You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Prince Andrew arriving at a church service in Norfolk last week. PA Images

Prince Andrew 'uncooperative' in Jeffrey Epstein sex trafficking investigation, says NY prosecutor

Geoffrey Berman says the FBI had contacted Prince Andrew’s lawyers and asked to interview him.

A US PROSECUTOR overseeing the Jeffrey Epstein sex trafficking investigation has said that Britain’s Prince Andrew has been uncooperative in the inquiry so far.

Speaking at a news conference outside Epstein’s New York mansion, US Attorney Geoffrey Berman, the top federal prosecutor in Manhattan, said prosecutors and the FBI had contacted Prince Andrew’s lawyers and asked to interview him.

“To date, Prince Andrew has provided zero cooperation,” Berman said.

The Associated Press has asked Buckingham Palace for comment.

Andrew announced last year that he was withdrawing from his royal duties amid renewed attention of his friendship with Epstein, and a woman’s claim that she had several sexual encounters with the prince, starting when she was 17.

Virginia Roberts Giuffre says that after meeting her in Florida in 2000, Epstein flew her around the world and pressured her into having sex with numerous older men, including Andrew, two senior US politicians, a noted academic, wealthy financiers and the attorney Alan Dershowitz, who is now part of President Donald Trump’s impeachment defense team.

All of those men have denied the allegations.

Giuffre has said she had sex with Andrew three times at Epstein’s request, including once in London in 2001 at the home of Epstein’s girlfriend, Ghislaine Maxwell.

Andrew and Maxwell have both denied any knowledge that Epstein was sexually abusing teenage girls. In an interview with the BBC in the autumn , Andrew insisted he was out having pizza with his children on the night Giuffre says they were together in London.

US Attorney General William Barr has vowed to aggressively investigate and bring charges against anyone who may have helped Epstein, who killed himself in his jail cell last summer while he was awaiting trial on sex trafficking charges.

Andrew has said publicly suggested he would willingly cooperate with an investigation.

Berman made his remarks about the case during a joint appearance with members of Safe Horizon, a nonprofit victim services agency, to discuss a new New York law that made it easier for people to sue over childhood sexual abuse.

He wouldn’t discuss the Epstein investigation in detail, but reiterated that the case didn’t end with his death.

“Jeffrey Epstein couldn’t have done what he did without the assistance of others, and I can assure you that the investigation is moving forward,” he said.

Two guards who were supposed to be monitoring Epstein the night he was found dead have been charged with falsifying the jail’s log books to indicate they were performing checks on prisoners, when they were actually sleeping or browsing the internet.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute nicknack
    Favourite nicknack
    Jan 27th 2020, 5:50 PM

If this was any other joe soap he would have been hauled in for questioning at least,hows he getting away with it

Mute ApexSnow
    Favourite ApexSnow
    Jan 27th 2020, 5:58 PM

@nicknack: Because he’s not Joe Soap

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:25 PM

@ApexSnow: Joe Swarfega Jizer Degreaser ?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:57 PM

@nicknack: I’m sure the president will be visiting Buckingham Palace at some stage further on in proceedings. A nice private discussion with the “honourable” Mr Trump will go a long way to settling this.

Mute ApexSnow
    Favourite ApexSnow
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Eugene Walsh: reptile people.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:02 PM

@nicknack: is he accused of breaking any laws in the US? I thought he was accused of having sex with the girl in the UK? Unless he is accused of a crime he can’t be extradited, he would have to volunteer. Sorry if I’m wrong, I’m not up to speed on the story.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:27 PM

@Tommy C: And while they are having that discussion, Mr Trump can explain why they are not extraditing Anne Sacoolas in connection with the death of Harry Dunn,you know the saying ‘ You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours’.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:42 PM

@nicknack: I’m confused I assumed a person was innocent until proven guilty and as the man is dead i cannot see how he can get a fair trial ? from what I can see he has been found guilty on unproven accusations and looking at the comments I hope I’m never accused of annything and am unable to prove my innocence….

Mute Jude
    Favourite Jude
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:53 PM

@ApexSnow: No he’s Joe Saxe Coburg Gotha

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jan 27th 2020, 8:34 PM

@Peter donnelly: we are but the rabel getting a smell of fish and assuming the smell is fish

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion
    Jan 27th 2020, 5:51 PM

Of course he won’t cooperate he is taking his family to pizza express the day they want to question him. It’s totally believable.

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Jan 27th 2020, 5:53 PM

And yet Meghan Markle is supposedly the ‘Black Sheep’ of “The Royal Family”.

Mute Ollie Egan
    Favourite Ollie Egan
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Matt Rogers: well that’s because she’s a blow in, they protect their blood and tarnish everybody else… Diana,Fergie

Mute Mr Durka
    Favourite Mr Durka
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Matt Rogers: never met a person in real life who gives a shit about the Meghan markle crap. Just like I’ve never met a person in real life who has anything good to say about Frau Greta. Gets the noggin joggin

Mute DazLock
    Favourite DazLock
    Jan 27th 2020, 8:51 PM

@Mr Durka: She as great in suits

Mute Sean Murnin
    Favourite Sean Murnin
    Jan 27th 2020, 9:44 PM

@Ollie Egan: You could nearly say young Harry is a blow in too, considering he’s not royal blood!

Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:03 PM

No point in shaking him down. The man doesn’t sweat ffs.

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:26 PM

The top brass protect their paedos. They always do.

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Jan 27th 2020, 5:51 PM

What if they tell him he can judge little miss America? Need some leverage to get info out of Uncle Andy.

Mute RAYZ88
    Favourite RAYZ88
    Jan 27th 2020, 5:47 PM

So he won’t get Epsteined

Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:31 PM

@RAYZ88: Andrew is a greatly misunderstood gentleman.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:01 PM

Guilty people rarely are cooperative.

Mute Shimo Tbay
    Favourite Shimo Tbay
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:08 PM

Well if it was anything like the TV interview, he would end up doing 20 years. Imagine that dope sitting down with a professional interviewer without having the questions first. He would implicate himself in minutes without even knowing

Mute Gary McG
    Favourite Gary McG
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:26 PM

Could be worse, he could’ve done something really bad like move to Canada.

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:09 PM

Epstien didn’t kill himself..

Mute Fr Romeo sensini.
    Favourite Fr Romeo sensini.
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:21 PM

@Tomas: really? jaysus.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Tomas: Epstein signed signed his Last Will an Testament on August 8th, 2 days before his was found dead in his cell, an clear indication of his intentions. The Will placed his $577 million fortune in an off shore trust, in the US Virgin Islands. Here lawyers explain how the arrangements are designed to place his assets out of reach of his victims:

https://youtu.be/vIxPe2yU5r4

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jan 27th 2020, 8:21 PM

@David Jordan: so he knew he was going to die. No way! That happens when you can expose very powerful individuals. Having a will in order would be a pertinent thing to do. Considering…

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:03 AM

@David Jordan: Prob because he was gonna get life in prison, not rocket science he’d make a will before that is it?

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jan 28th 2020, 3:36 AM

@Dougal67: you can still make it amend a will in jail..

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Jan 28th 2020, 9:14 AM

@Fabio Dillon: Yes but could also be because he was gettin sent down for life, not too far of a stretch he wanted to get his affairs in order beforehand, hardly a suicide note is it, if he was thinking that far ahead I’m sure he would’ve left one??

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:54 PM

The US diplomats wife that knocked down and killed a young lad isn’t cooperating either. Maybe they could do a prisoner exchange

Mute Davy Sanders
    Favourite Davy Sanders
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:15 PM

I don’t think any tears would be shed if Randy Andy decided to leave this world… Royal sc_um…

Mute Micheál
    Favourite Micheál
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:19 PM

HOW will we ever unite Ireland if we don’t grow up and revere British royalty?
    All right thinking people etc

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:22 PM

2 guards were suspended for falsifying records that they were checking on prisoners, WHEN IN ACTUAL FACT THEY WERE ON AUTOTRADER LOOKING UP NEW BMW’s

Fixed it for you…

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:43 PM

Harry now sorted, not much more news there… so back to Andy, that story can be stretched.

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Jan 27th 2020, 6:13 PM

Shameful prince Andrew should extradition to NY

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:30 PM

Probably afraid of getting suicided like Epstein.
    Protect the circle at all costs

Mute Anto H
    Favourite Anto H
    Jan 27th 2020, 10:36 PM

Swap him with Anna Sacoolas, fair trade

Mute Irish Snowden
    Favourite Irish Snowden
    Jan 27th 2020, 9:14 PM

US ‘uncooperative’ in UK’s extradition request on the hit and run driver that killed an innocent young English man… Oh wait the American can do whatever they want and get away with it. My bad.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 27th 2020, 9:38 PM

@Irish Snowden: there is no extradition request by the Americans for Andrew, he would have to volunteer and that’s not going to happen.

Mute Irish Snowden
    Favourite Irish Snowden
    Jan 27th 2020, 10:59 PM

@Connoroconner: We know mate, just saying they expect everyone to have it their way

Mute Jim Martin
    Favourite Jim Martin
    Jan 28th 2020, 11:05 AM

How about an exchange for the Killer Anne Sacoolas

Mute Sean O Cathasaigh
    Favourite Sean O Cathasaigh
    Jan 28th 2020, 6:45 PM

In fairness to Prince Andrew, he has a rare medical condition, acquired during the Falklands war, that prevents him from cooperating with any inquiry.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Favourite Modern Irish Dad
    Jan 27th 2020, 7:08 PM

F**k you I won’t do what you tell me