You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Riccardo De Luca

Is the Pope coming to Ireland?

The Catholic Communications Office says there’s “no concrete information” about a rumoured visit in 2013.

THERE’S SPECULATION TODAY that Pope Benedict XVI will embark on a visit to Ireland next year, and will apologise in person to the victims of cleric sex abuse.

According to a report in today’s Irish Daily Mirror, which cites a Catholic Church source, the Pope will visit both Northern Ireland and the Republic and will make at least one public address in which he will apologise to victims of abuse.

Michael Kelly of the Irish Catholic speculated last week that the meeting of Martin McGuinness and Queen Elizabeth II had paved the way for a papal visit to the island.

He told TheJournal.ie that a visit is something that the Vatican have wanted to do for years in order to complete “unfinished business from 1979″ when Pope John Paul II expressed his disappointment at not being able to include a trip to the North in his papal visit to Ireland.

Kelly said that before the 1979 visit there had been a plan to include the North on the itinerary, but that it was feared that a large scale Catholic celebration might inflame tensions.

Pope John Paul II did visit Drogheda in 1979 and appealed for peace, and up until his death in 2005 he said he had a wish to come back and complete his trip.

During his 2010 visit to Britain Pope Benedict was quick to praise the engagement of the Irish and British governments in the peace process and referred to Christianity “in these islands”. Kelly told TheJournal.ie that this provided the “mood music” to setting up a visit.

He also said that the Queen being welcomed to the North by Martin McGuinness as a gesture of goodwill towards unionists opens the door to a similar gesture from unionist leaders.

The Catholic Communications Office has told TheJournal.ie that there is “no concrete information” about a proposed papal visit, but there has been a longstanding invitation for him to visit Ireland since he became pope.

A spokesperson said that the office wouldn’t be privy to plans that far in advance.

Michael Kelly said that a public apology would almost certainly form part of the visit, but that it wouldn’t be the first time the Vatican has apologised. He said however that it would be a chance for a more personal acknowledgement of the abuse perpetrated by members of the church.

Kelly also said that the government has shown “no great warmth” in advance of any proposed visit:

Some of the things Eamon Gilmore has been saying have been remarkable.

Both Gilmore and the Taoiseach Enda Kenny co-hosted a reception for high ranking members of the Catholic Church during the Eucharistic Congress last month, with the Taoiseach saying he did not expect a negative or hostile reaction from church leaders.

Kenny condemned the ‘dysfunction and disconnection” of the Catholic Church in a Dáil speech last July.

In May Eamon Gilmore told the Dáil that Cardinal Seán Brady should not “hold a position of authority” following revelations about abuse carried out by Fr Brendan Smyth.

Closure of Vatican embassy will not be reversed ‘in the immediate term’>

Pope speaks of human weakness in sinful church>

Read: Tánaiste suggests Cardinal Brady should “not hold a position of authority”>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

132 Comments
    Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Favourite Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 2nd 2012, 12:57 PM

I hope not. He’s not welcome. Although we could organise a protest of this kind. :)

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:14 PM

I hope not,but if he is I hope he’s bringing a fat bag of cash and one incredibly impressive and sincere apology. oh and maybe a few P45′s while he’a at it.

Mute Daniel R
    Favourite Daniel R
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:20 PM

Haha That was brilliant!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:12 AM

I hope not, the only concrete thing they should be considering is a pair of red concrete shoes and you can guess the rest. I shall be busy like the last time, doing something important like Yawning. ,B-)

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:21 AM

Old Nokia, your photo is great, no matter what comment you make it speaks out mischief. Wonderfull, Thanks for your common sense.

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:46 PM

Cheers dude.

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2012, 12:59 PM

I won’t be welcoming him here anyway.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:46 AM

Ah yes, I remember the ’79 visit I was walking the quiet deserted streets of our capital city Yawning. It was great. :-)

Mute mel
    Favourite mel
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:05 PM

Who cares

Mute Timmy O Toole
    Favourite Timmy O Toole
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:09 PM

was about to post those exact words.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:18 PM

If he does he should be arrested as soon as he sets foot on Irish soil for aiding and abetting paedophiles

Mute Itchy mcscratch
    Favourite Itchy mcscratch
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:53 PM

Now THAT would be something I’d like to see!!

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:13 PM

The facts are clear – Cardinal Ratzinger/Pope Benedict has done more than any other pope in recent centuries to remove paedophiles from the priesthood. He has even moved against very powerful clerics who were guilty – he has shown neither fear nor favour in dealing with this issue.

I really loved and admired John Paul, but I would admit that his handling of the abuse crisis was weaker than Benedict’s.

Is Benedict’s handling of abuse flawless? Probably not, but then again, there’s probably no person, or organisation, who gets this right on every single case. But the facts are pretty clear – since he assumed control of the issue in 2001, and since he became pope in 2005, he has tightened things up immeasurably.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:56 PM

Most organizations don’t claim to represent the creator of the universe and aren’t headed by a guy who claims to be infallible. It strikes me as odd that a believer wouldn’t hold them to a higher standard than the average organization.

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jul 2nd 2012, 8:03 PM

Actually John, the Pope doesn’t claim to be infallible per se.

The conditions where this might apply are extremely narrow, and arguably have only been invoked once or twice in the last 150 years. Infallibility is certainly not claimed to apply to administrative and disciplinary matters.

Catholics also accept that every human is weak and fails from time to time – we are not Puritans who expect perfection.

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:33 PM

I nominate you to do the citizens arrest!!!!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 6:30 PM

Hi AlMar; Some people will believe anything without question. You, like every other human have the ability to seek the truth but, you decide to believe those who say they have found it, however; they cannot prove any of it and yet expect you to believe them.

Would you like to buy a tin of checkered paint? it is black and white in equal amounts, lovely design; Of course you don’t! that would be ridiculous wouldn’t it?.

But; believing that wine and bread can be turned into flesh and blood by thousands of budding magicians, that is different is it? taking part in an act of cannibalism is also good is it? lighting candles and mumbling some pleading words is going to help you pass an exam, feed the hungry, house the homeless, rescue victims from paedophiles and despots!

I don’t think so, in fact I am bloody certain it will not. People who believe without proof, are for the birds. Take some time and respect yourself.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:07 PM

There’s ‘unfinished business’ alright, like the millions due from the religious congregations as recompense for the decades of abuse.

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews

Not welcome.

Mute Brian Nisbet
    Favourite Brian Nisbet
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:17 PM

A visit such as this will just cost the country more money it doesn’t have in order to massively inconvenience the citizens and give a platform to a bigoted man who wants to live in the past. Let him peddle his wares elsewhere.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2012, 12:58 PM

He’s well over due would be nice to see him take an interest considering all thats happened with the scandals in this country and Irish priests in the US. A lot of people have given up on the church and they don’t seem to be actively trying to change or attract the younger folk into the church.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:29 PM

I’m too young but my parents look back on the 79 visit with great admiration. It is a mark of the times and the distance that we have travelled from the Church that any proposed visit here isn’t welcomed with open arms.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:00 PM

People have given up the church, because it’s bogus. There’s no great mystery.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jul 2nd 2012, 9:22 PM

Sean O Briain
    I remember the 79 visit as it conjures some great personal memories for me. Times were different , there was a sense of celebration and community, and of course the church was still all powerful. No one had dared come out and said what was really going on with the little children and vulnerable among us. As I was in Dubln , we walked to the Phoenix Park with shopping trollies laden with sandwiches and flasks of tea… If the Pope comes here I would not even tuern on the TV set to see him hereso much is my disgust of him in particular.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 11:02 AM

Hi Eileen, good comment but an organisation is only as powerful as we allow it. So the church is only as powerful as you allow it, you are in charge of your own life and let no one take that from you.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jul 3rd 2012, 11:36 AM

Ephan
    Thanks for your comment . :)

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:59 PM

There is only one thing that might attract young intelligent people / folk. to the church “Tell the Fcuking Truth”

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:15 PM

He can stay where he is thanks very much.

Mute John McGuirk
    Favourite John McGuirk
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:18 PM

Here’s what will happen, if this visit comes to pass:

The Pope will come. People on the Journal will spit feathers, call him names, and demand that ACTION BE TAKEN.

Some Gay group will organise a protest about being gay and how the Pope doesn’t like them. The Pope will wave at it as he passes and not give a hoot, but Broadsheet.ie will carry pictures of some chump dressed in a Rainbow with an obnoxious sign and some people on the internet will dutifully praise it.

Colm O’Gorman will take to the airwaves and demand more apologies (as is his right) and then, when the apology comes, will take to the airwaves again to decry the apology as not going far enough and demand more apologies. Broadsheet.ie will carry his statement with a witty (but very serious) headline, and people on the internet will dutifull praise it.

A lawyer of some description will propose arresting the Pope, He’ll get the coverage that none of you people who want to arrest the Pope get because he is a lawyer and his opinion must be taken seriously. Broadsheet will report on this in the same *very serious* tone they use when talking about Terry Prone. The Internet will talk about this right up until the moment Vatican 1 hits the skies for Rome.

Some Political Party (probably the Greens) will announce that they are boycotting the visit. Even Broadsheet and commenters here will mock the self-importance of that one.

Meanwhile, most of your parents, and Grandparents, will either stay respectfully at home and watch on telly, and about 50,000 or so of them will take to the streets to wave at himself as he zooms by in the Popemobile (which will be the subject of umpteen Newspaper features and at least one Journal article, all by itself).

In total, about 100,000 people will come out to see the Pope, which will be hailed as a triumph by David Quinn (who’ll enjoy rubbing your noses in it) and a disaster by people who’ll point out that it’s a tenth of the crowd JPII got in 1979.

The Pope will then leave, not ever having read one of your comments, or giving a hoot about what you think, safe in the knowlege that his speech here about victims, and his personal apology, and his handshake with Peter Robinson, will be transmitted around the globe on his terms.

And when it’s all said and done, not a thing will have changed. So it’s better that you all relax about it and let the bloody charade go ahead than waste your time getting worked up about the whole thing.

Mute Jason O'Mahony
    Favourite Jason O'Mahony
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:36 PM

Only thing I’d differ on will be that he’ll get more than 50,000 on the streets, including a good share of Poles who will want their kids to see him, and Africans who actually agree with him.

Mute Martin Grehan
    Favourite Martin Grehan
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:14 PM

Time to get my protesting pants on. He speaks to God they say…

Mute Fiachra KellyMcElroy
    Favourite Fiachra KellyMcElroy
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:10 PM

Extradition anyone?

Mute Katrina Carroll
    Favourite Katrina Carroll
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:28 PM

i pope not.

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:35 PM

Ahahahahahahahaha nice. :)

Mute David Ronan
    Favourite David Ronan
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:08 PM

The who?! :-P Anyways, if he does come all he is going to do is apologies for all the wrong doing the church has done…… Words with no substance!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:42 AM

Hi Dave, I think it’s Walt Disney, only not as funny.

Mute JustMe
    Favourite JustMe

If he comes I hope he brings lots of money to recompense those affected by clerical abuse. I hope he hands the offenders over to the gardai so they are prosecuted and convicted. I hope.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jul 2nd 2012, 10:25 PM

yeah a bit like the social services who have handed over those responsible for those children abused and died in their care….oops sorry they may have been disciplined we will never know….why cause they are civil servants employed by the state occupying positions of care and responsibily for those who were vunerable or abused by their parents… yeah funny we castigate the church and want accountibility from the church but its ok for social workers to preside over children who died in their care and were abused and neglected and not a peep from anyone

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:27 PM

Social services unlike the church don’t actively lure children in to be molested and beaten nor do they abuse power in beating and refusing education to kids in schools for decades. Stop clutching at straws for weak excuses. The catholic church should be abandoned, the good clergymen and women that make up the vast majority should be given new roles in the community thus freeing everyone from the few monsters who have ruined your church

Mute Sherbet Bell
    Favourite Sherbet Bell
    Jul 5th 2012, 11:16 AM

no your right jonna social services can ripe the children form their families them put into care, social services have a lot to answer for, yet the public get no answers,very much like the church. It took decades to get answers for the abuse and still no accountability. same as the social services

Mute Barra Ó Murchú
    Favourite Barra Ó Murchú
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:22 PM

Many people will be delighted he’s coming, others outraged. Same happened with the British Queen. Leave him come, leave people welcome him or protest against him. I for one will be doing neither

Mute stephen corrigan
    Favourite stephen corrigan
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:42 PM

The queen doesn’t represent an organisation that systematically abused children and proceeded to cover up. At least she recognised wrong doing and her visit offered some historical value. The pope is a bigot who represents an organisation with evil at its core and he refuses to recognise that the church were wrong. And if you think you seen protests for the queens visit, wait till this **** visits.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 10:53 AM

The Queen represents a real place the pope represents a fantasy that exists only in his head. He should be locked up, the man and those in his his organisation are deranged, there are more sane people locked away for telling the truth.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:33 PM

If he comes, tell him to bring some of those priceless treasures he’s hoarding in the Vatican (vow of poverty me arse!) and to give appropriate recompense to all the men women and children abused at the hands of his footsoldiers. His mealy mouthed words mean nothing.

His close association with John Paul II during his reign means he’s as complicit in the protection and facilitating of child abusers and rapists as his predecessor.

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:17 PM

Over my dead body

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:56 PM

If he does come I hope to see more protesters than people welcoming him. I was taking to the Phoenix park by my parents when the last pope came right at the time when myself and one of my friends were going through a horrible time in school at the age of 11. My friend hung himself 25 years ago and I spent my life never staying in the one place for more than a year. We both met on many occasions in the local mental hospital, me being detoxed from alcohol and my friend from drugs. Thankfully I got good counseling over ten years ago and haven

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:01 PM

Jim, all I can say is that I wish you inner peace, contentment and continued sobriety.

Mute Waterford
    Favourite Waterford
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:38 PM

Jim, you can hardly blame the pope for that.

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:38 PM

Keep it tight Jim, much love. I hope your mate is up in heaven throwing pennys over the wall onto those evil mofos is hell

Mute Luke O'Brien
    Favourite Luke O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:07 PM

He’s a disgrace. John Paul II was an honorable man unlike this Papa.

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:11 PM

JP said gay people are intrinsically disordered.

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:15 PM

JP was a man of his times, fighting injustice, the Soviet regime in Poland & working for a more inclusive church. This gombeen’s a traditionalist who’d love to see it go back to Latin masses for everyone!

Times changed, but Benny win’t let the church come with it. >:-(

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:21 PM

I take it you approve of his comments about gay people…

Mute Daniel R
    Favourite Daniel R
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:23 PM

And discouraged the use of condoms in AIDS ridden Africa.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:27 PM

You’re kidding right? John Paul II, Patron Saint and Protector of Paedophile Priests! How many priest around the world did he let continue abusing children throughout his reign? Are they the actions of an honourable man?

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:49 PM

I’m not going to stand over JP’s thoughts on homosexuality, I think the opposite. Nor will I defend him on paedophole priests. If he knew, then I’d hope he looked for forgiveness. But he was a damn sight better than the crackpot that’s killing my church!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:40 AM

The whole thing is a disgrace, a bloody farce. None of them are any good, their entire organisation is based on fantasy. Get on with your lives and leave childhood fairy tales behind you. Take back your sanity.

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:22 PM

Colm, asking forgiveness is good enough. If I kicked you in the stones, then asked forgiveness would that be cool? Thy should all be taking responsibility all of this is such a shame , too many lives ruined and the good name of the majority of priests who are good people has been tarnished

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:01 PM

Drank since. But it shaped my life and what happened to me was mild to what has happened to a lot of people and I think my friend got it worse. The priest involved is married now and living a great life running a credit union in Ireland.

Mute bob
    Favourite bob
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:09 PM

my granny was told in 1915 by her mother,”never go confessions on your own”! this cancer is in the church a long long time.time it is gone!

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:22 PM

No doubt Kilkenny Cat will be delighted and excited, itching to kiss his ring!

Mute Waterford
    Favourite Waterford
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:20 PM

Looks like you have Kilkenny Cat on the brain Nokia Charger. You must be missing her?

Mute Genevieve Foley
    Favourite Genevieve Foley
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:02 AM

Old Nokia – you just cheer up my $hite day no end – Im finally managing a smile to a nasty ould day thanks to you LMFAO xxxxxx

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 3rd 2012, 2:09 AM

Happy to oblige! :)

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:16 PM

I welcome the Pontiff, and I’m sure the Irish people will live up to their reputation of being warm and welcome to all visitors.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 2nd 2012, 10:28 PM

How about a chorus of thousands of victims of clerical abuse singing “You’ll never beat the Irish”?

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Favourite Stephanie Fleming
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:23 PM

Long standing invitation from who exactly? I think we can be fairly certain that he won’t be receiving the same kind of blind and blinkered adoration JPII got.

And you just know that apology will be another one to “the faithful”, so the rest of us can sod off.

Mute Sharrow
    Favourite Sharrow
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:39 PM

Will we see “No Pope Here” signs?

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:56 PM

I welcome the Holy Father to this country. He will be welcomed by all age groups; the diversity of people attending the Congress has shown that. Plus the fact that the Pope received a standing ovation from young and old at the Statio Orbis.

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Jul 2nd 2012, 6:21 PM

Let him come and then slap in handcuffs the minute he sets foot on Irish soil, he’s the head of the largest pedo gang on the planet and as the CEO of his perverted church the buck stops with him. “Holy Father” my arse, holy shit more like, where on earth have you been living when the epidemic of vile revelations were coming out about the catholic church’s behaviour in Ireland? pervert priests, cover up bishops and nazi style camps run by vicious nuns who destroyed the lives of thousands of “young and old”, men women and above all children. There’s nothing remotely ‘holy’ about Ratzinger or his cult!

Mute bob
    Favourite bob
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:43 PM

if u are joking ha ha,if u are not,ha ha,ur deluded!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:55 AM

You are taking the Piss!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 5:52 PM

Romani Domum!

Mute Gavin O'Brien
    Favourite Gavin O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:11 PM

Down with this sort of thing!

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jul 2nd 2012, 10:13 PM

That would be an ecumenical matter

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:43 PM

Careful now.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:27 PM

Yes he should visit if he wishes. Just like the head of any other church such as Queen Elizabeth among others. nA visit has the potential to address the outstanding serious issues.

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:40 PM

A visit has the potential to address the outstanding serious issues.

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:42 PM

They had better fly, coz if popey gets a hold of them!…..

Mute Alan Hayes
    Favourite Alan Hayes
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:21 PM

Will this pope be alive in 2013? He can stay at my gaff, just keep his private secretary out of my office.

Mute Dotty_Ouch
    Favourite Dotty_Ouch
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:40 PM

peacocks parading….

Mute Brendan Williamson
    Favourite Brendan Williamson
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:07 PM

When the article says he will apologise, will it be a repeat of the “Human Weakness/The Devil made us do it” apology from last week, a collective Church apology along the lines of “The Church has let everybody down(but lets not mention names)” like the one at the Eucharistic Congress, or a proper heartfelt apology from him, apologising peronsally for protecting paedophiles like Lawrence Murphy and Marcial Maciel, and calling the allegations of Church abuse in the USA a fabrication of the media?

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:30 PM

In fairness, you can hardly accuse Cardinal Ratzinger/Pope Benedict of protecting Maciel since he is the very one who launched the investigation into Maciel and had him removed from public ministry.

Mute Brendan Williamson
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:46 PM

Yes but in keeping with the commonly held idea within the Church that the laws of any other country are meaningless, he never offered any evidence he had to Mexican authorities. Having him removed from public ministry is only one step above moving him to another parish, both are just exercises in damage limitation.

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jul 2nd 2012, 4:26 PM

No Brendan.

Firstly, the statute of limitations was well expired in Mexico.

Secondly, removing the likes of Maciel from public ministry at the age of 86 (the investigation was only begun when Maciel was 85) was an incredible move. At that age he was no longer a threat to anyone. This was one of the most high profile priests from Mexico, and indeed in global Catholicism. The order he founded was the fastest growing in the world, and it was highly respected. By moving against Maciel, it was clear that the Legionaries of Christ would be damaged, that they would have experienced turmoil and decline. This is exactly what happened. But even still, Benedict acted. He could have ignored it or fudged it. He didn’t.

Mute Brendan Williamson
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:08 PM

Okay, I forgot about the Statute of Limitations, i apologise. But is it really that incredible a move? Surely it would be a given, if any other world organisation, let’s say the World Scouting Organisation, it’s the only one I can think of anywhere near in size to the church, had a member like Maciel then kicking him out would not be considered incredible. The fact that an action like that is given adjectives like incredible or unprecedented is not a sign that the church is all of a sudden incredibly progressive, only that expectations have hit rock bottom.

Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:20 PM

I’m pretty sure the statute of limitations has not expired for many catholic priests currently suspected of or under investigation for paedophilia. What chance the pope might release any information he has to the relevant countries’ authorities?

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jul 2nd 2012, 8:05 PM

Brendan – I do accept your point about expectations to a certain extent. Removing those like Maciel should have been the norm. it wasn’t, but in reality under Benedict it is becoming standard practice.

Mute AlMar
    Favourite AlMar
    Jul 2nd 2012, 8:06 PM

Noddy – the issue of files is really one for the local bishops. They have been told by the Vatican to comply with national laws regarding reporting crimes.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 11:33 AM

If a rapist goes to court and apologises for his crime, will he be allowed go free like the church has? No he will not and rightly so. Apologies like that, are empty and will not restore the innocence to those from whom it was viciously and violently taken. So forget your apologies and let us start looking for heads to roll until they are all either locked up or deported to some hell hole inhabited by crocodile and other wild carnivores.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:32 PM

Wow, one positive comment at the time of posting this! We’ve changed our attitude substantially from the one which was here during JPs visit.

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:50 PM

Kilkenny Dinosaur Cat will be here any minute to tell us all we’re going to hell!

Mute Waterford
    Favourite Waterford
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:19 PM

Haha-looks like Nokia charger was rattled by Kilkenny Cat. He’s fighting with her now on stories where she hasn’t even posted. It’s ok Nokia, we’ll tell her to stop outsmarting you.

Mute Derek Mooney
    Favourite Derek Mooney
    Jul 2nd 2012, 4:34 PM

Far away across the field
    The tolling of the iron bell
    Calls the faithful to their knees
    To hear the softly spoken magic spells.

(Lyrics by Pink Floyd)

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:51 AM

Ah Derek, that is it in a nutshell. Well done.

Mute Brian Rogan
    Favourite Brian Rogan
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:16 PM

He’s more than welcome, once it’s the Church and not the tax payer who foots the bill.

Mute 680199
    Favourite 680199
    Jul 2nd 2012, 4:22 PM

Whether you like it/not he is a head of State, and entitled to the same protocols as any other. Treasures are open to the public – selling to wealthy Arabs/US removes them from view. Grow up all of you behave like adults. Would you be this disrespectful to an Arab head of State, or to Islam?

Mute Fiachra KellyMcElroy
    Favourite Fiachra KellyMcElroy
    Jul 2nd 2012, 4:42 PM

The Pope is head of an Authoritarian Statelet that systematically covered up crimes in sovereign states… If any other country did that to Ireland, yes i would oppose their visit.

Mute Mark Carthy
    Favourite Mark Carthy
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:05 PM

He is not entitled to the same protocols, because he is a criminal.
    We now know that he actively attempted to hide the abuse scandal from secular authorities, and was involved in the transfer of priests to different locations after allegations were made against them.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 2nd 2012, 10:32 PM

If they were complicit in the cover up of the abuse of thousands of children, yes I would.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 10:21 AM

Hi 680199, All religions are fundamentally disrespectful to me and to the collective intellect of my fellow humans. There is not one single shred of tangible evidence, to back up their ridiculous claims. Yet millions follow blindly and hang on every word, it is no wonder that governments get away with screwing us, they see that we are gullible enough to believe without proof. You get what you deserve.

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jul 3rd 2012, 1:46 PM

No not to Islam and you know full well why.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 5:20 PM

Hi Fiachra; The pope is a self-made head of an authoritarian state of mind. The vatican city is a state of fundamentalists, where else would you be allowed to set up a state as small as the vatican? a city within a city. Strange how it wasn’t destroyed in either world wars, when all around it was devastated. Some say it was protected by their god, if so, where was this god, when his chosen Jewish people were being annihilated just over the border in Germany and Poland etc?., If what they say is true, then their god was more interested in protecting the wealth and money of the vatican, ponder that if you will.

Mute Hammie
    Favourite Hammie
    Jul 2nd 2012, 3:12 PM

As long as it costs the taxpayers nothing pope bendydick can visit all he likes

Mute Aisling Doyle
    Favourite Aisling Doyle
    Jul 2nd 2012, 4:34 PM

He not head of state …….. He’s head of a bunch of shirt lifters and abusers and until they admit the wrong doing he ain’t nothing to me …..,,,,, and don’t get me started on cardinal Brady …..,,,

Mute Kathryn ッ
    Favourite Kathryn ッ
    Jul 2nd 2012, 9:25 PM

So, when the Pope didn’t come to Ireland to apologise for what happened, there was outcry, now when there is speculation that he will come next year, and to do just that, there is hell to play….? Right… makes sense to me.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:32 PM

“Won’t somebody please think of the children”

Mute Celtic Lady
    Favourite Celtic Lady
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:51 PM

I’d rather my Tax money was spent on health and education.

Mute bob
    Favourite bob
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:38 PM

I agree,but I would rather the churches property which was paid for by the people they abused be taken back! the the real health and education can begin.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jul 2nd 2012, 4:21 PM

Maybe we can burn a few witches to welcome the old buzzard.

Mute Sharrow
    Favourite Sharrow
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:07 PM

No one was very burnt, pressed or hanged for being a witch in this country.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2012, 10:14 PM

Petronilla De Meath was burnt at the stake in Ireland and there were plenty of women hanged/strangled for sorcery and heresy. Maybe do a bit of research before making baseless claims?

Mute Derrick Knowles
    Favourite Derrick Knowles
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:17 PM

Can’t believe he got a standing ovation with his telecast in Croke Park during the Eucharistic Congress, but what do you expect, he’s preaching to the converted with those in attendance. Wonder how the church congregations will continue to decline into the future, in my opinion most people get their kids christened as is a requirement upon school enrolment for their kids and married in churches to keep their parents happy or like the idea of a traditional wedding, most of the said don’t step into a church from one end of the year to the next!

Mute jim redmond
    Favourite jim redmond
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:25 PM

About as welcome as the Westboro Baptist Church.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:09 PM

Thank you Daisy.

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:01 PM

‘Young People of Ireland….we raped you and abused you and destroyed your life, we will make amends, we will give you all our wealth and property, we will give you all we have and our service until our lives are done…as penance. Can you please please forgive us our terrible crimes’

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:12 PM

Why do they dress up as clowns? As a kid at the circus a pedophile was the to hung up all the kids – then he played the part of the clown. Perfect cover for his behaviour. Just. Like the church.

Mute Catherine McMahon
    Favourite Catherine McMahon
    Jul 2nd 2012, 5:31 PM

I wonder would Enda have the balls to tell the church to feck off to the Popes face. I’d pay to see that.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:27 PM

He’s not welcome, like I’ve said many a time, if it does visit I will make sure to book some time off work to do my part in any protests. I’ve not been part of any protests in a very long time but I sure as hell will be involved in some if he attempts to visit Ireland,

Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:43 PM

The church in Nenagh has been undergoing major clean up the last few weeks, even power washing the outer walls 150 feet up, coincidence?

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Jul 2nd 2012, 2:11 PM

Can’t wait :)

Mute Ronan Walsh
    Favourite Ronan Walsh
    Jul 2nd 2012, 8:52 PM

He can f**k off . Him nor his minions are relevant anymore !

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jul 2nd 2012, 1:55 PM

People of Ireland, forgive me.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jul 2nd 2012, 8:11 PM

I hope not

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 9:32 AM

The article states “no concrete plans” and then goes on to say “When he arrives” as if there are concrete plans! It’s a pair of red concrete shoes with replicas for all those who abused and covered up, is what they need. I do not want him here and just like the last visit, I shall be busy doing something more important, like Yawning. :-)

Mute Eamon Conlon
    Favourite Eamon Conlon
    Jul 6th 2012, 3:55 AM

TO EACH HIS OWN WE ALL HAVE BELIEFS, THE CATHOLIC CHURCH PROVIDED SCHOOLS AND HOSPITAL S WHEN NOBODY ELSE TOOK OWNERSHIP OF SAME MORE GOOD THAN BAD CAME OF THIS.SO SO MUCH WRONG HAPPENED BUT SO SO MUCH GOOD INDURED TOO.I THINK HIS HOLINESS SHOULD BE WELCOMED TO OUR COUNTRY FROM EVERY CORNER IN THIS LITTLE NATION WE HAVE FAITHFUL JUST LIVE AND LET LIVE NO THREATS OF MILITANCY PLEASE.

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 6th 2012, 12:35 PM

His holiness, my arse! Sideshow Bob, more like. A lot of people have done good without claiming to represent some guy in the sky, or needing to wear a pointed hat and swan around in silk and gold. No fear of these arseholes going hungry. Also there is no need to shout, using capital letters to get your point across it doesn’t make it any more sensible.

Mute Aisling Doyle
    Favourite Aisling Doyle
    Jul 2nd 2012, 7:11 PM

Well said ed !!! Ashamed to say he’s the leader of our religion , id nearly turn Jewish !!!!!

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 3rd 2012, 8:03 PM

Stop teaching our / your children this muck as if it were true!,

Stop taking them to the fountain to be indoctrinated into this club without their permission.

You don’t expect them to continue believing in the tooth fairy, so, what is the difference?.

You might as well read a passage from Alice in Wonderland, and tell them, that is true too.

Before you move your eager little fingers to give this a thumbs down, ask yourself “do I have any proof”

Mute the truth hurts
    Favourite the truth hurts
    Jul 2nd 2012, 6:46 PM

Why was my comment removed?

Mute Ephen Boland
    Favourite Ephen Boland
    Jul 4th 2012, 2:48 PM

Hi the truth hurts! Why dont you repost your comment and see what happens?

Mute mypolitics1
    Favourite mypolitics1
    Feb 8th 2013, 12:06 AM

You irish will never learn. You keep getting whipped for your ‘sins’ you then ask for forgiveness and go back for more whippings. Oh well…