You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kim Kardashian Tammie Arroyo/AFF/EMPICS Entertainment

How have the Kardashians influenced Ireland's top baby names?

The CSO has just released the latest information on Ireland’s top baby names… is yours in there?

NOT CONTENT WITH their own reality show, perfume, books, and other endorsements, the Kardashian family have left their mark on Ireland – by influencing parents who want to name their newborns.

Mason, the name of the son of Keeping Up With The Kardashian stars Kourtney Kardashian and Scott Disick – and nephew of Kim Kardashian – jumped from number 242 in the boys’ names rank in 2007 to 57 in 2012.

Meanwhile, though Kim did not enter the top 100 names, Chloe (the standard spelling of Kardashian sister Khloe’s name) was named the 15th most popular name in 2012.

Other interesting names that grew in popularity were Logan (inspired by the Gilmore Girls, perhaps?), Amelie (parents that were fans of the French film, no doubt) and Alfie (Michael Caine fans?).

The latest CSO results for baby names in Ireland show that Jack was still at the top spot for boys’ names in 2012, having first reached number one in 2007. Emily, meanwhile, was the top name for girls in 2012, and has been since 2011.

The top five boys’ names in 2012 were:

• Jack (831)
  • James (773)
  • Daniel (683)
  • Sean (677)
  • Conor (639)

The top five girls’ names were:

• Emily (626)
  • Sophie (577)
  • Emma (497)
  • Grace (461)
  • Lily (449)

Interestingly, the top five boys’ names have been in the top five since 2007, with four – Jack, Sean, Conor and James – being in the top five since 1998, although their order changed from year to year.

Meanwhile, the top five girls’ names and their order remained the same between 2011 and 2011, making it the first time since 2004/2005 that the five most popular girls’ names remained unchanged for two consecutive years.

Variety

There was a wider variety of names for girls rather than boys, with 4,730 girls’ names registered compared to 3,804 boys’ names.

When it comes to Irish names, they have certainly fallen in popularity – while there Sean and Conor are in the boys’ top five, you have to go to number 11 in the girls’ list to find the first Irish name, Aoife. Other popular Irish names for girls include Caoimhe and Saoirse.

Irish names for boys that parents loved last year were Oisin (14), Cian (15) and Liam (13). Names that grew in popularity last year were Logan, Isaac and Tyler, while Amelia, Hollie and Evie grew in popularity for girls.

Nationalities

For boys whose parents were Irish nationals, Jack was the top ranked name, while James was the most popular choice with parents of UK nationality.

David and Matteo were the most popular boys’ names chosen by parents from the EU15 (excluding Ireland and the UK), and Filip was the boys’ name chosen most often by parents from the accession states.

Parents from nations outside the EU made Daniel the highest ranked name of baby boys registered in Ireland in 2012.

For girls where both parents were Irish nationals, Emily was the most popular name, and Ella and Jessica were the top ranked names chosen by parents of UK nationality.

Emma ranked first with parents of the EU 15 (excluding Ireland and the UK) and Julia took top spot with parents of the accession states.

Outside of parents of EU nationality, Sarah was the name that ranked highest of baby girls registered in Ireland.

Read: Looking more like Alfie: Top baby names of 2010>

Read: Jack and Emily: Ireland’s most popular baby names>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    May 31st 2013, 2:04 PM

If I heard someone had called their child Logan because of the Gilmore Girls I would slag the shit out of them. If, however, they had named their son Logan after Wolverine they would get a high five.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    May 31st 2013, 1:50 PM

Who are the Kardashians???Thought they were some race of aliens from Star Treck??

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    May 31st 2013, 2:44 PM

They are.

Mute Martin Morad
    Favourite Martin Morad
    May 31st 2013, 3:05 PM

Kardashian is fron Azerbijan!

Mute Isfandior
    Favourite Isfandior
    May 31st 2013, 3:48 PM

Armenia actually

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    May 31st 2013, 3:50 PM

Armenia.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    May 31st 2013, 3:53 PM

Their from Ballyjamesduff

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    May 31st 2013, 4:45 PM

Don’t tell them they’re from Azerbaijan. The Azeris and Armenians hate each other. Only a tentative ceasefire between them at the moment after a protracted war between them in the late 80s to the mid 90s. A good rule of thumb, if a surname ends in -ian or -yan you can be pretty sure they’re Armenian. It’s like the O’ or the Mc of Irish surnames.

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    May 31st 2013, 3:12 PM

Why would anyone want to name their child the ‘top’ name?
    It’s a misnomer, it essentially means the most common?
    Personally, I’d look at the top 10 as a list of what Not to name my child.

Mute Seán Jackman
    Favourite Seán Jackman
    May 31st 2013, 4:25 PM

Don’t be so cranky!

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    May 31st 2013, 4:36 PM

Ah Seán, you’re only upset because I pointed out what you already knew about your own name.
    But it’s ok pet, it’s a lovely name. Just.. you know, a bit…. everywhere.

Mute Seán Jackman
    Favourite Seán Jackman
    May 31st 2013, 7:21 PM

My name is actually short for Seánathan… I’m named after my great-uncle Seánathan who fought in WWII, so I guess it’s a little less common.

Mute Hilary McMahon
    Favourite Hilary McMahon
    Jun 1st 2013, 2:19 AM

I agree but….at the same time my 6 month old is called Daniel, because his grandfather and great grandfather were not because of some popularity list….and the name is not that common in the states.my daughter is Aoife and they laugh here when I tell them it is in the top 20 Irish names at home.

Jun 1st 2013, 11:48 AM

That shut you up Abbie

Mute Ronan Guthrie
    Favourite Ronan Guthrie
    May 31st 2013, 1:51 PM

i really can’t understand why media outlets bother to give these people the attention. it just makes me sad :(.

faith in humanity lost once again.

Mute Niall Carson
    Favourite Niall Carson
    May 31st 2013, 1:56 PM

exactly who gives a F%@k

Mute chloe coyle
    Favourite chloe coyle
    May 31st 2013, 2:00 PM

I hate the kardashians there famous because one had a sex tape and a huge bum… Trashy reality tv that’s all scripted. Why would you name your child after them?

Mute Jimmy Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Jimmy Fitzpatrick
    May 31st 2013, 2:42 PM

Its a nice bum though in fairness

Mute Chief PP In TeePee
    Favourite Chief PP In TeePee
    May 31st 2013, 3:17 PM

Actually, The Kardashians are famous because of their father, Robert Kardashian who was an attorney. He gained national recognition as O. J. Simpson’s friend and defense attorney during the 1995 murder trial. This is how we got to know the rest of kims arse! i mean the rest of the family

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    May 31st 2013, 7:13 PM

How can you say that Chloe? Your own parents were obviously huge fans of the show to give a name like that.

Mute chloe coyle
    Favourite chloe coyle
    May 31st 2013, 9:25 PM

They were major fans! Still are actually my sisters Kim and kourtney are too!

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    May 31st 2013, 2:14 PM

Not sure those top 5 girls names could be any more English

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    May 31st 2013, 2:23 PM

Better than some names though. I lived in the states for a while and every second girl was called one of Kirsten, Kristen, Kristy or Kirsty

Mute Hilary McMahon
    Favourite Hilary McMahon
    Jun 1st 2013, 2:21 AM

I’ve been here for three years and I have met dozens of women called Linda or Lynda…I agree with the Kirsten, kirsty names

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    May 31st 2013, 2:01 PM

There seems to be an explosion of Coady’s and Kayleigh’s at the moment alot are adding Ty as a second name for girls because they are under the impression it means beauty in African, they have to be the worst names in my opinion all used by the deluded pyjama brigade. Worst old school names have to be Cornelius for a boy and Gubnet for a girl.

Mute Mark Sweetman
    Favourite Mark Sweetman
    May 31st 2013, 2:25 PM

There’s a language called african?

Mute Alison Finn
    Favourite Alison Finn
    May 31st 2013, 3:53 PM

My beautiful son is called Ty (first name). Never heard anything about it being African and I only wear p.j’s in bed.

Mute AngieW114
    Favourite AngieW114
    May 31st 2013, 4:05 PM

Wait.. Do you mean Afrikaans language? Or one of the languages spoken in Africa? Cause there are plenty..

Mute Thomas Winrow-Jones
    Favourite Thomas Winrow-Jones
    May 31st 2013, 8:17 PM

Sorry Gubnet! Is that a typo? Gubnet!!!

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Jun 1st 2013, 6:05 PM

Yes, it’s called Afrikaans.

Jun 1st 2013, 6:07 PM

I agree, Alison, Ty is not an African name, well not from where I come from.. Who ever said that Ty is an African name is talking out of their butt hole!

Mute Davina Ryan
    Favourite Davina Ryan
    May 31st 2013, 5:58 PM

A few years back, while working in a shop in Limerick, I overheard a lovely lady (read member of the pyjama parade) yelling at her daughter. And I quote;
    “Shakeeeeeeera c’mover heeyor nowwwww”
    God bless that poor child.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    May 31st 2013, 6:24 PM

I heard a mam call her toddler Rihanna on the bus before

Mute Hilary McMahon
    Favourite Hilary McMahon
    Jun 1st 2013, 2:15 AM

Beats c’mere Pocahontas – I kid you not!

Mute Maureen Laraway
    Favourite Maureen Laraway
    Jun 1st 2013, 2:49 AM

How about Chardonnay?

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    May 31st 2013, 2:43 PM

I agree Mark but it’s what’s being spouted, I just nod and bite my tounge, like I said it seems to be the pyjama brigade who are using it! Also heard a girl in town the other day say for “ffs Crystal” to her toddler who tossed her bottle out of the buggy. Poor child won’t get very far with a name or mother like that!

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    May 31st 2013, 8:58 PM

Heard a scanger calling her 5(ish) daughter “pocahontas” a few years back….. I pretty much gave up hope after that…

Its hard to admit, but little pocahontas it probably a mother a little Justin by now!

Mute name
    Favourite name
    May 31st 2013, 6:47 PM

A mid wife was giggling to herself in the hospital canteen recently. I asked her why she was laughing. She helped deliver a baby boy earlier that day. She asked the child’s mother did she know what she was going to call the child. Her answer .. Notorious .. After notorious B.I.G. (P.J people)

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    May 31st 2013, 8:21 PM

A friend heard of a couple in uk who wanted to call their daughter chlamydia. Im told this is fact. One std leaflet later they changed their minds…

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    May 31st 2013, 2:50 PM

I don’t want to live on this planet anymore

Mute Seán Jackman
    Favourite Seán Jackman
    May 31st 2013, 4:24 PM

How come not one ‘Fada’ was used in that article? The correct Irish spelling is Seán and so on for the others.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    May 31st 2013, 9:45 PM

A bit of a feat to get it out of your keyboard perhaps??

Mute chloe coyle
    Favourite chloe coyle
    May 31st 2013, 1:48 PM

I’m the oldest Chloe I know! My mother was way ahead of the times ha when I was born everyone use to say oh god why did you call her that she will be bullied all her life. I’m 21 :)

Mute Seán Donnelly
    Favourite Seán Donnelly
    May 31st 2013, 1:55 PM

Blue Peter badge on the way there Chloe..

Mute Clifford Brennan
    May 31st 2013, 1:57 PM

My daughter is 11 days old and we called her Aoibhinn.
    Aint nobody got time for kardashian nonsense!

Mute chloe coyle
    Favourite chloe coyle
    May 31st 2013, 1:59 PM

Hate ya

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    May 31st 2013, 2:06 PM

Congrats Chloe … You are the 9th caller… The mirror is all your.

Mute chloe coyle
    Favourite chloe coyle
    May 31st 2013, 2:09 PM

Way ya mean ? I’m vain or something.. Far from it.

Mute Stephen Faughnan
    Favourite Stephen Faughnan
    May 31st 2013, 2:23 PM

Bit ahead of you Clifford, my daughter Aoibhinn is 18 and my other daughter Saoirse is 23.

Mute Killian Forde
    Favourite Killian Forde
    May 31st 2013, 2:29 PM

Good luck to her in Starbucks when she goes abroad.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    May 31st 2013, 2:45 PM

Class is timeless my friend ;)

Mute Saoirse Ní Mhuirthile
    Favourite Saoirse Ní Mhuirthile
    May 31st 2013, 4:20 PM

Yeah my daughter’s Liamhain. Names that have beauty and depth, not just associated to someone pretty with an arse.

Mute Saoirse Ní Mhuirthile
    Favourite Saoirse Ní Mhuirthile
    May 31st 2013, 4:23 PM

Irish family tradition, my mother’s Blaithin, I’m Saoirse and of course my daughter Liamhain

Mute siobeli
    Favourite siobeli
    May 31st 2013, 5:18 PM

4 aoibheanns in my little ones crèche :)

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Jun 1st 2013, 12:31 AM

Beautiful name

Mute PADDY
    Favourite PADDY
    May 31st 2013, 1:54 PM

zzz

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    May 31st 2013, 5:57 PM

This stupid new trend of irish people using surnames as first names for their kids is rubbish. Why are we trying so hard to be Americans or English? we are irish. Have some pride!

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    May 31st 2013, 3:17 PM

Ridiculous headline

Mute Stevie Howlin
    Favourite Stevie Howlin
    May 31st 2013, 3:48 PM

My 2 year old nephew-in-law is named Logan. It depends on which parent you ask as to the source of the name!

Mute Roz
    Favourite Roz
    May 31st 2013, 6:43 PM

I’m Rosalyn.. my sister is Shanice, my other sister is Leonie, and my brother who is the youngest got John!!..guess the rents kind if gave up towards the end:/

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    May 31st 2013, 10:07 PM

Shanice?? Jayyyysis!

Mute Roz
    Favourite Roz
    May 31st 2013, 10:25 PM

Aw stop! I have no idea what they were thinking! I introduce myself as Roz to make it easier for people and somehow they think I’m called Ross..:/ I love people.

Mute Barbara Edwards
    Favourite Barbara Edwards
    May 31st 2013, 7:11 PM

Was out recently and heard a lady call her son over …. his name was Setanta.

Mute Thomas Winrow-Jones
    Favourite Thomas Winrow-Jones
    May 31st 2013, 8:19 PM

What’s wrong with that? Surely that goes down as a very Irish name.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    May 31st 2013, 10:06 PM

Im sure a very English name like Barbara Edwards wouldnt know too many Irish names. I suggest you google Setanta to find out who he was in Irish mythology.

Mute Ruth Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Corbally
    May 31st 2013, 4:14 PM

Why would you name your kid after a tv character? I’m a fan of short, strong names.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    May 31st 2013, 2:31 PM

Brendan is the greatest Irish name. Meanwhile in cyberspace: http://youtu.be/ag7w5UHMuuA

Mute Karen Reidy
    Favourite Karen Reidy
    May 31st 2013, 8:28 PM

I had no idea what to call my little girl…until I met her that is…Eve just came to me out of nowhere…I love it…can’t get more old school

Mute Dancing Priest
    Favourite Dancing Priest
    May 31st 2013, 7:00 PM

I heard of a girl being called Sawyer. What’s that all about?

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 31st 2013, 7:10 PM

Saw yer young wan pi**ed as a rat last night ?

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    May 31st 2013, 7:07 PM

Well have the Kardashian’s influenced names in Ireland like Talentless,Narcissistic,Trashy or Pathetic,Fake? If not I’d say Ireland’s Children will be ok for now! Good to see James still going strong in the top 5 :)

Mute Pádraig Reardon
    Favourite Pádraig Reardon
    May 31st 2013, 3:07 PM

Slow fecking news day I’d say! This survey has nothing to do with the Kardashians I thought it would’ve been number one name like Kim odor Kloe it’s just an influence. I recon you should do a Home and Away name survey it used to be the way names were picked?

Mute ➡Cathy Loughran
    Favourite ➡Cathy Loughran
    Jun 1st 2013, 12:02 AM

My oldest is Megan, my mom said it sounded like something a goat would say. Followed by Maureen, Brigid and Gerald. My moms Dadó was Valentine, from Lettermore never got that?

Mute Julia Smith
    Favourite Julia Smith
    May 31st 2013, 8:20 PM

Some nice names in top 5 but too common now. I named my son Illan (ILLAN). Never met another.
    http://nightbringer.se/a_illan.html

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 31st 2013, 5:59 PM

Bums on them like the end of a town, lets hope is does not become a fashion.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    May 31st 2013, 2:20 PM

Had a baby called Leo in 2012 (84th on the list) and Julia in 2008. Im Irish as is my husband but he grew up in New Zealand. Don’t see New Zealand mentioned on the survey!

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    May 31st 2013, 4:32 PM

don’t get it…

Mute Shane Keeling
    Favourite Shane Keeling
    May 31st 2013, 7:47 PM

Well your husband would count among the parents from outside the EU part of the survey. They can’t list every country surely…

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    May 31st 2013, 2:28 PM

I heard Kim’s child speak multiple languages..

Jun 1st 2013, 6:12 PM

Maybe we shouldn’t name our children until they are old enough to choose their own name……..That’s what I did when I turned 15… ( biggest mistake ever of course, but hell, when you are 15 you rule the world, don’t you)? and no-one can tell you any different.