You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

These hotels give guests a chance to sleep in luxury prison cells

You are allowed to leave whenever you want – once you’ve paid the bill, of course.

THE NEW SERIES of Netflix’s Orange is the New Black seems to be going down quite well and people are already looking forward to what might be ahead in Season 4 as we have been left with some great cliff-hangers.

Though the show can be dark and gritty at times, it has also served to somewhat glamorise prison life and a number of hotels across the world have capitalised on the general fascination with prison life that we humans seem to have developed over the centuries.

If you ever found yourself thinking you would not mind a night in a cell but don’t want to have to commit a heinous crime in order to do so, you might want to add a couple of these to your list of future holiday destinations.

Het Arresthius in the Netherlands

Trivago Trivago

Located in the picturesque Dutch town of Roermond and close to the German border, the hotel’s building originally served as a house of detention and later a state prison. It opened as a hotel in 2011. Though many features of the prison – including the bars on the windows – have been retained, its décor still has a modern feel.

Trivago Trivago

Guests have a choice between comfort cells, made up of three former prison cells and deluxe cells, which are housed in former recreation rooms.

Trivago Trivago

Malmaison in England

Trivago Trivago

Even closer to home is this Oxford hotel which is part of a Grade 1 listed medieval castel. The prison closed in 1996 and was transformed into a boutique hotel incorporating the castle walls and many features of the prison.

Trivago Trivago

It has 95 rooms in total. The large cells boast facilities that none of the inmates would have ever experienced, like power showers, mood lighting and 24 hour room service.

Trivago Trivago

Langholmen in Sweden

Tricvago Tricvago

Though it looks fairly grim from the outside, the hotel in Stockholm has been transformed into a modern hotel, hostel, conference centre, restaurant and prison museum.

Trivago Trivago

It operated as a prison between 1725 and 1975 and was one of the largest in Sweden, with over 500 cells.

Trivago Trivago

Guests can either visit the prison during the day to see how former inmates lived or stay in one of their converted cells.

Trivago Trivago

The Liberty in the US

Trivago Trivago

The former Charles Street Jail in Boston was built in 1851 and housed inmates such as Malcolm X and World War II prisoners of war.

Today it is a modern luxury hotel with six bars (the kind with alcohol, not the kind on the windows) and restaurants.

Liberty Liberty

The rooms are huge – a far cry from the 80 square feet of the original cells back in the day.

Liberty Liberty

Best Western Premier Katajanokka in Finland

Trivago Trivago

Previously Helsinki County Prison, serving pre-trial criminals between 1837 and 2002, this is another hotel that doesn’t look like much from the outside.

Trivago Trivago

However extensive renovations, reportedly costing €15 million were undertaken to rework the building in keeping with historic building guidelines.

Trivago Trivago

Sets of two or three cells were combined to create larger rooms and the restaurant boasts a prison theme, with exposed brick walls, barred windows and medieval-style chairs.

Trivago Trivago

Four Seasons Sultanahmet, Turkey

Trivago Trivago

If you’re looking for extreme luxury within a prison structure, this is the place. The Istanbul hotel is found in a century-old neoclassical prison in the old city.

It operated between 1919 and 1969 and was used to house inmates who were awaiting trial or serving brief sentences as it was adjacent to the courthouse.

The rooms are huge and bear no resemblance to the old cells with private bars, large plasma televisions and marble bathrooms.

Trivago Trivago

From its rooftop lounge, while sipping wine, you can enjoy views of wellknown landmarks like the Haghia Sophia and the Blue Mosque.

Read: Airbnb is about to be worth more than almost any hotel chain in the world>

Read: Inside the dilapidated Haughey estate that is due to be turned into a resort>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Nic Antonio
    Favourite Nic Antonio
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:30 PM

Plenty of hard working fans that attend everything from O’Byrne cup games to league games that can’t get a ticket either.She can stick that sense of entitlement.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Favourite Terry McSweeney
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:00 PM

She should ring Joe Duffy and get it sorted.

Mute Martin O'Rourke
    Favourite Martin O'Rourke
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:03 PM

She should have asked Pat Hickey!

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:12 PM

I would rather see her name been linked to her work than her begging for a free GAA ticket

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:13 PM

Terry, She was on the radio this morning complaining.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:25 PM

If Michelle gets her way let her donate it to some worthy cause and for her to go out and do what thousand of fans do and purchase the ticket. I have one opinion of Michelle and it’s not a very good one

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:28 PM

Doesn’t she have it soooooo hard. The stench of entitlement is strong in this one

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:53 PM

Why not ring her boyfriend in Africa!!
    Maybe some karma comes her way.
    No doubt her whinging will eventually gain her wish.
    #failedFGwhiner

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:21 PM

I coach football, hurling and camogie at underage level voluntarily which takes a fair bit of my time. i attended two dublin championship games this year and zero league games, i didn’t get a ticket, didn’t look for one and i certainly don’t deserve a ticket.

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:25 PM

“I’m going to Dublin with or without a ticket. The really important thing is that the team win,” she said, before defiantly adding that she thinks Mayo can finally bring Sam Maguire home.”

Digging her heals in………….

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:03 PM

@james walsh:
    She could ask him, “Kenya get me a ticket?”.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:48 PM

Terry she should ring Africa and get the tax payer to pay for it.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:16 PM

Good old Michele, just when you thought she had done everything she could to turn a nation against she comes up with yet another method of making a holy show of herself. No doubt Enda will sort out a ticket, they have so much in common, career path, political party, home county and a knack of staggering from one stupid mistake to another without learning anything.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:28 PM

Some idiot will probably sort her out with a couple of tickets.

Mute Darren Sheils
    Favourite Darren Sheils
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:55 PM

Well said. Unbelievable arrogant position by her. Has obviously never gone looking for an all Ireland ticket before. Sense of entitlement is disgusting. In fact its embarrassing that she thinks she should get a ticket at the drop of a hat

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:28 PM

Staring in admoration into the eyes of power :) nice pic!

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:39 PM

@Nic Antonio: just placed a bet with Paddy Power,for our entitled friend to top the bottom of the poll next election………

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:49 PM

She was a TD and is now a Senator……..FG….entitlement syndrome

Mute JJ Ryan
    Favourite JJ Ryan
    Sep 15th 2016, 11:34 PM

@Darren Sheils: Is she a paid up member of her local club ??. Arrogant beyond belief. Can she name any of the players

Mute stoned.walled
    Favourite stoned.walled
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:17 AM

@ nic that’s a bull crap sensationalist comment, any of these fans who go to all the games have a Parnell pass and guaranteed a final ticket

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:22 AM

@Terry McSweeney:

Is Nigeria playing Dublin?

Mute Liam Duggan
    Favourite Liam Duggan
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:30 AM

@Chris Mcdonnell: What do ya mean the taxpayer is paying for it.Discriminate me arse.!!!

Mute Seán McCarthy
    Favourite Seán McCarthy
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:36 AM

Not really true. Anyone who goes to that many matches would have a Parnell pass or a season ticket which guarantees them a final ticket. All this ‘hardcore fan missing out’ stuff is rubbish.

Mute Nic Antonio
    Favourite Nic Antonio
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:42 AM

Stoned.wall,that’s a bull crap assumption.Im one of those people and I certainly don’t have a Parnell pass.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:28 PM

She went to one game and the last match??? Great supporter you are Michelle. Don’t put yourself out now. Delighted she got no ticket. She doesn’t deserve it

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:43 PM

This is a first 91 likes and no dislikes!!!! Shows the public assessment of politicians and their self serving interests in their offices!!

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:47 PM

Cheeky b*tch is a sunshine supporter, who the hell does she think she is. Ring up your Kenyan pal Michelle, you never know he might have sourced a few tickets from Pat Hickey!

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy

she should have got a fake one made by her Nigerian Prince.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:49 PM

The sense self entitlement is incredible.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:51 PM

Hey Michelle, I’ve got two tickets for the match. I’ve already asked Joan Burton to go with me, she said she’d let me know, if she lets me down I’ll consider bringing you instead but only as a last resort mind. Send me a tweet love.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:53 PM

Lots of worthwhile ways of getting herself noticed than a football match .

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:56 PM

The minister for fornication :-D

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:57 PM

Whats hilarious , she thought she had them in the bag. Imagine her face when she got the letter. Priceless.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:00 PM

Not surprised at the amount of green thumbs. Government GAA supporters and supporters her own fans go hand in hand on a good day I’m sure she could muster a lot more of support than she got here.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:12 PM

@I Am A Horse: the minister for heavy breathing and panting on a phone

Sep 15th 2016, 6:14 PM

Only reason she wants to go there is to be seen, cop on Michelle.

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:27 PM

Raving self serving political gobshyte

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:35 PM

She’s actually a dope. Did she think there would be public outcry over this?

Mute Billy Larkin
    Favourite Billy Larkin
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:36 PM

Ah god love you.Get a feckin grip woman!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:44 PM

Up there to shake hands with the voters, pass around some toilet paper in the form of FG leaflets and sing the praises of Edna…ohh and to watch some match or something that’s going on.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh

The irony of a women who complained about a culture of entitlement, complaining about her lack of entitlement, of her appointed job

Sep 15th 2016, 9:57 PM

It’s like 10,000 spoons when all you need is a knife.

Sep 15th 2016, 11:45 PM

Anyone got a ticket for Sunday please? Talk about hens teeth…

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Sep 16th 2016, 8:37 AM

@Jamie McCormack:

They are around, it just takes a bit of work, asking people to ask people.
    Unless you are an entitled bitch like the senator :-)

Mute ricky bobby
    Favourite ricky bobby
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:38 PM

Michelle makes me laugh every time she pops up in the news it’s something idiotic.
    Firstly she made a scientific breakthrough that sex is the biggest cause of teenage pregnancies,
    Next she was ringing her boyfriend in Kenya from the Dail Phone costing the taxpayers hundreds, and claiming its for work purposes.
    And now she is ranting on Twitter that she is entitled to a ticket while the GAA is stating its for TDs only.

Michelle, if you had carried out your duties as a TD in the last Dail and actually represented your constituents instead of making an idiot out of yourself, they would have elected you and then you would get a ticket.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:45 PM

Don’t forget her FORNICATION rant.

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey

I can never fathom the loons who thought she was the number 1 in their constituency.Tgeir tickets should be confiscated.

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:26 PM

The fact that she was nominated to the Seanad is disgraceful. Such a useless Government body.

Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:03 AM

@Carl Nolan: absolutely Carl!

Mute Alan Tright
    Favourite Alan Tright

Did she call Africa to complain??

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath

No he’s getting a job on the county board next year.
    She has some cheek but should we be really surprised judging the company she keeps.

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:35 PM

She deserves a ticket….. one way to Outer Siberia, the salt mines 6month detail ! Admit one to Gulag tavaritsch

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:25 PM

first world problems

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary

What is the definition of a problem? What are the criteria that makes something a problem?

Mute dB O'Neill
    Favourite dB O'Neill
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:35 PM

Her sense of entitlement is just unbelievable

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:24 PM

Politics 101: unless you want to be crucified don’t complain about not being allowed to queue jump

Mute Parnells Eighty-Seven
    Favourite Parnells Eighty-Seven
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:37 PM

I’ve just listened to this unelected member of our fantastic political system and am gobsmacked by her utter shameless behaviour and the stupidity of her argument that she is entitled to 2 tickets never mind 1 like the rest of us hope to get. What gives her the right to get special treatment. Why didn’t she apply through the club of which she must be a member of seeing as she is such an ardent gaa fan. Has she ever qued in the lashing rain in Dorset st? I very much doubt it! DOPE!!!!!!

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:30 AM

@Parnells Eighty-Seven:
    She is from Mayo. The county that is cursed by witches.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:40 PM

@Christy Nolan: LOL

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:31 PM

Hang on , is she complaining that the rules have changed and she is not able to bend the rules.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:04 PM

TheJournal.ie has established that the GAA are open to granting requests from senators in certain circumstnaces – for example, with proven track records of contributing to their local clubs.
    So Michelle mulheirn doesn’t even contribute to her local club but somehow thinks she should be automatically entitled to get tickets.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:14 PM

@LITTLEONE: We are seeing the one of the real entitled brigade in action.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:29 PM

Bang of self entitlement off this is ridiculous. I’m sure other senators were looking them but they went and sourced them like everyone else as opposed to whinging to the papers.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:32 PM

Kenya believe it?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray

World smallest violin playing there for you Michelle….die hard Mayo(or Dubs) fans should get it ahead of you.

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:36 PM

Join a club or be a season ticket holder like the rest of us. The sense of entitlement from an unelected politician is unbelievable.

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:39 PM

Remember the Kenya phone calls scandal? That’s her, she also called for national service for the unemployed because she didn’t want them to develop a sense of entitlement. Pure poison this one. She also bears a resemblence to the witch in the wizard of oz, but I can’t hold that against her.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc

Ring Pat in Brazil, heaps of tickets going or John in Abbottsown.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:33 PM

Get a season ticket if you want to guarantee final tickets. They are not expensive. Quit moaning expecting privileges the rest of us can’t get.

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly

A thoroughly enjoyable interview. I haven’t seen a Mayo TD put their foot in it so spectacularly since a certain Mr Flynn appeared on the Late Late decades ago. This lady is a gem – she keeps giving…..

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:54 PM

She’s not even a TD. That’s the funniest part.

Mute Magoo13
    Favourite Magoo13

Feel sorry for her she goes to all the games you know …..not

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:05 PM

“Do you not know who I am ?” Said Fidelma Healy Rae , Michelle Mulherin , Ivor Callely,and Padraig Flynn to name but a few.

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:46 AM

@Jimmy jones: Fidelma Healy Rae :-D

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og

Bet kenny has a few tickets to spare and bet she gets one or two because enda looks after his friends. He put her in the senad afterall. Horrible people.

Mute Jack Jones
    Favourite Jack Jones

They’re playing Monaghan in Castlebar on February 4th, should be lots of tickets available Michelle. Don’t think you’ll be there though!

Mute David O'Toole
    Favourite David O'Toole

She’s a Fool. Which she has proven time and time again. She’s a disgrace.

Mute GOOПΞɌΛDΛM
    Favourite GOOПΞɌΛDΛM
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:56 PM

The absolute state of our political system. Jesus wept.

Mute Anthony P
    Favourite Anthony P

A culture of entitlement??

Mute Cathal Scully
    Favourite Cathal Scully

Keep digging Michelle

Mute Miriam O'Keeffe
    Favourite Miriam O'Keeffe

You couldn’t make this up. The shit going on in this country and this muppet is worried about a bloody match.

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:33 PM

Fuxk off

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:35 PM

Such a sense of entitlement. Not even a td

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og

Did she pay for those phone calls yet?

Mute lt.col.pancake~iv
    Favourite lt.col.pancake~iv

Mwaaah, mwaaah, mwaaaaaaaah

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:59 PM

Referring to herself in the 3rd person now on rte drivetime!!

Mute smithers
    Favourite smithers

What does she expect

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde

More lovely gravy, this time in the form of All Ireland tickets apparently ..

Mute Ollie Ryan
    Favourite Ollie Ryan

Meath didn’t tell anybody about their success in 2014

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:16 PM

Sense of entitlement Michelle? If you’re “so behind the team” why are you not a season ticket holder and you would have had your ticket? Didn’t you tag Welfare recipients as having ‘a sense of entitlement’ Michelle? Well, well we are a bit hypocritical now aren’t we?

Mute Michael Purcell
    Favourite Michael Purcell
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:03 PM

Has this woman eyes in her head??
    Does she not see more pressing issues worthy of her attention as a public official??
    I can see now why she was not the-elected…

Mute Ben Doyle
    Favourite Ben Doyle
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:58 PM

Build a bridge and get over yourself. Discrimination I ask you. #ballsofsteel

Mute Sean McFadden
    Favourite Sean McFadden

Dethroned Meath!! What year was that?

Mute Camroc
    Favourite Camroc
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:18 PM

A complete dope

Mute Joanne Mc Guirk
    Favourite Joanne Mc Guirk

What kind of idiot is this woman, imagine how it would feel to be at every game and not get a ticket, I wonder how many games she was at in January and February in the rain and cold etc if she is so proud of her Mayo team?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray

I’m sure Inda will sort her out….

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray

That post could mean several things ha ha.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33

There should be no special deals for anyone,even in sport we are divided,the privileged and the working class.shame on the GAA.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:41 PM

So if this isn’t about her, then who’s it about.The all get on board around August n sept

Between this gobsh(tes complaining of no ticket for the All-Ireland and the three toe rags in the above story getting a bunch of well paid fat arsed lawyers to file a suit against their punishment for wrecking Oberstown last week, it’s no wonder the country is fu(ked. Too many well paid suits bleeding the place dry.

Mute Shaun Kent
    Favourite Shaun Kent
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:50 PM

Senators lives matter

Mute Eamonn Maloney
    Favourite Eamonn Maloney
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:36 PM

She’s a great lady, a truly great comedienne! Who can forget her’ fornication causes pregnancy ‘ jokes.
    She deserves a ticket.
    Preferably a one way ticket.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:28 PM

Discrimination against unelected representatives. Just let that sink in for a moment.

Mute daraoleary
    Favourite daraoleary
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:05 PM

She’s a leach…like all politicians

Mute Sean Healy
    Favourite Sean Healy
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:10 PM

Some neck on her to talk about discrimination! If she accepts that she’s a ‘normal’ fan, then why should she be treated differently to other fans? She played the ‘do you know who I am card’ and has been basically told to take a hike. Politicians eh? Can’t live with em, can’t shoot em!

Mute Paul Maher
    Favourite Paul Maher
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:59 PM

Toys thrown out of the pram methinks

Mute Ken O'Sullivan
    Favourite Ken O'Sullivan
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:13 PM

Could you not apply to the ticket draw from your local GAA Club of which you are a member…..hmmmmmm

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:40 PM

It’s not as if it’s difficult or expensive to join and I’d have thought that most politicians would at least be seen to support their local clubs if for nothing more than the optics of it.

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad

Reading quotes from an interview that hasn’t even ended..

Mute Mary Gray
    Favourite Mary Gray

Give Pat Hickey a ring he might be able to sort her out

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:46 PM

Not only is it an inappropriate sense of entitlement, it is an inappropriate distraction to the Mayo supporters and football team.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:09 PM

Mrs mulherrin I personally invite to Dublin this weekend to stand with the people at the water protest no ticket required just your water bill if you need to burn it and we will give you the best of our courtesy oh and bring enda if he is available

Mute Patrick Lite
    Favourite Patrick Lite
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:30 PM

In tomorrows news, Mechelle Mulherin has been a victim of an online bullying from people who don’t share her sense of entitlement.

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus

Calling everything bad is because of discrimination……………..something she probably learned from her trips to Kenya.

Its interesting how these (shiny) stories come out at the same time as other more important issues need public debate. Like the Nama report, apple tax etc. etc.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:48 PM

She actually got a letter from duffy in reply. I know him personally but i bet if i wrote looking for tickets i wouldnt get a reply.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:03 PM

Why would you write to him if you know him personally..

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:32 PM

I don’t think TD’s or Senators should have an automatic option of buying two tickets. Why? Who do they think they are?

Give the option to those who have earned it. Those who have travelled to support their team throughout the year to far less attractive matches.
    Those who give of their time to coach and give of their time to support the GAA and their community.

Sorry Michelle, you have no automatic right on this one. Just because you were entitled to one last year doesn’t make it right.

Join the que like everybody else please.

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:31 PM

How many thousands on phone calls will this cost the tax payer, failed TD over and out.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:27 PM

Is this one actually for real lad. FFS.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:16 PM

And who appointed her to the Senate ?

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:22 PM

Edna of course

Mute Celticwarrior
    Favourite Celticwarrior
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:47 PM

I hate that thing..putrid..No other word for her.

Mute Coli
    Favourite Coli
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:32 PM

Breaking news – Unelected Wench angry she’s not getting more preferential treatment than the peasants; Insists that the discrimination against herself is not actually about herself…

Mute Edward
    Favourite Edward
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:48 AM

@Coli: she is just another embarrassing politician from the countryside, they wonder why there is nothing happening outside of dublin, and here it is plain for all to see, its because anyone with half a brain gets out of there as quick as possible.

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:05 PM

Plenty people out there tonight gladly swap two All Ireland tickets for a “ROOF OVER THEIR HEADS ” !!!! Jesus H Crist get on with the real issues……

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:17 PM

Nothing is free in this world Mulherrin, pay up or no show!

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:08 PM

Membership of the Seanad is free. Enda appointed her. She’s an Enda lacky. She will end up in the Hogan on Sunday. There is nothing surer. This clique look after each other. Some genuine fan will miss out. It’s a certainty.

http://www.mayonews.ie/news/27914-controversy-surrounds-taoiseach-s-seanad-appointments

Mute Declan Mc Comiskey
    Favourite Declan Mc Comiskey
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:31 PM

She can just circle Croke Park on her broom stick, didn’t Dorothy kill her once?

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:27 PM

F*** her. She can join the other thousands & thousands of actual fans who can’t get a ticket. Who or what does she think she is?

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:14 PM

Mother of god!!! I’ve herd it all now. What sort of planet is she living on? This is a gombeen that hasn’t even been elected. I am even ashamed for the few people who even gave her a vote in the last GE. She is in the same category as those running NAMA and Irish Water. Hand picked by enda and biffo to live it up on the people of Ireland’s expense and offer nothing in return. Who is coaching her? John Perry? Lorraine Higgins? Delusional to the highest degree.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:24 PM

Why would one go to the bother of highlighting such a non issue?

Mute Thomas Mulhern
    Favourite Thomas Mulhern
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:59 PM

Buy here own, getting enough tax payers money for a subsidiary job .

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:54 PM

That one is a Godshi.e. Is she a member of a GAA club?. If she is I’m sure that hey would facilitate her ,no problem, maybe she forgot to pay membership this year.

Mute Pat Gavin
    Favourite Pat Gavin
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:39 PM

Very low intelligence and self-awareness and an over inflated sense of entitlement. She’s an embarrassment.

Mute Warren Mcdermott
    Favourite Warren Mcdermott
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:51 PM

Honest what planet are this lot living on she really feels she is entitled to a ticket because she is a poxey senator and real fans on both sides can’t get one,they really do think highly of them selves and why are tds entitled to one as well sums up this country to a tee

Mute Donnacha Byrne
    Favourite Donnacha Byrne
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:36 PM

All she is doing is jumping on the bandwagon for one game, she should let real Mayo fans go instead

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:51 PM

Has she nobody to tell her to stfu that she is making a complete fool of herself

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:19 PM

Where’s Brinster, Fred and the rest of them to give us the lecture about entitlement?

Mute Jimmy Riddler
    Favourite Jimmy Riddler
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:35 PM

@Dave Doyle: Giving a driving lesson tonight!!

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:28 PM

Don’t they know how important ai am? Don’t they know I’ve the ear of Enda Kenny? How dare they refuse me 2 ticket?

Mulherin is not unelected. She was rightly rejected by the electorate.

Mulherin is an embarrassment.

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:47 PM

And we had a chance to get rid of the Seanad…

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:09 PM

When she is actually an elected representative of the people of Mayo, and not a sham Senator appointed by her party, she might have a point.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:34 PM

Such a load of bollixx….because she’s in politics she thinks she’s intitled to a ticket..if it was Dublin and donegal for example,wud she want to go then??doubtfull….and I’d go as far as to say she hasn’t gone to a game of any sort this year..discrimination card is thrown around to easy for some people

Mute Alan Dempsey
    Favourite Alan Dempsey
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:53 PM

I hope she gets a ticket now just so both sets of fans can give her abuse

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:41 PM

Queue like everyone else. The cheek of her.

Mute Blazer Dave
    Favourite Blazer Dave
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:04 PM

Get off your bloody high horse Michelle.

Mute Celticwarrior
    Favourite Celticwarrior
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:32 PM

I implore all who visit this comment section to take two minutes and check out what this self entitled(so many words I want to put in here) had to say on radio this evening.she is at it again.Thanks Don Enda for imposing this woman upon us..

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:11 PM

Who does this slag think she is. I would stick a ticket to this farce down her throat if I was there.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:23 PM

You just out did her there brendan

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:36 PM

Senators represent the whole country, not just individual counties or constituencies.

Or does that mean she thinks she’s entitled to tickets to every All-Ireland.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:29 PM

I was close to the gaa ticketing process for most of my life and I’ve seen it all. You get absolute genuine people that are looked after as well as possible and you also get gobsheens, the worst sort of people you can meet. (The ones that send blank cheques) Michelle is definitely the latter

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:42 PM

Mulherin is the great anti-fornicator.

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:44 PM

Tell her to join a club and apply through them the whiney tramp!

Mute Celticwarrior
    Favourite Celticwarrior
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:36 PM

Who is the guy with the long brown hair in the picture above…

Mute Enda Collins
    Favourite Enda Collins
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:40 PM

Yes how many league games or fbd games did she attend in the cold and wet of winter ???
    Feck all I would argue if any at all ,a downright bloody cheek !!!

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:10 PM

That yoke needs a toe poke in her front bum.

Mute Juan Carr
    Favourite Juan Carr
    Sep 15th 2016, 7:44 PM

Cu t

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:38 PM

Waste of oxygen, some knob jockey

Mute Damien wilson
    Favourite Damien wilson
    Sep 15th 2016, 8:29 PM

Pr1ck

Mute Paul Heffernan
    Favourite Paul Heffernan

What a gowl!

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:22 AM

@Paul Heffernan: Is that a misspelling of ghoul, Paul, or do you really mean gowl? Both words are applicable to that irksome person.

Mute The Wanderer
    Favourite The Wanderer

Boo hoo. Michelle get yourself down to Dublin City Centre and you will get yourself a ticket on Sunday morning. That’s what I had to do one year in a Kerry Dublin final. Maybe she is scared of ending up in Hill 16 in a Mayo jersey?!! Being there in a Kerry Jersey was “FUN”.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:18 PM

Michelle Mulherin has actually been taking soundings about standing as the FG nominee for the Presidency if the current President does not stand for re-election at the end of his term.

Mute Dave Kerins
    Favourite Dave Kerins
    Sep 15th 2016, 9:06 PM

We are all born equal but some are born more equal than others it appears.

Mute Epi Retro
    Favourite Epi Retro
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:28 AM

How on earth can you claim to be an ‘unelected representative’?

What a chancer….

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Sep 15th 2016, 11:52 PM

Buy a season ticket and attend enough matches – this means you qualify to buy a ticket as long as your team are still in the competition . Real fans rewarded.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:28 AM

Isn’t she the wan that ran up a big bill talking to her BBC boyfriend in Kenya on her Dáil phone? And whose only meaningful contribution to Dáil debate in the years she was there was to waffle something about “fornication” leading to pregnancy?

Then the electorate told her to sling her hook, but Enda gave her a lucrative sinecure.

No wonder this country is so fornicated up!

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Sep 15th 2016, 11:56 PM

Classic Waterford Whispers…………..wait, really…ffs.

Mute Sverre Feen
    Favourite Sverre Feen
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:00 AM

I’m genuinely waiting for the punchline. This must be a joke… And she went on the effing radio and all…

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:34 PM

Jaysus, the Indo had a much better photo of her. Can you change it?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 15th 2016, 5:41 PM

Just cause she looks like a witch don’t hold that against her.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Sep 15th 2016, 11:54 PM

Another greedy snout rejected by the voters, made a senator Pay your own phone calls to Africa ,sense of entitlement as usual

Mute John O Sullivan
    Favourite John O Sullivan
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:31 PM

Karma baby karma

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:57 PM

Should get a ticket from eir.

Mute Terry Cunningham
    Favourite Terry Cunningham
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:18 AM

It’s surprising that she wasn’t voted back in.When Enda retires I’d imagine we will hear no more of her.

Mute Barry Tallon
    Favourite Barry Tallon
    Sep 15th 2016, 11:41 PM

Put your name forward for a seasonticket, cheek of her.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:14 AM

What does proud Mayo supporter mean? Can she name most of the panel and their clubs on her own? How many games did she attend in the last 15 years for both club and county? If she was a big supporter and being an ex councillor she would have had the ticket issue covered ages ago. Wonder would she care for the plight of the Senand had she got hers. ? Discrimination? Sometimes that is justified. Worse thing is,her whinging will work. Who did she think would support her by making this public?

Mute Nick Condon Sen
    Favourite Nick Condon Sen
    Sep 16th 2016, 8:03 AM

An attention seeker of the highest order with a brass neck to go with it.Plenty of ordinary club members men and women who look after teams, kit and do other chores to help their clubs cant get tickets either. Mayo I people I know who have supported the team trough thick and thin are unable to get a ticket and create no fuss. This lady puts out a public statement Tells you all you want to know about some politicians !!

Mute johnb73
    Favourite johnb73
    Sep 16th 2016, 9:45 AM

Genuine mayo fans that go to games all the year won’t get them but you won’t hear them whinging

Mute Ollie Watson
    Favourite Ollie Watson

My neighbours down the road are split half dubs half mayo I came home from the Kerry game and saw them out on the street talking about the tickets to the final that they got supporters me ducking arse

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    Sep 15th 2016, 10:54 PM

…what?

Mute Paul MacNulty
    Favourite Paul MacNulty
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:27 AM

I hope that she gets a ticket – restricted to Hill 16.

Mute Colm Byrne
    Favourite Colm Byrne
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:53 AM

Nice to see the seanad look after the important issues

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:14 PM

she is not a mayo senator she is an unelected senator from mayo and an arrogant one at that on 60 k a year

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:58 PM

A mayo senator then

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail
    Sep 15th 2016, 6:26 PM

Some news lads please

Mute Joanne Walker
    Favourite Joanne Walker
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:45 PM

“who do ya have to fornicate to get a ticket to this?”

Mute Neil Lowery
    Favourite Neil Lowery
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:21 PM

Dublin for sam. Mayo is for sandwiches. Lol

Mute Kevin Glackin
    Favourite Kevin Glackin
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:08 PM

Buy a season ticket like the rest of us

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    Sep 17th 2016, 12:30 AM

Says a lot that most of us are only hearing about this wrench now.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Sep 18th 2016, 6:07 PM

Replay on 1st October, I wonder will Michelle be “discriminated” against again?!!!

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig

Who the hell does this woman think she is??

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank

Rey important for the country that this woman gets a ticket. Sick children really don’t atter much to this woman on the day the children’s hospital’s future is being decided.