You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pope Francis pictured in St Peter's Square earlier this month AP Photo/Andrew Medichini

Pope Francis set to visit Ireland - reports

It is thought that the visit will take place in 2018 during the World Meeting of the Families in Dublin.

POPE FRANCIS IS set to visit Ireland in 2018, according to a reports.

This comes after the pontiff was asked by Archbishop of Dublin Diarmuid Martin to preside over the World Meeting of Families, an event backed by the Holy See that will be taking place in Dublin in 2018.

The Irish Catholic is reporting that Pope Francis confirmed that he would attend – and if not him, his successor would.

It has also said that the Pope will include a visit to Northern Ireland as part of his visit, doing what Pope John Paul II was unable to when he visited in 1979.

Dublin was announced as the location for the 2018 World Meeting of Families last year, and Popes have overseen six of the eight meetings that have taken place since 1994.

Over the past year Pope Francis has made a number of headline grabbing trips around the world to Catholic hotspots like Brazil and Cuba, as well as trips that have been seen as politically significant, with tours of the United States and the Middle East.

In a comment to TheJournal.ie last year, the Irish Bishops’ Conference said: “Naturally Irish Catholics and all people of goodwill would warmly welcome a papel visit to Ireland.”

When Pope John Paul II visited Ireland in 1979 more than one million worshipers turned out for the Papal Mass in Dublin’s Phoenix Park.

If Pope Francis does make the journey in 2018, it won’t be the first time he will have set foot on these shores.

Back in the early 1980s, the Pope – then humbly known as Jorge Mario Bergoglio – spent some time at the Jesuit Centre in the Milltown Institute learning English.

Read: Why has the Pope not visited Ireland for nearly 40 years?

Also: The Pope has agreed this Irish priest performed a miracle

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

150 Comments
    Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:40 PM

Good to officially thank the Choctaw people. I spent some time travelling in the Navajo Nation ( parts of Utah, Arizona, New Mexico) they are proud peoples who still face huge social & economic disadvantages.

Mute Incognito
    Favourite Incognito
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:42 PM

@Honeybadger197: It’s nice to see there’s at least one thing we can agree on HB.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:48 PM

@Incognito: I’m sure there’s plenty more we can agree on.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:46 PM

@Honeybadger197: thats another feather in your cap ,

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:23 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: Not really. There are parts/ communities in the Navajo Nation that appear to belong in some third world country. It’s frightening. Spectacular part of the world but if you want to understand endemic poverty, social alienation, cultural oblivion, and a genuine dearth of hope you should go here. There are of course communities there that have fought hard to sustain, adapt and relatively flourish. I spoke to many very friendly, interesting people, but will never forget the sense of loss i experienced there. I could be very wrong, maybe my own preconceptions have informed this. As i said they are a proud people who, more than any other in America, deserve better.

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:49 PM

Well done Leo. Great to formally thank the Choctaws for the kindness they showed to us in our time of need. The scholarships are also a great gesture.

Mute mark carroll
    Favourite mark carroll
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Pat Bateman: idiots

Mute Craig Gibbs
    Favourite Craig Gibbs
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:16 PM

@mark carroll: Who are?

Mute Brian Scallan
    Favourite Brian Scallan
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:34 PM

@Craig Gibbs: The Carroll Clan mayhaps?

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:42 PM

Leo, how about coming home and dealing with the record 714 people on hospital trolleys instead of massaging your ego

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:00 PM

@John Fahy: no matter what anybody, anywhere is ever doing there’s always something better they could be doing. Why weren’t you helping the homeless instead of commenting?

Mute David Forde
    Favourite David Forde
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:07 PM

@John Fahy: save up your shillings and go private! Blackrock has a new A&E.

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:07 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: cause he’s too busy grooming his marvellous moustache

Mute Sean Stevenson
    Favourite Sean Stevenson
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:12 PM

@John Fahy: he’s off thanking a historical friend of the Irish state, do you think he could overhaul the HSE, provide severance packages to all the overabundent admin staff, and cure the nation in the week he’ll be abroad? Ffs.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:16 PM

@John Fahy:
    Former Minister for Health.
    Leo ‘Cmon, I’m only the minister for health, I don’t run the bloody health service’ O’Varadkar.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:28 PM

@Sean Stevenson: FG have had almost seven years, and go month to month creating new records for homelessness and people on trollies. FFS is right.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:31 PM

@Fergus Sheahan: commenting and grooming at the same time is the most worthwhile of endeavours, I’d like to retract my earlier comment.

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:53 PM

@John Fahy: and no paragliding off the Tallahatchie bridge.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:56 PM

@John Fahy: It’s getting to get worse. take to the streets and block the entrance to the dail until somethings done is the only way forward. because they don’t take us serious.

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:14 PM

@Sean Stevenson: this is a job for the President who, lets face it, has nothing better to do. The Taoiseach’s job is not to represent the country but to run it.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:44 PM

@John Fahy: this is a promo tour. It’s a good thing, also he was invited. Are you saying he should reject an invitation from the White House?

Mute mur
    Favourite mur
    Mar 13th 2018, 12:57 AM

@Sean Stevenson:

perhaps he is hoping their medicine man will cure our ills .
    no problem with him thanking the natives but will he have the liathroidi to follow it up by telling trump he is in possession of their robbed land and return it to them , and he will pay back apples tax to him .
    now that would be sincere and not just window dressing . he has a lot of front pages to get onto to beat our other global poser Enda Kenny as Taoiseach.

Mute mur
    Favourite mur
    Mar 13th 2018, 1:07 AM

@John Fahy: “The Taoiseach’s job is not to represent the country but to run it.”
    he is running it ! into the ground.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:57 PM

Socktaw meets Choctaw.
    Have to say, that sculpture is wonderful.

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:44 PM

The native Americans did more for this country than the current government is doing right now. Hospital waiting lists higher than ever, more homeless children than ever, vulture funds and banks waiting in the wings to evict people en mass. You enjoy your holiday Leo, you and your cronies have destroyed this lovely little country.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:45 PM

@Tony Murphy: Strategic Choctaw Unit

Mute Richard Brady
    Favourite Richard Brady
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:34 PM

@Tony Murphy: All very true Tony.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:47 PM

The SCU in action wit a “good news story”. Meanwhile 714 people languish on trollies in hospital corridors and vulture funds are now going after those in rental accommodation and evicting them without any regard for the laws of the land.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:30 PM

@Dave Doyle: yawn…. but well done on getting two original topics yet to be mentioned in one comment on any article or comments section on The Journal in the last 6 minutes .

A: Hospital trolleys

B: Homelessness

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:14 PM

Anyone else notice how the more Leo’s hairline recedes the more he’s starting to resemble Michael Noonan.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:26 PM

I think this is a nice gesture and scholarship a great idea.I haven’t seen that sculpture in Cork,it looks fantastic.
    However we genuinely have “fellow human beings suffering and in distress” in modern Ireland affected by homelessness,housing health emergencies,1.2m in deprivation &consistent poverty doubled,etc
    .The trolley crisis is leading to unsafe conditions in hospitals,even in 2015 when numbers on trolleys were lower consultants were calling overcrowding in hospitals”death zones” and now at record high.There are children waiting years for counseling, children in severe pain with spines deteoriating affecting breathing,babies born into homelessness with delayed development according to medical staff,etc

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:40 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: Well I suggested this scholarship the other day on this very journal . So Leo either saw my post and stole the idea or I’m fecking psychic . Either way I called it lol

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:49 PM

@Catherine Sims: I remember that, Catherine!

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:57 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: with an growing aging population and hospitals already full to capacity it can’t be solved in a day or a year. It will take multi million euro large extensions to wards (land space permitting) which could take a year to build, with 3+ years before hand for the consultation process. This will be required across the country in every hospital which isn’t always feasible. On the other hand, doctors and nurses under intense pressure may send people home too early to free up beds, only for conditions to worsen at home and people end up back in again looking for a bed again. We need more hospitals but who’s going to pay and staff them? Are we going to build a free home for everyone on housing & homeless list before or after this? The country is still austerity with massive debt.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Mar 13th 2018, 9:20 AM

@Derek: FG pledged to tackle trolley crisis in 2011.But during the following years austerity cuts impacted significantly on healthcare with €2.7B of HSE cuts,12,000 less HSE staff,a 21,000 inpatient drop and 30,000 day case drop between 2012-2014,loss of 2m home help hours and €100m cuts re costs of drug repayment scheme.All this with a growth in population of 173,613 from 2011-2016!
    Now the trolley crisis & hospital overcrowding,crisis, hospital waiting lists crisis,etc developing into emergencies!In Oct’17 there were589,000 on hospital waiting lists & trolley crisis & hospital overcrowding at worst ever levels & we heard in 2016 that home care cuts saw ” off- loading” of patients into hospitals,etc.
    These are severe consequences of austerity policies.yet at the same time there were companies not paying full 12.5% Corporation tax rate!
    Also Prof Mody said the FG Gov could have fought for significant changes to FF/Troika deal thereby reducing austerity measures & impact from same.
    Look logically at some solutions of the now National Emergency in Health that could be done even before providing extra beds which should be top priority::
    1)Adequate increase in home help hours and carers supports needed.
    During the last storm for example older patients keep in hospitals because of concerns re home help supports,etc.If adequate supports at home any health concerns would be tackled before getting worse for example.
    2)Delay in tackling hospital waiting lists can results in patients conditions getting worse and presenting at A&E,leading to overcrowding then surgeries& procedures cancelled to tackle overcrowding crisis then problem keeps repeating!
    I think part of Slainte Care is more community based care&GPs doing more tests& procedures.More public health nurses needed to assess vulnerable groups in their own homes,etc.
    3)There are units in hospitals unable to open because of lack of nursing staff so increase in pay needed for nurses and those doing nursing training courses in University could be given incentives to stay in Ireland for eg 2 years.That would lead to less agency nurses which is so expensive.Units already there would open and make work environment easier.Therefore less patients on trolleys and less ops& procedures cancelled.
    4)Sometimes people dont know when to attend GP re signs &symptoms,re children,etc:some delay going to GPs,some go too often,etc so why not once off publish booklets re health care re children,elderly,etc,etc for every household that would give clear guidelines on when GP visits are a neccessary or what can be done at home including lists of various local supports & agencies in each area including mental health supports eg support groups.
    These are just a few solutions.:preventative,local supports,home supports,health education, incentives for nurses to stay after training and present nurses to stay,etc!

Mute mark carroll
    Favourite mark carroll
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:53 PM

Leo only helping himself as usual .get him out .

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:58 PM

The visit is a nice gesture indeed. He’s also extended an invitation to some UK ministers to visit the border area of Ireland South and North, that “hands on” and see for yourself is something he strongly believes in.
    Pity he couldn’t take a day out soon and visit Beaumont and Tallagh A & E departments and see for himself the conditions both staff and public endure, daily. How on earth this country attracts and retains junior doctors, nurses and other medical workers beggars belief.
    Go for the whole day Leo, unannounced, without your entourage and stay there for a 14 hour shift. Then extend your appreciation to them in a similiar fashion you are doing Stateside, Brussels etc etc.
    And then fix it, time isn’t on your side.

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:44 PM

Was anyone else thinking the Choctaw Chief would be a little less Gary and a little more Indian?

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:06 PM

@Féach News: Yes

Mute Joe Hill
    Favourite Joe Hill
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:14 PM

Indian thanks Indians…

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Mar 12th 2018, 6:50 PM

Any excuse for a junket.

Mute tismeself
    Favourite tismeself
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:01 PM

@Michael Maher: every Irish leader goes to America at this time of year. I can’t stand the man but this is no different to the rest of them going abroad.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:08 PM

@tismeself: ___ Not to mention a large contingent of local councillors and hangers on, with big queues in the duty-free there and back.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:09 PM

@tismeself: I agree its annual a junket by all political parties.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:10 PM

@tismeself:
    Leo’s been spending a lot of time Stateside since his boyfriend moved there.
    Nice when the taxpayers can pay for his trysts.
    Clever Leo.

Mute Michael Knight
    Favourite Michael Knight
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:29 PM

@David Sinclair: Ah so it’s his orientation you have a problem with? Catholics are so transparent.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:30 PM

@David Sinclair: The boyfriend is due home shortly.

Mute tismeself
    Favourite tismeself
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:35 PM

@David Sinclair: so that’s your problem.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:37 PM

@Michael Knight:
    Boyfriend, girlfriend, wife, partner. Well done for missing the point.
    FREEBIES.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe

@David Sinclair: try even conveniently moved St Patrick’s Day to suit their schedules. Oh wait no, you’re just talking shit again.

Mute KingBen
    Favourite KingBen
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:32 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: if I was a bully like you I’d call you out on you spelling and grammar. But I’m not so I won’t.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:45 PM

@KingBen: aww, poor snowflake. What happened to the mic drop? Pick it up again for another withering retort? Good for you. Keep on trucking kiddo

Mute roscommonman
    Favourite roscommonman
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:25 PM

Anything for a photo opportunity, I’m so sick of this smarmy chancer.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:39 PM

@roscommonman:
    And people thought Bertie was the teflon don?

Mute Insider at RTE
    Favourite Insider at RTE
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:07 PM

The Choctaw. A great bunch of lads.

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:39 PM

Well done Leo you got the Choctaw vote and the photographs, Whats your next photo opportunity going to be, smiling ☺ with Trump as you give him a jam jar of shamrocks ☘???

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:42 PM

Can not stand the man and even though he looks on it as good PR it was still a great/ right thing to do. Instead of Ross getting almost 200 thousand for a new hockey field for a school which already has three maybe we should do this more often.

Mute Bi88les
    Favourite Bi88les
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:11 PM

I wonder what happened to that $170?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:15 PM

@Bi88les: Now who would fiddle charity in Ireland,

Mute Derek Fehily
    Favourite Derek Fehily
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:04 PM

I’m surprised they couldn’t see that cowboy coming

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:41 PM

Well I suggested this scholarship the other day on this very journal . So Leo either saw my post and stole the idea or I’m fecking psychic . Either way I called it lol

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:03 PM

@Catherine Sims: Catherine, the SCU – they’re watching every comment on here. This is how they get to work out the Government’s policy, strategic decisions and popularity. And you thought there were highly paid experts doing this ?
    Fair play to you for suggesting it tho !

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:12 PM

@Catherine Sims: I was thinking about you earlier when I was reading it, #Leo gets inspiration from his minions!!

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:30 PM

@wattsed: well if this form keeps up I’m going to start believing in my own propaganda lol

Mute Kevin Tyrrell
    Favourite Kevin Tyrrell

Ooooohhh…Leo might be in trouble with his best buddy Justin Trudeau…inviting Choctaw Indians (sorry native Americans) to Ireland so we can steal their culture. Justin will be screaming “cultural appropriation….cultural appropriation”…Leo Leo Leo…you haven’t been keeping up with your required SJW reading material have you???

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:37 PM

Twould suit the failed minister for health to be here. Silly silly person that he is . He has to be ousted . Enough is enough

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:53 PM

Fair play , Indians stick together.

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Mar 12th 2018, 11:21 PM

he admitted he had no clue what the Kerry babies episode was about
    And I’m sure he had a puzzled look on his face as he thanked these people

Mute Colm Feighery
    Favourite Colm Feighery
    Mar 12th 2018, 11:17 PM

They helped with the famine, maybe they have a few spare hospital beds….. For the current crisis?

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:47 PM

The Choctaw nation are Indians

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 7:52 PM

@Tony Kennedy: no, Leo’s dad is Indian and from an entirely different continent.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:08 PM

@Dave O Keeffe:
    Dave, I know what tribe you’re from Dave.
    The Patronizing Git tribe.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:15 PM

@David Sinclair: still trying to spread lies? Still trying to convince people that the girl that Jamie carragher spat o was the one recording the incident? Moron

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:24 PM

@Dave O Keeffe:
    Stop victim blaming.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 9:47 PM

@David Sinclair: when did I blame the 14 year old girl? It was Jamie’s fault entirely that he spat on her (the victim) but her father (not the victim) was also in the wrong for using a mobile phone while driving.

Mute David Sinclair
    Favourite David Sinclair
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:31 PM

@Dave O Keeffe:
    Yeah, and women are wrong for walking down dark alleys.
    The narrative on that thread was that the driver was more culpable than Jamie Carragher and you bought into it Dave.
    Have to say I’m totally shocked at you….don’t know why (probably because you’re normally so Puritanical)..but I am.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Mar 12th 2018, 11:36 PM

@David Sinclair: off to your safe space now david, you are getting worked up.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 12th 2018, 8:10 PM

@Floyed Pink: the government said the population will increase by one million by 2040. You know how that works right? It’s called sex, I’m pretty sure you’re unfamiliar with it.

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Mar 12th 2018, 11:22 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: it’s called immigration

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Mar 13th 2018, 6:58 AM

Nice idea, but where exactly is the money for this scholarship coming from?

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Mar 12th 2018, 10:25 PM

Ah jaysus, this will confuse the hell out of the racists !!!

Mute mur
    Favourite mur
    Mar 13th 2018, 12:58 AM

leo has the same shape nose and dimples as the chocotaws !!!!!

the plot thickens

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 13th 2018, 1:48 AM

@mur: As the thick are plottin’

Mute Joseph Delaney
    Favourite Joseph Delaney
    Mar 13th 2018, 8:27 AM

The Choctaw Nation, a great bunch of lads!