You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

President Michael D Higgins launching his re-election campaign. Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Three out of five voters think the President should give up all pensions while in office

A new poll has gauged people’s opinions on presidential earnings.

THREE OUT OF five voters think the president should give up their State pension while in office, according to a new poll.

The findings are from the same Paddy Power/Red C poll which yesterday showed that  a huge majority want to see Higgins returned as president. 

The poll also looked at people’s attitudes towards presidential earnings and salaries and found that a majority felt a president should not be collecting a pension while in office. 

The Sunday Times reported last month that President Higgins has continued to draw down €19,000-a-year a pension from NUI Galway during his time in office.

Asked whether state pension payments should be disallowed while a president in office, 60% agreed that they should while 40% disagreed. 

Sinn Féin voters were the most likely to support disallowing pensions (74%), followed by Fianna Fáil voters (65%)

Red C 2 Paddy Power / Red C Paddy Power / Red C / Red C

Currently, the salary of the president is €249,000 per year.

The opinion poll also asked whether this should be dramatically reduced to the minimum wage of €9.55 per hour.

Almost one in five (19%) agreed that it should but 81% were opposed to the idea. 

Sinn Fein voters were again most likely to be in favour of the measure with 31% supporting it. 

Red C 4 Paddy Power / Red C Paddy Power / Red C / Red C

The poll also looked people’s attitudes towards a united Ireland becoming on the agenda as a result of Brexit. 

It found that just over three in five people (61%) would support a united Ireland arising from Brexit, with 39% opposed. 

Unsurprisingly, Sinn Féin voters were the most likely to support this, but a majority of both Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael voters were also in favour of a united Ireland resulting from Brexit. 

Labour and independent voters were opposed.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Oct 14th 2018, 6:10 AM

Let them have one pension, which they can draw from when they retire and even then they should have been making contributions on it.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:57 AM

@Liam Byrne: while I don’t think he should be drawing any pensions while president, a well paid job I don’t don’ think he should have to forfeit any pensions when he does retire. The total amount paid by state pensions should be capped though.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:27 AM

@Liam Byrne: How about all th epoliticians only have 1 pension of a max of 50k yr. The rest of us have to live on a lot less. Expenses should only be refunded when a receipt is provided. I get nothing back from petty cash unless I have a receipt.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:29 AM

@Reg: When things went belly up and pension funds vanished was he affected if not why not as his party was partially responsible or have I got it wrong

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Oct 14th 2018, 11:05 AM

@bings: Bings agree 100%. It always amazes me that the state obliges itself to pay enormous pensions to people who have already earned large salaries. By all means let people fund additional pension but cap to a max of €50k what a person receives from state. Hopefully the crazy days of defined benefits for state sector is coming to an end.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 14th 2018, 11:13 AM

@FlopFlipU: I said many times on here during the height of the recession thar state pensions should be capped.

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Oct 14th 2018, 3:54 PM

@bings: your right.
    However at nearly €1000 per week by the logic , it is way more than so so many receive in there employment. Pensions are a scam.
    Everyone should receive benefits when retired but not to the tune of that.

Oct 14th 2018, 7:16 AM

I think it’s safe to say our president and politicians gets rewarded very very well financially, even though michael d has done an adequate but unimaginative, bog standard job in office, while our politicians have been substandard, very poor.

Mute Pat Mooney
    Favourite Pat Mooney
    Oct 15th 2018, 12:16 AM

@Adrian:
    I do t like Mícheál Dwarf Higgins

Mute Mick12
    Favourite Mick12
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:47 AM

All Government TD’s, ex-minister, MEP’s should only get the pension for the last job they done and nothing else. I don’t give a dam howling they worked in Politics.

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:50 AM

@Mick12: they are entitled the pensions they contributed to, if they are under pensionable age while in offfice then like everybody else they continue to contribute. If you had a few jobs then normally your pension would reflect your accumulated rights.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:59 AM

@Mick12: that’s nonsense. The total amount should be capped though.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:31 AM

@Mick12: There will be a number of them living on the dole then as Harris went into politics straight from college studying media which he never finished. That leaves him on the dole as he has never worked a day in his life. Would be interesting to see him in A&E with the rest of us waiting on chairs for hrs because the people in the top jobs have not done their jobs.

Mute Vic's Burd
    Favourite Vic's Burd
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:01 AM

More begrudgers who resent anyone who has done better than them…

He’s already giving back thousands in his salary! They will be expecting him to work for free next!

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:08 AM

@Vic’s Burd: Are you for real? Begrudgers resenting anyone who has done better? Do you realize that none of them has “done better” as they are not being paid from some imaginary pot of gold but their multiple pensions and wages come directly from our pockets?
    Tell me how many pensions are enough for one person?

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Favourite Anthony Avenell
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Vic’s Burd: The voice of a complacent “ I’m all right Jack, damn the rest of you less fortunate.” Enjoy life in your ivory tower, Oh Hypocrite Lecteur.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Oct 14th 2018, 3:37 PM

@Vic’s Burd: how many pensions has been again… Oh wait.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:09 AM

Technically, if he’d kept his word we wouldn’t be having this debate or article. But of course politicians aren’t gentlemen of integrity. Given the job its a ‘token’ job, he should at least give others the opportunity to display Ireland’s diversity rather than hog the limelight like some ‘entitled’psudo intellectual.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:17 AM

How many pension’s does the president get in total and how long ago since he had anything to do with Galway uni

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:34 AM

@FlopFlipU: just the one from NUI Galway.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:00 AM

@Rory: OK and how long has he been collecting it

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:33 AM

@FlopFlipU: How much is Enda getting & the rest of the politicians who were not elected at the last round.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:16 PM

@FlopFlipU: One draws a pension because one pays into the pension fund during one’s working life. A pension may be collected when one meets the criteria for pension eligibility. The man is entitled to collect that for which he has saved. Begrudgery is of no value. Like masturbation, it only benefits the practitioner and is of use to anyone else.

Mute The decline of Manchester United
    Favourite The decline of Manchester United
    Oct 14th 2018, 6:10 AM

Give up your oul pension

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:17 AM

Sure the tax payer is paying for his toilet paper

Mute Colin O'Mahony
    Favourite Colin O'Mahony
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:27 AM

Michael D has done a great job, but it is time for him to move on in my opinion. He very likely won the last election unfairly because of a fake tweet. The man he took the place of is now in second place and deserves to be president. Michael D needs to do the right thing by stepping aside and by keeping his word by being a one term president.

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Favourite Anthony Avenell
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:49 AM

The President should pay all expenses from his salary, perhaps then the frivolous expenditure would be curtailed.

Mute yermas dildo
    Favourite yermas dildo
    Oct 14th 2018, 6:44 AM

To be fair the president’s pention doesn’t bother me in the least. It’s the full on in your face corruption in this country that pi**es me off

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    Oct 14th 2018, 6:54 AM

@yermas dildo: he earned that pension so why take it away from him? It’s not as though it’s a fortune and it would be very hard to live on as it stands. I hope he is returned as President, stop the national predisposition for begrudgery.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:47 AM

@yermas dildo: where’s the corruption? Have you reported it’s illegality to the authorities?

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:27 AM

@helen walsh: have to agree with you Helen, that small pension was part of his contract. However, the abatement rule is strictly applied to other public service pensions, everyone from an ex Garda to office clerk to social worker has to surrender their sometimes well earned pension entitlements to take up another state role. Sauce for the goose …

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Oct 14th 2018, 8:33 AM

@iohanx: and which authorities would he report it to? The corrupt one that’s in the pocket of the corrupted maybe….

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Oct 14th 2018, 6:26 AM

Here I am, just 2 outta 5 :-)
    Gotta love the polls….

Mute Michael Bannon
    Favourite Michael Bannon
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:37 AM

Some waste of money

Mute Pl O'neill
    Favourite Pl O'neill
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:48 AM

How much has that grubby greedy wee bar-steward milked from the Irish taxpayer in his life .

Mute Braonain Proinseas
    Favourite Braonain Proinseas
    Oct 14th 2018, 3:03 PM

Reading the results of that poll are really just mind-boggling. And no way reflect the comments posted on this page. I really don’t think I trust these polls at all.

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Oct 14th 2018, 9:02 AM

the president should do all the aras shopping in Lidl specially for veg as its great value. and the old age pension should be donated to a deserving charity this charity should be decided by referendum to avoid bickering between candidate’s but most of all whoever’s elected should have a good grasp of the constitution
    so that narrows the field substantially

cos most of them are fake tan tv wannabes or toting themselves as business leaders which in this little green domain usually means small time tax criminal the rest come under
    the general category of NIMBYS and NUMPTIES so my fellow citizen’s thank whatever deity you run to when the gick hits the fan that we dont vote by phone cos the one who can truly sing like Aretha looses cos her teeth are a bit funny and her dress was geeky.

Mute HonDeDeise
    Favourite HonDeDeise
    Oct 14th 2018, 6:59 AM

Boring.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:47 AM

Socialist me arse!

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Oct 14th 2018, 4:51 PM

Just to make this clear because neither this article, nor any of the previous reporting on this does. The President’s NUI Galway pension is one which he paid into over his years of working there and he is more than entitled to take what he earned. It isn’t just some form of State pension he’s receiving. Anyone working and paying contributions into a pension should have a right to access it when they become entitled to do so. Anything else would be little more than theft and isn’t a fair standard to hold anyone to.

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Oct 16th 2018, 11:02 AM

@Adam Hurley: Greedy Git that’s what I call him, He just can’t have enough, Are all leprechauns the same?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Oct 15th 2018, 12:43 AM

Michael D : A La Carte socialist. When it suits him that is.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:07 PM

Ah yes. Give up your pension while serving. OK. Then give up any interest you draw on your savings. Right, right. Any investment income as well.

If you did the job you earned the pension. If you serve as president you earn the salary. There is no justification for stripping earned income from an office holder other than spite. We Irish don’t know anything about spite, now, do we?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:17 PM

If a person saves up for a pension through their contributions, as Michael D did in NUI Galway, why should he not take it when it matures? It’s his money.
    Or should he pay it into some pot to give money to somebody who wasn’t so prudent?

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Oct 14th 2018, 7:39 PM

All those on above average industrial wage pensions (€35,000) should give up their 2 additional WELFARE pensions ( PRSI pension plus one for the spouse = €24,000 welfare payment pa.)

All welfare pensions (PRSI and old age pensions) are paid by current taxpayers not from some “imaginary” pension fund! – the same taxpayers forced to pay MaxTax at €35,000 and who cant buy their own house – but pay the HAP and for social housing!.

Daft Irish stuff …. taxpayers codded up to thier eyeballs!!

Mute Seamus Healy
    Favourite Seamus Healy
    Oct 14th 2018, 12:16 PM

Why no talk on presidential fees for past presidents.
    Pieta house administration 5.4 million no one mentions this

Mute Pat Mooney
    Favourite Pat Mooney
    Oct 15th 2018, 12:14 AM

Yes deffo give up pension
    He’s probably a millionaire anyway
    In fairness he should retire
    And live a real life
    For what he have left of it
    Is he power hungry or what
    HE don’t need the money

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Oct 14th 2018, 11:21 PM

Current MEP receives €145000 per annum to cover salary and office expenses. Add to that about€ 50 k traveling and accommodation expenses the total package comes to €200,000. Please explain where Sinn Fein is coming from? They want to reduce the salary of the incoming President to about €100k. So in other words they feel that sitting in the European Parliament talking bullsh*t is of better value than that of the President. Come off it !

Mute Robert Deane
    Favourite Robert Deane
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:36 PM

Only in ireland would year such non sense and maybe he should give his prior home to the homeless. Wake ye muckers.

Mute missjennifer
    Favourite missjennifer
    Oct 14th 2018, 11:19 PM

I’m Carl Jerry by name i want to share a testimony on how Dr AKHERE was able to bring back my wife back to me, myself and my wife were on a serious breakup, even before then we were always quarreling fighting and doing different ungodly act..My wife packed her things out of the house and we had to live in different area, despite all this i was looking for a way to re_unite with her, not until i met Dr AKHERE the great spell caster who was able to bring my wife back home, Dr AKHERE cast a love spell for me, and after some time i started seeing results about the spell….Today my family is back again and we are happy living fine and healthy, with Dr AKHERE all my dream came through in re_uniting my marriage, friends in case you need the help of Dr AKHERE kindly contact him now:

Email: AKHERETEMPLE@gmail.com
    or
    call/whatsapp:+2349057261346

Mute missjennifer
    Favourite missjennifer
    Oct 14th 2018, 11:20 PM

I’m Carl Jerry by name i want to share a testimony on how Dr AKHERE was able to bring back my wife back to me, myself and my wife were on a serious breakup, even before then we were always quarreling fighting and doing different ungodly act..My wife packed her things out of the house and we had to live in different area, despite all this i was looking for a way to re_unite with her, not until i met Dr AKHERE the great spell caster who was able to bring my wife back home, Dr AKHERE cast a love spell for me, and after some time i started seeing results about the spell….Today my family is back again and we are happy living fine and healthy, with Dr AKHERE all my dream came through in re_uniting my marriage, friends in case you need the help of Dr AKHERE kindly contact him now:

Email: AKHERETEMPLE@gmail.com
    or
    call/whatsapp:+2349057261346,