Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Prostitution offences have dropped hugely in the last five years

New figures from the gardaí and the CSO suggest that sexual offences have diminished massively in recent times.

shutterstock_209071675-2 Shutterstock / Photographee.eu Shutterstock / Photographee.eu / Photographee.eu

INCIDENCES OF SEXUAL offences in Ireland have dropped off dramatically in recent years.

The figures, released via the Department of Justice to Labour Senator Ivana Bacik last week, show that there were just 36 such incidents recorded by gardaí in 2016 – down from 228 in 2011.

Last year there were just five incidences of prostitution/soliciting recorded – compared to 157 such offences in 2011 – a drop of 97%.

Incidences of brothel keeping meanwhile dropped from 57 to 29 in the same period, a fall of 49%.

10 Number of prosecutions and orders regarding prostitution-related offences since 2013 Courts Service of Ireland Courts Service of Ireland

The drops seen do not, however, bear any relation to the enactment of the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 2017, which was commenced on 22 February this year.

That act saw on-street prostitution (otherwise known as solicitation) decriminalised for the first time, while two new offences of purchasing sexual services were added to the statute.

The number of people prosecuted for prostitution offences has also fallen dramatically since 2013, according to figures released by the Courts Service of Ireland.

All told, 63 such orders were made against 47 defendants in 2013 – that has fallen 56% to 28 orders being made against 14 defendants in 2017.

The reasons for the across-the-board drop are unclear, though with the change in the law in early 2017, a marked change can be expected to be seen when figures for this year are eventually released.

One figure that has not changed to any extent is the numbers of people sent for trial – that figure is unchanged from two in 2013 to the same number in 2016.

Read: Rehab Group to drop its name and spend up to €40,000 on rebranding

Read: ‘I thought people would judge me, getting in a stranger’s car’: Alleged victim in Tinder assault case

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Matthew McMahon
    Favourite Matthew McMahon
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:00 PM

Samaritans: 116 123

Pieta House: 1800 247 247

Mute SugaSharkie
    Favourite SugaSharkie
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:12 PM

@Sam Murray: keep it up Matt! Nevermind Sam, he stops at red lights in GTA, not to be trusted.

Mute Stephen Rogan
    Favourite Stephen Rogan
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:13 PM

@Sam Murray: don’t understand how someone posting a message like that could annoy anyone, even if repeated daily. Just skip over it rather than being a narky, cynical tw@t about it.

Mute SugaSharkie
    Favourite SugaSharkie
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:14 PM

@SugaSharkie: and he deleted the comment….

Mute EmmetC
    Favourite EmmetC
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:15 PM

@Sam Murray: You really think he’s putting it up for “likes”? If it only caught the eye of one person who may be feeling depressed etc sure isn’t it worth it .

Mute Killenoob08
    Favourite Killenoob08
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:17 PM

@Stephen Rogan: It definitely is annoying.

Mute EmmetC
    Favourite EmmetC
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:17 PM

@SugaSharkie: of course he did , it was a $h!tty comment to make.

Mute EmmetC
    Favourite EmmetC
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:18 PM

@Killenoob08: how is it annoying…. Hes posting helpful numbers , nothing else.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:23 PM

@EmmetC: as someone whose dealt with MH issues in the past, it is not helpful to see covid constantly linked with suicide hotlines.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:24 PM

@Sam Murray: my opinion, maybe different for others

Mute Melanie Claire O'Connor
    Favourite Melanie Claire O'Connor
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:27 PM

@Matthew McMahon: an important message that could save lives, keep posting!

Mute Killenoob08
    Favourite Killenoob08
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:43 PM

@EmmetC: It’s a comment section, not a phone book.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:21 PM

@Sam Murray: as someone who has had a brush with suicide on many occasions and whose mental health has been severely impacted by Covid, I can tell you it is helpful. The very fact he posts it shows that at least one person out there cares enough about mental health to go to the trouble to post these numbers.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:23 PM

@Killenoob08: ó. h hush@ up

Mute Killenoob08
    Favourite Killenoob08
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:31 PM

@Anna Carr: more gibberish.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 5th 2021, 5:57 PM

Rip

Mute Raymond Scott
    Favourite Raymond Scott
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:41 PM

@Brian Hunt:
    To manage risk and ensure kids get their much needed education, think best approach is:
    - decide tomorrow back to school on Monday Jan 11
    - tomorrow – Friday: school/teachers prepare online lessons and put steps in place to make this operational (as fall-back scenario)
    - Saturday government decide based on latest numbers whether to postpone opening from Jan 11 to Jan 18

Mute Rob Foley
    Favourite Rob Foley
    Jan 5th 2021, 5:59 PM

Just stay in your gaff if you don’t have to leave it. It’s not that hard.

Mute Michael Philips
    Favourite Michael Philips

@Rob Foley: What about people’s mental health? Doesn’t that matter?

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:40 PM

@Michael Philips: he said if you don’t have to!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:10 PM

@Michael Philips: it’s down the list.
    Get out and go for a walk!

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:43 PM

@Rob Foley: Some of the worst health advice I’ve ever heard.

Mute Ps Tnov
    Favourite Ps Tnov
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:19 PM

@Michael Philips: Nah. We’ll be grand. People just need to stop moaning

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:28 PM

@Ps Tnov: you literally told someone to kill themselves here the other day.

Mute Justin Fay
    Favourite Justin Fay
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:46 PM

@Michael Philips: what about hundreds falling ill or dieing from a virus.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jan 5th 2021, 5:57 PM

Wish they would just announce schools are not reopening.
    Let us prepare in time.

Mute Ps Tnov
    Favourite Ps Tnov
    Jan 5th 2021, 5:58 PM

@Chris: tomorrow, did you not hear??

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan

@Chris: it’s a gimme at this stage. Leaked on Twitter by “mistake” earlier.

Mute john
    Favourite john

@Chris:always prepare for the these days

Mute sally reid
    Favourite sally reid

@Chris: agreed.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

@Chris: it’s been leaked everywhere online! He should just say it this evening now.

Mute Ivan Hensey
    Favourite Ivan Hensey

@Chris: our local school sent out texts this afternoon saying school will remain closed till end of January at the earliest

Mute Serge the llama
    Favourite Serge the llama
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:19 PM

@Chris: we’ve already made the call, our kids are not stepping foot inside a school for the next couple of weeks. One is in an exam year too.

Mute Critical Thinker
    Favourite Critical Thinker
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:19 PM

@Jonnie Marre: first time I’ve ever given you a like

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:50 PM

@Critical Thinker: you’re a pet

Mute Beer Belly 0476
    Favourite Beer Belly 0476

People becoming numb to the numbers. 17 deaths a day is very high for something we can prevent

Mute Mathew Gunning
    Favourite Mathew Gunning
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:08 PM

@Beer Belly 0476: seems like we can’t prevent.

Mute Critical Thinker
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:10 PM

@Beer Belly 0476: nursing home deaths are very very high. Many people sent from hospitals back to NHs covid positive and then had to be readmitted. It’s almost as if the same mistakes that were made in march and April of last year have been made again. Heartbreaking

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien

@Beer Belly 0476: well we can’t prevent it.. Masks don’t prevent it, even the magical vaccine doesn’t stop you getting it or stop you spreading it…

Mute Richard Williamson
    Favourite Richard Williamson
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:26 PM

@Aaron O Brien: think someone is telling porky pies. Yes we can collectively slow the spread of the virus. Yes masks are shown to reduce transmission. The vaccine should reduce disease and transmission of the virus. Please stop so others dont spread these dangerous lies.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:32 PM

@Beer Belly 0476:
    On average 88 people die every day in Ireland its not much noticed – 32,000 per year

Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:46 PM

@Richard Williamson: so it’s all lies.. ok can you show me the studies that suggest otherwise? I suppose indemnity for the vaccine companies is lies too yes? You looking forward to been a guinea pig or is that part lies too.

Mute Richard Williamson
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:48 PM

@Joeohah: this is true. But how much excess death will Covid cause in 2 weeks.? Death will come to us all but I’d like to try and avoid it for a while longer.

Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:49 PM

@Richard Williamson: sorry I missed one part.. You said the vaccine “should” reduce disease and transmission…I fully agree it most definitely should, but you and I have no idea if it will

Mute Michael Philips

@Beer Belly 0476: Prevent how exactly? Destroy the economy, close the health service (to non covid causes), destroy people’s livelihoods, do untold damage to peoples mental health. Do you think these don’t cause any deaths?

Mute dan o keeffe
    Favourite dan o keeffe
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:10 PM

@Beer Belly 0476: shut down Dublin

Mute Richard Williamson
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:33 PM

@Aaron O Brien: scientific studies look excellent for the efficacy of the vaccines. The results for reducing transmission are not as conclusive. As a vulnerable person I’d love to queue up to get the vaccine.

Mute I Speak My Mind
    Favourite I Speak My Mind
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:51 PM

@Aaron O Brien: can you please advise what reference point you draw your horse sh!t from?

Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien

@I Speak My Mind: it’s not the same Sh!te place that you get yours I assure you of that

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:32 PM

@Aaron O Brien: can you name a vaccine that hasn’t involved indemnity?

Mute Purplepickle
    Favourite Purplepickle
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:59 PM

@Aaron O Brien: The Modena review showed it prevents transmission and as the Pfizer vaccine is the same kind it’s likely it prevents transmission too . Have a look for the info ad it is out there . It means searching beyond your confirmation bias though.

Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien
    Jan 5th 2021, 10:08 PM

@Purplepickle: buddy you’re using words “likely” .. roll up your sleeve and tell me how you get on.. Good boy

Mute Cormac
    Favourite Cormac
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:02 PM

The hospital admissions, wow. This second wave surely eclipses the first wave.
    Thoughts with all front line workers. I hope each and every one them is recognised for the work they are doing after this is over. Absolute hero’s!

Mute Raymond Scott
    Favourite Raymond Scott
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:43 PM

@Cormac: what is missing of course are the numbers leaving hospital. Why is this not reported???

Mute Henry
    Favourite Henry

@Raymond Scott: It’s reported in the Covid tracker app.

Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien

@Raymond Scott: that’s not important for us Cormac, that would be giving us good news which is not allowed at this time.

Mute Aaron O Brien
    Favourite Aaron O Brien

@Aaron O Brien: sorry I meant Raymond

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:52 PM

@Raymond Scott: They have been reported previously, but one would assume if there has been nobody leaving hospital no numbers have been given…..

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/0f9dc-statement-from-the-national-public-health-emergency-team-tuesday-5-january/

What is slightly alarming here is the constant wording that schools are safe but really?

As of the

Age range affected
    Age range Number of cases
    0 – 4 2,925
    5 – 14 7,155
    15 – 24 19,581

Hospitalised cases by age group
    Age range Number of cases
    0 – 4 66
    5 – 14 67
    15 – 24 250

Mute Raymond Scott
    Favourite Raymond Scott
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:08 PM

@Dave: well those are numbers since start in March. Eg. 5 – 14 7,155. That is about 23 a day (divided by 300) since beginning. Hardly shocking. Enough to close all the schools???

Mute Michael Philips
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:31 PM

@Cormac: It’s not like hospitals aren’t always overstretched in Winter. I’m sure not having to treat any non-covid causes makes it easier.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:32 PM

@Raymond Scott: Can you just admit that you’ve got children that you’d like to get out of the house.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:39 PM

@Raymond Scott: on the 31st of August the 5-14 group had 562 now 7155. A 14 fold increase give or take. Same day total cases were 28758 today 113,322 a 4 fold increase give or take

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:57 PM

@Raymond Scott: Raymond, the virus can spread in schools there is no mistaking that…. People calling for them to remain open are frankly reckless.

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:08 PM

@Dave: those figures are cumulative .. bring back Anna for the daily info

Mute Ailbhe Hall
    Favourite Ailbhe Hall
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:55 PM

@Raymond Scott: probably because they are staff that have been infected

Mute cryptodon
    Favourite cryptodon
    Jan 6th 2021, 8:29 AM

@Cormac: they are not getting their claps from social media anymore

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Jan 6th 2021, 10:50 AM

@Raymond Scott: How about the kids not tested due to being asym. bringing it home with them and so on. The schools are one of the only environments at the moment that normal life more or less is carrying on. I think the HSE and the govt are afraid to admit they made a serious error of judgement.

Mute Padraic Forde
    Favourite Padraic Forde

Bring back Anna Anna

Mute sally reid
    Favourite sally reid
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:04 PM

@Padraic Forde: covid data hub. Google is great

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:07 PM

@Padraic Forde: she has covid

Mute Sharon Thomas
    Favourite Sharon Thomas
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:09 PM

@John O Brien: seriously?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:09 PM

@Padraic Forde: Why ? Plenty of anti-vaxxers still slithering about the place. Don’t need another one.

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:56 PM

@Padraic Forde: Showed her true colours and got banned.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor

Numbers always lower on the first Tuesday of a new year

Mute Declan O'Farrell
    Favourite Declan O'Farrell

Stay home, wash hands, wear mask, shop local once a week. Doing all that will be a big help

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate

That’s… far less than I was expecting.. I was expecting 6,800+…

Mute Beer Belly 0476

@Mirabelle Stonegate: same I was expecting 100000 a day by now. Whats the fuss about these little numbers all about

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:01 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: is it down because they are finally clearing the backlog or because they have stopped testing close contacts.

Mute Forkan Orla
    Favourite Forkan Orla

@Mirabelle Stonegate: they are not testing everyone now not even those with symptoms just in high risk groups. So it’s an underestimation by a long shot

Mute Keith Wilson
    Favourite Keith Wilson

@Forkan Orla: Underestimating back last March too when you had two have two or more symptoms to be tested and close contacts weren’t tested either. I wonder what the true number of cases would have been back then

Mute Master P
    Favourite Master P
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:21 PM

@Beer Belly 0476: We would be totally f00ked if we had 100k a day. 5-6k is bad enough and shows us that some tools didnt bother following advice over xmas. The same tools that moan when we get locked down again.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:11 PM

A plant has been discovered that works against covid19 …..
    Plant your backside on the couch and don’t leave the house. Stay safe everyone.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith

You have a better chance of getting a Ps5 in this country than the vaccine

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:30 PM

@Winston Smith: Ha ha ha that is a sad, funny and very accurate comment LOLOL you must have a teenage son

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin

How many vaccinations?

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford

@Martin: Think we’re into double figures now.

Mute gavin meade
    Favourite gavin meade

@Martin: probably 10 or something……

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

@Martin: none

Mute Rory Murphy
    Favourite Rory Murphy
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:03 PM
    Mute Beer Belly 0476

@Martin: 4 and a half

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz

@Martin: The # of vaccinations is irrelevant for now.
    They need two doses, three weeks apart and take time to kick in.
    It will be months before the effects of vaccinations are felt.

But I spose if your objective is to slag off Govt or NPHET or HSE or whomever to make you feel better, you can bring up our relatively slow rate of vaccinations, like it makes any real difference. Also be sure to mention Israel….makes people know you haven’t a clue how the vaccine distribution and procurement is being handled within the EU.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin

@Fozz: I think asking how many vaccinations is a perfectly valid question to ask, given our predicament.

Mute Mathew Gunning
    Favourite Mathew Gunning
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:16 PM

@Fozz: not really. The more that are vaccinated now means that we get heard effect of the vaccinations quicker. You say yourself, it takes 2 doses 3 weeks apart, so the more vaccinated now means the more get their second shot in a few weeks time. No point in keeping the vaccination in the freezer and reporting the number of cases and deaths.

Mute michael
    Favourite michael

@Fozz: By your very logic of the time it takes to get immunity then the sooner it’s ramped up the better. Not sure what your point is.

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut

@Martin: Read, watch, and listen to the media. Try to keep up.

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:31 PM

@Martin: https://jrnl.ie/5316432

4,000, as of yesterday.

Mute Cosmos20202020
    Favourite Cosmos20202020

@Martin: valid but not pertinent…if we had 10 million doses and could vaccinate everyone tomorrow there would still be 800+ in hospitals and you’d have to wait 21 days to give everyone their second dose.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin

@Mathew Gunning: Exactly. Go 24/7 to get our high risk vaccinated and take the death toll out the equation

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:35 PM

@Fozz: You actually argued with yourself in your own post. That might even be a first on here ;)..Best leave logic to the adults if you are that confused…

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:01 PM

@Fozz: not entirely true. There is an abundance of evidence from clinical trials which highlight that the chance of becoming seriously ill is reduced even after the first dose. The quicker we could vaccinate those who are most susceptible in society, the sooner we can begin to reopening the economy and getting back to normal. The slower it is, the contrary happens, our process of returning to normal is stagnated and slow. So it is quite understable for people to be questioning the process and calling for the distribution to be as effective and time efficient as possible, given the detrimental consequences that we all are enduring right now. It has nothing to do with bashing the HSE or NPHET

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jan 5th 2021, 11:02 PM

@Fozz: don’t make me laugh. A curative tool in our hands and you think it’s not relevant that 50k doses are in the country & only 4K have been administered.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

It will turn around. Like an oil tanker but it will turn. First indicator, close contacts, already falling. Next indicator, cases, will start to fall next week. Then hopefully hospitalization and deaths shortly after….

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:07 PM

@David Clements: Agree for the most part but the death rate follows the case rate by a month or so, so I don’t expect the death-rate to fall until February at the earliest.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:31 PM

@Fozz: agreed

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:39 PM

@David Clements: Close contacts, I would imagine, will fall significantly faster this month of all months. Nothing as quiet as an Irish January.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

Sweet Jesus it’s bad. Close the schools FFS!!!

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney

@Jonnie Marre: They’ve been closed for the last 2 weeks.

Mute Tom Dowling
    Favourite Tom Dowling
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:13 PM

@Jonnie Marre: they are closed and have been since 23rd Dec!

Mute Sommer Church
    Favourite Sommer Church
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:40 PM

@Tom Dowling: even longer in some schools

Mute Neville Mc Carthy
    Favourite Neville Mc Carthy
    Jan 5th 2021, 11:06 PM

@Jonnie Marre: calm down!!!

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa

And the minister of education still has the guts to arrive late in a meeting to tell the world that schools are safe. Well, she didn’t have prepared data to back that claim up but she hasn’t done much anyway…

Mute Dolores English
    Favourite Dolores English
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:01 PM

Get the vaccine rolled out ASAP, stop fart arsing about & scaring people

Mute Richard Williamson
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:33 PM

@Dolores English: perhaps the people need to be scared in order to follow the guidelines? Vaccination can only be as fast as they are manufactured and delivered. I only hope enough front line nurses are left to be able to administer the vaccines.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:13 PM

@Dolores English: If you know where’s there’s a stash of 7/8 million vaccine doses laying about, give the HSE a shout, would ya ?

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi

RIP

Mute Jon James
    Favourite Jon James

The information on these cases is important but would it not be just has helpful to see some figures on the vaccine rollout …the frequency per county maybe. . Would be a positive thing in my opinion.

Mute Critical Thinker

@Jon James: don’t bank on it. The lack of preparation by the HSE is horrendous in terms of storage for it, syringes etc. It’ll be another monumental f up

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:24 PM

@Jon James: They’re not publicising those numbers because they are not good, only around 4000 people done so far. I’m sure once they have enough vaccine in the country and are getting it out, they will start pushing those numbers.

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe

Rest in Peace.

Mute Ps Tnov
    Favourite Ps Tnov

Huge numbers. Out of control

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon

@Ps Tnov: You have evidence to support that claim I take it?

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys

@Ps Tnov: out of control, 20% drop in yesterday

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:25 PM

@Tony Humphreys: probably a combination of clearing most of the back log and the fact that close contacts are now not being tested. Those actually being tested are symptomatics for CoViD-19, not asymptomatic cases of SARS-COV-2

Mute Ps Tnov
    Favourite Ps Tnov
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:48 PM

@Tony Humphreys: drop yes but still out of control in the community

Mute Critical Thinker

Just a word about vaccines. A major hospital is due to get vaccines tomorrow and they don’t have a fridge to store them. They can’t get the funding. Apparently that’s only one of the problems they’re facing

Mute Mary O' Shea
    Favourite Mary O' Shea
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:48 PM

@Critical Thinker: UHL?

Mute Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Favourite Tracey Keating Coughlan

Is this actual number or is this including the catch up over Christmas….. scary times :( RIP

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

@Tracey Keating Coughlan: it’s the actual number yea

Mute Mary O'leary
    Favourite Mary O'leary
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:21 PM

@Tracey Keating Coughlan: catch up..

Mute Marco Rolo
    Favourite Marco Rolo

Insert generic random shocked and outraged comment here…

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher

It looks like we will still be in full lockdowns in 2022.

Mute sean Coady
    Favourite sean Coady
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:25 PM

@Michael Maher: no it doesn’t

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:11 PM

@sean Coady: And 2023

Mute Eric Vdc
    Favourite Eric Vdc

close Dublin and Cork

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith

Always high on a Tuesday

Mute alan constable
    Favourite alan constable

FULL five week shutdown, vaccinate close contacts after five weeks, result virus under control economy opens back up

Mute Critical Thinker
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:22 PM

@alan constable: if I thought that was the case, I’d happily wait it out

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk

@alan constable: Don’t bank on that.

Mute Wiggy Wigster
    Favourite Wiggy Wigster
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:05 PM

Coming down at last heading in right direction stay positive

Mute Stuart Birney
    Favourite Stuart Birney
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:50 PM

@Wiggy Wigster: Say what??? F00l!!!!!

Mute Michael Philips
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:28 PM

Get a grip people. It’s been 10 months and it ain’t ending any time soon. UK CMO had said there will be restrictions until Christmas at least. But yeah, let’s flatten the curve.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:22 PM

Worth noting that the death rate is at 2%. Death rate of all cases since September is even lower than that.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor

@Adam Conroy: 2 out of ever 100 is high!

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:35 PM

@Sarah Connor: break it down by age, and take into account that the majority of the deaths occurred before September. Most people fully recover and the people who are really vulnerable have never actually been prioritised by the government. Also you need to factor in the health cost of lockdowns and stopping things like cancer screening. The lockdowns aren’t working and are disproportionate to how serious the disease actually is.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:42 PM

@Adam Conroy: How many deaths would we be looking at with no lock down and a virus spreading quickly (a lot quicker) through the community? No-one is enjoying being locked down, but if we have these massive issues with the lock downs, imagine where we’d be without them.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:45 PM

@Sarah Connor: No point locking down if there’s nothing done to improve the health system or protect those most likely to actually die from Covid. It’s also causing problems in other areas of health that we’ll have to deal with down the road.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:45 PM

@Adam Conroy: however, long covid and organ damage are a huge concern.

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Jan 5th 2021, 6:56 PM

@GClare: still has to be weighed against the overall health cost of rolling lockdowns

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:15 PM

@Adam Conroy: True, there will be consequences, we’ll recover from the economic issues, but people being told not to go for cancer treatment etc is awful. That’s why it’s important to close everything now and concentrate on getting the numbers down, once we get the numbers down normal hospital treatments can resume.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:58 PM

@Sarah Connor: How many? The prediction of 100,000 last March was clearly unrealistic.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:56 PM

@Jim Lingk: More than there are now I would imagine. Impossible to to tell where we’d be now without any restrictions.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Jan 5th 2021, 9:02 PM

@Sarah Connor: Almost certainly more related to Covid. How many deaths will be caused by lockdowns? Mental health, cancer and other non covid health problems going undetected and untreated, isolated older people giving up etc. There are two sides to this.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Jan 5th 2021, 9:07 PM

@Jim Lingk: I see you already have pointed this out. However, you seem to think locking down now is right, but we have been locked down half of the last year or so and there is already plenty of people who have been impacted medically. And already a huge backlog on medical procedures and treatments and appointments. Let’s not forget the health service was a disaster BEFORE this and the reduction in capacity over a large part of the past year means it is getting worse and worse each day. But this won’t be seen properly until the Covid situation s more under control.

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Jan 5th 2021, 9:30 PM

@Jim Lingk: That’s the point Jim, if we don’t get the covid numbers down quickly, the hospitals will be overwhelmed, resulting in more people with non covid related illnesses being put off attending appointments. The sooner we get covid related illnesses out of the hospitals, the sooner we can get back to a higher level of treatment for everyone else.

Mute Gus
    Favourite Gus
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:46 PM

Were do you have to go to find an article, or god forbid articles, that shine a critical eye on this government’s response to the pandemic. Specifically the actions taken around the Christmas period; reopening when 200+ cases per day, no restrictions on movement and seemingly a free for all on arrivals into the country. We point to the US but our positivity rates are in line with their worst performing counties. Now overwhelmed and still no pressure being put on this government.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:00 PM

@Gus: This is Ireland Gus, the blind leading the blind, not knowing their left hand form their right…. The next general election in this country should be interesting…. Make no mistake about it my questions are already ready for the those happy go luckies knocking on my door looking for votes..

Mute Donal O'Leary
    Favourite Donal O'Leary
    Jan 6th 2021, 5:32 AM

@Dave: yeah cause Sinn Fein would’ve sorted it all out but now, even saved the world

Mute Donal O'Leary
    Favourite Donal O'Leary
    Jan 6th 2021, 5:33 AM

@Dave: yeah cause Sinn Fein would’ve sorted it all out but now, even saved the world

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Jan 6th 2021, 10:55 AM

@Donal O’Leary: Nobody mentioned Sinn Féin but stating the obvious as regards the continuing incompetence of this and previous governments as to the running of our health care system does not a shinner make. I don’t see too many of the management or support tiers in the HSE striking for better pay deals do you… Kind of tells its own story as to where all the money is going

Mute Michael Philips
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:43 PM

It’s proving much easier to control the people than it is to control the virus.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Jan 5th 2021, 8:11 PM

@Michael Philips: I find it amazing that China, who murder students for protesting, need a scam virus, to control their people.

Mute Mary Dunphy
    Favourite Mary Dunphy
    Jan 6th 2021, 12:37 AM

Stay at home particularly if you are in the over 70 age bracket says Dr Holohan. However, Dept Transport says: if you happen to be over 70 and need to renew your driving license you must take yourself off to your GP and have a medical to declare you are fit for driving – even if you are perfectly fit and healthy. This requirement was dropped for a period of about 2 months up to end December 2020 to safeguard our older population and re enforced 1st Jan 2021 at a time when we are in the midst of the third wave of a rampant pandemic. The left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing. Any comment on this fiasco Dr Holohan?

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:41 PM

Great to see the numbers coming down. If this continues we should have a zero covid Ireland in a few weeks.

Mute Michael Philips
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:45 PM

@Jim Lingk: Good one

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jan 5th 2021, 11:34 PM

@Jim Lingk: Daily case numbers down thankfully probably because they are clearing the back log, but also because they have stopped testing close contacts at the moment. Which means it could be a big underestimation at the moment of the no.s of SARS-COV-2 cases in the country.

Mute Jim Lingk
    Favourite Jim Lingk
    Jan 6th 2021, 8:12 AM

@Joe_X: I know

Mute Mojo
    Favourite Mojo
    Jan 5th 2021, 7:05 PM

Very sad