You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pope John Paul II, recorded in October 1979 in New York during his US trip. DPA/PA Images

If you were named John Paul after the Pope's 1979 visit, RTÉ is looking for you

RTÉ are doing a documentary about ‘John Pauls’ named the year after the Pope’s visit in 1979.

IF YOUR NAME is John Paul, and you were named after the last Pope, RTÉ wants to hear from you.

RTÉ One are planning to put together a documentary about people who were named after John Paul II visited Ireland in 1979.

One in 10 baby boys born in 1980 were named John Paul after the historic visit, which saw a quarter of the Irish population congregate at the Phoenix Park for his opening Mass.

On Saturday 25 August this year, Pope Francis is to celebrate Mass in Phoenix PArk as part of the World Meeting of Families, a festival held every three years which explores the theme of family within the Catholic faith.

RTE are looking for a few ‘John Pauls’, who would now be aged around 38, to ask them for their opinion on Irish society now, Irish values and how the country is developing.

“The John Pauls were 10 years old for Italia ’90, 28 when the economy collapsed, 35 when the marriage equality referendum was passed,” producers said.

They’ve been ’80s kids, Celtic Cubs, Generation X and now the ‘squeezed middle’: their life stories mark four decades of change and insights into the country’s future.

If you’re a JP or you know a JP, contact the producers Maya Derrington at maya@animotv.ie.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute DaisyMay
    Favourite DaisyMay
    May 19th 2018, 7:08 AM

Serious comment here but can the pro-pope commenters on the The Journal explain to me how they explain to themselves why the RCC has not paid their abuse bill to the people of Ireland. The man is literally dripping in gold. How is this in the way of the teaching of Christ?

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    May 19th 2018, 7:45 AM

@DaisyMay:
    It’s a fair question but Francis is head of marketing and PR. You’d have to ask Luigi in accounts.

Mute KEV
    Favourite KEV
    May 19th 2018, 7:57 AM

@DaisyMay: they still believe the confessional seal is above the law of the land. With that kind of logic there’s nothing you can say or do with ppl like that.

Mute Gkell1
    Favourite Gkell1
    May 19th 2018, 8:02 AM

@DaisyMay: If you research the history of Western society you would know that while the Brits had the Royal family and the traditions of weddings with style,tradition and culture, we had the Pope so we made the best use of it. Despite what many people believe, those born in 1979 came into a country that was not wealthy but was bursting with confidence and creativity so many today are biting the hand that made their views possible -

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1979_in_Ireland

For those looking for a secular utopia where they believe the State can legislate the electorate into happiness, that was tried before in Russia as communism by ripping apart all the creative and productive traditions of a society. In 1979 despite having f)ck all, the events were done with style and became a point of departure for a spirited nation that discovered their wealth was in a lost heritage of style that was buried under British rule.

Setting up the Catholic Church as a target has now grown old , most who go to mass are gentle and decent people whatever the hierarchy of the Church was and does.

Mute Gkell1
    Favourite Gkell1
    May 19th 2018, 8:07 AM

@KEV: ” they still believe the confessional seal is above the law of the land”

The purpose of the confessional suits the Irish nature as it means people can express regret for something they did or did not do openly to another person so they can avoid saying sorry to the other person they offended. Nowadays they pay fortunes to shrinks to do the same thing.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    May 19th 2018, 8:11 AM

@Gkell1:
    Francis really should update the marketing catalogue though Gerry. They’re still working out of the SPRING/SUMMER AD321 edition.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    May 19th 2018, 8:14 AM

@Gkell1: Wow,You need to get put more.People are a lot more enlightened now.They no longer FEAR the Catholic church and their backward and oppressive thinking so get down off your high horse and get into the free thinking 21st century.

Mute Gkell1
    Favourite Gkell1
    May 19th 2018, 8:19 AM

@Tweed Cap: You are no fun but that is not a crime, in Ireland in the late 70′s and 80′s they could have a picture of the Pope and Elvis Presley on the wall as captured brilliantly by Alan Parker in a tribute to Irish perspectives at the time -

http://www.beatrix.pro.br/mofo/imagens/com-jimmy.JPG

Having all the wealth today can’t make up for the fact that those who should be creative and productive are pushing an entirely negative extermination agenda. To be spiritual is nothing more than to be capable of being inspired and being inspiring so while the Church forgot that for centuries, it still survives in their congregations and outside of it, even among those who consider themselves atheists.

Mute Gkell1
    Favourite Gkell1
    May 19th 2018, 8:28 AM

@John Killeen: “People are a lot more enlightened now.”

The ‘enlightened’ academics with their laws of nature/physics/motion/ became the new priests but offered nothing to their followers other than to live in their heads . Replacing sermons with lectures, entire generations have lost their individual intuitive balance which is present in all productive and creative societies. Many of you live by convictions that are not your own but a more balanced individual works the opposite way

“God works in us from inside outwards;
    creatures work on us from the outside.”
    Ruysbroek

Mute Costello Brendan
    Favourite Costello Brendan
    May 19th 2018, 10:13 AM

@Gkell1: While I don’t necessarily agree with a lot of this, I do think that the majority of people who go to mass in Ireland are good people, however, the issue isn’t the people it is the hierarchy and the clergy. Do you not think that supporting this organization is even a little bit of a poor judgment considering its past in this country?

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    May 19th 2018, 11:27 AM

@DaisyMay: I’ve thought about this, and why the state actually don’t pursue this. It is down to the church being able to pass the guilt on to the state for this, as the people who were responsible (politicians, judges, guard, teachers, social workers) were all state employees who absolved themselves of responsibility by accepting that they had to, at all times, be compromised by the church. In that way, because we didn’t stand up against these bad people, we were accountable. I do think we should chase up these bad deals with churches, but ultimately redress to individuals is the most important thing.

Mute Gkell1
    Favourite Gkell1
    May 19th 2018, 1:38 PM

@Costello Brendan: “Do you not think that supporting this organization is even a little bit of a poor judgment considering its past in this country?”

It took me about 20 years to work through the technical details where the Church became an organization of morals and almost an extension of this State’s legal system while recognizing that even today there are Catholics out there looking after the homeless and addicted in a society that mocks them. Today there isn’t a single Catholic in existence willing or perhaps able to untangle the issues that were never resolved around the Galileo affair when the Church jettisoned its astronomical heritage and that lack of engagement can be dismaying but I live with it.

There is a danger that a DUP mentality could emerge where people only know their culture by what they hate with the Pope and Church in this instance being the target so some balance is needed.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    May 19th 2018, 2:54 PM

@KEV: who does kev?

Mute Trevor croft
    Favourite Trevor croft
    May 19th 2018, 4:24 PM

@DaisyMay: every John paul I know and grew up with in the 80s is a feckin headcase

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    May 19th 2018, 7:52 AM

Just go to every council estate in Ireland you will find a John-Paul !

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    May 19th 2018, 8:43 AM

@John Judd: John Paul was only his stage name. The purists called their kids Karl.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    May 19th 2018, 10:36 AM

@Féach News: Ah the episode of Father ted where he could not remember Pope John real name, but got 5/5 in his specialist subject William Shacknure .

Mute John Bart
    Favourite John Bart
    May 19th 2018, 7:17 AM

After a brainstorming meeting to discuss the latest ideas on new ways to squander viewers hard earned cash this is the fruits of their labour?

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    May 19th 2018, 7:09 AM

Sure his real name was Jim I believe

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    May 19th 2018, 8:16 AM

Plenty of Karol’s at the time as well.

Mute Brian Moss
    Favourite Brian Moss
    May 19th 2018, 8:25 AM

Have to say RTE do really good documentaries need to do more of them rather than gringe worthy chat shows

Mute Sinead Mooney
    Favourite Sinead Mooney
    May 19th 2018, 7:44 AM

Try and find a few Benedicts!

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    May 19th 2018, 10:08 AM

How many parents named their sons John Paul after the Led Zepplin founder, John Paul Jones?

Mute Larry Whack
    Favourite Larry Whack
    May 19th 2018, 8:34 AM

This’ll be some craic. Imagine, a loada lads called John Paul sitting around spinning yarns. Mad!

Mute John Mooney
    Favourite John Mooney
    May 19th 2018, 9:25 AM

Does it count if my middle name is Paul? Am ready and willing RTE, the world needs to know what it was like watching Riverdance at age 15, and hearing about the white ear hair and back aches I have started to have in recent years. Take some more licence fee while you’re at it.

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    May 19th 2018, 7:16 AM

I know at least 5 johnpauls. Id be crackin if that was me

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    May 19th 2018, 9:25 AM

@shellakybooky: could always add on George and Ringo to yer name, changes the dynamic.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    May 19th 2018, 8:29 AM

I liked David McWilliams book “The Pope’s Children” — good insight into the culture of 2007, etc.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    May 19th 2018, 4:22 PM

John Paul George Ringo already cornered the market.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    May 19th 2018, 9:44 AM

Maggie ronald and this guy are the cause of the housing crisis in the western world.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    May 19th 2018, 3:48 PM

@Sean Conway:
    And we have the winner (not for the first time) of the dumbest comment of the day

Mute Lance Chancer
    Favourite Lance Chancer
    May 19th 2018, 8:35 AM

Sexist only looking for males but then again it is RTÉ !

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    May 19th 2018, 8:42 AM

@Lance Chancer: I know at least 6 Jane-Paula’s norm in the summer of 1980. They should be included!!

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    May 19th 2018, 9:27 AM

@Lance Chancer: I sure females called not John Paul are also welcome.