Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Karen Focht/ZUMA Press Wire

US Powerball jackpot reaches record $1.9 billion

The Powerball jackpot is the biggest ever amassed.

THE US POWERBALL jackpot has grown to a massive $1.9 billion after no one won Saturday’s already record prize.

The winning numbers were 28, 45, 53, 56 and 69, with a Powerball of 20.

With no ticket matching the five numbers and the Powerball, the pot rolls over with a grand prize of $1.9 billion up for grabs in tomorrow’s draw, organisers said.

The Powerball jackpot is the biggest ever amassed, surpassing the already record $1.6 billion which went unclaimed in yesterday draw.

The odds of winning the jackpot are still 1 in 292.2 million, organisers said. If there are duplicate winners who select the same combination of numbers, they would share the jackpot.

While no one claimed the big prize on Saturday, 16 tickets matched the five main numbers to win $1 million each.

It costs $2 to buy a Powerball ticket, and a winner could choose a lump sum payment, calculated for Monday’s jackpot at $929 million. Or they could opt for payments over 29 years.

View 21 comments
21 Comments
    Mute ronnie drew
    Favourite ronnie drew
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:45 PM

I didnt want to ever do this,but u have forced my hand ,u nation of battered mars bar munchers. THE LOUGHNESS MONSTER IS A FAKE

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Favourite John O Chrualaoich
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:59 PM

Try Loch Ness Monster
    Deep fried mars bar munching, now there’s myth that needs debunking

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:07 PM

A couple of students on Lough Foyle claimed to have seen a creature last May and the Indo dubbed it the Lough Ness monster. Apparently. I’m as sceptical as the next man.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:09 PM

Most of us got what you were saying Ronnie. Good post!

Mute shay lynch
    Favourite shay lynch
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:10 PM

Betcha they where rangers fans.

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:10 PM

The local people, local to the area, spell it Loch.

In my experience, if the local people spell it that way, that’s what they would prefer, also it makes it easier for people to know what they were talking about, no such place as Loughness, type it into your computer

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:13 PM

Yes it really was side splitting, and worth marking out as a top post, although still spelt wrong

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:41 PM

Is it not also thec spelling in Irish?

Mute N O'C
    Favourite N O'C
    Mar 18th 2014, 4:25 PM

John O – do you make a beeping noise when you back up like that?

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Mar 18th 2014, 5:30 PM

Who’s rangers?

Mute Farbin
    Favourite Farbin
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:41 PM

Wow, so myths aren’t real. Groundbreaking stuff

Mute kathy
    Favourite kathy
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:37 PM

They must have little to be doing….. It beggars belief that people actually believe this myth in the first place.

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:43 PM

Which one? There were a number of myths about it’s origins!

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:48 PM

People believe all sorts of silly stuff,

80% of the Irish population put themselves down in the census as believing in a carpenters son who died for everyone’s sins and then came back to life, every week people also meet to eat him. Its all seen as perfectly normal and acceptable.

Sounds crazy, but yet some very intelligent, seriously respect people believe it.

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:51 PM

So taking into account what 80% of the Irish population claim they believe how are the myths surrounding the Blarney stone so unbelievable? Because less people believe them? Because you don’t believe them?

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:56 PM

University of Glasgow should investigate those claims.

Mute Jesco White
    Favourite Jesco White
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:05 PM

Give it a rest Martin you’re like a broken record.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:31 PM

As far as I was always concerned the Blarney Stone was always just a bit of fun, a “myth” to all intensive purposes. I know of no person who has ever felt any different other than an over exuberant tourist every know and again. They must still be upset that they found out William Wallace screamed surrender very early on in his torture

Mute Andrea Byrne-Gul
    Favourite Andrea Byrne-Gul
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:55 AM

Sorry Tom, i just have to do this, you have forced my hand….it’s: ‘for all intents and purposes’ not intensive purposes.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Mar 21st 2014, 1:26 AM

Thanks Andrea, mistake is learned and should never be repeated

Mute Paul Sammon
    Favourite Paul Sammon
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:38 PM

The feckers.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:48 PM

Imagine, a myth about a rock giving one the gift of the gab turns out to be pure shite. Money well spent by the boffins as usual.

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:01 PM

I think it’s the myth surrounding the rocks origin, rather than the gift of the gab myth they were debunking, the clue is in the words, if you actually read the article rather then the headline

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:35 PM

Read the article? Are you MAD?

Mute Kardia Skepsi
    Favourite Kardia Skepsi
    Mar 19th 2014, 2:49 PM

That’s exactly true John.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 18th 2014, 2:37 PM

Oh yeah. What do they know?

Mute alanobrien
    Favourite alanobrien
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:23 PM

I have a rock also it makes ya bleed

. Every time I throw it at your face

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:11 PM

Who gives a shite we see if these Scottish are brave enough to be free or they like be pally with opressors of so many nations

Mute PicassoRepublic
    Favourite PicassoRepublic
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:38 PM

The Scots……………ummmm

They’ve obviosuly got sour grapes over something, but where should we start?

2014 Rugby 6 Nations.
    Scientists constantly disproving ‘Nessie’
    Ireland is content to be an Independent State
    Irish cuisine certainly beats the “battered anything with chips”
    The scots are always ‘angry’ at something or other.

Mute Patrick Linehan
    Favourite Patrick Linehan
    Mar 18th 2014, 4:56 PM

Yea an independent state like us, with our own currency, that doesn’t owe anything to anyone, who has complete control over our own budget.
    Yea Scotland come and be just like us, it’s great!!!

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:06 PM

The story with the Blarney Stone is that you bee to have the gift of the gab to convince someone to kiss a big rock when you’re upside down and pay for it. It’s ironic :)

Mute John Duncan
    Favourite John Duncan
    Mar 18th 2014, 6:43 PM

The Stone of Destiny is on the hill Tara not in Edinburgh Castle!!!

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Mar 18th 2014, 4:21 PM

In reality, the opening was probably the toilet of the tower

Mute Patrick Linehan
    Favourite Patrick Linehan
    Mar 18th 2014, 5:01 PM

About 30+ years ago, while hanging around Blarney as a youngster, I remember a group of smelly socks, I mean Jocks, asked me where exactly was the stone in the castle. I pointed out a large rock that was holding open the old wooden door into the castle. Not saying these were the egg heads from Glasgow but it’s a possibility….

Mute Jackie Slattery
    Favourite Jackie Slattery
    Mar 18th 2014, 4:12 PM

Never let the truth get in the way of a good story

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 18th 2014, 4:03 PM

It’s fatwah time!

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Mar 18th 2014, 6:39 PM

Of course it’s local. If it wasn’t from Cork it would defeat the purpose of getting the ‘gift of the gab’ eh!!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Mar 18th 2014, 3:32 PM

Why spoilsports? Do people actually believe any of these myths to be true?

Science is about discovery. I would much rather be informed than dumb and ignorant.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:21 PM

The World is flat, God is a DJ!

Mute bogman billy
    Favourite bogman billy
    Mar 18th 2014, 8:46 PM

The locals lay cables and piss on it at night time, no gift worth that!!

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Mar 18th 2014, 11:52 PM

I knew a lad from Kerry, reckoned the local lads all used to go up and piss on the stone when the pub closed..

Mute Jenny Doran
    Favourite Jenny Doran
    Mar 18th 2014, 8:33 PM

So is it a myth that the Irish pee on the Blarney Stone?

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Mar 18th 2014, 10:22 PM

Just the women!