You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Associated Press

Poll: Do you think a sugar tax should be introduced?

Leo Varadkar told reporters that he has always been a “long-term supporter” of the tax.

AN TAOISEACH LEO Varadkar said yesterday that he wants to see a sugar tax introduced next year.

Varadkar told reporters that he has always been a “long-term supporter” of the tax.

Health authorities and officials have been making calls for a tax on all sugar-sweetened drinks (SSDs) for years, with the Royal College of Physicians warning in 2015 that Ireland could become the fattest country in Europe by 2030 if urgent action isn’t taken.

However, there is a lot of dispute around whether a sugar tax would actually be effective in lowering consumption of sugary drinks.

But what do you think?

Today we’re asking: Do you think a sugar tax should be introduced?

Poll Results:

Yes - It should be introduced next year (5357)
No - It should not be introduced (4436)
Don't know/care (348)
Yes - It should be introduced at a later date (247)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

128 Comments
    Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:07 PM

Fair play to the company in acting so fast on this, rare to see a company solve something so quickly that actually benefits others rather than themselves

Oct 3rd 2018, 1:09 PM

@Pixie McMullen: I agree.well done to the company.mind you even with this people above me are calling it a publicity stunt….#irishneverhappy.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:48 PM

@Pixie McMullen: Pity about the people losing their jobs / hours because of this antisocial behaviour.

Mute Dav Nagle
    Favourite Dav Nagle
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:41 PM

@Pixie McMullen: if only Ireland could respond with such a swift attitude regarding policy’s

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:45 PM

@Pixie McMullen: Congratulations Pixie, never seen 1500 thumbs up to a comment before.

Mute Tom Lynch
    Favourite Tom Lynch
    Oct 3rd 2018, 7:02 PM

They had no choice but to close it at 11.30

Mute Tom Lynch
    Favourite Tom Lynch
    Oct 3rd 2018, 7:04 PM

Nobody said anyone lost jobs .

Mute Mark Bonaventure Griffin
    Favourite Mark Bonaventure Griffin
    Oct 30th 2018, 2:58 PM

@Aaron McKenna: no one lost there job?? Everyone was just given a different shift pattern

Mute Neil Reilly
    Favourite Neil Reilly
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:12 PM

This will lead to illegal sugar pushers hanging outside the apartments dealing inferior donut products

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:28 PM

@Neil Reilly: hahaha

Mute Carl
    Favourite Carl
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:31 PM

Ive a couple of Tesco custard donuts if you want….

Mute Finn H. Schoyen
    Favourite Finn H. Schoyen
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:36 PM

@Carl: Sounds nice. I’m trying to get cheese and onion doughnuts, but Tesco apparently won’t sell them here in Ireland.

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:05 PM

@Carl: pushers out !!

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:01 PM

@Neil Reilly: best comment I’ve seen on the journal for a while!

Mute Carl
    Favourite Carl
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:16 PM

Fair play to them. I imagine the plan was to always scale back as a 24hr place was probably not sustainable once the initial excitement wore off, but good to see them taking action. But honestly, people queuing at 3am beeping and causing hassle over donuts? Cop on!

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:49 PM

@Carl: after seeing people queuing in the middle of the night to buy an iPhone, now we have people doing the same to buy a doughnut. First world problem I guess.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 3rd 2018, 6:15 PM

@Carl: They have staff working through the night anyway so I guess they will give it a few weeks/months and when the frenzy dies down I’m sure they will give it a go again just like around the corned do.

Mute Malcolm Smith
    Favourite Malcolm Smith
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:14 PM

Sometimes I wake in the night wanting certain things, a drink of water, a pee, but a doughnut? Who in their right mind would go queue for donuts in the middle of the night? Money and sense comes to mind!

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:40 PM

@Malcolm Smith: Not everybody is a daywalker my dude

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:00 PM

@Malcolm Smith: HOMER!!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:08 PM

@Malcolm Smith: pregnant wives and girlfriends?!

Mark
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:17 PM

@Malcolm Smith: amazingly enough, some of us are either working or headed to work in the middle of the night. How are the guards supposed to live up to a stereotype if they can’t get coffee and donuts at 3am??

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:13 PM

@Malcolm Smith: When your life revolves around claiming your dole and being an antisocial welfare sponge normal hours and a routine don’t really matter!

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Favourite BarronVonVaderHam
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:13 PM

Have I gone mad?? These are doughnuts, as in, batter and sugar? Is there cocaine in them?… I mean cinnamon

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:41 PM

@BarronVonVaderHam: only the fluffiest crunchy outer shell heavenly melt in your mouth doughnuts that you can never satisfy a craving for no matter how many doughnuts you try to eat.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:02 PM

@BarronVonVaderHam: cocaine? What cocaine in these? Nah man that’s, uh, raisins.

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:40 PM

@Shane Buckley: Offbeat are better. Krispy Kreme are 8/10 at best.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:43 PM

@JDel: Do they have a drive thru?

Mute successisurs
    Favourite successisurs
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:33 PM

@Shane Buckley: You just reminded me of the Hary Enfield sketch regarding Dime bar ad.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:29 PM

@successisurs: lol

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:50 PM

@BarronVonVaderHam: If there was id be queuing mad hours as well.

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:42 PM

I think the reason why people queued was not because of the doughnuts but because of the queue, Irish people love a good queue, you could be walking by a shop and there’s a queue reaching all around the corner, you don’t know what it’s for but you somehow drift into the queue.

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:47 PM

@Lisa Byrne: like that scene in the commitments.
    “What instrument do ya play?”
    “Instrument? I seen the que and thought you were selling drugs!”

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:52 PM

@Lisa Byrne: they’re known as the noisy doughnutters!!!!!!

Mute Derek Walsh Ⓥ
    Favourite Derek Walsh Ⓥ
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:48 PM

How embarrassed would you be for anybody who queued for doughnuts?

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:33 PM

@Derek Walsh Ⓥ: be morto like!

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail

When the munchies hit.. God bless blanch

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:19 PM

Have these people no home to go to. Up all night for a doughnut for God’sSake.

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:17 PM

@Aine O Connor: I’d say most certainly have no job to go to? I’m in bed have to be up at 6-30!

Mute Miceál Mac Eoin
    Favourite Miceál Mac Eoin
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:31 PM

@Dougal67: Or finished their job at 2 am?

Mute Mark Daniel©
    Favourite Mark Daniel©
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:53 PM

@Dougal67: not everyone works Monday to Friday 9-5:30

Mute Mark Daniel©
    Favourite Mark Daniel©

Mute Mark Daniel©
    Favourite Mark Daniel©

Mute Mark Daniel©
    Favourite Mark Daniel©

@Dougal67: @Dougal67: not everyone works Monday to Friday 9-5:30

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:12 PM

@Mark Daniel©: heard u the first time?? I said most ie 51% I know there’s some people on night shift but that many every night????????? I guarantee you most are on the dole

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:52 PM

@Dougal67: Nobody gives a crap what you guarantee because your guarantee’s mean sweet f all. 7.1/10

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Oct 4th 2018, 12:54 AM

@Mark McDermott: Mark u have anger issues buddy go grab a donut ?

Mute Ross Fehily
    Favourite Ross Fehily
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:28 PM

Don’t get this culture in Ireland where you can get fast food at all hours of the day; including weekends and bank holidays, but banks & pharmacies which are vital to people have extremely limited open hours. All wrong

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley

@Ross Fehily: everything should be 24/7 in the age of information, imagine what the economy would be like if this was the case.

Mute Ronan Smith
    Favourite Ronan Smith
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:05 PM

Publicity Stunt

Mute Claire Ela
    Favourite Claire Ela
    Oct 3rd 2018, 6:32 PM

@Ronan Smith: definitely. It created hype AND made them look good for being considerate to residents in the end!

Mute Ronan Smith
    Favourite Ronan Smith
    Oct 3rd 2018, 6:56 PM

@Claire Ela: I do think so. A complete stunt. I think these people were paid to go and do what they did, and may be on donuts!

Mute Allison Smith
    Favourite Allison Smith
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:18 PM

This could have been a great success. The thing is its our own down fall. What kind of person queues in the middle of the night for a donut. These people are the ones making all the noise that got it shut down. Complete disrespect.

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:53 PM

@Allison Smith: People who are high, if it was beside my house and I was high id probably be tempted to go over. Just skin up a few spliffs for the wait and your sorted.

Mute Lainie Ed
    Favourite Lainie Ed
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:01 PM

The problem isnt krispy kreme or it being 24 hours, its a limited bunch of w**kers who are being antisocial in blanchardstown instead of their usual hangouts. proper community policing would have dealt with this, instead the garda just left it for a handful of security guys. I was there at 10 last night and the non-drive through queue was 10 mins and there was no trouble. punish the troublemakers, not the rest of us!

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:44 PM

Another example of why we cannot have nice things in Ireland.. we ruin it for ourselves.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:45 PM

@Anthony Clark: I’m moving to Vegas, this backwards country is slow.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:52 PM

@Shane Buckley: Do you need help packing your bags?

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:41 PM

@Slim Shady: are you looking for a job?

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:09 PM

@Shane Buckley: Depends on how you’re going to pay me. Not if it’s with doughnuts.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:30 PM

@Slim Shady: I’ll buy you a happy meal

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:54 PM

@Shane Buckley: Ill take the happy meal if he doesn’t want it.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:28 PM

@Shane Buckley: You’re on :)

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:08 PM

So what happens now when the sweats & shivers start to kick in at 2am. You done this to me Krispy Kreme…… WTF man. … You cant do this.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:22 PM

@The Viking: Eat a pomegranate. There’s 39g of sugar in one.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:43 PM

@Slim Shady: there is only 10g of sugar in a krispy kreme original glazed donut.

Its not about the suger.

J
    Mute J
    Favourite J
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:41 PM

@Shane Buckley: what is it about then, the cult of branding?

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power

Geez all the donut addicts will have major Instagram and donut withdrawal symptoms by 6am. We’ll need the riot police there in the morning to keep civil order.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:12 PM

Why were the rules of the road not enforced by the Gardai? Why does the company need to adjust their model for people who should have been fined and/or given penalty points? Craze for doughnuts aside – it’s seems very wrong not a single person breaking the LAWS we have were not punished.

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:55 PM

@Richard: Someone was saying its because its classed as a car park but I can’t believe that the Garda have their hands tied and can’t do anything about all the noise. Surely a breach of the peace.

Mute Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Favourite Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:25 PM

Is it houses or donuts they are selling

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:27 PM

@Marcus o Dhonnghaile: its doughnuts ye spoon.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:45 PM

@BarronVonVaderHam: I would live in a donut if it was big enough

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:32 PM

Are the Irish not fat enough FFS?

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley

@Gerry Lamont: clearly not

Mute Morrigan Media
    Favourite Morrigan Media
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:20 PM

The queues etc would have died off after a while as the novelty factor wore off. I was in Edinburgh the weekend Krispy Kreme opened there much to my bemusement my hotel was right next to it. There was a queue outside it the entire time, both for drive through and walk-up.

Mute NickyVera
    Favourite NickyVera
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:46 PM

Great news for the neighbours I just hope no one is losing their jobs though.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:54 PM

@NickyVera: Fully agree, no residents anywhere should have to endure that disturbance.

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:52 PM

@NickyVera: of course people will lose their jobs or at least have a massive reduction in hours. They are closing for an entire shift due to a bunch of morans.

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:32 PM

@Karen NíDhochartaigh: The irony of misspelling morons :’)

Mute Mike Johnston
    Favourite Mike Johnston
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:17 PM

Are they even that good ???

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:23 PM

@Mike Johnston: Let’s find out!

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:43 PM

@Mike Johnston: I bought some for the family. They are nice but absolute sugar bombs. One is plenty.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:26 PM

Beeeeeeep! Beeeeep!

Mute Paul Costello
    Favourite Paul Costello
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:59 PM

So you could say that all the late night drivers cuing up and beeping their horns just blew it…. I will let myself out.

Oct 3rd 2018, 1:29 PM

Fair play to them. Will get alot of goodwill for this step.

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:18 PM

Someone in the office just came back with a box of them. I’ve had 2 now. They are grand and all but I wouldn’t queue for them. Or purchase them myself for that matter.

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:35 PM

@Reuben Gray: Then you got the wrong ones

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:46 PM

DOWN WITH THAT SORT OF THING

Mute Paul Howlin
    Favourite Paul Howlin
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:28 PM

Will ya have a doughnut Father? There’s cocaine in em…

Mute Roy O'Rourke
    Favourite Roy O'Rourke
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:54 PM

It’ll be a cold day in hell before I eat anything from a place with Krispy Kreme in the title. It sounds like a euphemism and not a pleasant one either #matureporn

Mute Shane Buckley
    Favourite Shane Buckley
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:34 PM

@Roy O’Rourke: *Sometimes I like to wear womens panties and walk down 5th street*

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Oct 3rd 2018, 6:09 PM

Good. The likes of this is what has Americans in the obese mess they’re in. Nobody needs a 24 hour doughnut shop. You work night shifts? Wait until your day off. Nobody ever died from a doughnut deficiency, so your need for one can wait. Overweight has become the new normal and obesity, the new overweight. We’ve normalised the unhealthy and berate those who choose to take care of their bodies (eg Sadiq Khan removing the ‘bikini body’ posters in London). I can’t understand anybody who would actually *choose* to queue for hours to buy a doughnut that will still be there in a month/6 months time. Bloody hell.

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Oct 3rd 2018, 1:22 PM

I drove me bus phicsy last night just to get me hands on a few of these, caught rapid I was, raggin’

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 3rd 2018, 4:49 PM

Talk about a quick response, if only other things happened as quick in this country.

Mute Peter Jo
    Favourite Peter Jo
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:24 PM

Queing up for frozen doughnuts that have to thaw first

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:20 PM

That’s some good, cheap marketing over the last couple of days…

Mute De Zach Same
    Favourite De Zach Same
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:10 PM

People eh…

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:46 PM

Tried them the other day – they were indeed nice – didn’t need queue as if you just want a fixed selection box of donuts you were allowed to skip direct to counter.

Mute Paul McElroy
    Favourite Paul McElroy
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:25 PM

Demand is obviously highly wont be long until we’re an obese nation like the Americans. Shop local, can’t be an owl homemade irish scone!

Mute therealcc
    Favourite therealcc
    Oct 3rd 2018, 10:43 PM

No no leave it open it natural selection happening right in front of us

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Oct 3rd 2018, 7:40 PM

That’s the Garda going hungry through the night again now.

Mute Paul McElroy
    Favourite Paul McElroy
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:20 PM

Demand is obviously very high. Won’t be long until more outlets open which satisfy the fat fools who would rather spend there money on American chains than shop locally! Can’t bate the owl homemade irish scone!

Mute ℝ
    Favourite ℝ
    Oct 3rd 2018, 7:13 PM

It’s a business and money will have been the overriding factor, drive throughs are not built for the local community but for those further afield. They’ll have looked at the data from sales beyond midnight and figured out that financially it wasn’t worth opening beyond midnight (except Fri/Sat nights possibly). But saying that it’s for the benefit of locals is great PR….

Mute Alan Rothwell
    Favourite Alan Rothwell
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:45 PM

How long does it take to hand a box of donuts out the window?!? Shouldn’t take that long to cause a massive queue to form!

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:47 PM

O think the government should step in a make sure Krispy Kreme is open 24/7

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:01 PM

I’d eat a doughnut now….

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Nov 14th 2018, 1:35 PM

Feckin’ sheep!

Mute Griff Griff
    Favourite Griff Griff
    Nov 6th 2018, 2:48 PM

Now perhaps Krispy Kreme might build a cinder running track so people can run off all the extra calories after stuffing themselves with donuts!

Mute Mairead Hynes
    Favourite Mairead Hynes
    Oct 3rd 2018, 5:14 PM
    Mute Alanjturing
    Favourite Alanjturing
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:02 PM

Are we entitled to free donuts?