You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/WAYHOME studio

Poll: Do you struggle to pay your rent?

A new Daft.ie report shows rental homes available in Ireland have hit an ‘all-time low’.

THE NUMBER OF homes available for rent across Ireland has dropped to an “all-time low” leading to further price spikes around the country, according to Daft.ie.

In its latest quarterly rental report, the property advertisement website notes that there were just 1,460 homes available to rent on 1 November. This is the lowest amount since Daft began tracking availability in January 2006.

This has led to rental prices in Dublin increasing 2.7% on a year-on-year basis.

The increases were even steeper across other cities with a year-on-year jump of 6.9% recorded in Cork, 8.3% in Galway, 8.9% in Limerick and 10% in Waterford.

So, today we want to know … Do you struggle to pay your rent?

Poll Results:

I don't rent (4840)
Yes (2703)
No (1900)
Yes, but only sometimes (999)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:12 AM

Do you struggle to pay your buy to let loan, service charge, property tax, tax on rent, insurance, maintenance etc ? Yes.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:12 AM

@Tom Molloy: Yes for a few years, then it was easy street

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:28 AM

@Mickety Dee: So building up support for ones retirement is wrong ? New would-be landlords have got the message and have stopped making that mistake.

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:25 AM

@Tom Molloy:

Sounds like you made a bad investment with borrowed money. Not the same as struggling to keep a roof over your head now is it?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:31 AM

@David Bourke: you do get it does put your home at risk if you can’t pay all your mortgages? If they lose money and get into debt that is their tenants on the street too

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:50 AM

@Craic_a_tower:

We’re talking about buy-to-let here. If you borrow money for an investment, it is never guaranteed to work out. All investments come with risk.

Are you suggesting that buy-to-let investors deserve some kind of special treatment where our government ensures their profitability?

Last year I bought shares in a company that didn’t do so well, so my overall gains werre down. Does that give me a right to whinge about capital gains tax? No.

Struggling to pay rent is a bigger problem than struggling to run a buy-to-let business. Perhaps renters are better off with a more financially stable landlord.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:24 AM

@David Bourke: its a matter of effect. If you disincentiivize private investment in the rental sector through price controls and other market distorting regulations you will end up with ever greater shortages of rental properties. Prospective rentets will then be in a position of not being able to rent any property for any price because there are none. Cause leads to effect. It seems many would rather plug their ears and shout “greed, greed, greed” and appeal to our amazingly competent politicians to regulate more and in turn make the problem worse. I think the term useful idiot has been used for people like this.

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:42 AM

@David Bourke: a financial stable landlord like the cuckoo funds people don’t want…… man, some people see never happy one way or another

Mute aperally
    Favourite aperally
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:48 AM

@Damon16: but it’s still an investment, if you bit more than you could chew than you have to re-think and maybe sell

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:53 AM

@Peter Roche:

Personally, I’d much rather rent from a large institutional landlord or at least a letting agency. Small private landlords, in my experience, are the worst. Getting a written lease is like pulling teeth, and too often they have strange ideas about their rights and responsibilities.

The cuckoo fund stuff is a bit of a scapegoat for issues caused by several decades of bad planning, NIMBYs objecting to developments, and an obsession with owning semi-detached houses.

Cuckoo funds make large scale development more financially viable, and we really need them to cope with demand. When supply meets demand, prices will stabilise, and property will become affordable again. Simple as that.

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:34 AM

@aperally: That’s exactly right. People are not getting involved in putting their already taxed savings into creating accommodation to rent and those who previously did are getting out as fast as they can.

Mute Bébhinn Farrell
    Favourite Bébhinn Farrell
    Nov 11th 2021, 1:17 AM

@Tom Molloy: did you make this choice and will end up minted along with owning the property at the end of your profiteering? Cry my a river

Mute Carrie Poettcker
    Favourite Carrie Poettcker
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:17 AM

I don’t rent. I do have a spare room I sometimes rent to a student. I ask 450 a month which includes all bills and internet. The last thing a student needs to worry about is the roof over their heads!! Unfortunately I can’t rent right now but hoping next year to have someone in again.

Mute The Bolt
    Favourite The Bolt
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:29 AM

@Carrie Poettcker: Can you imagine if all rental providers thought like that. Credit where its due, fair play.

Mute Mark B
    Favourite Mark B
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:05 AM

@Carrie Poettcker: Commendable and its true not all landlords are gauges.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:17 AM

@The Bolt: Not all rental providers rent out a room. For many its an investment. People invest to get a return on investment and at least cover their costs. Its the same way that food producers/manufacturers invest in food production for profit. You’ll notice an abundance of food in the supermarkets. What might happen if our infinitely wise politicians began setting food price pressure zones or worse still began nationalising farms or supermarkets. Do you think food would be more available to people or less? History gives a clear answer to this. The same exact thing is happening now with the rental market.

Mute The Bolt
    Favourite The Bolt
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:52 AM

@Damon16: Nobody is denying anybody to cover costs, or to make a profit. But lets use your example in another scenario. Lets say one of the big supermarkets buys all the food from the smaller shops. It then holds on to that food and watches as the price rises, making that food unobtainable by a lot of people. And of those that can afford it, or struggle to afford it, they buy food that doesn’t meet their needs. There’s two sides to this coin Damon, and it seems the greed side of that coin is winning.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:38 AM

@The Bolt: Yeah but nowhere has your scenario actually happened. Somebody would come along and offer cheaper food because they would get the customers – Lidl and Aldie are examples. Ryanair is another example in the airline industry. The only reason you’re scenario might happen is if the state (the only entity with monopoly of force) were to regulate the food/supermarket industry such that only the established players could meet the up front costs of regulation. Thats indeed why air travel was only enjoyed by the very few in this country until deregulation allowed ryanair to offer customers an alternative to the state owned Air Lingus. The current rent levels which are obsurd are directly linked to scarcity of housing units. This cannot be stressed enough. It always suits politicians to encourage simplistic “greedy x” narratives but we need to be wiser than that if we want any sort of future. I speak as someone btw who rents and who is very affected by this issue.

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:41 AM

@Damon16: This is exactly why left wing countries like Venezuela have food and other famines and the Irish left are pushing the same insane ideas for Ireland. Sadly huge numbers of Irish voters with the help of our media have been conned into falling for the sophistry that destroys.

Mute The Bolt
    Favourite The Bolt
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:37 PM

@Damon16: Being honest, you’re doing a better job at explaining your point than I am. Have a look at this link and this is somewhere along the point I’m trying to make. “Dr Rory Hearne: The Government does not want you to be able to afford to buy a home” https://www.thejournal.ie/readme/ireland-investment-housing-5428746-May2021/

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Nov 10th 2021, 1:52 PM

@The Bolt: thanks for link. I read it and am familiar with him anyway. I think he comes from a viewpoint ideologically that says State/Gov good, private sector bad. He fits his facts/arguments to that view. He says rents rose because the Gov didn’t implement rent control measures 10 yra ago or whenever. The problem with that view is that large studies on the effects of rent control in the US and Europe have clearly shown that it reduces supply of properties and increases rents over time. The reason there is a supply shortage is because virtually no houses were built in the 10yrs following the housing crash, the Gov doubled down on regulation which increased build cost to unprofitable levels, new mortgage rules had the effect of forcing many new people into the rental market and all the while population increased. Covid also put a stop to new buildings. Asset inflation (a global problem driven by EU printing money to sustain gov debt) has driven house prices up world wide and coupled with new rent controls has made it more favourable for landlords to sell their rental properties further restricting supply. Just because Dr Hearne (who is a sociologist) wants something to be true according to his ideological outlook does not mean that it is true. The world is complex with lots of cause and effect. Good guy/bad guy narratives will always appeal to more people. I think we all know at heart though that when politicians hungry for popularity, power and adulation put their hands to something is generally doesn’t end well.

Mute Deus Ex Machina
    Favourite Deus Ex Machina
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:55 AM

When some rents are more than you’d pay if you had a mortgage that you can’t get because you can’t afford to save for the ten percent deposit then I’d say plenty are struggling to pay rent about now.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:35 AM

@Deus Ex Machina: rent is always more expensive than a mortgage in a healthy market. People also ignore owning a property is more expensive than the mortgage alone. You also have to pay for all the maintenance, insurance, furniture etc… BER on my rentals is better than my own house due to costs.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:57 AM

@Craic_a_tower: But in this country, rent is almost double what you’d pay on a mortgage for the same property.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:09 AM

@Alan Wright: no it is not you are exaggerating. But most private landlords do pay 50% tax on rental income and take a big risk due to how difficult it is to deal with nonpayment of rent

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:23 AM

@Craic_a_tower: It is. I live in D1 in a nice apt complex. Rents hover from 2k to 2.6k per month. To buy a 2 bed here is €330k. That is twice the mortgage cost. You’re always on here dictating what others should think, without know the facts of the situation. What I have said is real, you cannot dispute it.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:41 AM

@Alan Wright: and before you dispute my facts, which I know you’ll try. See link to daft.ie for a two bed in the same complex I live for just under €2.2k per month. For a mortgage payment on a property for €330k (I.e. mortgage is €290k) is €1.3k per month. So yes, rents are double that mortgage payments. https://www.daft.ie/for-rent/apartment-ifsc-the-steelworks-foley-street-dublin-1/3542709

Mute Sinéad White
    Favourite Sinéad White
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:07 PM

@Craic_a_tower: the funny thing is that to get a landlord to fix anything in an apartment anymore is nearly impossible and sometimes the furniture and appliances are the old, unwanted items they put in their rentals rather than throwing them away. Mould, leaks etc go unattended and then when something bad happens it’s the tenants fault. Then the deposits are held for silly reasons. Antisocial behaviour is reported and ignored. It’s not as idyllic to rent as landlords seem to think it is.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:34 PM

@Alan Wright: so not double and you aren’t considering the maintenance fees. Landlords have the same issues as everyone else when it comes to getting tradesmen so repairs take time. When you own your own place you don’t get to buy all new furniture ever 2-3 years but tenants think landlords should do this. Then you have tenants lack of care on anything in the rental. Bought 4 washing machines, one for me one for my mother and 2 for rentals. The rental machines last less than 3 years yet 10 years later the other 2 have no issue. Tenants are very hard on anything in a rental, compare that to the likes of Germany where the tenant has to provide their own kitchen and repaint when leaving

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 10th 2021, 1:15 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I didn’t mention anything about repairs or furniture etc. I am saying the cost of rent in Ireland, especially Dublin is a direct barrier to someone getting a mortgage for themselves. And anyway, with your last ‘pitty me’ comment there you show yourself to be a winey child. If you cry about your (your) costs of your business, then you shouldn’t be in that business. I feel sorry for your tenants.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 1:49 PM

@Alan Wright: equally why should I care about your whining about rent? I actually do care about equality of rights and have friends and family struggling with renting and know what bad landlords are like. Treat landlords badly just means less rentals and higher rent. I’ll be ok but you won’t

Mute meg
    Favourite meg
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:01 PM

@Craic_a_tower: ‘I’ll be ok but you won’t’ exactly so why are you whinging? The people who are renting and ‘whining’ would love to own even one property and know they’ll have a secure home, let alone a second or third that you’re making a profit from, so why are you going on like the ‘struggles’ are two sides of the same coin when at the end of the day you have that security AND a profit on top of whatever your day job is (assuming you have one). If you hate being a landlord that much then sell, we could do with more properties for sale.

Mute Sinead Sander
    Favourite Sinead Sander
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:05 PM

@Craic_a_tower: we had a tenant who “decorated” the walls with graffiti, I mean every inch. I asked him to right it, they didn’t, and stopped paying rent. We were lucky enough to get rid of them and brought them to the RTBs, who decided the house needs a paint between each tenancy anyway so it was our cost to repaint, they were there 6 months, I don’t paint my own home every 6 months, so why should the RTBs act in favour of the tenant (in this case).

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:25 PM

@meg: you really don’t understand basic economics. If landlords sell up less people are housed as rental have the higher occupancy rate but private homes have a low rate. Landlords are needed and they support lack of government housing. Cut of your nose despite your face. When I sell up I will take my money out of the country and leave the post colonial chip on Ireland’s shoulder about landlords

Mute meg
    Favourite meg
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:32 PM

@Craic a_tower: You could address my comment properly and answer why you’re giving out and comparing your struggle to someone who wishes they had even one mortgage but can’t as it’s difficult to save when paying out of your nose for rent. You have the security of a home and profit on top. Helen Keller could see why it’s a lot more difficult to feel sorry for me you than someone paying high rent and getting no closer to owning a home.

‘When I sell up?’ I’m sure that’ll be soon since you clearly don’t like being a landlord. Poor thing.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:40 PM

@meg: He can’t and wont Meg. Craic a Tower is on every article about the cost of rent for the past two years crying about how bad and hard it is to be a landlord as if he’s some martyr to the people.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:00 PM

@meg: sorry what rules of comments am I not following? Informing you of why rent is expensive and increasing punitive charges on landlords will make the situation worse. Not sure why you don’t want a fair equal system. Currently 2 rentals can be side by side the exact same condition and one can get €1k and the other €2k and the rent can’t go up. The government made it so the person being nice by not raising the rent is punished and not allowed increase the rent to market rates. Does that seem fair

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:04 PM

@Alan Wright: I notice you come on whining a lot. You still can’t say how the government is favouring small landlords but make the claim a lot.

Mute meg
    Favourite meg
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:27 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Who said anything about rules? I’ve asked you a question twice that you haven’t been able to answer. No one with any logical reasoning skills would think that you’re to be pitied as much as someone who doesn’t know if they’ll have a secure home when they retire just because you can’t make as much profit as you’d like to on your second property.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:37 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I never made that accusation though. I said the cost of rent in Ireland is a direct barrier to people getting a mortgage (I.e. Can’t save up for a deposit and pay huge rent at the same time). Point to any comment of mine where I do. You can’t and you’re talking out your hole now.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 4:01 PM

@meg: you asked a question once, “why are you whinging?” I am not. What question I’d I not answer? These “?” Indicate questions in case you didn’t know

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 4:06 PM

@meg: you are making the suggestion that landlords should just put up with less profit than other investments of the same value. How logical is that? Why would landlords just accept this? You really don’t get why it is bad if landlords leave the market and they will when the government tries to make them pay for a lack of social housing they are now. I am sure you wouldn’t mind if you were paid less for the greater good than the person you work beside. You aren’t entitled to make somebody else to offer you cheaper services because you can’t afford it

Mute meg
    Favourite meg
    Nov 10th 2021, 4:30 PM

@Craic_a_tower: You are about how difficult it is to be a landlord, and about it being difficult to get the profit you want. You then said ‘equally, why should I care about your whining about rent’, an attempt to level the two issues. Pretty sh%tty situation people are in not being able to save for houses, not having security for the future, not comparable to not getting as much money as you want from your second gaff.

Unequal pay in the working world is a thing already, but the key word you’ve used there is work ;) you’re getting passive income and trying to make out that it’s a difficult ‘job’ because you need to organise repairs and replace items every so often and you’re unhappy that you can’t squeeze as much as possible out of people as you’d like. You’re entitled to be miffed about it but it’s bizarre to be all over the comments about high rental prices knowing people are struggling talking about how unfair things are for you.

You’re right two properties that are equal and in the same condition shouldn’t differ in rental price by a grand, that’s insanity, but don’t be surprised if people don’t feel sorry for you not being able to charge tenants two grand a month instead of one.

And if that’s your only source of income there are plenty of jobs out there, but I’m sure you do have a regular job as well as your rental income, only a hard worker could be so exhausted.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 6:39 PM

@meg: you started with your opinion and don’t listen. Explaining how messed up the market is and how policies are making the situation worse. The fact is landlords are leaving the market you may not care about what is making them leave but it effects you and what you want. I would happily reduce rents if I didn’t have to worry about 2 years of non payment if a tenant just decides not to pay.
    You have to work with suppliers to make sure you have supply and bringing in random restrictions is self defeating. You need to make the market stable for all.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Nov 10th 2021, 6:57 PM

@Craic_a_tower: “rent is always more expensive than a mortgage in a healthy market”, and by healthy, you mean a market that suits the likes of you… landlords :D

Mute Jakie McLean
    Favourite Jakie McLean
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:54 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I would agree with you re tenants being hard on anything in a rental. Things break down much more quickly due to lack of care and you have to replace or repair. I bought two kitchen taps the same. One has been in my kitchen 12 years. The second one was a spare and was fitted to the kitchen in the rental after the first tap developed a leak in the rinsing hose. The spare tap lasted 5 months and has a leak due to rough handling. Same story with switches on appliances, toilet flushes, etc. Don’t get me started on pop up wastes or thermostatic shower/bath taps. They are twisted until they are broken.

Mute Thomas Ryan
    Favourite Thomas Ryan
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:48 AM

Said the same thing last time; a poll aimed at renters should not have ‘I don’t rent’ as an option.

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:03 AM

@Thomas Ryan: I agree but lots of readers are interested in this article. If you don’t pick some option though you won’t be able to see the results….

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:44 AM

Lucky to buy a house few years ago and my mortgage is half what my previous rent was.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:08 AM

Do you struugle to pay your rent, electricity, gas, insurance, TV, broadband, put fuel in your car, car insurance etc. Welcome to the most expensive, overrated country on the planet.

Mute Sinead Sander
    Favourite Sinead Sander
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:30 PM

@The Firestarter: too true

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:52 AM

One man’s greed is another man’s proverty

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Nov 10th 2021, 8:58 AM

@Gerard Heery: one politician’s incompetence is everyone else’s problem more like it. Rents are high because there aren’t enough places for rent. Its called cause and effect. Its pity people can’t seem to get that. Very handy for politicians to mess things up and then blame the private sector.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:38 AM

@Gerard Heery: so all rent is greed?

Mute Sinead Sander
    Favourite Sinead Sander
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:24 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Being a landlord is a business, you invest, you take risk, you charge for services, you pay taxes, you are left with a profit, otherwise it doesn’t make sense.

Being a landlord doesn’t replace the responsibilities of government housing schemes, it is not a charitable organisation, and it is regulated to the point that landlords are disadvantaged unlike other businesses.

If there was better competition, more availability in the market, then rent would be lower, landlords need people in houses at the end of the day. I am not being unfair, Im not saying it’s right, it’s just economics, demand and supply.

Mute Sinead Sander
    Favourite Sinead Sander
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:28 PM

@Craic_a_tower: If there were more incentives for new companies to set up outside of Dublin, or more government funded rental units, it would create a less volatile market, but the fact of the matter is, there are way more people wanting to rent than there are available rental units. Due to the restrictions and risks faced by landlords, they are leaving the market when prices are good, more economics. This is where there is opportunity for the government to invest and rent these houses out, or to ease mortgage restrictions or support owner occupiers.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:17 PM

@Sinead Sander: I am a landlord, so I know how it goes. I also hire people and the reason companies want to be in Dublin is because that is where the work force is.

Mute Sinead Sander
    Favourite Sinead Sander
    Nov 10th 2021, 5:30 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I agree with what you are saying in theory, but how much if that work force can afford to live in Dublin, most commute from surrounding counties. If companies located to surrounding counties their costs would be lower and their employees commute and expenses would be less cumbersome.

The other alternative is building high rise that actually serves a purpose of accommodating families such as 3/4 bedroom units with outdoor/balcony areas that are sufficient (not a token shelf outside a patio door), not studio or 1-bedroom units, we are up to our oxters with those.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:53 AM

Greed greed greed. House i gave up went up by 350 euro when next advertised! Was not even worth what i paid but i was desperate. Don’t know how anyone can afford 11 or 12 hundred ,not like we are in a city or even near one! Anyway, as usual, landlord does not want to give us the deposit back. Why are they all the same.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:31 AM

@Marie Broomfield: Marie, the house was worth that because you agreed to pay that for it. You had no alternative. That’s how scarcity drives up prices. You were likely competing with many other prospective renters for that property. The landlord sorted out who would get to rent it based on what they were willing to pay for it, the quality of their references, bank statemtns etc. Thats what happens in a market with a severe supply shortage. Get on to your local TDs and ask them what exactly they are doing to encourage more houses to be built. This is the ONLY solution to this problem.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Nov 10th 2021, 1:45 PM

@Damon16: i got the house without bank statements and references etc. That was the cost of all houses at the time, i’m only saying it was not worth the money, based on how it looked. The other option is to go to the council to get housing. don’t need either now cuz we bought one but i think the councils should be building houses alright!

Mute kmobrien
    Favourite kmobrien
    Nov 10th 2021, 10:26 AM

We own our home but my husband works as a care assistant in a nursing home and I can’t for the life of me get my head around how his colleagues earning 10-11euro per hour can afford to pay rents of over €1,000.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:07 PM

It’s clearly a huge problem, and one of the most annoying parts of it is seeing TD’s react angrily when asked about it in the Dáil. They’ve created this situation, they know the pain it causes people and yet they feel anger simply being asked to stop hurting people like this. It’s the public who should be angry, and for them to be angry for even being asked about it really galls me.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:07 AM

If I could FIND a place, the rent I’d need to pay would be ridiculous……

In the last 4 weeks prices have jumped hugely (again) and the availability is ridiculous.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 9:37 AM

@Tricia G: how is that happening in RPZ areas?

Mute Sinéad White
    Favourite Sinéad White
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:27 PM

@Craic_a_tower: there are significant breaches of the regulations happening everywhere with very little being done about it.

Mute Sinead Sander
    Favourite Sinead Sander
    Nov 10th 2021, 6:48 PM

@Sinéad White: on both sides I’m sure

Mute Frank Emerson
    Favourite Frank Emerson
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:35 PM

Why does anyone expect a government, made up of so many landlords, to make laws to benefit tenants.
    25% of t.d.s are landlord’s.Michael Healy-Rae remains the Dáil’s biggest landlord, with 16 properties listed for rent, according to the register, which covers 2020. Our turkeys won’t vote for Christmas.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:44 PM

@Frank Emerson: if this is true then you can point to the laws that have been introduced to help small landlords. You will see that they aren’t doing themselves favours. In fact it has been punitive. You are trolling out a very easily disproved belief about the government. People point to rising prices but that has many causes and you can be sure the government is more incompetent than somehow running a clever scheme to give them gains in price increases on property

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:59 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I guess we have different definitions for “small landlords”. To me, that is someone who rents a back room in their own house (or a house extension on their own property), or maybe they own a 2nd house which they fully rent. Somebody with 10 houses isn’t a small landlord, unless they are less than 5’5″ tall.
    And one more thing, you have to look beyond the politicians themselves (relatives, enablers). Somebody’s wife owning 5 houses isn’t exactly a new strategy.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 1:55 PM

@Stan Papusa: yeah I use it in business terms and 15 properties is a small landlord for tax purposes and nothing like a REIT. You also couldn’t name any favours the government has done for small landlords. So we’re you just making it up? According to you 25% of government are controlling the rest to help the 25% some financial gain yet there is absolutely no evidence and in fact counter evidence such as RPZ, PRSI, LPT,PRTB etc all brought in that penalise landlords for providing a needed service.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Nov 10th 2021, 2:28 PM

@Craic_a_tower: If refusing to implement capping (either for rent or house prices) isn’t a favor, then again we have different definitions and I have to ask you what a favor is in your opinion.
    Add to that landlords ignoring yearly maximum increases in rent pressure zones, with little to no reaction…

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Nov 11th 2021, 8:27 PM

@Craic_a_tower: haha, “I’m just a small humble landlord, with a meagre FIFTEEN PROPERTIES!” Haha ok well you’ve shown your hand here. Any time I see landlords commenting here they’re complaining. Only way you’ll be happy is if we revert to the famine times landlord system. Haway ya absolute leech.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:56 AM

Given the percentage of those not renting and not struggling either, it’s no wonder nothing is being done and in fact most people are ok with the status quo.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:11 AM

Any reason this simple yes no poll.has 4 options?

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Nov 10th 2021, 12:18 PM

When the likes of Varadkar are getting away with statements like “one person’s rent is another person’s income” what can you expect? What was that about, if not suggesting it’s better to allow 1500-2500 rents or higher, rather than inconveniencing those who own 5-10 houses…

In reality nothing will ever get done, as long as the number of people owning houses (or having paid most of their mortgage) outnumber ‘new entrants’ to the housing market, i.e. young people and expats without money. People might fake outrage publicly, but who will protest to have the house prices (and rent prices) halved? Certainly not those who have paid through the nose for theirs!
    No, protests are reserved nowadays for BS issues.

Mute Roger Bond
    Favourite Roger Bond
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:26 PM

Build to rent schemes are a National disgrace.
    If all these build to rent properties were available to buy then most people would be financially better off and more secure.

Mute Jakim Berndsen
    Favourite Jakim Berndsen
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:27 PM

2/3 renting responders have at least some level of difficult in keeping a roof over their heads. Two out of every three renters!!!!

Most people that I know renting have no desire to, but are priced out of the housing market for exactly this reason – they are struggling so badly to pay for overinflated rents that saving for a mortgage is almost impossible. Is it a wonder the homeless figures in this country are so high?

We need policy to address this. A proven record of paying rent should be equivalent to a deposit. We need increases in housing supply. The current situation is unsustainable, and we can’t be shocked people are leaving the country in their droves.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Nov 10th 2021, 6:13 PM

A Referendum on Housing, called for in 1974 by the Kenny Report and recently by the Constitutional Commission in 2014 would have prevented the 2008 Property Crash (and the need for the Bailout) and the Housing and Rental mess that followed and is still with us 13 years later.

Run the Referendum and fix this obscene Rental and Housing problem once and for all.

https://www.change.org/p/irish-referendum-on-family-home-special-status

Family Homes should have special status, superior to general property rights, without adversely impacting on them, like Germany and most other civilised countries.

Ireland is a failed State – it has failed its citizens badly. Its Constitution is seriously defective. Irish people need to bring their brains to the Polling Booths – and soon – and demand this Referendum for the sake of their kids and grandkids.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 10th 2021, 3:29 PM

@Stan Papusa: they did put in rent controls that punished landlords who didn’t raise rent and you say they did landlords a favour!! How do you propose they cap prices of houses for sale and what has that got to do with landlords?
    People breaking the law doesn’t point to the government helping landlords either. They recently came out and said only 1 in 10 complaints found landlords breaking the RPZ rules.
    You really have nothing to back up your claim and I provided you with 4 additional charges and rules applied to landlords. If what you said was true you should be finding loads of things

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Nov 10th 2021, 11:33 PM

it comes down to the simple fact that rice people and people who aspire to be rich are using housing as a means to saved their money. Assets are king and this country has never penalised people who use property to store their wealth. This is an issue all over the world. People in Ireland buy houses as a way to become asset rich. Ireland needs homes it doesn’t need more millionaires. It certainly doesn’t need foreign investment funds renting massive amounts of properties tax free. As all the money leaves Ireland and is not reinvested back into this country which could be used to build more houses.

Take in the UK, investment bankers are buying farm land as a way to safeguard their money. The have no interest in farming the land or even know how to. Is that in the best interest of the UK. Land needs to be managed and cared for. Same way with rich Saudi Arabian people buying assets all over the world. There needs to be far more regulation and local people need to have a say is what’s allowed and what’s not allowed.