You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. SHUTTERSTOCK/HADRIAN

Poll: Should banks be compelled to provide more ATMs?

Tell us what you think.

BANKS COULD BE compelled to reinstall ATMs in towns and villages across the country under a new law that would guarantee that people and businesses have access to cash.

According to the Irish Examiner, new legislation being finalised by Finance Minister Michael McGrath would set out a maximum distance between cash machines in rural areas to ensure that people would not have to travel far to withdraw money. 

It comes a year after a retail banking review recommended that the Government should set out Access to Cash legislation that would require banks to set out “reasonable access to cash” criteria to preserve access.

The review raised concern about the acceptance of cash into the future due to the trend of digitisation of banking, adding that risks could arise if retailers and other public service providers, such as doctors or hospitals decide to not accept cash. 

So today we’re asking: Should banks be compelled to provide more ATMs?

Poll Results:

Yes (9076)
No (1148)
I'm not sure (347)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Dave O Neill
    Favourite Dave O Neill
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:16 AM

Banks should be more committed to the customers keeping branches open and staffed as it’s our money they love to pay out as dividends, and let’s not forget the billions payed out during the crash

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:32 AM

@Dave O Neill: Are you willing to pay for that though? I couldn’t care less about branches of it means they have to charge me more.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:53 PM

@Dave O Neill: The traditional banking sector needs to be reimagined as we move out of a jobs based societal structure.

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:03 PM

@Peter Murrey: And they increase profits by closing branches and having fewer staff. Circle of capitalist life

Mute colette byrne
    Favourite colette byrne
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:22 PM

@Mick Duvanny: we bailed them out and they got rid of hundreds of staff, for profit. We don’t all want a cashless society. Good luck in next recession when your credit is switched off or the banks system goes down, or another cyber attack.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Dec 11th 2023, 4:48 PM

How so? What’s your plan?

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:20 AM

Absolutely, and banks should be mandated to provide ATM withdrawals for free.

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:21 AM

@Laois Weather: It should be part of a thank you to the Irish Taxpayer for bailing them out before anyone says that the Banks are a business and have no obligation. We had no obligation to bail them out, but we just did.

Mute Ah Come On Now
    Favourite Ah Come On Now
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:23 AM

@Laois Weather: but then they will just charge more fees on your account. Banks never loose ever.

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:54 PM

@Ah Come On Now: No that shouldn’t be allowed, they’ll dream up something anyway regardless of ATMs provided.if they can get away with it. Beggars shouldn’t be allowed to be choosers.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:27 PM

@Laois Weather: Neither did we have a choice.

Mute Timo
    Favourite Timo
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:46 AM

Should be paying out a fair interest rate also like the rest of Europe

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:42 AM

Definitely rather use cash .

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:54 PM

@martin finnegan: Cash is going. It’s unavoidable, they don’t want to deal with it and we don’t use it enough.

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Dec 11th 2023, 6:13 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: i work in retail and a lot of people pay with cash, it ain’t going away

Mute Harry Cock
    Favourite Harry Cock
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:08 PM

Absolutely, cash is king

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:32 AM

Banks and ATM owners should be made to post transaction prices on screen.
    Some ATMs charge a euro per transaction

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:28 PM

@Peter Murrey: Shops don’t charge for Cashback, do they?

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Dec 11th 2023, 9:04 PM

@Peter Murrey: it should cost u a euro and change to withdraw €20 from ur account .

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:09 PM

The only bank in the town closed, Bank of Ireland, and the ATM was removed.
    But the town got together with the councilors in the area and got a new ATM installed at the Credit Union.
    The only option after the ATM on the street closed was waiting for a shop or garage to open.

Thankfully, got a great little town that get behind ideas and have them implemented.

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:37 PM

@Rafa C: Very beneficial for the town to have out-of-hours ATM services. Hopefully the Credit Unions can stay going, alot of them are struggling.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:34 AM

I genuinely handle cash about once a year (in birthday cards) but yes, withdrawing cash shouldn’t be an ordeal for people who still like to use it. I know very few who still use cash regularly, even my grandparents prefer their debit card now, but being in Dublin we have easy access to cash if we want it and so should everyone. We don’t need loads of ATMS in the same spot but there shouldn’t be towns/villages without one at all.

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:35 PM

@Megan Ward: While tapping the card is almost the default thing, using cash is better. Less charges on small businesses overall.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:46 PM

@Megan Ward: wait until you visit a town for a night out that has no ATM and dont have chip and pin service due to no connectivity.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:08 PM

@Niall English: I’ve managed to cope mostly using card since I was 17 and started working, I think I’ll be alright but appreciate the concern you have like this is going to be a regular yet unforeseen occurrence for me and that I couldn’t possibly research beforehand :).

Generally when visiting small towns I’m going to visit someone from there and they let me know beforehand if somewhere we’ll be going is cash only. This having happened literally once in the last few years (and yes they had phone signal), it’s been a long time since I’ve come across a place in any country that didn’t have signal or card machines, on account of it not being 2003.

If you have any recommendations for Irish towns that are good craic but have no signal, ATMs or card machines, I’m all ears!

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:18 PM

@Laois Weather: Using cash is better for people who don’t have a head like a sieve and lose things easily :) I can’t freeze cash if lose it. Lose my bank card, I can immediately cancel it and have a new one set up immediately and I’m not stuck for accessing my money, I actually have a couple of active ones anyway. Misplace my bank card, temporarily freeze it, unfreeze it as soon as I find it again.

Lose my phone, no one can pay with Apple Pay unless they’ve managed to knock me out and open my eyelids to use my Face ID to unlock my phone – not very convenient for them in a shop!

That aside, as someone else said below that hasn’t necessarily been true for a while. Especially with more competition in the market for the providers of card readers trying to outdo each other on low fees.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Dec 11th 2023, 4:52 PM

@Niall English: Especially when you run low on petrol after midnight. Anyone can be caught out by an unexpected detour.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 11th 2023, 5:01 PM

@F Fitzgerald: I don’t drive, but am also yet to go into a garage in this country that doesn’t take card.

Don’t worry lads, me rarely carrying cash doesn’t affect either of you in the slightest.

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:16 PM

Banks should be committed to thank us for giving the our money, not charging us fir every single thing for the “privilege” of using their bank. If banking is defacto mandatory by the government because of payslips, rent/mortgage requirements, then at least the government could set up a basic bank as it used to be where people puts their money with no charges so they can provide loans based on its capitalisation. Then let the private banks to compete and provide better services and let the people decide. But no way you should not be charged for giving someone your money, your money is what they use to make money.

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:41 PM

@J Ven: Well said. The government could use the Post Office as it’s defacto basic bank. An ATM in every Post Office.

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:58 PM

@Laois Weather: what you though are ATMs outside that can be accessed 24/7.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:47 AM

One cannot compel The Banks. The Banks are above the law.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:37 PM

when will people get it through their heads, the banks dont care about customers or what politicians have to say. We bailed them out with no strings attached and no accountability so does anyone really believe they care whats said to them. These things running banks dont have souls, morals or a caring bone in their body cos they were hired to be the exact opposite like any big business……

Mute Donal Ronan
    Favourite Donal Ronan
    Dec 11th 2023, 4:35 PM

@Mary Looners: If what you say is right, why is AIB and Permanent TSB still partly in state ownership.
    The banks have not and will not pay back, for all the damage they did to the country and people. Because of what they did, our borrowing costs went through the roof and bankrupted us. Do you not remember the IMF etc. and bailouts, which we are still paying for.
    Banks are parasites and only feed off of others success.

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:02 PM

Yes cash will always be king!!

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:33 PM

Cash is king, end of, discussion over.

Mute Wombleman
    Favourite Wombleman
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:49 AM

It’s mostly tax dodgers, criminals and conspiracy theorists who are hung up on cash – you can easily identify them by their usage of the phrase ‘cash is king’

Personally, I think we could do quite well as a society without all three groupings.

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:56 AM

@Wombleman: ha, give your head a wobble will ye.

Mute casio shock
    Favourite casio shock
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:36 PM

@Wombleman: nice trolling

Mute Laois Weather
    Favourite Laois Weather
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:39 PM

@Wombleman: Tap your card, you get charged albeit a small charge. The business gets charged alot more – this results in prices having to be hiked in store to cover it. Banks make a killing with two charges per transaction. But hey, you’re sticking it to the man who dabbles in coin and note.

Mute S K
    Favourite S K
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:40 PM

@Wombleman: Do you really like having every transaction you make logged and stored on hard drives? Companies pay serious money for such data for a very good reason.

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:57 PM

@Laois Weather: No retail banks in Ireland charge customers anything for tap and pay. As for charges on businesses, these costs are not dissimilar to the costs associated with having cash on the premises (such as deposit fees, cash handling fees, time and expense counting takings, till “shortfalls” and increased insurance and security costs).

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:00 PM

@Wombleman: no time for the old .Shane Mcgowan would be disappointed in you.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:34 PM

@Wombleman: Cash is King!!!!

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:43 PM

I pay for transactions a lot in cash. I beep my card when cash is short. Trying to keep cash out of society would be tantamount to keeping figs out of fig rools.

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:55 PM

@Garreth Byrne: you’re definitely not most people. Only 20% of transactions are done in cash in Ireland.

I’d rather the government use its energy to work on access to healthcare and public transport than ATMs. God knows it’ll fail at whatever it attempts.

Mute colette byrne
    Favourite colette byrne
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:24 PM

@Chris O’Brien: that’s what they want you to believe. So everyone will go cashless. Cash is very much alive in other countries, like the states.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 11th 2023, 3:45 PM

@colette byrne: They’re also obsessed with credit cards and often still get paid in cheque, wouldn’t be looking to them for advice or leads on banking habits.

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Dec 11th 2023, 6:01 PM

Cash is king. If we go cashless watch the banks invent more charges on card transactions and I don’t want any body monitoring my personal life we’ll become like China a surveillance society and then the banks become centralised and totally unaccountable.

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Dec 11th 2023, 11:42 AM

Of course they should and the first 250e should be on the bank.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:05 PM

@Pato: He’s back AGAIN!!!!! Serial journal commentator!!!!!

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:15 PM

You queue and queue; You enter your PIN; You have an overwhelming urge to wash your hands in bleach – the thing’s filthy; You choose the cash option (no receipt since you’re eco-friendly; You choose an amount from the menu and wait; At this point it says “You can’t have that amount – only 20 or 50 Euro notes available” and the NO and YES buttons seem to change places on some ATMs during the same transaction.

Mute Keyser Söze
    Favourite Keyser Söze
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:02 PM

Be great if they could just keep them working

Mute Emer Daly
    Favourite Emer Daly
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:38 PM

More often than not when I go to use my local atm it’s out of order or you cannot lodge money or cheques at this time…

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Dec 11th 2023, 12:14 PM

This country too small for banks anyway only need credit unions tbh.

Mute Quinn
    Favourite Quinn
    Dec 11th 2023, 6:02 PM

Ideally banks exist to serve the public. In fact the public exists to enrich bankers. Sad but true, and it it’s about time it changed.

Mute Wombleman
    Favourite Wombleman
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:18 PM

@Laois Weather – no charges for customers who use tap to pay. Business gets charged heftily for cash handling facilities and customers get charged for cash withdrawals. At least be honest/accurate with your arguments.

@SK – you’d fall under the conspiracy theorist category (possibly tax dodger too) – I genuinely couldn’t care less if my bank keeps a record of my transactions- the worst they can do is try to seek me something in which case I just say ‘no thanks’

@Willie Marty – are you telling me that older people don’t have cards? Really?

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:06 PM

@Wombleman: Incorrect. There is a fee for using your card at point of sale, which you pay as part of your bank charges. While most banks cap these at a certain amount per month, or per quarter, there’s still a per-transaction charge. Honesty/accuracy yourself, please!

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Dec 11th 2023, 2:31 PM

@Jason Memail: No bank in Ireland charges per-transaction fees to retail customers – AIB / BOI / PTSB all charge fixed monthly or quarterly account maintenance fees; irrespective of how many times you do or don’t tap and pay.

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Dec 11th 2023, 3:46 PM

@Jason Memail: Not Revolut. Fee free life.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Dec 11th 2023, 4:54 PM

@Kevin Collins: Currently. That could change as easily as interest rates if it suits the banks here.

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Dec 11th 2023, 5:08 PM

@F Fitzgerald: Likewise they could jack up the fees for ATM use too. So in terms of the argument for cash Vs tapping, hypothetical future fees don’t sway the debate either way.

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:52 PM

So it’s OK to be an hour from a Garda station, or more from a hospital and to have ZERO access to public transport… But ATMs…that’s the pressing concern.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 11th 2023, 4:12 PM

@Chris O’Brien: so you live an hour away from everything and then complain everything is an hour way…? Makes sense

Mute Terri
    Favourite Terri
    Dec 11th 2023, 6:52 PM

Half of them don’t work anyway!

Mute Marie Nolan
    Favourite Marie Nolan
    Dec 11th 2023, 6:04 PM

Providing an ATM is just putting in the ATM however does this compel banks to keep a top up of cash, the devil is in the detail.

Mute Conor Moore
    Favourite Conor Moore
    Dec 12th 2023, 2:07 PM

Yep

Mute Maurice Egan
    Favourite Maurice Egan
    Dec 17th 2023, 12:20 PM

Is this poll sponsored by The ATM Robbers Association?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 12th 2023, 9:41 AM

I rather use the ones in Shops now. Less chance of a gouger coming up behind you. They could be sped up and allow more cash out though.