You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pope Francis arrives for his weekly general audience, in St.Peter's Square last week. SIPA USA/PA Images

It's official: You no longer have to perform a miracle to become a saint

Christians who are sainted through martyrdom are the only ones exempt from being involved in a miracle.

CHRISTIANS WHO LAY down their life to save others, “following in the footsteps and teaching of Jesus”, will now be eligible for beatification, Pope Francis said today.

Beatification is the first step on the path toward sainthood and has in the past been reserved for three categories of people: martyrs, those who have lived a life of heroic values and others with a clear saintly reputation.

“The heroic offering of life, suggested and sustained by charity, expresses a true, full and exemplary imitation of Christ,” read an an Apostolic Letter from Francis.

Candidates for beatification under the new pathway could include Christians who tended to sick people with the plague who later died because of the disease, said the the Osservatore Romano, the Vatican’s official journal.

It could also apply to Chiara Corbella, the I-Media agency said. Corbella was a 28-year-old Italian woman who refused treatment for carcinoma, a type of skin cancer, while pregnant because it would have risked the life of her unborn child.

She died in 2012, nearly a year after giving birth when the cancer had become terminal and treatment was ineffective.

Such Christians, Francis’ letter said, are “worthy of that admiration which the community of the faithful has usually reserved for those who have voluntarily accepted the martyrdom of blood or have exercised the Christian virtues to a heroic degree”.

To be beatified, the “free and voluntary offering of life” must be defined by “the heroic acceptance out of charity of certain death in a short term,” it noted.

The letter also said that possible candidates must have practised Christian values in their life before their selfless act and have a holy reputation. They must also be credited with a miracle after their death.

Christians who are sainted through martyrdom are the only ones exempt from being involved in a miracle.

© AFP 2017

Read: Isis has blown up the mosque where its own leader declared himself ‘caliph’

Read: Trump Jr posts emails of Russian offer to provide ‘incriminating’ information on Hillary Clinton >

View 97 comments
97 Comments
    Mute scientia
    Favourite scientia
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:42 PM

Typing “amen” on Facebook posts is now a legit way of becoming a saint

Mute Jamie Jj Tobin
    Favourite Jamie Jj Tobin
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:53 PM

One share = Sainthood

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:19 PM

@scientia: The Evangelists were sent out as lambs amongst wolves, their miraculous powers gained their cause a hearing, but did not protect them from martyrdom. How then, in spite of the obstacles to their success, did they succeeded? How did they gain lodgement in the world, which they hold down to this day, and what enabled them to spread principles distasteful to the majority? What is that hidden attribute of the Truth, how does it act, prevailing over the many and multiform errors by which it is simultaneously and incessantly attacked ? ​We might refer its success to the will and blessing of Him who revealed it.
    ​But it is also useful to inquire into the human means by which His Providence acts in the world.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:23 PM

@Tom Newnewman: WTF?????

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:50 PM

@EvieXVI: Martyrdom has been part of the history of Catholicism and still is in the Middle East though not all the saints were martyred. That’s a quote from J..H. Newman’s Oxford University sermons. In it he asks and answered why Catholicism keeps growing in spite of persecution.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:54 PM

@Tom Newnewman: Right that’s grand, except Catholicism isn’t growing, it’s shrinking.

So…

Mute Andrew Corrigan
    Favourite Andrew Corrigan
    Jul 12th 2017, 1:36 AM

@Tom Newnewman: whats a load of rubbish,go feed the poor if ya wanna stand up and be counted as a follower,devote your life give up all your belongings

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:27 AM

@Andrew Corrigan: Been there, done that. Your turn now.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:45 PM

Camera phones forced their hands really.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:34 PM

@Paul Fahey: Catholics got used to being mocked from the start so it is a waste of your time . Miracles did not save them from martyrdom. “Behold, I send you forth as lambs among wolves,” was the warning given them of their position in the world, on becoming Evangelists in its behalf. Their miraculous powers gained their cause a hearing, but did not protect themselves. St. Paul records the fulfilment of our Lord’s prophecy, as it contrasts the Apostles and mankind at large, when he declares, “Being reviled, we bless; being persecuted, we suffer it; being defamed, we entreat; we are made as the filth of the world, and are the offscouring of all things unto this day.” [1 Cor. iv.]

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:27 PM

@Tom Newnewman: no, not a waste of my time, but it is no coincidence that miracles and apparitions have dried up with the onset of modern technology, odd that.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:30 PM

@Tom Newnewman: whatever happened to lot’s wife? She was murdered for looking the wrong way, while lot got his kids pregnant, got them killed and got rewarded with a happy life. Can I pray to him?

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:43 PM

@Tom Newnewman: You are speaking a different language to the conformists here although they consider themselves to be free. St Francis knew that anything valued by the wider world doesn’t have any value compared to an inspirational life in all its forms and in imitation of the creative/productive life of Christ.

http://www.swordofthespirit.net/bulwark/july2011p13.htm

People generally come to understand the parable as they meet challenges and vagaries of life and don’t get sour on that account

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:13 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: Old Testement. You need to wait for an article on Judaism to have a go at with that.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:47 PM

@Tom Newnewman: dis the last catholic catechism not endorse and confirm the Old Testament as an indespensible part of sacred scripture?

Mute Atheos Euripides
    Favourite Atheos Euripides
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:58 PM

@Tom Newnewman: The Old Testament is the Word of God, are you denying Him? Did the cock just crow a third time?

Mute Mairtín
    Favourite Mairtín
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:13 AM

@Paul Fahey: Running out of ‘Saints’, anything will do.!!!

Mute Hughiealonso
    Favourite Hughiealonso
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:59 PM

It’s almost like they are making it up as they are going along….

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:53 PM

@Hughiealonso: Didn’t notice you mocking Muslims last time their was an article about ISIS or Islam .

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:55 PM

@Tom Newnewman: How about this – Islam is silly and nonsensical, Christianity is silly and nonsensical.

Happy?

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:26 AM

@Malachi: all hail Thor, may lightening strike the non believers.

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Jul 12th 2017, 9:51 AM

@Tom Newnewman: Christianity is just so easy to mock. It’s 2017. Cop the **** on.

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:48 PM

It’s official: The church no longer have to FAKE a miracle to canonised a saint.

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:51 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power: but you’d have to pay
    big money instead

Jul 11th 2017, 9:01 PM

@ianglen:
    Pay enough and you will be made a saint twice even before you kick the bucket.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:04 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power: Thank you for the offer, but I have better uses for my money :p

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:39 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power: Just curious. How does that comment make you feel better ?

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:53 PM

@Tom Newnewman: come on Tommy (haven’t seen you using that name for a while BTW – you get bored with the moody b&w avatars?), even you have to admit it starts looking a bit silly when they keep changing the rules. Does kinda make it look like they’re just making it up, as someone already mentioned…

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:58 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power: Didn’t notice you mocking Muslims last time their was an article about ISIS or Islam .

Jul 11th 2017, 10:03 PM

@Tom Newnewman:
    Why would you think that stating a fact is mocking somebody or is done just to make me feel better?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:14 PM

@James Joseph Superior: That’s a bit unfair. Miracles occur in the modern world too. St Pope John Paul miraculously made loads of child abusers and rapists disappear.

Jul 11th 2017, 10:15 PM

@Tom Newnewman:
    What have Muslim’s or ISIS got to do with this article?
    Why would I mock Muslims on an article about ISIS? Just because ISIS claim to be Muslim doesn’t mean that they are. A lot of people claim to be Christian who aren’t also you know?

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:16 PM

@Pseud O’Nym: Living a saintly life and then being murdered and quiet a high requirement.

Jul 11th 2017, 10:20 PM

@DaisyChainsaw:
    I can’t despite that one.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:47 AM

@Tom Newnewman: There should be a fair few saints buried in a septic tank in Tuam then.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:42 AM

@DaisyChainsaw: Thank you for saying “buried ” These babies were laid to rest after their short lives in a confined space provided by the local Council and a structure alongside the buildings was used to inter what may easily be describes as saints of infant innocence. The rush to attack the Institution that was tasked to look after these homeless mothers should not interfere with our regard for the innocent babies and overworked voluntary care workers.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:50 AM

@DaisyChainsaw: Many others with less love than you have said “thrown into” rather than buried in the structure that was in the same confined area as the, required by law, septic tank. Four of my siblings died as infants in the care of fully equipped Dublin hospitals.

Mute Fergal Dmouse
    Favourite Fergal Dmouse
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:54 PM

Next thing ya know they’ll be letting lads that eat meat on fridays into heaven

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:26 AM

@Fergal Dmouse: and wear mixed fabrics.

Mute darrell fahy
    Favourite darrell fahy
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:39 PM

Get in

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:59 PM

Delighted with this news, many people who are worthy of sainthood will hopefully get rewarded.

Jul 11th 2017, 9:03 PM

@Free comment ratings:
    Hardly get rewarded if they have to first.

Jul 11th 2017, 9:10 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power:
    die first

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:31 PM

@James Joseph Superior Power: Reward in their eternal rest.

Jul 11th 2017, 10:05 PM

@Free comment ratings:
    We will all have eternal rest once we die.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:47 PM

Saint Leo of the polka dot socks.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:57 PM

@Eddie Byrne: Didn’t notice you mocking Muslims last time their was an article about ISIS or Islam in the TheJournal.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:23 PM

You know Tommy boy, that if you were a Muslim you’d be either the Taliban or ISIS.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:53 AM

@Ron North: And how are you so sure I am not a Muslim defending Catholics.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 12th 2017, 9:32 PM

@Tom Newnewman: A Muslim complaining that Muslims are not being mocked enough, now that’s a refreshing change.

Mute Nicholas James
    Favourite Nicholas James
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:00 PM

But I’ve been working on my magic act for years!

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:02 PM

Tough to compete with ULC offering sainthood online for $19.99.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:35 PM

@Ben McArthur: only $10 to become a minister in the church of the FSM. According to the voices in my head (a valid source) I announce you as St. Ben, and every other saint is now a heretic. Everyone is welcome to become a minister, and no-one is ever refused for their beliefs – beat that catholics!

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:35 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: I thought you had to build a pirate ship to become a saint in the church of FSM.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:41 PM

They’ll be letting every Tom, Dick and Harry into the Sainthood soon just to keep the numbers up

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:04 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: Many Catholics have been murdered and Churches in Middle East but they go unreported in the MSM.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:21 PM

@Tom Newnewman: ……..and their Churches burnt ……

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:09 PM

@Tom Newnewman: and what? Are we supposed to stop mocking religious ideology because of their persecution?

Plenty of muslims are being massacred and I am still perfectly happy to criticise Islam, why would it be any different for your flavour of religious belief?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:17 PM

@Tom Newnewman: Many catholics were raped, beaten, starved and enslaved in this country by the RCC and the church hates that “MSM” reports it.

Mute Fergal Barry
    Favourite Fergal Barry
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:06 PM

Ooooohhhh Saint Bertie, patron saint of teflon

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:47 PM

What’s going on with the comment section here? Invasion of the juveniles?
    You guys migrate over from WeeWorld to participate in the discussion tonight?

Mute Atheos Euripides
    Favourite Atheos Euripides
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:01 AM

@Mark DeFriest: Whilst they may be juvenile of mind believing in miracles, I can assure you the comments here defending the latest voodoo from Papa Francis are most certainly being made by grown adult men.

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:25 AM

@Atheos Euripides:
    I have encountered the atheist mind before.
    (unfortunately)

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:48 PM

It’s a lowering of standards,I worked damn hard performing miracles ,the Miracle of the Bathroom tiling has never been remarked on by anyone ,and only God knows the miraculous strain I put on my sacred knees,

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:59 PM

@Brian O Reilly: Blessed are the tilers , and their grout shall be spread across the land .

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:43 PM

Brings to mind the lyrics of a C&W song, the title escapes me, “everybody wants to get to heaven but nobody wants to die”.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:20 PM

Speaking of music: John Coltrane performed the miracle of music and became a saint in the African Orthodox Church. He performed many of these, for instance, by himself; A Love Supreme: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mm2gHIId_7Y & with Thelonious Monk at Carnegie Hall; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyqdMT-VVfU _O_

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:20 PM

This country once was the land of Poets who understood spiritual language but is now filled with Royal Society bobbleheads . The great Irish writers loved William Blake and with good reason -

“Jesus could not do miracles where unbelief hinderd hence we must conclude that the man who holds miracles to be ceased puts it out of his own power to ever witness one The manner of a miracle being performd is in modern times considerd as an
    arbitrary command of the agent upon the patient but this is an impossibility not a miracle neither did Jesus ever do such a miracle. Is it a greater miracle to feed five thousand men with five loaves than to overthrow all the armies of Europe with a small pamphlet. look over the events of your own life & if you do not find that you have both done such miracles & lived by such you do not see as I do True I cannot do a miracle thro experiment & to domineer over & prove to others my superior power as neither
    could Christ But I can & do work such as both astonish & comfort me & mine” William Blake

https://books.google.ie/books?id=bmzP1wm7fzEC&pg=PA87&lpg#v=onepage&q&f=false

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:09 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: What about this quote, you seem to love quoting.
    ◄ Genesis 38:8 ►
    Then The lord said to Onan, “Go in to your brother’s wife, and perform your duty as a brother-in-law to her, and raise up offspring for your brother.” Onan knew that the offspring would not be his; so when he went in to his brother’s wife, he wasted his seed on the ground in order not to give offspring to his brother”.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:19 PM

@Gary: “What about this quote, you seem to love quoting.”

Well that seems a suicidal thing for you to do but I am sure you can conjure up other biblical quotes that I never posted.Such is fanaticism

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:39 AM

@Gerald Kelleher: And the best of them was bishop William Bedell, the Protestant Bishop of Kilmore who translated the bible into Irish so it could be read by everyone and not just the few Latin speakers. The only sainthood he got was a dark hole in Clough Oughter castle prison and died in 1642.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:13 PM

I think their getting mixed up, someone that gives their life for another is a “Hero” & not a “Saint”

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:20 PM

The Twelfth of July doesn’t even start till midnight but you could think it was today by the immature comments so far.

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:49 PM

@Tom Newnewman:
    Look on the positive side Tom, at least it keeps em off the streets.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:50 PM

@Mark DeFriest: ah, fweeeeinds!

Mute Philip Kedney
    Favourite Philip Kedney
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:48 PM

Jose Mourinho will be delighted !

Mute Gerry Dunne
    Favourite Gerry Dunne
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:08 PM

OMG , is that not dumbing down sainthood. Man if I’d have known it was going to change I would have stayed catholic. Man am I pi$$ed off with this and how must all the saints “looking down on us” feel now. Bet their pi$$ed off too. You’d better watch out Rome could be a nasty wrath coming your way soon.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:51 PM

Damn it , what am I going to do with all this wine now .

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:31 PM

Give it to me. I’ll miraculously turn it into urine!

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:36 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: All hail saint Daisy.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:51 AM

@Ron North: Bless you. I’ll send you my holy toenail clippings as a relic to bring around to churches.

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jul 12th 2017, 9:14 AM

The fact that humans decide who becomes a saint is laughable. Surely the great man himself should make an appearance and anounce it himself. Oh wait

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:31 AM

Sainthood has become a lottery, so where can we buy tickets……

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 12th 2017, 1:43 AM

Just use the brown envelope provided, a 100,000 would do?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:48 AM

I couldn’t imagine Enda or Bertie ever getting to become a saint for the so called miricles they performed.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:52 AM

Arlene Foster performed miracles like timber into ash and then turn it back into billions of pounds. Amazing but then Protestant churches don’t do sainthood.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 12th 2017, 1:16 AM

At this rate by the year say 2070 Batman & Wonder Woman will be the next Adam & Eve!

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Jul 12th 2017, 11:41 AM

The last time Iay down for a woman, she beat it out of me… that’s beatification right?

Jul 12th 2017, 11:14 AM

The pope probably suspects that miracles are a pile of nonsense. The Vatican is very careful to tell nothing about how and why an event is a miracle which is a sign that there is something to hide. They were caught out by the media about the fake Monica Besra miracle in relation to Mother Teresa. The Medjugorje scam shows what happens when people put what they want to believe before the truth. http://www.miraclesceptic.com

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:22 AM

It use to take a few brown envelopes before this?

Mute Frederic Slimane
    Favourite Frederic Slimane
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:56 AM

no need for a miracle to become a saint no change then!!

Mute Nicholas James
    Favourite Nicholas James
    Jul 20th 2017, 5:30 PM

You don’t have to perform miracles? NO SAINT has ever performed a miracle. Seriously a shit ton of David Blaines the lot of them!

Mute Daniel Barnes
    Favourite Daniel Barnes
    Jul 12th 2017, 7:23 AM

Just make it up as Ye go along lads fair play to Ye

Mute Gavin Crowley
    Favourite Gavin Crowley
    Jul 12th 2017, 1:57 AM

The headline an first two paragraphs are incorrect, and contradicted by the rest of the article. I presume that’s the seamline between the journal’s bit and AFP’s bit.
    1. Saints don’t perform miracles – that’s not the gig.
    2. The only way you can make sense of the ‘no need for a miracle’ element is if you stretch the meaning of ‘saint’ to include the beatified. That might arguably be OK. But that headline would have been news in 1983, it’s quite old news by now.
    3. Beatification is not a ‘first’ step towards sainthood.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 12th 2017, 1:46 AM

Has anyone noticed how they sort of tried to call Pope Benedict’s brother a pedo but all that vanished when Pope Benedict stood aside??? Did they do a dirty on Pope Benedict and got Frances elected???

Mute Baron Von Beer
    Favourite Baron Von Beer
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:54 PM

See you in work pope this is how we do it