You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

European Commission vice-president Maros Sefcovic. (File image) ABACA/PA Images

‘Gaps remain’ with EU amid hopes of Northern Ireland Protocol breakthrough

A joint statement following talks between the EU and UK said that ‘scoping work for potential solutions should continue in a constructive and collaborative spirit’.

LAST UPDATE | 16 Jan 2023

UK FOREIGN SECRETARY James Cleverly and EU post-Brexit negotiator Maros Sefcovic have agreed to continue “scoping work” to solve the dispute over the Northern Ireland Protocol.

After a video conference today, they released a joint statement saying: “The two sides discussed the range of existing challenges over the last two years and the need to find solutions together to tackle comprehensively the real-life concerns of all communities in Northern Ireland’s place in the UK’s internal market and the integrity of the EU’s single market.

“They agreed that this scoping work for potential solutions should continue in a constructive and collaborative spirit, taking careful account of each other’s legitimate interests.”

Cleverly thanked Sefcovic for the video conference and expressed hope that a solution can be found “that works for the people of Northern Ireland and protects the Belfast (Good Friday) Agreement”.

Meanwhile, Sefcovic tweeted that “scoping work for potential solutions will continue in a constructive, collaborative spirit, taking careful account of each other’s legitimate interests”.

However, DUP leader Jeffrey Donaldson has said he does not think the UK and EU are close to a deal on the Northern Ireland Protocol.

“It was clear from our conversations with James Cleverly last Wednesday when he visited Belfast that there are still substantial gaps between the two sides,” said the DUP leader.

“There is still a lot of ground to be covered. I don’t think we are close to a deal at this stage.

“Our position remains unchanged. We need to get an agreement that restores Northern Ireland’s place within the United Kingdom and its internal market.”

Improved relations

Speculation had mounted in recent days that the two sides could be edging towards a breakthrough on the Northern Ireland Protocol, amid suggestions that cross-Channel relations have improved since Rishi Sunak became Prime Minister.

The announcement last week that a deal had been reached on sharing real-time data on goods travelling from Britain to Northern Ireland was seen as a step towards an overall resolution.

Labour said signs of progress were “promising” and urged Sunak to ignore the right wing of his party to secure a protocol pact with Brussels.

Talk of pushing through the Northern Ireland Protocol Bill, heavily criticised by the EU for the way it would unilaterally override parts of the treaty signed by former prime minister Boris Johnson, has grown quieter in recent months.

There has also been a flurry of activity in Northern Ireland, with Cleverly and Labour leader Keir Starmer’s Belfast appearances last week adding to speculation that a protocol announcement is moving nearer.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Tánaiste Micheál Martin also paid visits to Belfast last week.

Speaking to the PA news agency about today’s talks, a UK Government source said: “We’d all prefer a negotiated solution but significant gaps remain.

“It is the conversations with the commission that will either bring that about or not.

“Nobody should be under any illusions that this is complex and difficult but the desire to work together on a solution seems to be there.”

Alongside the EU-UK talks, Labour will send a delegation to Derry to meet business leaders and learn about how the protocol has affected Northern Ireland trade.

Labour’s shadow foreign secretary David Lammy, shadow Northern Ireland secretary Peter Kyle and shadow Cabinet Office minister Baroness Chapman will visit Foyle Port, a gateway that handles two million tonnes of cargo a year.

Party officials said they were going to “see first-hand how red tape from the Conservatives’ deal and ongoing uncertainty are affecting trade”.

The protocol was agreed to in 2019 by Johnson as a way of breaking the Brexit deadlock.

In order to avoid a hard border in Ireland, customs and food safety checks and processes were moved to the Irish Sea, creating economic and administrative barriers on the movement of goods between Britain and Northern Ireland.

The protocol is vehemently opposed by many unionists and the DUP is blocking the functioning of a devolved government in Stormont in protest at the arrangements.

- With reporting by Daragh Brophy 

6 Comments
    Mute Terry Waldron
    Favourite Terry Waldron
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:39 PM

Still better than the poxy wooden boards you get everywhere now though.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:24 PM

And metal buckets for chips. They go cold in seconds.

Mute Pasceasy
    Favourite Pasceasy
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:43 PM

now they hav somewhere to keep your chips warm..

Mute sonny red
    Favourite sonny red
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:29 PM

Bit strange but if the models enjoyed it and the guests enjoyed it then so fcking what. Boycott seems to be the Twitter buzzword lately. I want to boycott whiney tossers on Twitter.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien

Well I think they got the reaction that they wanted…

Mute Ciaran OHalloran
    Favourite Ciaran OHalloran
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:44 PM

MEEEESOGHYNY!!!

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:22 AM

You’ll have to stop reading the Journal so Sonny.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:27 PM

I’m fairly certain something like this was in an episode of CSI years ago. Doesn’t look very hygienic.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Who had the prawn?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:36 PM

… and the rashers…

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:46 PM

It comes from a Japanese tradition in a very loose way and has been going on for centuries.

Mute David Gray
    Favourite David Gray
    Aug 27th 2015, 7:43 PM

…..and the toad in the hole ?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:13 PM

You called?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:17 PM

Ah, FFS Journal, there’s no point in the comment unless it appears immediately under Daffy’s. yiz are buzz killers

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:37 PM

It gives new meaning to eating chips out of her knickers

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:31 PM

I’m far from outraged

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:42 PM

“Put another shrimp on the Barbie willya mate”

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power

if they had a choice in the matter and were paid enough I don’t see what the problem is. they all look like adults

Aug 28th 2015, 12:32 AM

Money is not the root of all evil.

Mute Ryan Hardy
    Favourite Ryan Hardy
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:38 PM

Didn’t offend me

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:46 PM

Serving food, usually sushi, off naked female bodies is a traditional Japanese geisha tradition dating back to the time of the samurai. It’s called Nyotaimori (or Nantaimori if male bodies are used).

Mute Pud
    Favourite Pud
    Aug 27th 2015, 8:58 PM

Colin-Only problem Is Australia’s not in Japan

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Aug 27th 2015, 10:15 PM

Pud, problem is, you’re an idiot.

Aug 28th 2015, 12:37 AM

Problem is Colin, you’re justifying the objectivity of women based on some ancient ritual surrounding lads who’d cut their own stomachs open rather than accept capture in battle. Not quite 21st century.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:51 AM

Problem is Jamie, I’m not justifying anything, merely highlighting that this is an ancient practice. Also, and I forgive your ignorance on the subject, the practice of seppuku by samurai was driven by high notions of honour, not dishonour and is largely irrelevant in this discussion.

Aug 28th 2015, 1:58 AM

You brought them up ya mad yoke.

Mute Pud
    Favourite Pud
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:58 AM

Now now Colin , no need for that kind of name calling .
    Ur the one justifying it on some ancient Japanese culture .

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:43 PM

Melons! I`d go for the Melons every time ; )

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:48 PM

A man can marry a man but it’s offensive to eat off someone’s body? hahh

Mute DeeJay
    Favourite DeeJay
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:56 PM

Who gages social media outrage? I’ve always wondered is there a company whose business is to read peoples tweets looking for controversial non-stories??

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:27 PM

DEFCON have been on it for a while. They’ve had a lot of time on their hands since the fall of the Soviet Union

Mute John O Neill
    Favourite John O Neill
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:34 PM

1 cold meat platter please

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:03 PM

Another sexist article with women preying on men’s vulnerabilities.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:36 PM

I rather food on a plate please.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Aug 27th 2015, 7:11 PM

If it was men and women picking food off them it would be fits and giggles. Nobody forced the women to take part. They’re adults capable of making their own decisions.

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme

Nothing wrong with it. everyone does it.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:34 PM

The women were paid, right? Nobody forced them to be platters. I really don’t see the problem if these women were willing participants.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:43 PM

I’d be more worried about the sanitary issue of eating food off naked people. Bit of craic with your other half, but complete strangers? Ew. No.

Mute Alan Wiley
    Favourite Alan Wiley
    Aug 27th 2015, 8:46 PM

Would you bang a complete stranger ?

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:07 PM

I don’t think I would Alan being honest O_o

Mute Alan Wiley
    Favourite Alan Wiley
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:13 PM

Fair play. I was just wondering because I wouldn’t think twice about it, and with that in mind, eating food off naked women that I haven’t met before would not be a problem.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:23 PM

Whatever floats your boat =P

Mute Mark Damme
    Favourite Mark Damme
    Aug 27th 2015, 10:05 PM

Joanne you are never forced to eat off them models.

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite

Cruise bar use to be a cool bar. I worked there when it first opened. The lights on the wall changed colour when the ambient sound raised or fell. The cocktail list was amazing and the bar was laid out so perfectly it was the easier well to work in. This seems like an act of desperation.

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite

To get publicity

Mute ironballs mcginty
    Favourite ironballs mcginty
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:38 PM

Gives you somewhere to put ur apple butt or banana skin

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Aug 27th 2015, 10:07 PM

Doesn’t offend me, but then again I am white and male so even if I were offended I probably wouldn’t have a right to be due to some imagined privilege I am supposed to have

Mute ESY
    Favourite ESY
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:28 PM

Meh

Mute Rogue Nation
    Favourite Rogue Nation
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:32 PM

hmm. Grapes are off the table for few days after seeing this.

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    Aug 27th 2015, 5:46 PM

Where’s me curry an’ rice

Mute ginger tomcat
    Favourite ginger tomcat
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:58 PM

is be more worried about where curry came from

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:41 PM

Well this is just weird O.o

Mute Rodney Monaghan
    Favourite Rodney Monaghan
    Aug 27th 2015, 8:40 PM

Well that idea went tits up!

Mute davemck
    Favourite davemck

the poor lads

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:19 PM

their bodies their choice… ( but only if feminists think so)

Mute paddy Jennings
    Favourite paddy Jennings
    Aug 27th 2015, 6:50 PM

wouldn’t mind falling asleep on that counter!!!! ah no serious tho that’s down right degrading for all involved

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Aug 27th 2015, 11:31 PM

I was in China Whites in Belfast a couple of months ago and they did exactly the same thing. Nobody cared.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Aug 27th 2015, 9:31 PM

Isn’t this done as a party piece in several nations across the world? What’s the big deal? Social media has really dented the sense of humour if you ask me….

Mute Jimbo Byrne
    Favourite Jimbo Byrne
    Aug 27th 2015, 10:59 PM

pussy platter

Mute Ian Fitz
    Favourite Ian Fitz
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:08 AM

Aparantly…….it. Went tits up!!

Mute Paul Cooper
    Favourite Paul Cooper
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:17 AM

Show us your sushi love