You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
SEVENTEEN PRISONERS HAVE been shot dead after a mass breakout at a jail in Papua New Guinea,with 57 still on the run, police said this morning.
Inmates from the Buimo jail in the Pacific nation’s second largest city of Lae made a dash for freedom after breaking out of their compound on Friday, with prison wardens opening fire.
The Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary said in a statement 17 were killed, three were caught and 57 were still at large.
“These are undesirable people and will be a threat to the community,” Lae police metropolitan commander Chief Superintendent Anthony Wagambie Jr said of the escapees, warning the public to be vigilant.
“The majority of those who escaped were arrested for serious crimes and were in custody awaiting trial.”
“A good number were arrested by police last year for mainly armed robberies, car thefts, break and enter and stealing.”
Police shot dead 12 inmates during a jailbreak at the same prison last year. In 2015 more than 50 prisoners escaped from the same facility.
Jails in PNG are often overcrowded and conditions are poor.
Wagambie said locals in Lae should brace for a spate of crime.
“We experienced an upsurge of criminal activities when Buimo jail reported a mass breakout last year,” he said, urging family members and associates of the escapees not to harbour them.
“I am warning them that they will be caught. They must do what is good for them and surrender.”
Crime and lawlessness is rampant in PNG, a sprawling nation where many still live traditional and subsistence lives in remote areas.
@Eugene Comaskey: Does not need to be a mask – a face covering will do. Can easily put a bandanna or something over your mouth and nose. That is if you are looking for ways you can comply rather than reasons why you can’t!
@Fr.Todd Unctious: I will have to look like ignorant one if you will see me around. My asthma do not let me wear mask for longer than couple minutes. Nobody is going to do my shopping so I will have to suffer deadly stares and occasional insults.
@Pat Patovic: turns out they can aggravate allergies like hayfever. I’ve been smothering something awful recently, and my pharmacist warned that masks can trap allergens, making it harder to avoid them. He didnt say not to wear them, btw. Just pointed out that they make things worse.
@Fr.Todd Unctious: Fines of E2,500 or up to Six Months in Jail, – just like not having a TV Licence,– But You can Rob and beat up an Old Persons home and get , What?.. — maybe suspended sentence ? More trash rules.
@Pat Patovic: I’ve bad asthma also and have been wearing the mask when in shops for months. I’ve had no problem with it and hasn’t aggregated my condition..maybe you’re wearing the wrong type of mask!
@Mirabelle Stonegate: It’s awkward for a lot of people with allergies, all right. Have you tried a face shield? They’re transparent and might be easier to keep free of pollen. Antihistamines can help too. Also, the detergent used in washing masks – I find the non-bio own brands in Lidl or Aldi are great for sensitive skin.
@Dave Collins: Yeah there are different types of masks, different fabrics etc. I’ve found that the fabric of a shemag is very breathable, even layered up many times.
@Pat Patovic: if you can’t wear it at least do your best to protect others, face shield and be concious of people around you. Keep your distance and keep quiet as much as you can when there are people around. Dropplets are passed by talking, avoid talking when indoors will help and will be appreciated.
@Joe Toner: It gets worse Joe. When I was 12 I realised I didn’t have a twin. Turns out they had shaved the dogs backside, and taught him how to walk backwards ….
“Time and again people have shown their willingness to follow public health guidance” = Time and again people have just slavishly accepted what their government has told them to do without a modicum of critical thinking
@GIFman: the problem isn’t that people aren’t applying critical thinking – the problem is that some people have Dunning-Kruger around their capacity for critical thinking.
The vast majority of us have weighed up what the Big Evil Government is saying and what is said in some Youtube videos, and have sided with the former.
@Conor Kennelly: I’m beginning to understand human behaviour on this subject now…
The virus came out, and on one side we had gemma and co telling us it was a scam, and on the other side most politicians telling us it was the end of the world, so most of us decided to go with the politicians. One side or the other.
But as this ordeal has played it has proved not to be as deadly as promised, but because we picked the side that told us it was end of world, we have to tell ourselves we saved the world by social distancing, sanitizing, masks etc. Add to that the “war” propaganda, with tasty words like defeat and crush, eradicate, invisible enemy, etc etc.
@Conor Kennelly: Next thing you know you find yourself applauding economic sanctions, shouting at the others, pointing the finger and blaming the enemy of the people.
Sound like anyone we know? I’ll give you a clue…
Brexit, except this time you might be a brexiteer….
@dowthebow: Maybe it wasn’t the end of the world (yet) because people actually followed the advice/public health requirements? Can you maybe imagine what it would be like if we hadn’t? Doh!
@Conor Kennelly: any sign of non compliance its .. “oh you must be a conspiracy theorist” blah blah blah “trump” bla bla bla.. look at me im a champion virtue signaller
@Kevin Farrell: maybe Kevin, but did every country in europe follow the advice in the same way? Sweden, Italy, Germany, holland? We all have the same curve and nominally similar infection rates and death rates.
Would it have been like sweden? Wouldn’t have been so bad…
Also, I’m not saying we shouldn’t follow the guidelines, I’m saying maybe following the guidelines helped, but what saved the world is our immune systems.
But, proving my point, because I want to open discussion on the validity of these measures, you’ve put me in with Gemma and co.
Thanks for enforcing my original point
@dowthebow: I don’t recall anyone saying it was the end of the world. Max 10% of the population would die IIRC – a complete catastrophe, but hardly civilisation ending. And it has proven to be every bit as deadly as promised.
@Ryan1time: no – its not noncompliance that makes someone a conspiracy nut. Its being a conspiracy nut that makes someone a conspiracy nut. I watch the same youtube site as you – I can recognise when I’m being manipulated.
@Deirdre O’Byrne: Let me get this straight, you’re actually telling us that 10% of the world population have died or will die. 700million people. Yet, even with inflated figures it’s around 500,000. So you’re out by 699.5million, and telling us it’s as deadly as predicted. My God
@Deirdre O’Byrne: you’ll forgive me a little poetic license I hope…
There’s a far cry from 10% to 0.04%, and I wouldn’t attribute the difference to the social distancing that everyone is giving out about (not doing it properly).
And perhaps if we had more realistic expectations/forecasts to begin with, perhaps the strategy would have been much different?
For the record, I’ve been wearing a mask since March in places where it’s difficult to keep your distance, and will continue to do so, I just don’t agree with the mandating of it, and especially not now, when there are very few cases in the community
@GIFman: if you read what I wrote you will see that I used the abbreviation “max”, which stands for “maximum”. Apologies for not spelling it out.
Yes 700 million people were/are at risk of dying from this *if we did nothing*. The point is we didn’t do nothing. And we are still not doing nothing – we are, for instance, wearing face masks in shops!!!
@dowthebow: Yes there is a big difference between 10% and 0.04%. But given that pandemics have exponential growth curves, that’s not as big a difference as it seems when you are used to thinking in a linear way.
@Deirdre O’Byrne: my contention is that this pandemic didn’t have an exponential growth curve, never did, and never would have. In fact it has a similar curve in almost every country in the world, all with different advice and regulations.
As an engineer I’m fairly comfortable with exponential growth curves, and they very rarely apply to epidimiology.
If you use viral modelling software, you cannot get the curve to slow down in the way it has, using just the tools available to us (soc-dis, sanit, masks etc), they help to slow it down, but the curve does not go downwards until most of society is infected. You can very quickly get it using isolation, but given the asymptomatic nature of this, I don’t think that’s what happened…
@Deirdre O’Byrne: But models are just that, models. “No model is correct, but some models are useful”.
I don’t see myself changing anyone’s mind, my original post was about people picking a “team” and sticking with it no matter what. I was probably originally on the same team as you, but over time I’ve come to the conclusion that a more nuanced approach is required, and I think it’s worth discussion.
Like in politics, we all want the same thing in the end, we just believe there is different ways of getting there…
@dowthebow: well I followed the initial phase of growth of cases in Ireland, and it most definitely was exponential. And by the very nature of infection and transmission, an exponential growth is what will pretty much inevitably happen unless and until we intervene.
@Deirdre O’Byrne: I’m not here to prove you wrong, just hoping people can open up to the possibility that social distancing, masks etc didn’t have as much impact as we hoped, and that maybe we’ve done more damage to the economy than we needed too.
You’re not open to that possibility, so we could go around in circles all day.
On that note, I’ll bid you good day…
@dowthebow: you are not open to the probability that our actions were measured and had a massive impact. We would have hundreds of thousands of deaths in Ireland if we didn’t do what we did. And we may yet regret opening up too soon.
Do you have an alternative explanation for our flattened curve?
@Deirdre O’Byrne: I do, and I was in the same camp as you until recently, so I was very much open to the probability.
Let me ask one question, in a country that was reporting 60-70% community transmission, that social distancing and sanitizing made enough difference to save hundreds and thousands of lives and millions of cases? Really? You seem like a smart person, and this goes back to my original point about indoctrination.
My alternative explanation is simple, 80% of more of society is already immune to, and not spreading the virus, any further.
@dowthebow: Sweden on top 7 by death rate. Italy is extremely stringent after their death toll. There is also Czech Republic, had similar trajectory as us, started wearing mandatory masks in April now their numbers a third of ours. FOLLOW THE PUBLIC GUIDELINES IJITS!!!
@Lena Madden: Hi Lena, we’re having a civilized discussion and can do without the name-calling thanks. If anything it strengthens my original point.
I don’t take much stock in any of those numbers, if anything there so low that it’s difficult to use them to show anything. For example, Sweden’s death rate is .0057% of population, while ours is .0035%, statistically you can disregard the difference.
As for mask wearing, I’ve been wearing one since March, and if we had to make it mandatory, April was the time to be doing it, not now
@Deirdre O’Byrne: there are several corona viruses, one or more of which might provide immunity. There was no cure for small pox either, but then there was cow pox, 25% of the world got the spanish flu, the elderly were saved because of immunity built up during a previous epidemic.
I can’t post links here but you can look up…
Bbc Coronavirus: Immunity may be more widespread than tests suggest
Biorxiv Different pattern of pre-existing SARS-COV-2 specific T cell immunity in SARS-recovered and uninfected individuals
I’ve deliberately selected “main stream” articles there so as not to scare you off. There is many more.
I’m not saying this is the answer, but it’s the only way I can make sense of the trajectories we’ve seen all over the world.
@Vladimir Macro: Your statements tell us everything we need to know about you that’s for sure. I did think about trying to explain cause and correlation to you, but you’re a closed vacant mind and I’d be wasting my time.
Health: ask a medic when you get the virus.
Safety: ask an engineer to avoid getting the virus …. wear a mask.
Surgical mask to help prevent others getting the virus from you.
N95 (FFP2 EU equivalent) mask to help prevent YOU and others getting the virus
or well sealed 3 layer cotton mask with metal nose pinch.
@Vladimir Macro:
You think it’s funny if case numbers go up?
I’ve been watching your comments on here over the last few months, we all get that you think the virus is nothing serious and the restrictions and face masks aren’t necessary.
Unfortunately there’s many people out there like you, and if and when the virus affects you or anyone close to you, only then will you realise the consequences of it.
I personally know 2 people who’ve died after being infected, one was a healthy 32 year old.
All you’re being asked to do is wear a mask to stop the spread and to prevent further unnecessary deaths.
@Carol C. is Social Distancing from You: people don’t always willingly go to the shop. I hate it. I do it because I have to otherwise myself and my daughter would go very hungry. Not everyone can wear them due to disabilities, be kind to those that can’t. This is hard enough as it is. And who knows who’s lost their jobs because they can’t wear them. It’s not so black and white.
@Ciara Louise Dee: dubious claims there as you cannot fire somebody due to a disability. I was in the shopping centre and a girl with disabilities wore a face shield as she needed to be able to communicate. There are other face coverings besides masks that are acceptable. Extremely rare for anybody not to be able to do anything and just making excuses
@Ciara Louise Dee: anyone who has an illness that makes it impossible to wear a mask, should most likely be cocooning for their own protection. I have asthma, and find them uncomfortable to wear, but I’ve been wearing them for months. The inconvenience and my slight discomfort does not outweigh the possibility of passing on a virus that could be fatal to another person. If it’s too much for anyone to wear a mask, then they should remain in their home until there is a vaccine available. Nobody’s comfort should supersede another person’s health or life.
@Craic_a_tower: there are definitely other face coverings, I wear a bandana but can only do so for a few minutes before spiralling into a panic attack. I can’t wear masks or the visors. But I am trying. I’m practicing at home and trying my best. It’s not extremely rare. Just trying to get people to realise not everyone can do it and it doesn’t mean it’s an excuse, it can be a valid reason.
@Craic_a_tower: and your right they can’t fire people but if I can’t get past this then I won’t be able to work when my place of work reopens and may have to leave. This is the case for others too.
@Paula: for physical illnesses yes but what about people with mental disabilities. PTSD, CPTSD, Panic attacks, anxiety attacks, sever claustrophobia. Things like that. It’s not feesable for some people to stay at home. This can also lead to further mental strife and someone could end up becoming suicidal if forced to stay home constantly because of their mental illness.
@Ciara Louise Dee: I sympathise with people in that position, and hope they have MH supports they need. But as the situation is, society has to come together and protect the whole, not just an individual. I cocooned myself for about two months, and I understand how difficult it is, but there’s online shopping or friends / family that could perhaps help out in that regard. Also if anxiety is that bad, is I’d imagine that qualifies for a disability payment. As harsh as it sounds, you can’t just consider yourself in this. If you can’t wear a mask, then you should not go into shops or take public transport. You discomfort does not trump another person’s life or well being.
@Ciara Louise Dee: so you don’t know anybody who lost their job? You can’t wear a clear visor? Can you look out a window? You don’t have to go to the shop as the shops deliver and there is also HSE aid. I could believe you but as you are making obstacles and saying something that hasn’t happened I cannot find you truthful. There are also people making these claims when not suffering in anyway. It is extremely rare to have a medical condition you can’t use a covering and have to go personally to the shop. I know exactly what it is like to have a panic attack and know it isn’t pleasant but when I see a woman with a tight mask on below her nose claiming to be claustrophobic I know it is BS. If you have anxiety over wearing face mask a bandana would be worse
@Paula: note she also doesn’t seem concerned about the anxiety she could cause on other people by not wearing a mask around them. I would imagine somebody with anxiety would be bothered by people looking at them or commenting on not wearing a mask. That is a special kind of anxiety disorder.
@Ciara Louise Dee: Did you hear about this amazing invention call the internet? You can do your grocery shop online and get this, it will be delivered straight to your front fckindoor!!! Oh my god, what in the fresh hell I hear you say? YES! Its true, you don’t even have to leave your fckinhouse. AMAZING, isn’t it?
@Craic_a_tower: indeed. And as someone who has had mild anxiety in the past, there doesn’t seem to be any anxiety for actually catching the virus herself and passing it on to her own loved ones. I suspect a touch of the YouTube conspiracy theory is a foot, along large dose of self absorbed ar5ehole-avitous!
@Tony Garcia: and my point is someone with a medical condition that prevents them from wearing a mask, therefore making them exempt, is mostly likely someone with a serious condition, and they would most likely be cocooning as it is. Made up conditions, or exaggerated lies about relatively non serious conditions, to circumvent public health measures because someone doesn’t like wearing masks or that those that believe conspiracy theories, should be called out and not tolerated. One’s discomfort does not supersede another’s health. If you don’t want to wear a mask, don’t go into shops and others businesses or take public transport.
@Craic_a_tower: you may not find me truthful but I am. I get like that in cars too with windows yes sometimes, and can’t have anything that close to my face. Can’t even put my head under that blanket for more than a few seconds. It’s because of a car crash. Don’t believe me. Google it with my name. A bandana isn’t worse because it doesn’t fall in on my mouth when I breathe like a mask does and it’s light material. I practice with my mask every day so I can work through things. Look, i know I’m lucky I have people to go to the shops for me and I live close enough to then for deliveries, but I just want people to be less hateful toward people.
@Paula: I spent weeks inside not going to the shop because of this. I stopped seeing people, my family. Had to go back on meds. Terrified about getting it and more terrified about having it inknowinglt and spreading it. I’ve lost family to this virus. Yes I am lucky enough to be able to to shop online, I live in a built up area with local shops that deliver too but not everyone has those luxuries. I’m just trying to get people to stop being so hateful and judgemental and in these already tough times. I get that people are using this reason even if they don’t have a reason too and that’s wrong and it’s hard to tell who is genuine and who is not.
@Craic_a_tower: look I completely understand what everyone is saying and I agree that the majority of people going around not wearing them have no reason not to wear them and that those that can’t should use internet shopping, those that can’t do that should be getting help from elsewhere, community or otherwise but I just hate seeing all this aggression and hate toward people. Some deserve it, others don’t.
@Ciara Louise Dee: then don’t make exagerations, excuses and any other impossibilities that are easily dealt with. You have no need to go to the shops and cause other people anexity. You have your own problems and people are willing to help but you are not suggesting responsibility. You brink on anger to yourself by being selfish.
Cinemas and museums? That will hurt their business substantially. Imagine sitting through a film having to wear a face mask would be a massive inconvenience with popcorn drinks ect
People will just steer clear
@Luke: my understanding is cinema’s still operating a distanced seating policy so no need to wear it in the screen as they will block off seats to keep the 2m between customers
Well whatever chance cinema’s had before this will be gone now with having to wear masks in them, and before some keyboard the end is near if ya don’t wear a mask points out it is the best way, well then these same geniuses better start getting a business degree to add to their medical one on here cos we have an economy on life support and unless the government do something soon, covid 19 won’t be the only thing killing people in this country come winter, other medical issues pushed to one side, money worries, and a massive mental health crisis will happen, the effects of which will be far wider ranging and longer than any covid 19 can muster
@Michael Patrick Newell: Should we ignore for example a family of 5 with no masks strolling through a shopping centre with no face coverings ignoring one way systems as I witnessed Saturday and today? Are they all in some way affected by a medical condition that prevents them wearing face coverings? I think not, just pure ignorance and a lack of intelligence.
Earlier on they couldn’t decide if masks were effective or not, it took them months to suddenly decide they were, but are they really effective, the European centre for disease prevention and control aren’t convinced
It is not known how much the use of masks in the community can contribute to a decrease in transmission in addition to the other countermeasures.
@Laurel Didn’t: you seem to need to do your research because you made an outlandish claim spread by ignorance about masks increasing danger. You are spreading ignorance
@Laurel Didn’t: What harm exactly?. I worked in a theatre for 5 years and had to wear a mask. I have had to wear a mask for the last five months in the ward I work on. So what dangers should I and my colleagues been made aware of all the years we have been wearing them.
@Jonny: that’s a strange thing to admit because when the ECDC released information saying that international travel increases the risk of the spread of covid you were busy in the comments section saying it was all fine and dandy. Why didn’t you believe them then?
@ruairi: i do believe them because travel to countries with high rates of Covid-19 does, increase the risk, but travel to countries with low rates should not be lumped into the same category as high risk countries and that’s what the shambles of a government and NPHET are trying to do, at this rate we’re going to have a higher rate of cases per 100,000 population than the UK yet they are trying to put the UK on the red list, Where’s the logic in that.
@ruairi: just seen the updated figures and now Ireland has a higher rate of cases per 100,000 population than the UK, so are they going to put the UK on the green list now probably not, surely the whole point of this list is to allow unrestricted travel to countries with lower rates of Covid-19 than Ireland.
@Jonny: Maybe, since there’s a global pandemic going on, people shouldn’t travel abroad on holidays this year. As the green list circular states; “for people living in Ireland, the advice is to avoid all non-essential travel overseas until further notice”. Given the recent case increase across much of Europe and in Ireland, this seems a pretty obvious.
@Ann Illing: so what? There isn’t a law for everything we do. Somethings are common sense and down to personal responsibility. The fact some people appear to be unable to show any sign of either common sense or personal responsibility means a law is required. There is no law requiring you to use toilet paper – are you refusing to use loo paper until the government passed a law requiring you to do so?
@Ann Illing: Are you still going to be dragged screaming. I am sick listening to people having a problem with wearing a mask. People have to have colostomy bags, ileostomy bags. They have to self catheterisation, because it’s the difference between life and death. You are just asked to wear a mask whilst in shops or enclosed places. God get a grip.
@Craic_a_tower: Why what?
Why are we being told that it is now mandatory yet it has not been passed into law?
As for being unreasonable and argumentative, I have read up on the use of masks and only certain masks are useful against the spread of this virus. And cloth masks are not only useless, they can increase the chances of contracting the virus.
But I guess that would just be the arguments of scientists, who dont know as much as you do on this subject!
@ed o brien: you just described being unreasonable and argumentative. You are going to do what you like and the exact type of person that needs laws. You are not a doctor nor scientist and reading some articles doesn’t match the public health guidelines. You an anti vaxier too as they make up their own understanding.
@ed o brien: It’s due to the fact that this is a learning process for everyone, including scientists, that we are advised to wear a mask as a precaution. Single layer material mask are not effective, they have to be double or treble. As Einstein said. ” Stay away from negative people, they find a problem with every solution”.
@Tony Stack: Likewise. I don’t see how the experts can be expected to cut hair around the loops of the mask, and I wouldn’t ask them to try as things are. We’re doing well to keep going and there’s no need to be fussy about hairstyles as I see it.
@Fiona Fitzgerald: wasn’t there a recent study in hairdressers in the UK face shields are pointless in this setting because they don’t protect the customer only the person wearing the shield, a mask plus shield was only effective
Yes, so it can all wait. I’m with the people chopping their own gruaig for now. I’ve great respect for hairdresser skills and I’d like them to be safe.
@Thomas: RTE, hahaha
You should look up the WHO and their recommendations for wearing masks. Only 4 situations listed, and shops or public transport is not on it.
Funny how our politicians move the goalposts when it suits them!!
@Thomas: obviously it is health issues. Of course coviditiots will make the claims they have medical conditions. I saw a women with a mask on below her nose and politely pointed out not much help if it doesn’t cover your nose. Her response was “I am claustrophobic” BS of the highest order
@Thomas: Good reason could be if you have asthma for example. Restricted lung capacity make you struggle to breath while walking. For people like me mask is a no go for more than like 5 minutes.
@Thomas: under 13 year-olds “As well as this, people who may have trouble breathing, are unconscious or incapacitated, are unable to remove it without help and have special needs and who may feel upset or very uncomfortable wearing the face covering.”
@EillieEs: There are two guys in the supermarket I go to with special needs, and they have been the only ones that has been consistent with wearing masks. I have yet to hear a reason , just excuses.
@Tom Bombdadil: it is a public health issue so is my business. So many don’t understand I thought I was being helpful informing a fellow human being. She of course was aware and just made a ridiculous claim as a defence.
@Craic_a_tower: not BS. I have claustrophobia stems from PTSD. If she’s breathing in through her nose and out through her mouth then at least if she has the virus it will be caught in her mask. When did people become so judgmental
@Ciara Louise Dee: bs. That is not claustrophobic you are describing nor a suitable use of a mask. You may experience mental distress due to life experiences but that doesn’t mean you call it something it isn’t. A mask is not a confined space.
Reasonable excuse
5. Without prejudice to the generality of what constitutes reasonable
excuse for the purposes of Regulation 4(1), a person has reasonable excuse if -
(a) the person cannot put on, wear or remove a face covering -
(i) because of any physical or mental illness, impairment or
disability, or
(ii) without severe distress,
(b) the person needs to communicate with a person who has
difficulties communicating (in relation to speech, language or
otherwise),
(c) the person removes the face covering to provide emergency
assistance or to provide care or assistance to a vulnerable
person,
(d) the person removes the face covering to avoid harm or injury, or
the risk of harm or injury,
(e) the person removes the face covering in order to, and only for
the time required to, take medication,
(f) the person removes the face covering at the request of a
responsible person, or of a worker, in order to enable him or her
to ascertain the person’s age by reference to photographic
identification for the purposes of the sale of goods or services in
respect of which there is a minimum age requirement or where
the responsible person, or worker, has lawful authority to verify
the person’s identity, or
(g) the person removes the face covering at the request of a
responsible person, or of a worker, in order to assist the
responsible person or worker to provide him or her with
healthcare or healthcare advice.
@Thomas: This is not a personal attack on you, its just a general rant, so please dont take it as such.
The only reason to not wear one is, if you will actually suffer asphixiation if you wear one.
If people are citing reasons such as, being uncomfortable, feeling a bit claustrophobic, too warm or it hurts their ears…then they really need to try and grown up.
Everyone that has to wear one 8-12 hours a day at work, just deals with it. Everything in life is not easy, comfortable or about you.
@Tony Garcia: Nobody is harassing or intimidating anybody. The only people that have got on their high horse, are the people that simply refuse to wear them, because it’s affecting their human rights. We all have human rights , people also have a right to know that measures are in place, so they are protected. I work with a man that has asthma all his life, his job at the moment requires he wears a mask . We are dealing with vulnerable people and it’s our job to take measures to protect them and ourselves. Where the shield will not protect the droplets that fall from sneezing and coughing, it’s better than nothing.
@Tony Garcia: here is what is going to happen.
1. A person with no reason to not wear a mask will walk into a shop and be asked to wear a mask. They will lie and say they have a medical reason. The shop will ask them to leave. Fight issues Gardai called and no medical reason will be found
2. Another person does the same but with a medical condition to prove a point
3. Shop assistants just attacked straight away for asking a person to put on a mask
4. Somebody will be beaten up for refusing to put on a mask and shouting at people
Number 1 will be most common
@Craic_a_tower: no it’s doesnt. But would you have someone go hungry because they can’t wear a face covering because of a disability. Is that not discrimination?
@Ciara Louise Dee: why can’t you shop online or use the HSE services? Nobody will starve because they cannot wear a mask. So you are again hyping up a non existent issue. Maybe you do have all this anxiety but you are feeding it yourself by exaggerating. I doubt that is actually the case.
@Ciara Louise Dee: wear a visor or an adapted mask (one with a silicone frame underneath to give your nose and mouth some space) both you can buy for cheap from a chemist.
@Ian Breathnach: yes I can do that but there are people out there who don’t have the internet, people who live in really remote areas where Tesco and the likes don’t deliver to. I understand there’s ways around it and I’m glad I don’t have to worry quite so much but it’s not that easy for everyone
@Peej: I actually just got one of those ones with the glasses frame that the visor pops onto. It’s the best thing by far I find. Still having issues but working through it so I don’t become a risk to people.
@Jacqui Curtis-owens: did you go for a reason or just to take notes? You should be careful, you could unwittingly be responsible for spreading some sort of virus…
@Craic_a_tower: everyone thinks they’re better than average, by definition everyone is not better than average, maybe 49% of ppl are…
Maybe OP is one of the 49%, I don’t know. But everyone on the journal commenting about what they see out and about is not one of the 49%, I just think if most ppl did their best, and stopped looking around to find fault in others, we might be happier. Myself included
@dowthebow: yeah you don’t understand stats. It isn’t anything to do with averages and the Journal is not a snapshot of the population. I was in Omni myself on Friday and the number of people who wore masks incorrectly was as bad as those not wearing any
Today the Independent brings an interesting article from Dr. Maitiú Ó Tuathail.
To wear a mask is a precise procedure that needs to be followed, otherwise just doesn’t work.
According to the good doctor we are not doing really well, and among other things, “reusing a face mask is like reusing a condom”.
In science, when presenting with a problem, the first question we ask is not “how to make it better”, but “how NOT to make it worse”.
This government has learnt from Trump to never antagonize the media. Now we have public policies which are been drawn in line with the Irish Time’s opinion section.
If you were on a Operating table would you expect the operational staff to wear a mask,it’s only common sense ? To some people it’s just being ignorant, & that is the problem with some people they just do not get it.
@Charles Shelly: of course they wouldnt, more to the point, if they insisted on wearing them, it would clearly indicate that the entire operational staff were in fact, agents of the Bill Gates, illuminate, 5g secret army, in the pay of the Alien overlords, intent on planting a tracking device in their brain, to monitor their miserable boring lives….
@David Van-Standen: I feel obliged to clarify that the above was a joke, just in case I get referenced by the faithful, as a visionary and prophet for the resistance…..
If you choose not to wear a mask , I will respect that and in return will you observe, diligently the 2 meter distance from everyone else, whither they are wearing masks or not.
The reason why it is not being policed is BECAUSE IT IS NOT IN LAW – rread the actual paper and stop listening to journalists who are lazy. Also, it does not mention SUPERMARKETS in the paper.
@BeyondRoom313: you are just listening to other hype. Masks make sense so don’t make up arguments. There are so few genuine reasons not to wear them and so many ways to avoid wearing them if you have an issue. Is it you don’t like to be told what to do or is there some other reason?
Anyone who cannot wear a mask for medical reasons should have to carry a note of explanation from a Doctor. No embarrassment if queried anywhere and would ensure fair enforcement.
Is there not a contradiction here? If it’s so dangerous that you have to wear a mask indoors while shopping, how come cafes, restaurants and bars are still open? Which is more dangerous half an hour in an enormous half empty well ventilated supermarket, or 1hr 45 mins in a small but very busy high turnover restaurant?
@Craic_a_tower:
The taxi industry was completely overlooked by the government, buses trains and teams were the only public transport that they seem to have considered when bringing in the requirement.
As far as I’m aware, the NTA has also been completely silent in regards to the taxi industry. No advise given to drivers at all.
I was in Stephens Green shopping centre today and was surprised at the amount of people walking in past the security guard with no face coverings.
If the wearing of face coverings cannot be enforced, maybe a simple policy of charging €20 per person into every shop/ shopping centre. If you are wearing a face covering, you get free entry.
That would sort it out pretty quickly.
@Imagine !: I wish I could share your optimism but I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed when they realise wearing masks isn’t going to make much of a difference to case numbers. Nobody was wearing masks in June or most of July when everybody was out and about again and this was when we had actually the lowest number of daily cases .
I’m wearing a mask last few weeks but to be honest when in a supermarket I do wonder
what effect it actually has, given that not one cluster in 5 months has arisen in a supermarket .
@Margaret Kane: they couldn’t do that as there was a lack of supply and it would have stopped medical professionals from getting masks. That was why they couldn’t do it at the start. There would have been panic and low public compliance
I suffer from extreme anxiety cant have anything near my face thought of mask or shield makes me panic.So I guess I m being punished . So I guess no shopping for me
Yep I’ve been complying with all the measures put in place from the start
Unfortunately many havnt and I feel for those who have.
But it’s like closing the door when the horse has bolted
Just saying
Cork blitz Galway to reach hurling league final as Tipperary defeat Clare
The 42
47 mins ago
Quiz
Quiz: How much do you know about the original Snow White film?
1 hr ago
Heathrow
Heathrow closure: Limited flights resume this evening as fire thought to be 'non-suspicious'
Updated
21 Mar
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say