You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Daniel Perdomo/YouTube

This Pong table is trying to bring the classic arcade game into the real world

It might take a bit of effort to fit it in your living room though.

EVERYONE HAS PLAYED the classic arcade game Pong, the 1972 title helped kickstart gaming and is in the gaming hall of fame, but while you can still play it anywhere, a physical version could be a reality.

Three friends in Uruguay have created a version which shares some similarities to an air hockey table.

The concept table uses rectangle paddles and a square ball, but the puck is guided by magnets. Like the original arcade game, the game uses knobs to control the paddles and has an LED display for the score.

The team uses Arduino, which is used to create open-sourced hardware and software, to control everything that happens on the table.

Pong 2 Daniel Perdomo / YouTube Daniel Perdomo / YouTube / YouTube

The prototype took two years to complete as it was built in the group’s spare time. Since they didn’t have much experience in electronics or manufacturing, they referred to YouTube, Google and forums regularly while building it.

The group who built the concept Pong table is looking for funding to help turn this into a final product.

Daniel Perdomo / YouTube

Read: Robots are now being taught how to feel pain >

Read: Microsoft is going to start banning your incredibly dumb passwords >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

5 Comments
    Mute I love my County
    Favourite I love my County
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:05 AM

That’s a latte good info and I’m happy to know I no longer have grounds for concern… I’m a farmer and I’ve bean unsure if drinking too much coffee is good or not but i find coffee relaxing and i can really espresso myself after a few mugs… Now I must go and check on my herd, especially decafs.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:49 AM

Excellent.

Mute Mandy Seiler
    Favourite Mandy Seiler
    Apr 27th 2014, 9:11 AM

Love the wit!

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:00 AM

Next week coffee will be bad for you. Scientist keeping them selves in work and journalists filling pages.

Mute Terry Tibbs
    Favourite Terry Tibbs
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:02 AM

As a diabetic i can vouch for this – I only started drinking coffee approx 2 years ago and it does keep my T2 diabetes in check. Only since I read the article on sky news during the week is when it clicked with me. Any diabetics out there should try it from themselves.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Apr 26th 2014, 2:52 PM

And by scientists we of course mean the corporate PR department of Starbucks ;)

Mute Robert Loughran
    Favourite Robert Loughran
    Apr 26th 2014, 7:53 AM

It has to be coffee and chocolate for breakfast then. Excellent.

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:35 AM

This article is as useless as the study it refers to. It finishes off by pointing out how misleading the data is. It should have had the word “might” in the title.

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:06 AM

How many sugars can I have in my coffee?

Mute Steve Mc Queen
    Favourite Steve Mc Queen
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:37 AM

Ffs will ye ever stop publishing this kind of shite. You’re gone as bad as the daily mail with your health ‘scare stories’. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was lifted from their website. Gutter journalism!

Tony
    Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:53 AM

Steve proves my point?

Mute Sat singh
    Favourite Sat singh
    Apr 26th 2014, 7:57 AM

Science sucks,no consistency,how many people are actually
    going to change their cup of tea to coffee.Next year tea will
    be better for us.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:25 AM

Science sucks….. Ffs man, did you actually think about that sentence?! Science has created everything you see around you!!!!

Mute floyd
    Favourite floyd
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:17 AM

drinking alot of coffee is a big cause of anxiety and sleepness nights dont drink it have a glass of water and an apple

Mute Bob Murphy
    Favourite Bob Murphy
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:05 AM

One of the Authors of this report was sponsored by Nestec “A Coffee Vending Company” but that wouldn’t change the outcome of the report would it ????

Tony
    Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:17 AM

Irritability and headaches are also the result of caffeine intake or is it too early on a Saturday morning?

Mute Steve Mc Queen
    Favourite Steve Mc Queen
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:05 AM

I get irritated by shite stories on this website. I can’t help it.

Tony
    Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:12 AM

Steve, LivingSocial Deals have an Anxiety Management Workshop deal on, just the thing for a Saturday morning.

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Favourite Adrian De Cleir
    Apr 26th 2014, 10:47 AM

I think these articles need to be banned. They weren’t so bad until the rise of Internet media/press.

They offer nothing substantial with concrete proof , they quite often 100% contradict each other, and they mess with our beliefs about eating habits, which in a country where obesity is one of the worst in Europe, is a pretty serious topic.

Mute Colin Murphy
    Favourite Colin Murphy
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:59 AM

Ha ha
    Take that wife!
    I knew I was right:)

Mute Mark smith
    Favourite Mark smith
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:18 AM

Coffee ruins women’s skin and teeth and makes them unattractive

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:05 AM

I was thinking of mixing coffee with my insulin.
    Nothing like a cup of freshly ground coffe.

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:36 AM

Make sure to grind it extra fine before injecting :)

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:49 AM

You’ve done this before haven’t you ;)

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:20 AM

Next week you will print an article saying coffee is responsible for high blood pressure and is addictive. The antioxidants in coffee when addicted to it make medicines for treatment useless and people are dropping like flies from heart attacks and strokes all over the world. For Jaysus sake, is this the best shot you can give for a news story on a Sunday morning?

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:26 AM

I’m on a fifth cup now trying to prevent diabetes. Hence why I thought it was Sunday !!! There comes a time when one has to hold their hands up all the same and admit to a blunder!

Mute Thors Big Hammer
    Favourite Thors Big Hammer
    Apr 26th 2014, 9:39 AM

Ballsack too late for me

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:28 AM

Does this involve a certain type of coffee? And how does what you put into your coffee affect this? Milk and sugar – yes or no?

Mute Mark smith
    Favourite Mark smith
    Apr 26th 2014, 11:23 AM

No

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    May 23rd 2014, 7:32 PM

Avoid Trans Fats to completely reverse your Diabetes Type2 in 7 months. A fist of Walnuts for good fats.

Mute Gambon
    Favourite Gambon
    Apr 26th 2014, 8:36 AM

So is fruit and veg. #putdownthefork

Mute Carmel M Hennessy
    Favourite Carmel M Hennessy
    Apr 27th 2014, 1:11 AM

I agee with this. I had pre diabetes. Two years ago I started drinking coffee for the first time. I drink 2 or 3 cups a day, I love it and the diabetes is gone now

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 27th 2014, 3:11 AM

WHAT D STORY ON CAF COFFEE.
    U MENTION DE-CAP IN UR ARTICLE BUT NOT CAF ????