that we have equality for women and men alike – the reality is we don’t. There is very little equality. When societal conditioning dictates what women should or should not wear is changed to truly reflect what women want to wear and when there is true equality, then perhaps ads like this would be fine. For the moment they simply reinforce the idea that women are the possession of men so they can be ogled over or ignored.

Mute Jim Coll
    Favourite Jim Coll
    Jun 29th 2011, 5:10 PM

So women are unconscious slaves who don’t know how to dress themselves. You gonna dress all those poor slave girls cos you know what women want……

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 5:54 PM

Jim you are just displaying your own complete lack of knowledge on the topic, as well as displaying the fact that you obviously can not read what I wrote. I never said women were unconscious. I never said anyone was unconscious. I implied aspects of the subconscious effects of society at work, but I certainly never said anything about unconscious. I also never said I would be dressing anyone up. Your comment is entirely laced with sarcasm, unintelligent wit, and smacks of an “I don’t care what happens to anyone as long as I’m personally not affected” opinion. Women in Ireland are not equal. They do not have the same employment prospects as men. They are not paid as much as men. We have one of the lowest W:M ratios in politics in the Western World. If you are a woman your chances of promotion are far less than if you are a man. I mean for God’s sake men still smack women on the bum and tell them “what good little mothers they will make” some day and how they should “go make the coffee like a good little girl”. Those last two statements as well as the smack on the bum were made to my partner who was a car salesperson at the time. Vicariously, I have seen first hand how ridiculously sexist this country is. Ads like that above reinforce sexism and are a classic example of Passive Sexism.

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Jun 29th 2011, 6:35 PM

LOL! i’m with you jim. If you think these ads really reflect how society thinks/functions you need yer head examined. Try telling my wife or any of my female friends/colleagues how to dress or act and you’ll soon find out who’s empowered!

Mute John Butler
    Favourite John Butler
    Jun 29th 2011, 5:10 PM

I tend to watch the kettle ; not very interesting but good for the sanity :)

Mute seandonegan
    Favourite seandonegan
    Jun 29th 2011, 6:10 PM

What’s sexist about the cbg ad???

Mute John Butler
    Favourite John Butler
    Jun 29th 2011, 7:17 PM

Divil a bit ! It’s just that the car was just after bein’ polished ! Deez peeple have no respect !

Mute Tomás Breathnach
    Favourite Tomás Breathnach
    Jun 29th 2011, 2:58 PM

Just enough time for a cheeky Volvic…

Mute Niamh Francis
    Favourite Niamh Francis
    Jun 29th 2011, 3:11 PM

Aww but I love nononsense.ie ads!!

Mute Mike Reid
    Favourite Mike Reid
    Jun 29th 2011, 4:09 PM

What about that Malteasers ad whre the two women at the pool steal yer mans towel? I may ring joe duffy and complain because i find that just pure sexist…

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 4:17 PM

If you can’t see the difference there then that just shows how little you know of sexism. People may give out about Political Correctness – but there is a reason it exists. It’s there because there is discrimination and certain groups in society are trying to get rid of these gaps. Many in the status quo laugh at those of us who advocate equality simply because they are not the victim of discrimination (or do not see that they are).

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 11:19 PM

The type of ad such as the CBG ad above are inappropriate because they are sexist. Many of you who argued against me, or simply pressed the thumbs down button, probably have no problem with the ad. You all probably believe in all sincerity in the idea that there should be equality between men and women. You probably treat those women you know with the same respect you treat the men you know. I have been told before “but sure this type of ad won’t make me a sexist”. Indeed it won’t. But the problem lies with those who are sexist. And there are many of them. The problem with this type of ad is this: while it may not negatively impact the respect the majority of you above have towards women the fact remains that it reinforces the opinions of those that are sexist. The more their opinions are reinforced the less opportunity there is for real equality. Have any of you taken a look at Italy lately? These types of ads go without censorship, and look where it has gotten women there? Censorship allowed for great strides in the women’s rights movement in Italy in the 60s, 70s and 80s. Since that censorship was relaxed pretty much all that achievement has been wiped out. Italy is now classified as one of the most sexist countries in Europe, and that includes Turkey!! All you need to do is look at Berlusconi as an example. While certain charges have been made against him and have yet to be proven in court, his blatant sexism is only too apparent given the fact he controls such a sizable proportion of Italy’s media, and that is directly affecting society’s attitudes towards women over there – so much so that many feel that good looks and sex appeal are far more important than intelligence. And the worrying aspect is that that is becoming the prevailing attitude now amongst the young generation of Italian women. Even take the USA – only today was it announced that more women would rather be successful as a model than win a Nobel prize. While not everyone can be bestowed the gift of intelligence, surely we should be encouraging people to be happy with, and to develop and foster, what they have rather than encouraging young women to abandon academic, intellectual and cultural pursuits, etc. in favour of modelling, plastic surgery, etc.

Mute Profitsflow Crm
    Favourite Profitsflow Crm
    Jun 30th 2011, 7:44 AM

Last time I looked Brian we had freedom enshrined in our constitution… Which includes opinions… So we are all allowed to have them. Listening to a condecending twit like you is really offensive. Its people like you that have held back progress down through out history looking for nanny state to solve all your problems for you…. Stop worrying about what every body else is doing or saying and get on with your own life…. Stick that annoying nose somewhere where it doesnt get in the rest of societies way. We’re too busy trying to improve things for ourselves rather than fighting for more rediculous laws to keep the likes of you happy.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 30th 2011, 9:40 AM

Yes, we do have freedom enshrined in our constitution. However I don’t see where in our constitution it states that discrimination is permitted as you seem to advocate. I have a very strong feeling you have never actually read Bunreacht na hÉireann. Typically it’s ignorant people who through the “it’s in our constitution” line at you in an argument. Turning a blind eye and laughing at discrimination is the exact same as doing the deed yourself. The likes of you are known as enablers. Enablers are those that give perpetrators carte blanche to commit crimes.

Firstly, if you find my posts offensive then don’t read them – you did after all state that “we [have] freedom enshrined in our constitution…Which includes opinions…”. This gives me the freedom to express my opinion too and it gives you the freedom to switch off your computer. Unless of course you really do believe that you are high and mighty and more deserving of an opinion than those who are oppressed or fighting for the oppressed.

Secondly, I never stated you were not allowed an opinion of your own, so learn how to read.

Thirdly, if people weren’t so stupid and were able to make educated decisions for themselves that did not negatively impact others then we would not need a nanny state. Would you also advocate scrapping all legislation, because you seem to be of the opinion that all of us without interference from the state are perfectly capable of living without harming each other, without rape, without murder.

Fourthly, you consider me condescending – take a look at what you just wrote. A typical case of “pot calling the kettle black”. At least I didn’t resort to character assassination or personal attacks in my posts. Seeing as how you seem to believe that’s appropriate then I would also assume that you think sexism is fine. Based on the language you used I assume you are a typical 30s-40s white male based on the Irish east coast – probably South Dublin, North Wicklow, North Kildare area?

Finally, learn how to spell and use punctuation. It’s obvious you must have ignored “nanny-state” because you seem to have a lack of understanding when it comes to spelling (condescending, not condecending; ridiculous, not redeculous; society’s, not societies).

Mute Clive Walsh
    Favourite Clive Walsh
    Jun 29th 2011, 8:59 PM

Sexist ad my arse. Whose seen the new club orange ad. Well by this standard that’s done for. What next from the big brother censorship board. ?

Mute Anthony O'Donnell
    Favourite Anthony O'Donnell
    Jun 29th 2011, 6:16 PM

Misandry is rampant in the media and no one complains , the minute a woman is shown in a less than pleasing light out come the feminazis, common sense has gone out the window , sex sells sadly and it always will.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 29th 2011, 6:25 PM

Oh I get it now. Just because there is a perception that no one complains about one form of discrimination that then makes it perfectly fine to allow other forms of discrimination. Just because “sex sells” that doesn’t mean we should allow it. Sheesh…if we always agreed with the status quo and never argued for what we believed was right, no matter how uncomfortable that was to either ourselves or others, only landed gentry would be granted the right to vote, slavery would not have been abolished, state-sponsored murder (capital punishment) would still be on our statute books, and we’d all still believe the world was flat.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Jun 30th 2011, 1:41 PM

Maybe I’m just not getting it…there were fifteen (15) complaints from the public about 22 ads. Even if the maths didn’t look so wrong…the very least that could be said is that a micro minority seems to have a majority style voice here. It seems that a sense of humour and a democratic attitude are sadly missing here. Maybe we should print nothing, broadcast nothing say and do nothing. That way no one would be offended. Really folks…

Mute John Butler
    Favourite John Butler
    Jun 30th 2011, 5:49 PM

The statistical anomaly stemmed from an as yet unmentioned ad for a breakfast dish : it was the work of cereal complainers : )

Mute Fintan Foley
    Favourite Fintan Foley
    Jun 30th 2011, 9:17 AM

There was more flesh on show at the gay pride marches across the country, why was no one upset by that

Mute Ando Winters
    Favourite Ando Winters
    Jun 30th 2011, 10:41 AM

yorkie : not for girls :)

Mute Fintan Foley
    Favourite Fintan Foley
    Jun 30th 2011, 9:14 AM

Get a life people the CBG ads are funny, ha ha, ye seem to get upset very easily. Most women are prob just jealous of her curves