You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: How much do you know about popes?

Test your knowledge.

POPE FRANCIS PRAISED two important things this week: Food and sex.

He took aim at the “overzealous morality” within the Church that denies pleasure, and said it is “a wrong interpretation of the Christian message”.

“Pleasure arrives directly from God, it is neither Catholic, nor Christian, nor anything else, it is simply divine,” Francis told Italian writer and gourmet Carlo Petrini.

“The Church has condemned inhuman, brutish, vulgar pleasure, but has on the other hand always accepted human, simple, moral pleasure,” he added.

That forward-thinking attitude of the current Pope made us think about popes of the past. Without further ado…

How many Catholic popes have there been?
Shutterstock

Upwards of 5,000
Who was the first pope?
Shutterstock
St Peter
St Paul

St Luke
Jesus himself
Who elects the pope?
PA Images
The electoral college
Laypeople

The College of Cardinals
L'Agenzia Elettorale del Papa (The Papal Electoral Agency)
Where does the pope live?
PA Images
The Apostolic Palace
St Peter's Winter Castle

The Papal Oratory
Cavan
What did Pope Urban II give the green light to in the 1090s?
Mussklprozz via Wikimedia
Metro North
Allowing priests to marry

Translating the Bible into French
The First Crusade
What did Ian Paisley shout at Pope John Paul II in 1988?
Eamonn Farrell/RollingNews.ie
You are no true son of Ulster and no true son of any Christian state.
I denounce you as the Antichrist.

You are the worst pope!
Take a look in the mirror before preaching to us.
Pope Francis's visit to Ireland in 2018 wasn't his first time here - why was he here before then?
Sasko Lazarov/RollingNews.ie
He accompanied JP2 in 1979.
He went fly-fishing on Lough Ree in 1980.

He studied English here in 1981.
He was part of a commission carrying out a review of parish boundaries in 1982.
What did Pope Francis end in May 2019?
PA Images
Pontifical secrecy, meaning all priests must report abuse and comply with investigations by civil authorities.
The practice of the Vatican paying for private drivers for all top-ranking officials.

A ban on tourists visiting the iconic La Piazza del Piccolo Papa
A ban on releasing church documents - all documentation must now be made publicly accessible after 80 years
What happened to Pope Formosus?
Wikipedia
He resigned and became a Protestant.
He resigned and became a Muslim.

He resigned and became a Hindu.
His remains were exhumed and put on trial.
Is the pope a Catholic?
No
Yes, they all are

Well, the Catholic pope is a Catholic at least
Answer all the questions to see your result!
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You are God himself.
You're well up to speed on these lads.
Share your result:
PA Image
You scored out of !
You are Pope Francis
You're well up to speed on your predecessors, but sure you can't know everything. It's not like you're infallible or anything.
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You are a Protestant
You like to keen an eye on the competition and have picked up a few bits of knowledge along the way.
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You are a lapsed Catholic
If only you had been to Mass last week! They covered all of this.
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:09 PM

Alright Nicky…..
    In relation to the last question, what pope was not a Catholic?

Mute Joe Vlogs
    Favourite Joe Vlogs
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:15 PM

@Peter Roche: I think the coptic Christians have a pipe of their own, so I would guess that is why a Pope might not refer to a Catholic Pope.

Mute Joe Vlogs
    Favourite Joe Vlogs
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Joe Vlogs: Pope even

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen Mcmanus
    Favourite Stephen Mcmanus

@Peter Roche: there are Coptic popes who are not Catholic

Mute Stephen Mcmanus

@Peter Roche: there are Coptic popes who are not Catholic .

Mute Gordon Davies
    Favourite Gordon Davies
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Peter Roche: orthodox priests are all popes.
    Supplementary question… Was St Patrick Irish?
    No, when he came to Ireland the second time he was an uninvited immigrant. The first time he was the victim of people trafficking.

Mute Desmodromic
    Favourite Desmodromic
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Joe Vlogs: watching too much allo allo he he he

Mute Justin Cosgrove
    Favourite Justin Cosgrove
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:18 PM

@Peter Roche: I saw it on QI but the pope is not a catholic. The title Pope applies to the head of the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria.

The head of the Catholic Church is the Bishop of Rome or the Supreme Pontiff. Apparently Pope is not his title.

Mute eoin lee
    Favourite eoin lee
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:19 PM

@Peter Roche: Coptic Christians have a pope. “Pope” in catholic religion refers to papa, italian for father. There are many official titles such as the bishop of Rome but pope isn’t an official title. It was on the p series of Qi.

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:21 AM

@Stephen Mcmanus: tell us about the Coptic popes….Sorry, don’t mind me, you already did

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Sep 13th 2020, 7:38 AM

@Gordon Davies: uninvited does not mean unwelcome

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Sep 13th 2020, 9:29 AM

@Peter Roche: Pope Innocent, was referred to; As the Protestant Pope, after Financial supporting; King William of Orange..

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Sep 13th 2020, 9:30 AM

@Gordon Davies: Coptic Church, was here before; Patrick came.

Mute Trevor J Coonan
    Favourite Trevor J Coonan
    Sep 13th 2020, 10:18 AM

@Stephen Mcmanus: yes but the real question is “do they schitt in the woods?”

Mute David Shiels
    Favourite David Shiels
    Sep 13th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Joe Vlogs: pipe down

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Sep 13th 2020, 10:14 PM

@Joe Vlogs: Pipe? So you are saying most popes are stoned?

Mute John Kearns
    Favourite John Kearns
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:56 PM

Actually, this Pope does not live in the Apostolic Palace – he lives in the guesthouse called Santa Marta.

Mute Supes Kz
    Favourite Supes Kz
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:22 PM

I like to know what has the vatican or any “pope” ever done for Ireland.
    A country that suffered horribly for being catholic for a long time because of a sectarian occupation.

How much money, food, aid & resources did they put into helping Irelands people survive the horrors they had to endure through the ages or did they constantly help organise other huge wealthy catholic countries to come to our aid to resist.

The native Americans sent aid to Ireland during An Gorta Mór (starvation genocide), A sultan wanted to send £10,000

While the english were forcibly imposing lethal destitution, exporting 1000s of tons of Irish produce under guard to fat england while those that produced it died horribly the Ottomans sent food ships to Ireland secretly (english tried to block them)

Mute Supes Kz
    Favourite Supes Kz
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:26 PM

They have mostly been power hungry political corrupt puppets from a tiny number of countries that have never cared about Ireland.
    217 of 266 popes have been from the Italy 16 from France, 6 from Germany etc

1 from England (Adrian the asal issued a “B@ll” to fellow English King Henry II, who had petitioned him to invade Ireland).

Typical

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Sep 13th 2020, 6:53 AM

@Supes Kz: an gorta mor does not mean starvation genocide it means the great famine – used by irish politicians to camouflage what happened. You are right it was genocide and we have suffered so much as Catholics-. We also remember that the Vatican gave permission for the English to invade Ireland. Not the first invaders but the first to get approval from a Pope

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Sep 13th 2020, 6:54 AM

@Supes Kz: the only english pope was called Breakspear

Mute kjholt
    Favourite kjholt
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:27 PM

9/10 not too shabby, just went for the most unlikely answers and there you go..religion in a nutshell.

Mute Caoimhín
    Favourite Caoimhín
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:06 PM

@kjholt: So studying English was less likely than fly fishing? There you go.. comments in a nutshell.

Mute Matthew McConnell
    Favourite Matthew McConnell
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:40 PM

Technically the Pope is not Catholic, the Pope is Coptic because nowhere in the bishop of Rome’s official title does it call him the Pope

Mute JĄŠ -
    Favourite JĄŠ -
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:38 PM

8 out of 10 not bad for a proddy :)

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:54 PM

I do wanted to press Cavan

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 13th 2020, 12:36 AM

What’s a Hindo?
    It lays eggs.

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:29 AM

@Paul Mc: what’s a dukdo?

Mute Celtic Spirit
    Favourite Celtic Spirit
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:07 PM

7/10

Mute Stephen Mcmanus
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:18 PM

The Coptic pope is not a catholic.

Mute european liberal
    Favourite european liberal
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:38 PM

8/10 the last one and the one on where he lives

Mute Steve Monk
    Favourite Steve Monk
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:31 PM

You scored 4 out of 10!
    You are a Protestant

Well I’ll be damned!

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:15 AM

@Steve Monk: Being an atheist, I had no difficulty getting 9. It was the fishing that got me.

Mute Rob Duggan
    Favourite Rob Duggan
    Sep 13th 2020, 12:21 AM

@supeds kz. First and only English pope sanctioned the Norman invasion of Ireland

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:13 AM

@Rob Duggan: No subsequent popsicle has repealed the Bull Laudabiliter or apologised.

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Sep 13th 2020, 9:44 AM

@Rob Duggan: Hang on, what about a Dutch King called; ‘ King William of Orange’. ‘Pope Innocent X1 , beatified in 1956, had 150,000 Scudi sent to, King Billy via intermediaries close to the wealthy family of; Benedetto Odescalchi, as Innocent was known before he became Pope. Ironic Catholic Pope Financial supporting a Protestant Army to Slaughter his own Flock. On receiving the most welcome news of Williams Victory he was overjoyed and there is a small documented record in the Vatican Archives which clearly states that the Pope ordered a; “ Te Deum”, to be sung in the Basilica of St. Peter’s in Thanksgiving for the great Victory of his Ally on ; “ The green grassy slopes of the Boone”

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Sep 13th 2020, 9:52 AM

@Rob Duggan: With the backing of; Vatican, the Pope at that time wrote a ; Fatwah for the English King to; “ Go and Chastise the; Heathen Irish’ . Because the Irish Clergy would not go along with the; ‘Rule of Celibate Clergy’, hence family names today such as; McTaggert – ‘Son of the priest’, Cleary- in Irish means- ‘ Son of the cleric’ , and others that just don’t come to mind now.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Sep 13th 2020, 5:54 PM

@ÓDuibhír Abú: McAnaspeig means “Son of the Bishop”—–Apparently they were at it too!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:36 AM

Got 8/10. My knowledge of the mafia is now secured.

Mute Ewan O'Doherty
    Favourite Ewan O'Doherty
    Sep 13th 2020, 9:18 AM

Wondering who answered that the Pope lives in Cavan

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Sep 13th 2020, 10:38 AM

Follow the shoe! No, follow the gourd!

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:09 PM

Poorly researched.
    The current Pope doesn’t live in the Apostolic Palace.
    Also the College of Cardinals doesn’t elect the pope, the eligible members do, which isn’t the same thing.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 13th 2020, 11:49 PM

@Phillip O’Brien: you are technically right .. if a little smug…

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 13th 2020, 11:56 PM

Francis is a decent skin

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Sep 14th 2020, 12:34 AM

@Paul Whitehead: I suppose in a quiz situation the correct answer isn’t an option in some of the questions and that’s kind of lazy question setting rather than smugness.

Mute Mark Hannan
    Favourite Mark Hannan
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:04 PM

Yeah you can be the side effect
    I’d rather be the dope

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    Sep 13th 2020, 12:17 AM

My name is Francis

Mute Riddled Fidl
    Favourite Riddled Fidl
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:25 PM
    Mute Caoimhín Ó Seanáin
    Favourite Caoimhín Ó Seanáin
    Sep 12th 2020, 11:49 PM

Dopey questions.

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:31 AM

@Caoimhín Ó Seanáin: No, Popey questions

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Sep 14th 2020, 1:41 AM

Ye missed the female pope !!!

Mute Gerry Mc Carthy
    Favourite Gerry Mc Carthy
    Sep 13th 2020, 6:28 AM

Who decides everything is “ Toxic “ if it defends the Catholic Church !

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 13th 2020, 11:48 PM

10/10… feeling smug

Mute Deathwish
    Favourite Deathwish
    Sep 13th 2020, 12:45 AM

I know they are delusional.