Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamonn Farrell/ Photocall Ireland

€1 million deducted from social welfare benefits to pay property tax

Over 15,000 people opted to have the tax taken from their payment.

Updated 8pm

OVER 15,000 PEOPLE have opted to have the property tax deducted from their social welfare payments with some €1 million collected so far this year.

The figures released by Finance Minister Michael Noonan, show that owners of 15, 450 residential properties have chosen this option.

In the vast majority of cases, Noonan said deductions from payments have already commenced and over €1 million has been collected by Revenue to date. It is estimated that some €2.26 million in total will be collected by Revenue in this manner.

The minister revealed in September that issues arose with this payment option whereby some people had selected the wrong social welfare payment type while others were found to be in receipt of a payment type that was not covered for this option.

The property tax can only be deducted from the following payments:

• The State Pension (contributory, non contributory and transition);
  • Widow/widower’s or Surviving Civil Partner’s Contributory and Non-Contributory Pensions;
  • One Parent Family Payment;
  • Invalidity Pension;
  • Carer’s Allowance;
  • Disability Allowance;
  • Blind Pension.

People on unemployment benefits like jobseekers’ allowance cannot choose this payment option.

Noonan said that the Revenue Commissioners have advised that where issues arise, they are addressed on a case by case basis.

“I am further advised that there is an ongoing dialogue between Revenue and the Department of Social Protection, with a view to ensuring that this payment option operates as smoothly as possible,” he said.

Earlier this week the Revenue Commissioners extended the deadline for filing your Local Property Tax deadline online following the “exceptional level” of filing and volume of calls to the helpline.

- First published 8am

Read: Revenue extends deadline for filing property tax returns online until Friday>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Jenni Sheridan
    Favourite Jenni Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:08 AM

Why don’t they ask the CRC to “donate” some of their top up money into the pot? Seeing as how the money that was donated to them wasn’t used for the purpose intended I.e the sick and needy, it should be given back to the people……

Mute Kev O Sullivan
    Favourite Kev O Sullivan
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:50 AM

All to pay for water meters. Nothing going to local needs.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:21 AM

Which FG donor denis o’brien is making a mint installing.

Banana republic.

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:03 AM

Exactly – thought local councils were to get the tax collected. Gone into another black hole. So who fixes the roads etc. that were to be funded by this?

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:36 AM

Motor tax was once call road tax it didn’t go towards roads either

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:57 AM

Disgrace, you go to the bother of supplying your family with a home, the government charge you vat and stamp duty and every time you pay your mortgage they charge you vat again. Now the same people who like to provide for themselves are shafted again!!…… FF caused this problem but FG and Lab are as bad as them. Pay back comes at next GE

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:04 AM

There’s no VAT on mortgages, or second hand houses for that matter. Muppet!

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:42 AM

So Reg your happy how your government charges these taxes I take it, attacking me and not what the government is doing to the rest of the country.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:53 AM

No just fed up of people who come on here and either through intention or ignorance spout nonsense.

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:11 AM

Well Reg when I bought my house I paid stamp duty and vat and you dont think the banks pay vat on the services they provide.

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:12 AM

Bank services are exempt from VAT.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 1st 2013, 1:06 PM

Well it must have been a new house as there is no VAT on second hand homes or mortgages. Did you miss where I said this the first time?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:52 PM

And your point is if it was a new house???

Mute cillian32
    Favourite cillian32
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:36 AM

If supporters of FG/LAB think this is ok Then there is something seriously wrong with ye. What has become of our country?

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:03 AM

The country is being run into the ground by Gangsters who think they are above the law. Rob from the poor and pay the rich. This will all go horribly wrong for them in the future. That is a guarantee

Mute EndaMeKnob
    Favourite EndaMeKnob
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:09 AM

Bondholders and the interest on the loan I took out and made into sovereign debt has to be paid – and I sure as hell won’t touch current or past ministers pay and pension. So my poor little debt slave minion, the money has to come from you. End of. You don’t like it emigrate – now remember vote FineGael y’all hear. Austerity for the minions – gold plated pensions for like for us. Eat it with a smile on your face.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:38 AM

I’m ok with all of this. Free loading off the working class needs to come to an end. This is progress.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:47 AM

Corporate welfare (tax relief and grants for the rich paid for by taxing the low and middle incomes.) needs to be paid. When is enough profit enough. Do big business really need so much tax payers money. A flat tax for all citizens and business. 20 % of income across the board for all.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:42 AM

There’s a waiver system for those who really can’t afford it…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:53 AM

O Reilly don’t forget that same waiver attracks an interest charge of I believe 4.5%.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 1st 2013, 12:02 PM

Good ol o’reilly. Always contending theres a right way for us to be paying europes private gambling losses.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Dec 1st 2013, 12:14 PM

Wow, TalkingSence managed to accidentally tell the truth. The free loading off the working class to pay for the bank bailout does indeed have to stop.

Mute New Property
    Favourite New Property
    Dec 1st 2013, 12:18 PM

It would but at the end of the day all these taxes and high cost of living only effect a small proportion of our society,

We all mone and talk about it, but really its a small few in the middle that feel it the rest are to rich or claiming to much benefit to care. And government know this and its even against the law to make a real difference.

So soon we will all get use to been supressed by this dictatorship.

Mute New Property
    Favourite New Property
    Dec 1st 2013, 12:20 PM

Wouldn’t that be great, but it’s far too simple for our dictatorship.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Dec 1st 2013, 1:03 PM

Rob from the poor to pay the rich, Dictatorship. Bullshit rhetoric from left wing looneys. There’s a good reason the streets were never torn up here like Greece. Because when you look at these countries, people realise it could be so much worse…

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:44 PM

..what’s wrong with taking this tax directly from social welfare payments…some people opt to have it taken from their salary, no difference…

Mute Chris O'Connor
    Favourite Chris O'Connor
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:56 PM

Disabled, blind, carers all freeloaders? Maybe you should apply for the blind allowance. I don’t think there is an allowance for ignorance.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:11 PM

So everyone on social welfare of any sort have never paid tax or worked in their lives.Get a grip.shows your education levels zero.
    Hope you dont lose your job and end up on social welfare.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:13 PM

p.s that was for the sap talkingrubbish(sense my ass)

Mute Itto Ogami
    Favourite Itto Ogami
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:51 PM

Guy next door to me is on dole as long as i can remember,goes on foreign holiday every year,drives 2010 car,i work full time,havent gone foreign in years,driving prehistoric heap of shit,im sure people reading this know of similiar cases?i dont agree with the property tax,but it exists,and everybody should have to contribute,cant keep screwing the working schmuck to the wall,while the welfare lifers get a free pass.

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:39 AM

I think it’s perfectly ok I only wish they went further, the protected welfare class may now have to adjust their egos

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:41 AM

Enda had cut politician wages by more than any other Irish leader ever- facts and whingers don’t sit we’ll together

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 2:52 AM

Chris if you cost more than you contribute you are a freeloader- it’s an economic argument if you are deaf blind etc etc it doesn’t matter it’s an economic argument, hope that helps :)

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Dec 2nd 2013, 7:58 AM

The reason the streets were not torn up over here is because the mentality of the population is aloof at best and lazy at worst….its bad but what could u do about it blah blah…ppl talk the talk privately but certainly dont walk the walk publicly…its probably a hangover from colonialism passecd down through the generations

Mute myownboss
    Favourite myownboss
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:39 AM

Disgraceful, give with one hand and take with another! How on earth is this fair or justified? Dip into Bertie’s pension pot and I’d feel a whole lot better.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:00 PM

Myownboss
    Did you miss the part where Bertie’s pension was reduced? Just to say it again….Bertie’s pensions has been considerably reduced since his retirement ! I will accept that it’s not enough but just to make sure you know….Bertie’s has already been reduced!

Dec 1st 2013, 11:16 PM

Facts and figures please all I can find is from 2011 and it doesn’t add up to a considerable reduction.

Aherne pension €152,332 pension levy €4186.53 roughly €80.51 per week.
    Cowen Pension €151.061 pension levy €4084.94 around €78.56 per week.

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 2:59 AM

Myownboss I would just prefer if they gave them nothing to begin with, rewarding useless people normalises people’s perceptions that its ok to be a freeloader. I think welfare is a complete waste, if your family won’t look after you well then your not worth looking after- waste of good money

Mute myownboss
    Favourite myownboss
    Dec 2nd 2013, 8:05 AM

Richie Rodgers, dip into Bertie’s pension pot or a blind persons social welfare payment – NO CONTEST!!!

Mute Andrew Matheson
    Favourite Andrew Matheson
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:00 AM

Give with one hand and take from the other. Most of these people are struggling enough without this crap!

Next government please…..

Mute MarkMurph1
    Favourite MarkMurph1
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:01 AM

Tell me, what will the next government do any differently? Unless you want to run yourself and make changes you’ll probably have to put up and shut up. Its what we in Ireland (outside the message boards) seem to do very well.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 1st 2013, 12:28 PM

We are going in reverse as a society .The things that people fought and died for are being slowly taken away.

Mute Dara H
    Favourite Dara H
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:49 PM

And we are doing nothing about it..the numbers at any protests organised are embarassing. Our ancestors would be ashamed at how we just lay down and take a beating.

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Dec 2nd 2013, 1:43 AM

While I do agree with you, if you take into account 2nd and 3rd world countries, we have it pretty sweet in ireland. I know there are people suffering but it could be a whole lot worse. Most of us are lucky enough to never know what true poverty or hunger or homelessness or hopelessness even feels like.
    Ireland ain’t perfect but it ain’t that bad either.

Mute Edel Nic Suibhne
    Favourite Edel Nic Suibhne
    Dec 5th 2013, 9:57 PM

wake up, seriously, wake the f*** up

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:24 AM

Still referring to it as a property tax I see.

Its not, its a family home tax to plug the gap left by this government stealing the taxes we already pay. Worst part is that they CHOSE to bring this in, the troika said it was the Irish governments decision.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 1st 2013, 6:34 PM

A property tax is a tax on wealth.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:08 PM

Having a roof over your head is a basic human right and is recognised as such in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. It is not wealth as you cannot dispose of it without depriving yourself of a fundamental human right.

Mute Just4 TheJournal
    Favourite Just4 TheJournal
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:23 PM

Its a tax on not being homeless or a member of our friendly travelling community. Or a tax on not getting a council house.

I’d say there isnt a landlord in the country who hasnt passed this tax on to the tennant so everyone gets screwed by it

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 2nd 2013, 9:19 AM

Actually my landlord hasn’t passed it on because he knows it’s his house so his responsibility. Also nothing in the contract says he can do it. Im sure most people who got it passed on to them could have a case for breach of contract

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:39 AM

And Ll propped up by the caring “Socialist” of the Labour Party. Traitors all of them.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:18 AM

With a Labour government in the Dail what a joke .
    We should ask the Americans for help to destroy another dictatorship.Ireland

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:38 AM

How is it a dictatorship?

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Favourite Fintan O HEifernain
    Dec 1st 2013, 7:04 PM

Christ, the hyperbole! Calling Ireland a dictatorship trivialises actual dictatorships worldwide. You, me and everyone else voted in FG and Labour, remember? Around 2010 or so? They’re a pack of sleveens, shysters and incompetent liars but a dictatorship? Nah. Ironic you should appeal to the worst example of democracy in the Western world ( and far, far more of a dictatorship than this place could ever be) to destroy the evil Irish “dictatorship”. If you don’t like them, vote against them in the next election as I intend to do but save the hyperbole. It is cringe-worthy.

Mute Coco Fox
    Favourite Coco Fox
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:42 PM

But who will you vote for? Thats when hoplessness sets in. FF? They’re all as bad as eachother.

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:18 PM

That’s the problem. I’m not sure either but all I know is I won’t be giving my vote to Fianne Fail, Fine Gael or Labour because FF ruined the country and still have a fair number of those responsible among their ranks, FG blatantly lied to get into power and broke every second promise they made and Labour also lied to gain power and sold out their party’s beliefs. I’m not fully convinced by Sinn Fein either but they do have some good people. If it comes to voting Independent I’ll happily do so. It’s hard to call, but no more of the same please. Basically, no more disingenuous snakes who have no political beliefs whatsoever other that loyalty to one’s self and the party at the expense of the people they are supposed to be representing.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:43 AM

The current system needs to be totally reformed too much nepotism within the dail. The seanad is just embarrassing its so far removed from democracy.

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Dec 2nd 2013, 8:17 AM

But to be fair a lot of that comes from the Irish mentality of electing dynasties into the dail. These people make politics the family business, basically career politicians who have few actual political beliefs other than a cynical knowledge that politics will serve the well financially and is a perfect opportunity for self advancement. Look no further than Enda Kenny to see what kind of people Im talking about. The Irish mentality of voting, our pathetic admirations of cute hoors and THEN the system must change.

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:13 AM

Isn’t that illegal. Social welfare payments are actually being taxed by the Government. If people cannot afford to make the payments, because they are living below the poverty line, what the Government is doing is illegal.

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:29 AM

They do that all the time , operate illegally. A lot of the revenue tactics are in fact illegal.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:36 AM

This article refers to 15000 who “opted” for the deduction. Try reading it.

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:16 AM

They may have “opted” to pay it this way but they certainly had no choice not to pay it.

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:29 AM

Its not illegal if you are in the EU other EU countries tax benefits

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:31 AM

Thats why ireland needs to get out of the EU. All of these laws are unopposable, apart from the fact that EU law is based on civil law and not common law
    These injustices will continue whilst ireland is in the EU and there is nothing you can do stop it whoever you vote for gombeen A or gombeen B

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 1st 2013, 6:35 PM

Why would be illegal? Because you don’t like it?

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:50 PM

I most certainly do not like it, not only because it is illegal, but because it is forcing the less well off to pay for the blunders and the crude greed of a small but politically and financially powerful section of society. I am also telling people to stand up for their right ‘Not to Vote’, in any future sham elections or referenda brought by those same vested interests. If you don’t vote for them’ they can no longer claim to represent us, legally or illegally. The best way to give them the boot, is to Boycott their self selected elections.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:16 AM

Patricia I’m not sure you really understand what illegal is or how elections work in principal.

Mute Jer Lonergen
    Favourite Jer Lonergen
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:43 AM

Take it from people by hook or by crook and the benefit freeloaders should have it taken from them first.

Mute martin ryan
    Favourite martin ryan
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:56 AM

Jer, in your mind who are the” benefit freeloaders” ?

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:36 AM

Fantastic news

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:36 AM

You really need to get a woman Kenneth
    I’m thinking of starting a collection so we can pay a ” lady of the night ” to sort you out and you’re childish trolling might just stop

Mute Jenni Sheridan
    Favourite Jenni Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:48 AM

An inflatable one might do, he’d get better use out if it. Just as long as you remember to supply him with a puncture repair kit…

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:54 AM

Don’t forget the orange sash and bowler hat , we want wee Kenneth to feel at home for his first time

Mute Jenni Sheridan
    Favourite Jenni Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:58 AM

Sure we might as well throw the fleg in too, oh the imagery!

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:37 AM

Get him an inflatable enda one he’d not need a pump to inflate it

Mute Jenni Sheridan
    Favourite Jenni Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:43 AM

Yeah but he’d probably have to pay a tax every time he climbs aboard…or it’d be fitted with a meter or something…both probably.

Mute Sir Charles Chattan
    Favourite Sir Charles Chattan
    Dec 1st 2013, 12:07 PM

Just stop replying to him, stop red thumbing him, completely ignore him.

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:23 PM

You are a nasty bit of work… but they are closing in….

Mute Jenni Sheridan
    Favourite Jenni Sheridan
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:44 PM

Who exactly are you referring to with that comment Tom?

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:47 PM

Kenneth

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 2:54 AM

Laughable these personal attacks but that’s what you have to expect from the nothing class

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 2:56 AM

Wow threats Tom very childish indeed, I have reported you comment- just doing my bit to clean up society :)

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Dec 2nd 2013, 8:55 AM

Troll Kenneth. If and when you’re on welfare maybe then you’ll develop a soul

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 1st 2013, 11:27 AM

1m? wow that will help against the 1b a month repayments to bankster crappers

This is just appeasement of the banksters, 1m is not worth the administration costs of doing it

Mute Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Favourite Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:45 PM

He must be proud of himself taking people’s SW payments.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 2nd 2013, 9:26 AM

As opposed to taking money from people who earned it?? We all have to share the burden.

Mute Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Favourite Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Dec 2nd 2013, 1:54 PM

I don’t think you don’t realize people on SW did earn, some people paid tax and prsi for 10, 20, 30, 40 years,alot of those people probably paid your parents child allowance for you ,did they complain

Mute Mitch Cumstein
    Favourite Mitch Cumstein
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:52 PM

Scary fact: Responsibility for this tax ie. Raising it will be given to local authorities in a few years. The same crowd of unqualified local loudmouths who wrote off millions in developers levies but will charge me and you an arm and a leg for any service.

Mute frank lampost
    Favourite frank lampost
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:36 PM

Ive a better idea..why not ship all the foreign spongers back to their own country. .there milking the sh*t out of the system and laughing at us. #gansters

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:16 PM

There’s no thread on Boards that can’t be improved by a bit of the oul’ racism. Property Tax? Solution: chuck out the furriners! If it was good enough for the NSDAP, it’s good enough for us.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:56 AM

Do we pay child benefits to those working here from abroad whoes kids never even visited ireland ?
    There much more but why bother as anyone who questions this is label a bigot racist.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 1st 2013, 3:20 PM

Why does Ireland copy everything from Britain?

Is there no one here with a brain cell that can think something original that actually makes people’s lives better?

All part of world wide auto genocide. What stage are we at now?
    1. Decision.
    2. Classification.
    3. Symbolization.
    4. Dehumanization.
    5. Organization.
    6. Polarization
    7. Preparation.
    8. Extermination.
    9. Denial.
    http://www.whale.to/b/crow.html

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Dec 1st 2013, 3:22 PM

. Preparation. The village, victims, survivors and those in power are prepared for the genocide.

“The autogenocide has to be conceived in invisibility and executed in invisibility. Suffering and resulting premature deaths have to blamed on something else: diseases, violence, hunger, homelessness, hopelessness, accidents, suicides, murders, so forth.

No one is going to visibly agree or assist in the holocaust. This means that its all done in the abstract. Welfare “reform” laws and other laws are hyped as “tough love” that means, in Orwellian or Alice-in-Wonderland language, that powerless people are being left to their own devices to survive without resources or enough resources to survive or have any kind of a quality of life.”

Just history repeating itself. Nothing new.

Mute Jon Coll
    Favourite Jon Coll
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:58 AM

Does anyone know if there are exemptions for property tax if your child Has severe development delay which will mean we will need to have our house modified in the future but not yet as he is only one year old.

Mute Just4 TheJournal
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:17 PM

They could have just decreased the dole by about 5 cents and they would have got as much but NO! The actual dole amount itself is sacred and can never be decreased. Just like the income tax can’t be increased any bit at all, therefore a new tax has to be invented to raise more money

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Dec 1st 2013, 8:40 AM

*LI = all

Mute Elaine Cassin
    Favourite Elaine Cassin
    Dec 1st 2013, 10:23 PM

Let me get this straight, the government are taking housing tax money from social welfare payments, so even if the everyday working woman and man pay there property tax we have to pay for those on social welfare too… That’s just not right at all

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:47 PM

Laughable if it wasn’t so serious. It beggars belief. Ireland a civilised country? Not since the pre ‘De-vil-era’. Patiently waiting the outcome of the next general election to see what the people will do!

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Dec 2nd 2013, 11:03 AM

Pay by cheque when due every month.
    Insist on a receipt.
    State it is a loan.
    Specify the interest rate 4%
    Demand a full refund when this odious law is repealed.
    ———————————
    This is a regressive tax because inability to pay in not taken into account.
    No EU government has a mandate to Tax Family Homes.
    All bad laws end up being repealed.
    Have your demand for a full refund in on time ……

Mute Big bad bull
    Favourite Big bad bull
    Dec 2nd 2013, 1:31 AM

Wait till they get there hands on the tv licence list. Is on the WAY!!!!!!!!

Mute Kenneth
    Favourite Kenneth
    Dec 2nd 2013, 12:38 AM

Anything that gives less and takes more from those on welfare well then I’m all for it :)

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Dec 2nd 2013, 8:54 AM

Disgrace! Romantic Ireland’s dead and gone its with O’Leary in the grave.

Mute Just4 TheJournal
    Dec 1st 2013, 9:17 PM

They could have just decreased the dole by about 5 cents and they would have got as much but NO! The actual dole amount itself is sacred and can never be decreased. Just like the income tax can’t be increased any bit at all

Mute tony keely
    Favourite tony keely
    Dec 2nd 2013, 7:47 AM

Usual crap from govt no matter what way you look at it, as for water meters govt give contracts n we end up with northies coming down south to install them, no plumbers in dublin available, good aul govt……

Mute Owen Cullinane
    Favourite Owen Cullinane
    Dec 31st 2013, 6:42 PM

I find it very difficult to comprehend why people have to pay property tax on their homes when a home is something which is necessary.

Mute Stephen McCarthy
    Favourite Stephen McCarthy
    Dec 3rd 2013, 5:11 AM

Keep drinking the tap water and bend over ppl